(2008/04) April 2008

Simp, like you all my insurance and hubby's are with AIA cos our friend is one their district manager.

Just last week, we bought few plans for Dana with him too. One of which is a "Critical Illness Insurance Plan" where we pay the premium for 8 years and she'll be covered for her entire lifetime. The other one is a basic investment plan which we hope can cover part of Dana's university education when she turns 18.

Regarding AIG news, I was also shocked initially and immediately checked with our agent. He reassured us that AIA is not affected as it maintains a separate life fund from AIG and according to MAS, all insurers are to have at least 80% liquidity to meet all liability to policyholders. AIA has more than 80%. So should be fine.

The thing about buying multiple policies from different insurance companies is that when you need to file a claim, you need to contact so many agents, and they've to counter check what you have and what you don't have so kinda bothersome. Hence, we bought all from AIA from an agent we know personally and trust...

Did u gals try getting milk samples fr your gynae? Went for my pap smear last week and the clinic gave me 4 cans of enfapro. Thik it is the 400g one.

Simp

for baby's hospitalisation plans, we bought:
<font color="0000ff">1. Health Shield - using Medisave
2. Pink of Health - S$350 per annum</font> and
<font color="0000ff">3. Child Accident Shield Plan- S$137 per annum</font>.

Koori, is your plan Healthshield? Under Healthshield, if your hospital bill is below 3K, it's not claimable. That's what my agent mentioned (if I remember correctly) that's why he encouraged us to supplement Healthshield with Pink of Health plan so we can claim any hospitalisation amount, regardless how small it is. But you should clarify with your agent and see how she/he can help.

Gathering on 19 Sep at Littleprincesses's place
can come anytime after 11am I will settle lunch so just come with yr darlings. I stay behind national Jnr college, will text you my address on thurs. Looking forward to see you n your prince / princess. I think this time more blue than pink

1. LittlePrincesses
2. Maddy's Mum
3. Angel
4. Dvia
5. Babyliss &amp; Owen
6. Simp n bb
7. Chewys
8. Prawnie n Xav
9. Jamie &amp; Bryan
10. Jasmine &amp; Elijah
11. Earth_baby &amp; Jayden
12. XiaoZhu &amp; BB
13. Lynn85 &amp; Charmaine

I have a tin of Enfalac A+ (Green packaging) for sale at $30.

Expiry: Mar 2010
Country of Manufature: Netherlands
Collection at YEW Tee, Queenstown or alexandra Technopark

Pm me if u are interested.

<font color="0077aa">erm.. heard bout the current issue on AIA.. hmm... but my agent reasure me is stable.. and anything first hand will update me.. hmm.. yup.. oso bought quite no. of policies fer my boy from AIA</font>

Re: AIA
Oh shit, dun scare me... I just bought 3policy for my baby and 2 for me and hubby from AIA...

What excatly happened? can anyone enlighten me or post a link here that i can read up?

Angel - mine not healthshield, its under my company one duno wat the policy name. Tmr i go office to ask and call AIA

koori
meadjohnson will send a tin for enfapro but when upgrade to next stage - enfagrow, it will be sachet type liao. personally i feel abbott is the most generous, its always the tin type.

sputnik
yes, normally my pd's nurse will auto give us a few (400g) tins of FM when we go for jabs.

can pass me the number? i will call tmr..... how long they tk to mail over? my boy turning 6mths soon lo...haven even let him try cereal ..=(

but friso give 900g? thats quite big leh... so nice ah.... hmm...i ask the promo before...1tin is 30 leh.. so 6 for $30...... i tink if my boy can drink frisco2, i will buy the big size one, cheaper that way..

Kea - i called then din take note of number lei, try checking out past few days thread for the #, if not anyone knows friso # pls let Kea know.

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning Mummies..
Simp,
can get from GE, I bought the H&amp;S policies there, one paid by medisave (TotalShield) and another paid by cash (Supreme Health) to covers the co-insurance and deductible. Recommended by my colleague, understand it's easier to claim.

Haiz! Me and hubby also bought lots of insurance from AIA, just bought an education plan for my boy. I hope everything is ok as assured by MAS yesterday.

koori,
at polyclinic, no bed to put baby during injection so no choice have to carry and the nurse always insist the mummy to carry :p

Yeah, Abbot gives a tin of 400g with a teddy bear, I just received last Sat by courier

Subject: Leapfrog LittleTouch Leappad

Morning mummies, can check with those who own this item, how u find the sound quality? Please advise. Thanks!

