(2008/04) April 2008

koori
parkway healthgroup also called me a few weeks ago but the FM never come

cherish

8 oz of barley a week? Hmmm that is not little . but baby is doing fine with it? still constipation ah?? means he is quite heaty by nature issit? if u introduce barley cereal do it bit by bit, don't overdo in case too cooling, LS!

earth baby
RE: preschoolians
wow thanks for introducing another range of things to buy for boy! :p they look v nice. very adult. price-wise close to shooshoos. any other online retailers selling cheaper?

hi be@ns
not that I want to belittle the danger of allergies and feeding problems, but babies are quite resiliant when it comes to food . if u have a PD appt coming up, can check first. else just start with one of the foods that the mummies here have tried and give 1 tsp. u'll be surprised how easily 1 tsp goes down! they really take to spoon feeding!
if you're concerned, read up on
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/
maybe you'll gain more confidence then

me haven feed my boy wif semi solid too. waiting for him to turn 6 mth then try to intro. my son like not ready for semi solid leh... now still quite satisfied wif milk

Taking orders for the following items.
http://store.babycenter.com/product/on+sale/toys+on+sale/6+-+12+months/brightlings+exploration+station.do?asc=false
Brightlings Exploration Station Cost: SGD32.60 (pdt)+ 45 (shipping) = SGD77.60
http://www.amazon.com/Munchkin-3106-Mozart-Magic-Cube/dp/B00004TFLB/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=toys-and-games&qid=1221636128&sr=8-1
Munchkin Mozart Magic Cube Cost: SGD30 (pdt)+ 11.65 (shipping) = SGD41.65
1. Simp

http://store.babycenter.com/product/left+nav+pgroups/shop+by+brand/a+-+f/ergo+baby+carrier/ergo+baby+carrier.do?asc=false
Ergo Baby Carrier : SGD152.25 (pdt)+ 10 (shipping) = SGD162.25

My girl seems ready for semi-solids as she keeps smacking her lips when she sees us eat. Plus its getting harder to feed her milk. But PD told us to only start at her 6th month (she is 5 months 2 days today) as she is on TBM. So will wait another month...so exciting!

bb ok with the barley water, maybe she is heaty based... only recently she start cereal then got constipation, everyday poop poop must push very hard, sometimes i see her push very hard, oso no poop, see liao heart pain..

btw, mummies, do u feed ur bb daily or just try out only?

calamari,
my boy is 100% ready for semi-solids. he not only watch us eat, he even try to stretch out his hands to snatch!!! haha...

joelle
re: preschoolians
Hmmm let me go & check out 1st

If no lobang, then I don't mind organizing a spree provided other mamas here are also keen. Their website says international shipping flat at US$10 per order, add'l US$1 for each pair.

earth baby
RE: preschoolians
I especially like the sliding toggle design. I've seen the baby leather shoes in the market, and always wonder how easy it is to squeeze the feet into the limited sized opening.

joelle
Cotton is not hot I think. Anyway the $1 socks are a good buy cos ON material is quite good. I succumbed to the temptation and bought 2 more pairs.

I saw Bellamy selling at Carrefour in KL, but left 1 last pack. I haven't checked on the feedback so didn't get it. But seems like quite a lot of mummies buy that.

Sherin
You know hor, I never succeed in guessing how 'good' a mango is. Even though it feels soft, it tastes sour. Haha I think I better taste the avocado before giving baby.

cherish
I feed daily but only about 1 tablespoon.

koori
3 weeks? no leh, the lady told me its 1 week. u hv the tel no? if not its ok, coz they also call cloudme but on her office tel.

just finished feeding summer her meal.
Tsukushi, ya betta taste first.
Personally i dont take avocado le. i just smell, smells ok , i give. haha.

Healthy Times vs Happy Bellies/Baby Cereal
Can i check wat' the diff between these 2 brands. Both organic rt? wat's ur preference?

