(2008/04) April 2008

jaspire: i feel his gums, but dunno how it feels like if teeth is going to sprout soon. Hard hard? But aren't they suppose to be a bit hard hard?

lovemum: my boy also same same ... refused pacifier since birth. Now need to latch then will sleep. A bit worried tt he'll be too reliant on my breast to sleep le. Though i dun let him fall asleep at the breast. I wanted to train him to take pacifier to suckle to sleep instead, but he'll cry n refuse to close his mouth, or suck n push out with his tongue, then cry. Onli way to pacify is to latch liao. Bad habit le.

lovemum
don stress lah. my boy also like that. but then got to hard hearted abit then your boy will take the bottle. my boy refused the bottle in the beginning when i went back to work. wow, in the begining, when i just went to help at my mum's office and left my boy with my dad, he refused to drink. max only 1 to 2 oz for a 6hours stretch. then when i reach home it was hourly feeding.... wanted to faint. he was even feeding through the noght. but after a week he started to drink a bit more each time. now he is at 5 to 6oz per feed, feeding every 3 hours when i am not at home. expects to be bottle fed when he sees or hears that i am around though.

steph

thanks for opening up your place. i'm ok on 27 aug. sms or pm me your addy.

Calling East mummies:

1)Steph
2)Jamie
3)earth bb
4)lovemum
5)tratties
6)Prawnie
7)scubababe
8)cloudme
9 )Gail
10) dolly23

Hi Emmarae,
my girl LOVES to moves her arm alot when i feed her milk.sometime if i nv hold the bottle properly she will push away the bottle,and ended up on the floor.. feel irritating sometimes. Now whenever she wans to moves alot,i will wrap her body(like newborn tat time) haha... then she will know tat if she moves alot,she will kana wrap..

Wah she must have pushed very hard to push the bottle to the floor...
my boy looks like doing freestyle like that... can pull back his arm somemore... tot it was funny until kena hit a few times...

Wonder y they like to do that...

Lynn,

Do you know which seller sell for Bright Futures shirts? They are just too cute...

Halloween,
Old Navy is selling costumes for US22.5 each. I don't know leh, after yesterday's gathering I just thought... it would be so cute if all the babes dressed up and take pictures

Good morning Mummies

Dunno how Dana caught a cold last night. When she woke up this morning, was sneezing, having runny nose and refuse to feed
Will have to miss today's playgym. Hubby asks should we bring her to see PD rightaway or any home remedy?

Poor Dana.....

Perhaps exposed to too much wind? My PD gave me some kind of kid's paracetamol before for cold/ fever symptoms. I never used it. But since I am not expert, I will bring to PD/GP.

However sneezing is usually alright. Maddy sneeze when she enter AC room or when she went out from AC room. But refusing to eat is something to take note. Bring Dr lar.....

Hope she will get well soon...

<font color="0077aa">morning mummies

my boy not well oso.. according to my mil he been coughing and having block nose since afternoon.. last nite he oso like tat.. gonna bring him see dr later.. shud bring him to gp or find a PD to see?? Can GP do a good job??</font>

Anyone wants the oatmeal ?

Spree for HAPPYBELLIES (Jgal organising)
Cost of oatmeal Cereal (6 pk) and brown rice (6pk )= USD50.22 = SGD70.30
Shipping cost = est. SGD3.20per can * 12 = SGD38.40 ( this info is from Mar'08 mummies)
Per pack : SGD$8.50 nett and firm (including shipping, extra I will bear. )
Singapore R.P : $12.55

HAPPYBELLIES oatmeal Cereal, Organic, Contains DHA and Probiotics, 7-Ounce Canisters
http://www.amazon.com/HAPPYBELLIES-Oatmeal-Contains-Probiotics-Containers/dp/B000YSS7EO/ref=pd_bxgy_gro_img_b
1. goodbbb
2. Veronica
3. jgal

HAPPYBELLIES Brown Rice Cereal Contains DHA and Probiotics, Organic, 7-Ounce Canisters (Pack of 6)
http://www.amazon.com/HAPPYBELLIES-Contains-Probiotics-Organic-Canisters/dp/B000YSTGGW/ref=pd_sim_gro_1
1. Jgal
2. tsukushi
3. ABCmum
4. Cheesycake
5. Veronica
6. Emma Rae

my girl's rash and redness disappeared overnoght with the PD's anti-fungal cream

so happy.. still have discolouration of the skin (lighter patches) though, think these will take longer to go off. hiaz why i waited so long to bring her to the doc?? bad mummy..

