(2008/04) April 2008

<font color="0077aa">m so upset.. mil keeps saying bb is not taking enough.. cuz she saes usual after FM feed he will sleep.. but my boy after latching, play and next is wanna sleep... but mil insist he not taking enough.. &amp; keep ranting to other family members saying my milk ss not enough &amp; still dun wanna givE FM.. (but bb will unlatch himself when full mahz..)bout it when i was behind doors.. haiz.. sometimes is pretty stress to stay wif in-laws
, how to try to turn into deaf ears.. it so streessfull.</font>

<font color="0077aa">bb juz touch 5 mths todae.. planning to trial him on semi-solid liaoz.. hmm.. hope he will take it well hehehe..

RE: cereals

besides starting cereals, wat bout porridge?? egg??</font>

Diva,

Yeah pity can't meet up with Ethan. I would love the CD tho! Beside some of my cellist music major friend back in my college days, I don't know any other cellist, nor any cello works. So it will be a very good alternative than Yo Yo

Re Cereal:
I gave Maddy the Nestle rice cereal for the first time today. She also gave me rather yucky look hee... perhaps tomorrow I will try with something else., or mix like Sherin's.

Jumperoo:
Maddy loves her jumperoo, but funny thing eh, my MIL kept saying she doesn't like it. Wonder why, when I am at home she can stay there for a while playing... but MIL tend to say she doesn't like this and that. So I guess close one ear lah, after all, she's helped us a lot, and she's a very good caregiver for my girl

Jgal,
I bgt the oatmeal earth best and i think abt $5-$6 per person per pack. Havn try on shevon though. The whole grain can only start after brown rice/oatmeal then whole grain?

simp.. if the shipping is less i will revise.
not sachets of 4oz. this one is box of 8oz. Yes, this can be baby first food i.e. b/f or a/f brown rice also can.

Strawberries
besides cereals, u can give purees of fruits or vegs. Hmm i think 5mths is 2 young 2 hv porridge shld wait until 8-9mths. I hv read nt 2 give bb egg so soon as may cos allegy.

<font color="0077aa">JuniorRain, my mil saes can start the porridge liaoz.. haiz.. .. juz now she told me tat when eating rice .. she took 1 grain and mash it to give him to eat.. *faint* somemore reasure me ahz.. can give egg liaoz cuz she sae she started her children from 4 mths (tat includes my hubby) ....</font>

strawberries
aiyo *faint* when hv this type of mil. For me, will b very angry oso. Giving eggs at 4mths that is provided the bb not allegic 2 it, lucky lor. But u nv know until u give then 2 late lor. Haiz.........

<font color="0077aa">actually agreed to start trying to test egg. .. but think bout it.. dun tink so liaoz.. will let her noe tml.. haiz.. but m planning to start him on some cereals .. c how.. </font>

wah today's topic about baby starting semi-solids, good reference for me!

my girl only 4.5+ months old but started on semi-solids already as advised by my PD cos my girl has no interest in milk and is refusing her feeds, causing slow weight gain. so gotta depend on individual cases when to start, but normally if bb is drinking well can wait till 6 months before starting..

in her 2nd week of eating rice cereal, i'm eager to intro her to other tastes soon! will start on bb jars this weekend i think. when she can eat nore then perhaps will prepare my own and freeze.

just to share that today my girl can flip from back to tummy! she's been doing three quarters flip for about 2 weeks now and recently very auto go into the three quarter flip position whenever we put her down. today she decided to try to complete the flip on her own when i put her down for a while to prepare her cereal! i went to prepare her cereal and heard her crying, came back she was on her tummy crying. so she did her first flip on her own, didn;'t wan to let anyone watch. after that i try to put her on her back she repeated flipped for me

Anyone can advise when starting solids for bb, how much to give for a start? Do we still continue with the usual amt of milk + the solids? Me not sure how to gauge how much to start off with. My gal will be 5 mths next week, prob will wait till she 6 mths to start. Thanks!

Sputnik,
What i did was, i warmed her usual amount of EBM for 1 feed. After the EBM is warmed up, i spoon the amt i need to mix with the cereal. I will feed her the cereal first then after that continue to feed her the remaining EBM via btl. According to the super baby foods, we should not intro the cereal to baby when she is super hungry so can do it in between her feed. Like feed some EBM first then cereal then continue with EBM. Personally, i feed cereal first then continue with EBM

sputnik, for me the first week it's more like for bb to learn how to take solids from the spoon. although mine was very eager (opening her mouth and smacking her lips) she could not finish much, i think max 1 teaspoon only. after a while she got tired cos i think it must be hard work for them to concentrate and learn how to use the spoon.. stop when they show disinterest lor..

2nd week onwards she can take more and also faster already. think about one tablespoon for each feed. but she'll finish the amount prepared by me and still am not showing disinterest yet.

Yo Amy, you're up so early as well.. heehee How is ZhiYan taking to the cereal? Which brand are you using?

i feed my girl cereal in between her feeds. am using plain water to mix with the cereal cos my girl dun like it mixed with milk..

Lynn,
Ya lor... Nowadays my gal pattern... dun 1 2 latch on in the morning... So instead of wasting my time fighting with her trying to get her to latch on and risk myself being bitten by her. I pump out and get hubby to feed her EBM lor...