Joelle,
When do you plan to start Dominic on the Bellamy's cereal? It's from 6 months+ isn't it?
I'm tempted to buy an assortment of cereal for Ethan too as I wouldn't like to be eating the same thing everyday too!

cherish
my boy has cereal for lunch daily, followed by some bottle ebm. 7pm feed we add 1 tsp of cereal into his bottle EBM.

hmm how come got island wide shortage of brown rice leh?

cherish: my baby starts eating the brown rice cereal from nestle for 2 weeks already and he loves it! it smells nice too. mom's planning to start him on porridge 1-2 mths time.

what is HT cereal?

diva
RE: Bellamy's rice + fig + apple cereal
well there aren't that many variety of cereal out there and i already have 2 opened packets of other cereal at home :p there is an issue of maintaining freshness after opening so many boxes. so want to stretch the cereals a bit, rather than intro so many at a go. probably will open the rice+fig+apple one in 2 weeks or so. Dominic has started on cereal since 4 months so i don't follow the package instructions of 6 months. as long as the food is suitable for first foods, i will introduce at my own time.

gervynne
HT = Healthy Times brand

Simp
I honestly duno the diff between all the organic brands LOL I think Happy Bellies has more extras added to it. Healthy Time seems more basic. Healthy Times I like because it is readily available in NTUC. but no harm trying them all really.

Diva
RE: variety in cereal
we cld also add fruit or vege puree into the cereal to vary the taste. takes more effort though. sometimes it's difficult to cook up something complicated when bb is waiting impatiently huh! white rice cereal will do better when mixed with purees because it has as neutral taste, I think. brown rice cereal tastes stronger, like walnut cream.

koori: wow so qiao i just reading your post then Parkway health call me already. SO i will get my goodie bag in 3 weeks time

calamari and all other mummies: i also haven started Byron on solids too though I am sure he is ready ha. But i am not thinking of HT cereals leh, will get nestle coz my friend got me some samples. Anyone tried that?

earth baby: the preschoolians are cute! eh i am keen but can only buy 1 pair without telling my hubby hahahaha

personally this is e first time i gave Summer Heinz Rice Cereal. Think it must be super bland, she gave me e yucks look.
So i gave her peach puree mixed with the rice cereal, she loves it. No more yucks look.
So mommies you may give it a try.

Cherish,
I feed Ethan daily; 1-2 tbsp of cereal in the morning and half a baby jar for teatime

Joelle,
I'll check Preschoolians out, gives me something else to buy now haha.. darn!!

Simp,
Happybellies and Healthy Times are both organic, except that Happybellies contains probiotics which apparently helps better with digestion. So unless Shevon isn't gaining weight well or is advised by the PD to be given probiotics, I feel that HT will suffice.
Ethan is on HT, brown rice and barley

thank mumood and joelle.

is organic brown rice really better? hmm

by the way, do you all mix the cereal with just water or FM/EBM? I am running out of EBM and starting my boy on FM soon. just wondering if I should give FM and cereal on the same day... scared too heaty sigh

scubababe:
that's exactly what I'm going to do too
Showed my hubby last time & he gave me the look after seeing the price...hee i better be conspicuous!

Gervynne,
I mix cereal with FM, it's got a nice taste as FM is a little sweet. I've never tried mixing it with water though it would be good if you plan to add puree to the cereal as well.

Joelle,
Where did you get the Bellamy's rice+fig+apple cereal? I've only ever seen the plain rice porridge at supermarkets. There's an organic store along Bukit Timah, guess I might have to check it out.

I agree about adding puree to cereal for greater variety, I add about 1-2 tbsp of cereal to Ethan's jars. Smells yummy and must taste great since Ethan never fails to wolf it down!

The brown rice cereal + puree combo doesn't seem to bother him, any idea where to get organic white rice cereal though?

Healthy Times vs Happy Bellies/Baby Cereal
Hahah Diva, like dat hmm what shd i do, buy all and try fir shevon. My shevon is a chubby ger alreadi hahaha

Jgal,
The order of brown rice will arrive when? Do u take order on oatmeal and multigrain too? If the cans can arrive by end sep then i wanna to order so that i can take to kl.

If i open the can, how long can it last since i plan to alternate the various cereal for a more wholesome diet for bb? If it only last for a mth like fm, can i put them in fridge to preserve the lifespan of the cereal. Any 2nd time mummies advise?

