(2008/04) April 2008

bens....i will usually feed my ger at ard 10pm with 100ml then follow by letting her latch for a while...then she will sleep till abt 5+/6am if u still BF...why not try this...

or u can increase his last feed by abt 20-30ml and see if he can finish n if it delays the nite feed to 5+...slowly move to 6+...

last time my ger use to wake up at 2+/3+ but i try to pat her back to sleep without feeding n nw adays she dun wake up liow...

Luann_mummy: that's funny...kekeke

why not giving bb night feed? now i still wake her up to feed(breastfeed) when she suckle her thumb in the middle of the night...

my boy is oredi drinking 150ml every 3 hrly...itzit too much?? last nite fed him at 11pm but still wakes up at 3.30am... tried to pat him, but once he knows there's someone around, he'll cry even louder...gosh..think really bullies us!

cloudme...coz i lazy mummy...wanna catch my beauty sleep mah ha ha ha...n last time Mrs Wong say in the nite dun haf to wake bb up for feed if they dun wake up coz watever milk intake they will catch up in the day 1...

just wondering how heavy is all ur bb now? i just weigh my ger yesterday she is 14wks 4days old n already 7kg... no wonder these days i feel that my arms are veli tired...

bens...how old is ur boy nw....thk its a habit to wake up at 3+ lor...y not u dun go to him when he wakes up....see if he falls back to sleep...

cloudme...u long time nv got k-song...i long time nv play mahjong...hands veli itchy now...thk all my kakis forget me liow ha ha ha...

my ger 13 wk plus and she onli weight 5.2kg....

luann_mummy:
my ger only drink 2 to 3 times in the day and only max 120ml...she can even withstand not to drink for 4 plus hours ever since i started work (usual last feed in the afternoon is 3pm and she will wait for me to return from work to latch her)..

my son is 13wks ...so i dunno whether he's too young to "train"...initially was so worried cos he was a small baby, only 2.3kg..but now, he's a milk monster!! every 3hrs, like an alarm clock...will cry for milk!
do all yr babies drink 3hrly now?

cloudme...my ger in the infant care drinks abt 3-4x in the day from 8am-6pm each feed is abt 100-120ml

bens...my ger drink abt 3-3.5hrly nw since she is abt 11wks old but she onli take max 120ml sometimes she onli take 80ml.....shld be ok to start training ur boy already coz 3mths old liow...

My girl every morning super poor appetite. Only drink 60ml. hahahha . Then throughout the day, only manage 100ml here and there. Only sometimes, can hit 130ml.

Luann & Cloudme,
u both v funny...one is K-song and the other is Mahjong...ya ya with babies around...is very diff to catch up with friends...i too v long never k-song and coffee talk liaos!

be@ns,

2yrs ago my #1 also like that...every 2 to 3 hrs surely will wake up and cry for milk...my hubby call him "MILK MONSTER"...think boys are like that izzit? next day go to work feeling very sleepy!

my #2 is diff...she will only wake up once at night. v good for me ... can sleep more =)

bens...my colleague's son who is 15wks old is also like urs wake up at 12/3/8 for feed (he is on TBF)...so not to worry..slowly train lah...

charis_mom...me also wan to reduce pump to 1x in office coz will be joining nw co. soon...also thinking how can i do that har?...usually by 11+ will feel engorge liow....any advice mummies??

Charis_mom,

Re:BF

to stop BF...The best way to manage your milk supply is gradually reduce your feeds. You can do this by first dropping one feed at a time. Then when you are on your last feed, you can reduce the duration of that feed gradually over a few days. When you see your milk supply has almost dwindled, you can finally stop. This is the best way to stop breastfeeding.

Hope it helps!

bens, need not stop ur boy from drinking. Just let him drink lo. My girl has been drinking 200ml from 8 weeks onwards until now. She also v zhun, will cry every 3 hours. Sometimes earlier. But PD says her growth is ok. I think you just moniter lo. So long as baby is not obese and growing well, it's ok.
My girl hardly sleeps in the day now. Is that the same for all your babies?
Everyday my mum is complaining that she cant rest at all! haha.

Re: gathering
I was wondering if we could have a more regular meetup (at a home) where we can do music n movement and some exercises altogether with all our babies? It's like a mini-playgroup. anyone keen? can save all our playgym money since this little playgroup will be able to serve e purpose of the playgym!