Morning mummies !!

Chewy: Thanks for opening up your house for the gethering ! Your house is nicely done, feel so comfy

Maddysmum, Angel, Raynsky, Tsukushi, Lil princess, yo, Babybliss; Nice meeting up with you and babies

Angel: Hugs to Dana. Hope the flu bugs go away soon.

<font color="0000ff">Emmarae</font>
my boy also likes to move his arms alot when feeding. always want to push the bottle away. hv to "lock" both his arms when feeding. so till now i still cant train him to hold his own bottle.

<font color="ff0000">Dana</font>, get well soon. hugs &amp; kisses from aunties here

<font color="119911">strawberries</font>
usually i will bring my kids to GP 1st, esp for flu &amp; cough. if still not well then go PD

jamie. so fast train bb to hold own bottle liao meh? my girl will also keep mving her free arm (the other arm like kena locked in position between her and me so only 1 free arm).. she'll keep flinging her arm until she finds somethin to hold onto, either my finger or the bottle..

sputnik, i go to Kidslink Sembawang, cos near my house

lynn
my boy coming to 5mths on monday. its time liao. last time i also train my girl around this time. they cant hold yet for sure but at least i want him to know this is the way to hold the bottle when feeding. once he gets the hang of it, the next step is to let him hold the handle, which u can buy to attach the bottle. cant remember whats its call.

Hi Lynn, MAy I have the address for PD that u bring ur bb to? I stay at admiralty dunno where got nearby PD.. Is the PD gd,experience n patience? Thanks in advance..

Hi to all mummies, can recommend Good, Experience PD to me. Coz my daughter drink lesser n lesser milk each day. So worried here. She seeing a PD at kkh, k clinic, muz wait v long oso.. the PD dun have kids, n v young. Probably not so experience also.. Thanks..

lynn85, my PD is at sembawang, cross the road from sembawang MRT station. it's actually opposite the MRT station, in the HDB (town council) buidling.

http://www.kidslink.com.sg/clinics.html

I feel the PD is very patient and shows genuine concern for the baby lor. she always say Adel will remember and hate her cos she always does things to her like check here and there, poke things in and out of her nose etc..

goodbb, i think the price of the hairbrush would depend on the brush handle you choose. from 89 to 200+. but most between 90-150 lah. the one we chose is 100+ but she gave discount. also dunno how much but we're quite happy with the overall amount spent lor. Amy recommended me to her

Do pacifiers go by age group?

My son is on a 3mths+ one now and it's starting to look a little small in his mouth, sorta like he's nibbling instead of having a good suck. Hope this makes sense!

I want to get him one that's perhaps for 6mths+? He's using an orthodontic pacifier now, would like to continue with that.
What brands do you recommend?

Jamie: Wah you wan to train your kid to hold the bottle... that's fast... oh i din know they sold handles to attach to the bottle... is it to any bottle or to a particular brand?

Poupinette: My boy using NUK 1-6months orthodontic one... seems to be quite ok so din try other brands...

<font color="ff0000">Re: Playgym</font>

Today's playgym @ Calamari's funciton room is <font color="ff0000">CANCELLED</font> due to low attendance.

Thanks Mummies for your concern. Just came back from PD. Dana caught a bad flu bug which PD says can be in the air so there's no way we could have prevented it.

But PD says if babies ever have cold or flu, it's better to bring to doc quickly else they might develop into wheezing cough or bronchitis. Hope Dana will recover soon. Really feed sad when bb is ill...

Just 1 2 check, has anyone brought their babies to hawker centres/coffeeshop for makan so far? My in laws just called my hb to ask go out for dinner to the coffeeshop downstairs... I turned them down coz i very scared of the hot food moving around n the ppl smoking... Am i over reacting?

amy...

now alot of coffee shop cant smk and oso theres is restricted smking area...i bot my boy to market, and coffee shop, no prob at all....

poupinette
i'm also using avent pacifiers, they hv for different age group.

Emmarae
handles: i'm using avent brand, can fit in all avent bottles. not sure abt other brands.

Hi poupinette
I'm using NUK for my bb. So far so good. They oso have different age group.

Hi amy,
I've bought my bb out when she's 1mth+.. Go coffeeshop often oso.And oso bought her to my mum's working place to let many auntie carry. Coz i dun wan her to recognise certain ppl. My elder son oso like that.He can go out wif my family w/o me n my hb. He can easily make frds wif strangers(though is not v gd,coz if ppl wan to take him go sell oso v easy).