Look like there is a island-wide shortage of brown rice cereal... hmm .. i think i better get some more.. anyone want to share ? (by jgal

http://www.amazon.com/HAPPYBELLIES-Contains-Probiotics-Organic-Canisters/dp/B000YSTGGW/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=grocery&qid=1221642509&sr=8-2
HAPPYBELLIES Brown Rice Cereal Contains DHA and Probiotics, Organic, 7-Ounce Canisters (Pack of 6) ( est. SGD9.60 each can incl. of shipping)
1. jgal
2. jgal
3. jgal
4. veronica
5. esther

Hi Simp,

Which various cereals do you plan to try?
Ethan is getting a combination of Healthy Times Brown rice and Barley cereal now. As I plan to stick with organic cereals, I'll be trying Bellamy's rice+fig+apple cereal for variety soon too.
If you're ok with non-organic, then Heinz and Nestle has an assortment of cereal too

I'm a 1st time mummy but I can offer some info on cereal lifespan. It states on the HT box that the cereal should be consumed within a month. I believe that a 7-8oz box should last no more than 2 weeks, depending on how often you plan to feed Shevon.
Ethan eats cereal at least twice a day everyday, and one box lasts us about 2 weeks.
So I think that even if you were to rotate cereals, you'd probably finish it within a month

I believe keeping cereal in the fridge will help it keep fresh for longer, no heat therefore no chance of getting moldy. Good if you're not feeding Shevon cereal daily.
Keeping it in the freezer will be an even better bet. Cereal doesn't contain water so it cannot freeze, same goes for coffee. You just take it out when you need it, no need to defrost

I keep mine at room temperature cuz my fridge is downstairs and running down to get it when Ethan is screaming for food is a craziness I won't attempt!

Simp : will arrive before end of mth. btw, if you worry that bb will get constipation, happybellies will probably be better because it has Probiotics which aid in digestion.

expiry date on the existing cans that i have .. brown rice is Apr 2009
oatmeal is May 2009

Diva
So sorry, the cereal I bought is not Bellamy! It is Organix First Fig & Apple Breakfast. Purchased at Vitakids, Forum. Sorry about that! I must have seen Bellamy Baby Rice there and got them mixed up.

Hi Jgal,

Just to check, by indicating in the number below it's means 1 can and not 6 cans right ?
===============================================
Look like there is a island-wide shortage of brown rice cereal... hmm .. i think i better get some more.. anyone want to share ? (by jgal

http://www.amazon.com/HAPPYBELLIES-Contains-Probiotics-Organic-Canisters/dp/B000YSTGGW/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=grocery&qid=1221642509&sr=8-2
HAPPYBELLIES Brown Rice Cereal Contains DHA and Probiotics, Organic, 7-Ounce Canisters (Pack of 6) ( est. SGD9.60 each can incl. of shipping)
1. jgal
2. jgal
3. jgal
4. veronica
5. cyl_16

Hi Jgal,

Just to check, by indicating in the number below it's means 1 can and not 6 cans right ?

(resent the table cos didnt see Esther's order earlier.)
==============================================

1. jgal
2. jgal
3. jgal
4. veronica
5. esther
6. cyl_16

Joelle,

Hehe my eyes lit up at the thought of Bellamy's having such a yummy fruity cereal cuz all I've ever seen is the rather plain looking baby rice porridge

I'll go to Forum to check it out, thanks again!!

Does anyone know of any other well-stocked organic stores that have a good selection of baby food?

1. jgal
2. jgal
3. jgal
4. veronica
5. esther
6. cyl_16
7. Araid22

by jgal

1. jgal
2. jgal
3. jgal
4. veronica
5. esther
6. cyl_16
7. Araid22
8. Simp

Jgal,
can help me get 1 can each of oatmeal and multigrains too?

Diva
I plan to let shevon take oatmeal, mutligrain and brown rice on alternate days for breakfast.

Diva,
my colleague is a big fan of organic food. she always goes somewhere around outram to get the vege and other stuff for her 2 boys. i'll check with her the address tml and let u know again :p

simp : i can get earth best rice cereal but got to get 12 ppl because it comes in 12s. Mus get 12 before tomorrow.. cos' i going to order liao.. else cannot get before end mth. :p i pass you 1 oatmeal from the previous spree cos' i ordered 2. I order for myself again later..

For bellamy , its from oz. Don know how to ship back frm there.. ha haha :p

http://www.amazon.com/Earths-Best-Whole-Cereal-8-Ounce/dp/B000ER3FD8/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=grocery&qid=1221660870&sr=8-1
Earth's Best Whole Grain Rice Cereal, 8-Ounce Units (Pack of 12) USD$31.94 (incl. of shipping each pack is $7.50)