(2008/04) April 2008

Maddy'sMum,

I like the idea of a Halloween dress up/photo shoot.
I think it'll be great for the bubs and equally fun for us grownups

Are any other mummies keen to make it an official event? The more the merrier!

hi veronica have transferred $15.35. pls check ref 1844696429. would opt to collect from u at bpp on wed.

bottle feeding
i also have prob bottle feeding my boy. but my husband found a great way to feed him and he can take in abt 150ml for his nite feed recently. he bought the stroller fan which has lights. he would be distracted by the fan and starts to suckle. not sure if it works on every baby but worth a try if u have one of those fans around at home.

Hi Poupinette
My boy is using Nuk latex pacifiers and teats. I've never used silicone so can't give you a comparison. my boy is happy with the latex. they last about a month or a little over a month before they get sticky & have to be replaced. pacifiers come in 2 pc packs, each pack costs S$6.65 . teats 2 pc pack costs S$5.10 at kiddypalace

Reduced Milk intake
Sianz my ger reduced her milk intake so much that my gd friend come todayz! Also feel so drained and uncomfortable. I wonder y her milk intake dropped so much. It is like she is weaning herself off me. My goodness hopefully she got enough.

Hi Joelle,

Thanks for your input!

My son has used his silicone pacifiers for over 2 months and they look fine. Are they generally longer-lasting compared to latex?

I'm just really curious as to what the differences between the two are.

May I ask why you chose latex over silicone?

poupinette
i'm using avent silicone, just bought a 6-18M (1pc) at $7. i used silicone for both my kids so cant comment on latex.

the thread is moving so fast!!!

I am so worried of Charis, she drink only twice today. 100ml at 9am and 120ml at 5pm and spend most of her time sleeping, but she dun seem to be unwell..

<font color="0077aa">jamie

i brough my boy to the nearby GP to have a look at him.. poor soul .. he having cough, block nose &amp; oso can hear from his chest tat he is chesty.. duhz.. hope he will get well soonz wif the meds.. initially wanna go to PD but was fully book when i call .. so brought him to GP..

angel

sayang sayang Dana, hope she get well soonz!!

jasmine

ur hubby really confiscate ur cc liaoz ahz.. .. he really mean it hor

cherish

as long as the bb is growing well shud not be a prob ba.. but if u are so worried, perhaps can bring her to PD to tk a look..</font>

jamie, taka got avent sale now. The avent pacifier for 2 are selling at $8.88. I just bought for my nephew today wor.

cherish, my gal today oso like no appetite... she drank 60ml for 1 feeding then 3hrs later drank 70ml oni. Now still refusing to drink. Hope she will drink soon. Else going to latch her direct liao.

Hi Poupinette, I'm using the silicone pacifiers... prefer silicone to latex as I bought both but after I sterilised the latex ones, they had a weird texture so din dare to give to my baby... not sure why... maybe it was a bad lot... used the silicone ones and habben looked back since...

Funnily, when I give him a bottle, I prefer the latex teats... din have any problem sterilising those...

Veronica - Thanks for the spree!!! Will e-mail you my preference in a while...

Hi Cherish - as long as your baby seem as normal, shouldn't b a problem as my boy has days where he prefers to sleep and feeds less as well but as strawberry said, if you're worried, best to consult a pedi...

Angel - hope your babe feels better real soon...

Poupinette - Cant remember how much I paid for the pacifiers...

looks like there is virus in the air. my boy also like a bit cranky lately. seem like his stomach not feeling too well. no appetite too.

poupinette
I tried your in yao lan deep sleep then transfer to cot front down. I failed haha.... that is a difficult task. He wake up eye big big.. refused to sleep again then i put him infront to tv, he watch omlypic games for 1/2 hr. Will try harder tmr...

mushloom
Ok, thks. tmr i will bring out his toys with lights and a fan to distract him.

joelle
ask you? can give apple juice to baby? saw eariler that you gave apple juice?

Strawberries, hope your boy recovers soon. Think both our bbs caught the same bug!

Yes, Maddy's Mum, tomorrow won't be in church. Catch you next week!

Btw, mummies remember to turn in to PM's rally speech (hopefully there's more incentives for us)as well as the Finals of the Women's Table Tennis tomorrow evening.

Veronica: Thanks !! Have transferred you $4.15. Pls check.