Luann,

same going for pumping...from 2 pumping session to 1 pumping session...slowly...try to make the pumping session longer...like u pump every 4 hourly...slowly pro-long it to 6 hourly...then 8 hourly then 10 hourly...then 12 hourly. slowly!

yeah geryl... think soon we'll give up on "training" him liao. sometimes too tired to "drag" his feed, so quickly feed him when he makes noise so we can sleep too.
So how long did yr son stop his nite feeds?

<font color="119911">Mommies letting go Pampers Comfort M size (6-11kg) 58pcs in a BN pkt at $9 now. To pick up at CCK or Yew Tee, anyone?</font>

geryl
Thanks for your advise! Must ask for your help too when time comes..hehe

damn lah.. downstairs neighbours hacking and drilling. My baby no need to sleep today! Raining also, cannot go out.

Sherin,
I want then i can join when i am back in spore!

<font color="0000ff">Mini Playgym at home</font>
1. Sherin
2. Simp

Nite feeds
I also feed on demand to my ger. At ties she will slp thr the nite but i think maybe gw spurt now, she will wake up in the middle of the nite fidgeting or sucking her thumb loudly then this wd wake my mother instinct to feed her. I have no complains liao better than 1st mth when her demands is every 1 hrly or 2-hrly.

Reducing Pumping/BF
I realised the bb can do that for u. There is this time when she reduce her feed in the sense that i tried feeding her,she wasnt keen, then i went to pump and she can tahan till the next feed. The next day, think i feel my breasts a bit empty and there's little pink spotting signaling that menses coming back. Then i was like stunned, my ger weaning off form me kekeke

re: baby einstein

1 rain/Rachelle
2 priscilla (Paid)
3 Veronica*2 (Paid)
4 Swirl (Paid)
5 Angel (Paid)
6 jamie (Paid)
7 koori (Paid)
8 gemini05/ Hazel (Paid)
9 esther/ wynne (Paid)
10 eileen (Paid)
11 babybliss (Paid)
12 jasmine (Paid)
13 jasmine (Paid)
14 Beh Jolene (Paid)
15 Okiedockie
16 tratties (Paid)
17 crystal
18 kitsune (Paid)
19 kelcqi
20 piggy mummy
21 qingling

awaiting confirmation
1. kelly
2.jia jia

re:baby einstein

(repost)

all who have booked the baby einstein dvds, i will need to ask for the ibanking first so that i can pay the supplier. will take the orders at 15% discount first but may have to ask you all to top up the difference if we cant hit 20 orders k.

amount to ibank is 65-15% =55.25
ibank account is DBS Savings Plus 048-0-024839

be@ns,

my son cry...then i just carry him to our bed and let him latch on then i go back to catch my beauty sleep. can't train him...but his feed timing is from every 2 to 3 hrs slowly increase to 3 to 4 hrs. from 4 feeds to 3 feeds to 2 feeds and then 1 feed...so i "REN" till he is 1yr old...very funny after he blow that candle...he never wake up for night feeds liaos! i TBF him to 12mths (plus cereal at 6mths onwards)...and continue BF him till his is 18mths (mix formula &amp; Breastmilk plus the solid food he is taking)...

hi sherin

cld u pls advise roughly when will walmart order be placed?

RE: sucking of thumb

Simp...ur ger also sucking her thumb ah...my ger too u know...not sure whether is it good or bad...will it be a habit in future?

anyone bb is sucking of their thumb?

Simp
does period signal a stop or dip to breastfeeding?
yesterday and today my supply lower than usual, and i notice pink spotting too

my ger is finally showing interest in the VCDs/DVDs i bought her. today she watched baby mozart and can actually watch it from beginning to end and talked to the bb einstein puppets

2 weeks ago will only glance and look away/stare at nothingness and fall asleep, last week only managed 5-10mins and then fall asleep. today she watched the entire disc! how fast our babies grow!

counting down to starting work, and feeling very sad leh, have to leave my ger and go to work. will probably miss her first moments

re: baby einstein orders closing

hi all this is the updated list for the baby einstein order . please check and confirm all orders by today.