She is ok with the cereal so far we only fed her a few times. Currently feeding her Heniz rice cereal. Can't wait to add variety to her feeds but gotta wait lah, now more like exposing her to the texture and getting her used to it. Think will only introduce variety when she pass the 6mths mark. She is now 5 mths 3wks

RE: similac step2
errh...i requested for isomil due to allergies for my ger and didn't recieve any teddy bear leh....

koori:
do u have the tel from parkway health? i need to call them to change my add....thanks

Lynn,
once yr girl knows how to flip, you've to be extra careful. never leave them alone even for a short while, they really flip v v fast. :p

And since they just learn, they still dont know how to control their head and may bump their head on the floor, would be painful and rather dangerous (due to suffocation).

RE: porridge...
i feed my ger porridge too...i use a sieve to sieve and smash the larger grain thru it...

but my mil will feed her directly without using the sieve...

cloudme,
just plain porridge, any meat or other stuffs to make it sweeter?

strawberries,
my mil same same, want to feed my boy porridge, cereals etc but my hb very firm, say no, will check with PD.. haha.. so my mil bo pian, wait lor..

maro:
i cooked with carrot and potato...so i can feed my ger some vege too(i smash the vege using the sieve too)...my ger like these two vege

for my mil, she cook with mince meat and broccoli and sometime fish meat...but when i feed her using my mil porridge, i will use the sieve to remove those bigger pieces of mincemeat and fish meat...

and if she cook normal ABC soup...i will also scoop up the carrot and potato and feed my ger...
my mil soup is blend so no worries about high salt content...

cloudme,
yeah.. potato and carrot with porridge is good.. thanks for the tips. gonna try them soon..
i'm eager to feed my boy solid but hb wants to wait till he is 6mth :p so collecting all ideas first and use them later, haha

i use the gas and bring the rice grain to boil and put in the "thermal pot" and let it cook naturally...save gas and electric too...haha..

juniorrain
Are you supposed to submit the pic to mumcentre next week? You can jump queue, think I'm not submitting this week... quite bz recently.

<font color="0000ff">morning all...
how is all mummies doing.... so long din post... don know whether any mummies remember me.... haha

<font color="0000ff">haven't start my gal on solid... she will hit 6 month this month... think i will start on 1st oct... easier to remember what to feed her....</font>

<font color="0000ff">hi strawberries,
can't u just tell ur mil.. as the bb grow older they don need to wake up so often.... therefore not all the time after feeding they will sleep... my gal is still on 100% EBM.... my mil din complain... anyway she can't complain too much... as if the normal 130ml is not enough to feed my gal.. .she will just give another bottle of EBM.... sometime my gal refuse milk even it is already more than 3 hr.... it is subject.... maybe i have enough supply so it is easier... how much is ur bb feeding.. . does u latch on or pump out???</font>

<font color="0000ff">hi jamie,
ur bb is on nestle? i got my step 2 from mothercare centrepoint.... don recall where did i sign up for the sample... i just manage to receive a email from nestle asking me to collect from mothercare centrepoint.... u might want to ask them... but i do sign up for nestle bb club... don know whether it is from there... i had delete that email... but i think i still have a hard copy at home... if u need... pm me... so i can scan my hard copy tomorrow...</font>

<font color="0000ff">btw... any one want step 2 milk formula? as i will be continue bfg.. .so i don think i need them... but i would prefer to exchange with dumex mamil step 3 for my boy..... so do let me know if any mummies would like to exchange.... so far i have nestle 2... at home... will request the rest soon...</font>

Cloudme - the number reflected on my hp is 62339776, but i not sure if its DID or hunting line, u can give it a try.

<font color="ff0000">maro</font>
u can grind ikan billis to powder form &amp; mix in the porridge.
thermal pot: u referring to those food jar? i'm using tiger brand, thumbs up!

<font color="0000ff">poshies</font>
its not me who wants nestle. i'm actually helping vyn leen to call for samples. but was told they dont deliver to house anymore. got to self collect at their office at changi biz park.

<font color="119911">vyn leen</font>
if u need the hard copy, u may pm poshies to send to u?

thanks for the advice mummies...too many choices on cereals etc! will consult my GP this weekend. But so far my boy-boy loves his milk &amp; has been putting on weight nicely (actually more than double his birth weight!) so dont think he's weaning now. But did give him apples to "lick" on...seems he enjoys it!

maro:
nope...slow cooker need elect...but thermal pot/cooker don't need elect...
just cook something to semi-cook state(must be pipping hot) and leave it the the thermal cooker.

it will use the heat/steam from the food to cook...and keep warm for hours...
but so far have only tried cooking porridge and soup

<font color="0000ff">cloudme,
ok, like wat jamie said, those food jar right? looks like need to get the tiger brand one. I love this brand too, very good :p</font>

maro:
yap ..i bought the endo one...
that time isetan got sale buy big one free small one...i find it easy to use...
b4 having bb i use to cook porridge for myself and hb...so now just nice use to cook for the whole family...

u can buy the tiger brand...but more ex loh...
i didn't know it can be call a food jar, why a jar?