From Account POSB Savings
032-29853-2
To Account POSB Savings
102-18206-5 Veronica
Amount S$4.15
Transaction Reference 1844837836

Collection: Vivo gathering

Lovemum - haha your baby also watching olympics... mine also... sometimes he gets excited and screams esp during the swimming meets...

Angel - Think the speech clash a bit with the table tennis...

lovemum

yah i've given apple juice and even a little mashed apple to my boy when he was 3.5 months. about 1-2 tablespoonfuls every other day (or 3 days once). we started because he had bad constipation and we wanted to try "natural remedy" before going to PD. haven't been giving a lot so no conclusive result as to whether it did help constipation or not (finally he went after PD insert bullet), but he enjoys the juice!

the "safe" fruits to start with are apple, pear, banana.

Hi Poupinette ,
silicone lasts longer.Latex gt a weird smell and abit oily oily when open.. I bought the NUK silicon @ $11.15 at kiddy palace. NUK Silicon teats gt two types,i bought the slightly expensive de..Coz I feel my girl more comfortable using this.. Hope it helps u..

Hi Joelle,

Thank you for the heads up about the babycenter spree order!

Sounds like latex might be worth a try, though I'm not too thrilled about having to change pacifiers every month or so!

Hi Lynn85,

I guess latex is oily cuz of the natural fat, but I'm very particular about cleaning teats and pacifiers well so if it's going to be oily, I probably won't like it too much.

Actually, the color of latex irks me as I prefer clean and clear silicone any day.. can see dirt and spots easier

Oh well, might try both anyway to see which one Ethan prefers.

Thank you ladies and good night!

<font color="0000ff">strawberries

will you be getting the
'Bebe et Maman August Promotion L'ovedbaby Cotton Basics Clothing Pre-order specials**' ?

me thinking leh.... hmmmm
but now think will be 'killed' if i still buy leh. :p</font>

Think that's y in the states, they are always trying to rally to make vaccinations not compulsary...

I've always been worried by this... esp since there r so many jabs that baby has to go for...

Angel &amp; Strawberries
Hope both ur bbs get well soon.

Amy
ya me same as you, dun really like 2 bring my boy 2 coffeeshop cos i feel that the air at coffeeshop nt so good lei, gt ppl smoking pluz very 'you yan' and oso quite humid, that my personal feel. Normally i bring my boy 2 food court or restaurant.

strawberries: Hugs to Gideon too. Hope the flu bugs go away soon.

Fianlly, Xavier knows how to flip from his back to be on his tummy. But I was thinking, I tot it's supposed to be from tummy to back first.

chewy
Thanks for opening up your cozy place! Nice to meet all the mummies too.

Angel
Sorry to hear that Dana is sick just a day after we saw her... aiyo today my fil, got flu still want to carry my boy!!! still touch his cheeks here and there!! buey tahan

amy
I have brought my bb to almost every where. But when I detect smoke, I will normally make a detour or dash through the 'smoke'. There was once, we were having lunch with the inlaws at a coffeeshop, and they chose the table in the open area. And this stupid ah pek, just lighted up a cigar when there was a baby right next to him. Really hate these type of insensitive and inconsiderate people. Nowadays, I see a lot of families with very young kids and smoking adults.

Anyway bottomline is, see smoke, better run. According to experts, smoke will have adverse effects on the development of a young child.

my boy still cant flip yet, only can flip halfway nia. but its back to tummy wor.

angel, what do u mean back to tummy more advanced? tot this shd be the way? my #1 also flip from back to tummy.

Haiz, today got 2 cranky person at home
baby cranky coz of her jab. Hubby cranky coz i turned down dinner with my in laws. This is a first and he is upset... He says he understands where i m coming from but if thats the case why is he upset? Its not like i dun want to have dinner with his family...

Hihi mummies, i am new. Need some opinions, or anyone has any experience? My boy is also born in april 2008. been having some problems with him, wonder if anyone knows any remedies? he often cries in the evenings between 7-9pm. Been to PD taken med to modulate intestines (suspect colic) but it still happens. every evening we pick him up from my mother's place to head home, once home he cries non stop til he is tired and falls asleep. See already heart pain. 3 mths til now 4 mths put on 100g only. =(

Amy - I feel your pain... One person cranky enuff liao...esp when it's baby... me not looking forward to when my boy takes his jab in 1 week + time...