Geryl
my boy likes to suck his knuckle of the second finger. he'd hold his hand in a fist. it's cute, sometimes he sucks very loudly SLURP SLURP LOL
my hb hates it he says it's dirty keeps pulling his hand away and wipe his mouth, but i think it's cute haha

<font color="119911">summerdaze
tot i read somewhr that bb starts to shown 'preference' in ppl is abt 7-8mos

well.. there's couple of time when my boy will buried his head on my shoulder and raised up when his grandpa call out his name... machiam feel so *shyy*</font>

Geryl: I think it's normal. My boy puts his whole fist into his mouth and was sucking so loudly. Can never seem to stop him from sucking. I keep beating lightly every time he sucks his fingers.

Sherin: Pls check tomoro if you have received my payment for EC books. Chewy will help me to collect the gymboree and EC books.

Thumb-sucking

Introduction

Some babies suck their thumbs more than others, but the fact remains that all babies do. This does not seem much of a consolation for anxious parents who worry that their baby has formed a nasty habit that will make her the butt of jokes and may even result in displaced or damaged teeth. These parents should remember that thumb-sucking comes naturally to a baby whether it is because she is hungry, seeking comfort, or just exploring her body. Do not pull your baby?s thumb out of her mouth every time she puts it into her mouth. This is definitely not the way to deal with thumb-sucking. This approach could backfire and actually result in the development of a thumb-sucking habit. Parents should keep in mind that thumb-sucking is a habit that disappears of its own volition, gradually petering out between the ages of three and six.

Hunger and thumb-sucking

One rationale behind thumb-sucking is that when a baby has not had its fill of sucking at the breast or bottle, it instinctively turns towards its thumb. Dr. David Levy found that babies who were fed every three hours did not suck their thumbs as avidly as those who were fed every four hours.

However, some babies do not display this habit irrespective of their feeding schedule. On the other hand, some babies have been observed to suck their thumbs in the delivery room. Others start right from their days in the womb and may even be born with sucking blisters on their arms and hands.

Thumb-sucking need not be cause for concern if your baby just sucks her thumb for a few minutes before mealtimes. It is because she is hungry. However, if the baby reaches for her thumb immediately after feeding or snacks on her thumb constantly between meals, it is a sign that you need to distract her from thumb-sucking. Let her have a surfeit of sucking at the breast, bottle or a pacifier. Remember that it is important that thumb-sucking be controlled right at the beginning, not after it has become a well-entrenched habit.

Thumb-sucking and breastfeeding

It has been observed that generally breastfed babies are less likely to suck their thumbs. This is because breastfeeding usually satisfies the baby?s need to suck. It is the baby who decides when she is ready to let go of the nipple. The mother cannot tell when her breasts are empty.

Ordinarily, a baby sucks most of the milk from the mother?s breast in a space of 5 or 6 minutes. Sucking beyond this point is just to satisfy the craving to suck. If a breastfed baby sucks her thumb, allow her to nurse for a longer period of time. If a baby suckles at both the breasts while feeding and still sucks her thumb, the mother could try feeding her from only one breast the next time, allowing her to nurse to her heart?s content. If this does not work, increase the duration for which the baby sucks at the first breast and then allow her to suck at the second breast for as long as she pleases.

Thumb-sucking and bottlefed babies

Thumb-sucking develops in the average bottle-fed baby when she can finish a bottle in 10 minutes rather than 20. This happens because as the baby grows older she becomes stronger, and the nipples become weaker. During the first six months, parents should attempt to slow down the pace of bottle-feeding so that the baby takes around 20 minutes. Keeping more of a vacuum in the bottle and buying new nipples with smaller holes can do this. However, if the hole is too small, the baby may think it is too much of an effort and stop sucking altogether.

Cutting down on feedings

As a baby grows older, it is natural that she does not need to be fed as often. However, if she has a habit of sucking her thumb, it is better to think twice before reducing the number of feedings. In all likelihood, her sucking needs are still not being met. She may have begun to sleep through her last feed before you turn in for the night. However, it may still be a good idea to wake her up and see whether she is willing to feed.

Teething and thumb-sucking

Babies who are teething have a habit of chewing on their thumbs, fingers or hands. This probably helps them relieve the pressure off their gums. Parents should try not to confuse this with a thumb-sucking habit. A baby, who has a habit of sucking her thumb, will thumb-suck one minute and chew on it the next when she is teething.