Lynn85, Kea,
So far i did bring my baby out to foodcourts, NTUC but never to market n coffeeshop yet... dunno is it coz the timing i go coz last time when i was preggy that time when we go to coffeeshop makan, although ppl smoke at the yellow box area but my in laws always dunno why will choose a table that will kanna the smoke one. Then i paisei to request them to change a table lor...

Amy,next time if happen that ur in law kana those table again, u muz tell them lor.. Coz it's for ur bb own gd.. Or nxt time u walk faster than them so u can choose those table that is far from the smoking area..

amy
personally i will try to avoid coffeeshop coz its hot. my boy sweat easily so i would prefer foodcourt as its aircon. anyway there's no right or wrong, just do whatever is comfortable for u.

Amy - So far I've only brought my son to the FC or resturants. For Coffeeshops/Hawker Centres, I'm a bit hesitant coz I have the same issue as you, when I was pregnant also always seem to be sitting near a table where people are smoking nearby...

Get well soon Dana... won't be see you tomorrow then

Amy, I brought my baby pretty much everywhere. Brought her to hawker today at Tiong Bahru Market. But she sleeps all along... and also took her to esplanade to enjoy a performance at the library. She had fun (at least I think so hahaha)

Re PD: Mine is Baby n Kids. So far, good, although rather expensive. I might switch but for now, hubby will comfortable there. However, I am considering going to GP for her jabs, coz then can save on consultation fee...

raynsky
ya lor me too,i am his pacifier. now i reduce the time for him to suck to sleep. i just pull out when he fall asleep. He resist, i just pat him.very funny, the mouth still moving making the sucking movement when sleeping.I hope i can break this bad habit. Every thing, i gave him.. his toys want to put inside his mouth but just refused teats and pacifier.

jasmine chen
At first i thought of let him accept bottle then i go and work. maybe i should find a part time job first. Let him have no choice but to drink from bottle. If not, when i am around he will never accept bottle.

Hi JGAL,

I never heard from you regarding my order for the Babycenter spree. And now the spree is closed without my name on any of the lists.

I would really appreciate it if you could acknowledge this post or any of my PMs and confirm if my order has been placed so I can make payment promptly. Or simply tell me that you forgot about me and did not include my order.

I would appreciate hearing something from you so I can join another spree if need be.

I am inexperienced as this is my first spree.
I do hope that you can understand my concern.

<font color="0000ff">Re : Squirt Spoons</font>
Dear all, the loot has arrived

Spoon : US$7.99*1.4 = $11.20
Shipping :US$2.10*1.4 = $2.95
Total cost : S$11.20 + S$2.95 = S$14.15

Please top up the difference to my POSB Sav 102-18206-5, and indicate your preference for collection or postage (For postage, the mummy will have to bear the cost of postage)

Appreciate full payment before collection.

Collection Place and timing:
Weekdays:
1) 19/8/08 (Tues) Vivo City Apr mummies gathering
2) 20/8/08 (Wed) Bukit Panjang Plaza 6.30pm
3) 22/8/08 (Fri) Toa Payoh MRT Control Station 6pm
Weekends :
4) 23/8/08 (Sat) Plaza Sing (Dhobby ghaut) 5.30pm
5) 23/8/08 (Sat) Bouna Vista MRT 1.30pm
6) 23/8/08 (Sat) Mini playgroup @ Calamari's place
7) 24/8/08 (Sun) Hougang MRT

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Name</TD><TD>Amount to top up </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Veronica</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Prawnie</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Esther</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Calamari</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Koori</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>mushloom (2pcs)</TD><TD>15.35 </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>bebe11</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Kea</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>sherin</TD><TD>14.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>tratties (2pcs)</TD><TD>5.35 </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Jgal</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Puffish</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>cutie188 (2pcs)</TD><TD>5.35 </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>babybliss</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>hua er~</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>littleprincesses</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Maddysmum (to PM)</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>gervynne (to PM)</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Chewy (2 pcs)</TD><TD>5.35 </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>stefylim</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>lovemum</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Emma Rae (to e-mail)</TD><TD>2.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Jo</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>scubababe</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>June08 Mummies</TD><TD>4.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>June08 Mummies</TD><TD>2.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi Gervynne, Emma Rae, Jamie, Lynn85,

Thanks for the pacifier recommendations!

Our current ones are silicone but hubby suggests trying latex pacifiers as they're chewier and can apparently last longer.
Anybody here using latex ones who can give their 2 cents?

I know that NUK is orthodontic, but what about Avent?

And does anybody remember approximately how much they cost? I'd like an idea.

Thanks mummies!