Hi Maomi think usually when baby cries a particular time every night could be colic... or could he be recognising his surroundings??

maomi .. you can try massaging your baby.
massaging will help in baby colic like your case and help in gaining weight for babies. you can contact NUH for baby massage classes.
i hope this help.

<font color="0077aa">juniorrain, jamie, prawnie, jasmine, angel &amp; emma rae fer ur well wishes..

angel, will pray fer both little darlings to get well soonz

Re: baby flip

my boy oso like jamie's, onli half way nia... hehe think he wanna put himself in big challenge in flipping from back to tummy..

jasmine

do u have the link?? gotta c first..</font>

maomi
Is your baby carried very often since birth? I don't know if it's true, but babywearers have a theory that the more you carry your baby in his first months, the less cranky he is esp in the evenings.

yeah we went to the doc for colic already, but the med doesn't seem to work? massage, i also try to do once a day, but if he is crying once home, i do not get to massage him. basically when he starts yelling, you just gotta wait til it's over and he falls asleep.

we suspect he recognises his surroundings. but started when he abt 3 mths plus, now only 4 mths already know how to recognise surroundings? oh no..but we know he is very attached to me. coz other times when he cries, only when i carry him, then he will be soothed.

<font color="0077aa">maomi

could be still colic or perhaps recognising the enviroment?? fer my case, i stayed wif in-laws, but when my SO and i still not back from work at nite, mil carried him pass our room he will peak inside and then started crying.. then mil brought him to our room, he started to chuckles &amp; play..</font>

Amy - me! i got bring bb to foodcourt or coffee shop just be careful must park the pram in a nice spot where there's less moving traffic....then i cover using the canopy cos i scared pple bang their soup on her!

Maomi - I think at this age they r able to recognise the surroundings. Coz my son tends to look around to see where he is... last time the moment I bring him to his room... he'll have a look around and start screaming ... When I take him out into the hall he is fine... Coz I usually try to put him to sleep in the room... and my boy doesn't like to sleep...
Think they'll outgrow it... coz my son is now used to it... bring him to the room, not as bad as b4 liao...

RE: OUting at Chewy's
Angel, Prawnie, Tsukushi, LilPrincess, Yo, Raynsky, BbBliss, Maddy's mum: great to hv u babes ard! Hope all ate well &amp; have a gd time! Sorry tt I can't chat long w most mums. Oh man, not ez to BF &amp; host w/o HB.. hahaha.Ok shall post fotos soon...

Lil'princess: thks for the ride! Really appreciate! Hope u hv a great time in Korea! Oh if the LG mat is really cheap to get fr there i wld like to get 1 too. thks so much!

Angel, strawnberries: hope ur bb recover soon. *hugs*

Amy: I am paranoid abt bringing bb to coffeeshops or food court too. Afraid pple miss handle food &amp; pour on Elliot. So we always put him in pram , (moreover my pram is fury red in colour!) with the hood on to cover him. OH beware of coffee aunties!!!! They love to touch babies! ONce this lady who cleans the table shook Elliot's hand... I almost fainted on the spot!!!Then cannot tell pple dun touch bb... Once she left I quickly wiped his hand. Imagine Elliot can suck his fist ...eeeekkkk all the germs! Tok my HB who joined us later &amp; he said next time juz tell anyone not to touch him wor... Daddy super protective...

Babes Elliot having diarrhea AGAIN since yesterday.... think I cannot eat pizzas. THis is the second time after I ate pizzas he poo every feed.....arrrrghh. Then MIL said bf-ing is so troublesome &amp; seem to blame me for making him hving tummy upset. i am so worried...

RE: breastfeeding wave @ TMC
Mrs wong calling all TMC mummies to join in the wave on 19th Aug, this tues, at 9.30am to hv a mass breastfeeding event. refreshments will be provided. Also, there be a talk on for new mums at marina mandarin hotel &amp; mass breastfeeding at suntec soon (scubababe mentioned before). Let's join &amp; tell the locals breastfeeding is great!!!! I am sick of getting stares &amp; funny comments when I nurse in public or telling pple benefits of Bf-ing!!!

Emma,your baby vaccinate the four months one already? Did u give ur bb take the rotarix? my bb gg to vaccine on 28 tis mth and oso taking the rotarix 2nd dose. Dunno if dun vaccine the 6 in 1 can anot? Is it that serious?