Re: Baby's Hospitalisation Plan

Me bought NTUC for my boy as both me and hubby are under them, so easy to manage ;)

There total 5 companies provide shield plan. Prudential &amp; GE can provide full coverage with purchase of the "plus plan" (that pay by cash).
Aviva provide free coverage for all children under Age 20 (their Plan 2, i think) if both parents took up their shield plan. Hope the info is useful

Latest on AIG :

<font color="ff0000">The Federal Reserve resisted a cut in interest rates Tuesday and then forged a plan to take over American International Group Inc. and rescue the insurance giant from the brink of bankruptcy with an extraordinary $85 billion loan. </font>

Guess we are safe for now. I think the worrying part in last night report is that the federal allow AIG to draw assets from their subsidy to secure loan. That may means that AIA's assets are claimable by another institution upon bankruptcy. In turn, means that even if the MAS regulate that 80% liquidity to meet all liability may not be "given" to consumer if the company liquidates.

Actually, if you have policy with AIA , it will be better that you withdraw now. AIA agents and MAS cannot be trusted at the moment. Agents may not fully understand the situation and they have personal interested in keeping with your policy. As for MAS , they say these things to "prevent" panic.

Maro : be careful when you cancel health policy make sure you get the new policy effective before your draw your existing ones.

Jgal
I don't know what you based on to advise ppl to withdraw their AIA policy? Do you really know what is going to happen? Sorry to say this, but some ppl have paid their policy for many years, it involves their hard earned money. According to you, agents do not fully understand the situation, but you advise ppl to withdraw now, seems more like a panic act to me.

Gathering on 19 Sep at Littleprincesses's place
can come anytime after 11am I will settle lunch so just come with yr darlings. I stay behind national Jnr college, will text you my address on thurs. Looking forward to see you n your prince / princess. I think this time more blue than pink

1. LittlePrincesses
2. Maddy's Mum
3. Angel
4. Dvia
5. Babyliss &amp; Owen
6. Simp n bb
7. Chewys
8. Prawnie n Xav
9. Jamie &amp; Bryan
10. Jasmine &amp; Elijah
11. Earth_baby &amp; Jayden
12. XiaoZhu &amp; BB
13. Lynn85 &amp; Charmaine
14. scubababe &amp; Byron

think i will reach only after 12pm. it is ok?

Hi earth_baby,

<font color="ff0000">... With the big insurance group, regulators and potential lenders racing time on Monday, Governor David Paterson of New York also announced that the state would allow AIG to borrow $20 billion from its subsidiaries, to help bolster its capital in the face of potentially disastrous credit downgrades. </font>

http://www.iht.com/articles/2008/09/15/business/16aig.php

Does this means that if AIA turns credit of AIG, if AIG files for bankruptcy, AIA will fall also? Anyway, i am just sharing my view on the current situation. *almak* It's your hard-earned money and we are adults, you need to think for yourself if what i say is okay or not.

Dear Mummies

I watched CNA last night and an industry expert, Mr Tan Kin Lian, ex-CEO of NTU Income was being interviewed. Here are his comments which also can be found at his blog: http://tankinlian.blogspot.com/

<font color="ff0000">Is your money safe with AIA?</font>
Several AIA policyholders have asked my advice. They are worried that AIA may be affected by the collapse of AIG. They asked if they should surrender their AIA policy now and receive the surrender value now.

My advice is:

1. AIA has a separate policyholder's fund covering its liability to its policyholders in Singapore.
2. This fund is solvent and is not affected by the problem faced by AIG.
3. There is no need to panic and surrender the AIA policies at this time.
4. Even if this fund is in trouble, there is a Policyholder's Guarantee Fund managed by MAS that can take care of most of the liability (maybe 90% or more).
5. It is better to wait for any official announcement from MAS before you act.

I hope that my comments are correct and can help to allay the fears of AIA policyholders.

Posted by Tan Kin Lian at 9:48 AM 16 comments

Jgal
AIG is in trouble everybody who reads the news knows that. But it doesn't mean that ppl should start withdrawing their life policies now. AIA policy holders are not share holders of AIG
There are many scenarios that could take place and one of them is possibly a change in insurance company, that means another insurance company will just take over AIA's policy. We do not know yet. Withdrawing life policy is irreversible. So I just think that giving such serious advice without all the facts is not very appropriate lah. Hope you don't mind me saying

Hi mummies, anyone wants Dumex milk powder (for 3 to 6 yrs old), open for already, but niece is allergy to it. So planning to give away. Pls pm me if interested.

gathering on 19 sept - we have more boys than girls this time. let's dress our babies in blue

i hv send out text for my address, pls let me know if the msg didn't reach you. see ya!