(2008/04) April 2008

cherish
no steaming. fresh fruit. this is what i do:
apple & pear - cut half. scrape flesh. squeeze out the juice n feed. can feed some of the minced flesh. if u read the angmo parenting books, they advise u to steam apple n puree n feed. but i didn't .
banana - just peel, mash & feed
papaya - peel , mash, feed

jamie
thanks! Yeah, last time thot can wait till he turn 6 mos but now pedi says can start
Haven't bought my babyrice yet!

joelle
You itchy for pants? Me itchy for preschoolians shoes

http://preschoolians.com/

joelle,

My hands also itchy, went to buy pants for baby already! hehehe ON is on sale, better grab fast if you want.

re Healthy Times cereal

Seems like everything is OOS, except barley or oatmeal. I only managed to get a pack of oatmeal.

Btw, barley first or oatmeal first? Or it doesn't matter???

i mean currently i feed her barley water once per week.. so i scared that if i give her barley cereal, it will be too cooling for her...

charis got consipation leh after she started on cereal,

Just to share regarding fruits n veg, I've given Summer Avocado, peach, mango, pumpkin with carrots, broccoli with carrots. She likes them all.
You may want to try these with your babies.

tsukushi
according to healthy times.com, they recommend single grain cereal first to isolate allergy if any. their recommendation is brown rice, then oat / barley, then mixed grain.

so i followed their advise. unfortunately HT brown rice OOS, so i bought si sen brown rice powder. followed by barley. next (maybe in 1-2 week's time) i might try oatmeal.

btw white rice is also very safe. u can get other organic brand white rice cereal for babies in organic shops. e.g. Earth's Best.

HT Brown Rice Cereal is out of stock islandwide apparently, I called HT and they confirmed it. I'll be starting Ethan on HT Barley cereal, I like that it eases constipation and hopefully any other difficulty pooping that comes with eating solids. Hubby and I much prefer barley to oatmeal.

XiaoZhu,
I agree about preparing my own food for baby, I will do so soon but for now, baby jars suffice in keeping Ethan happy and all smiles

Cherish,
If you pound the ikan bilis till it's super fine, I don't see a problem adding it to porridge for flavor. For pork, boil the porridge with it for flavor too. I don't actually mean feeding baby pork now

Re: Playschool
FYI, I am likely signing up for playgroup at the White Lodge when Kayla is 24 months old
. Pat's Schoolhouse fees are too expensive! For a 3 hour program at WL, its $180 per week. (approx $720 per month). Pat's is charging its 4 hour program $910 per month.

sherin
The avocado is the brown one is it??? I saw brown ones and green ones at NTUC.

joelle,
I gave frisocream as baby's first food, then started on the brown rice last weekend. Maybe I will try the oatmeal soon. Btw, beware of Earth's Best cos it contains undeclared soy which may trigger allergy in some babies. Best not to give before 6 mths.

That day at Vitakids where I bumped into you, I was looking for organic cereal but they don't carry much leh.

Joelle - Good good, fresh fruit better then can fruit. My nanny say dun feed jar fruit lo, she say baby will have phlegm. Will try him on ur fruit recipe.

Baby older, their faeces more smellier. XP Got fruity smell will be nicer.. ha..ha..

Today i received a call from ParkWay group to send me a tin of 900g of Enfapro cos i gave birth in Gleneagles so those under Parkway group should be expecting it soon.

my baby is gonna be 5mths in a wks time...so shld i intro him cereal now? or frisocreme. Shld i consult PD? me a bit kiasi!

beans,
consult ur pd when you bring bb for jab.

btw, frisocream smells very nice. I think most babies will take to it well.

cherish
barley has more fibre, supposed to ease constipation. but if give very little, don't think will help much in constipation. since new food, best to go slow & conservative. how much barley water u give a week?

yes the brown one is ok. but some brown ones are still rather hard. Need to wait for it to be ripe. U know like mango that kind of softness. Then u scoop cut open, scoop out the flesh then i use the blender to blend until it's a super smooth n fine puree then i feed.

tsukushi
ya I also join ON spree - bought pants too! but dunno what fabric are the pants. it is 100% cotton i worry it's thick and will be too hot. forego the cheap $1 ON socks cos bust my budget already. now still eyeing pants on BP..... aiyooo .

Be@ns - Regarding start on semi-solid food, depends on individual baby. No right and wrong. If ur baby start weaning, dislike milk, always hungry after feeding milk, able to swallow using spoon feed, then u can start on semi-solid.

tsukushi
Earth's Best cereal - WAH WIN LIAO. I bought EB white rice cereal that day at Vitakids!! Waaaah should've bought Bellamy instead.
I itchy hands and bought a Bellamy white rice + fig + apple cereal hahaha haven't started on boy. i like variety. must be boring to eat brown rice everyday i think :p

joelle
shooshoo shoes are nice too hehe but I like preschoolians better coz more range

Re: pants
I started my boy on pants very early...sometimes when weather is too hot I won't let him wear. Most material are fine in aircon places, but if shopping from those Fall collection do take note yr pants is not those thermal type with additional layer inside coz that will be too warm for our climate.

calamari,
me not yet started solid for my boy. he only 4 mth+, waiting for PD's approval, going to bring him this wk. else will kena nag by my mil.. :p

cass,
dont ever take any medication to stop BF as it may cause no milk when u have yr next baby. like other mummies suggestions, reduce the pump. I did and was successful, no engorgement..

Calamari - u not only one, i also haven really start, rember i started like 2days then kaylen got UTI after tat i stop liao, scared although both got no link. I wait till 6mths then feed.

Joelle - tik angmoh barley is cooling one, chinese barley not so.

Puffish - glad tat u & bb is fine now, hope ur DH recover also.

joelle,
I add barley water instead of plain water to her milk, 60ml per feed, total is 240ml..

diva,
thanks for the info.. i scared once i start adding this to her cereal, my mum will planning to feed her porridge.

also, got the frisocream long ago but my hb does not want my boy to start solid so soon so not yet opened. But my boy does not seem to show interest in food when I bring fruits like apples, grapes close to him.. he just turned away. hee..hee..