What about the baby?s teeth?

It is a fact that thumb-sucking can result in the baby?s upper front teeth being pushed forward and the lower teeth back. The extent to which the teeth are displaced will depend on how long the baby sucks her thumb and how she positions her thumb. This displacement of teeth is not permanent, i.e. it only affects the baby?s milk teeth. The child?s permanent teeth come in around the age of six. So as long as thumb-sucking is curtailed before the age of six, there will be no permanent damage to the child?s teeth.

Six months old and still sucking her thumb

As mentioned earlier, babies have an instinctive urge to suck, but this urge normally dies down naturally by the time the baby is three or four months old. If your baby sucks her thumb habitually beyond this age, she is doing it to seek comfort. Such babies when lonely, tired, bored or frustrated, resort to thumb-sucking. This is the baby?s way of coping with growing up. She regresses to early infancy when something as simple as sucking her thumb made her happy. However, it is extremely rare that a child will begin thumb-sucking for the first time at 6 months or one year.

Tackling thumb-sucking

The first thing to remember, even if it seems hard to believe, is that thumb-sucking generally subsides of its own accord. It normally stops before the appearance of the second teeth. It disappears in fits and starts. It decreases rapidly, but returns when the child feels the need for some additional comfort. The good news is that eventually it will go for good. It is too much to hope that the child will kick the habit before she is three. Children usually outgrow thumb-sucking between the ages of three and six.

If your child occasionally sucks her thumb, but generally seems happy and well-adjusted, there is no cause for concern. However, thumb-sucking can be an indication of maladjustment or lack of love. Parents should try to identify what is bothering the child and then set it right if possible. May be your child needs companionship, or may be you are being too restrictive or not providing enough stimulation and distraction. There could be any number of reasons.

Tips on dealing with habitual thumb-suckers

Don?t make your child feel conscious about sucking her thumb.
Don?t nag your child.
Don?t worry about it. Your child will pick up on your concern, which will in turn cause her to worry.
Try to distract her with a toy when she begins to suck her thumb. But do it as subtly as possible or she will catch on.
You can try bribing or rewarding an older child for not sucking her thumb.
Corrective measures such as restraints, elbow mitts, bad-tasting substances painted on the fingers, etc. usually backfire. Pulling the child?s thumb out of his mouth will only serve to make him rebel against this restraint and encourage him to continue the habit.
Encourage the child to give up the habit in a friendly, non-judgemental manner.

This article is based on the views of Dr. Spock

joellez, i still have orders coming in. I will order most likely tonight! yeah!
I'll send out emails to those who have ordered to double confirm first. Again, orders are abit here n there and changes here n there. So need to organise abit. So sorry for e delay.

Oh gymboree books are here. Pls arrange for collection.
collection pt: my place(CCK), cck mrt, harbourfront mrt(weekdays), RP mrt (weekdays) and postage. I will need to check on e postage cost.

i can offer my house. But hor i got dogs. Not sure if their barking can be disturbing even if i keep them in the room.
I've taught in "playworkz" now defunct so i can help with some planning like the songs, actions, etc. Just like gymboree, we can also sit down and have a short sharing session on a certain issue which is bugging many of us or at times, certain development milestones of our babies.
Perhaps we can cont wat simp is doing, we'll have a list of names then we can proceed from there?

Re: Licking and sucking
I bought my girl this teether doll from Robinsons. Quite cute, its made of towel material, and its in the shape of a faceless doll with 4 knots. Supposed to wet the 4 knots and place it in the freezer for 15 mins. I never put in the freezer but just let her hold it. She will smell and lick/bite the towel haha

Joelle,
I suppose that's mother nature when our system not making milk that much means they will resume back to our normal system. Geryl, is that correct? hahaha i guess de. I realised that i have on and off spotting in my 1st mth of confinement thr 2nd month when milk ss is not stable. Then recently like dat so i guess the body is telling me.

Sucking Thumbs/fingers
Yes Geryl, my ger luvs her 10 fingers. I presume it is akin to pacifier. Ur boi last time dun do that is it? My ger can immediately suck her fingers after i unlatched her rt? *angryz* like i dun have enough milk kekeke. I think it is fine as part of their security thingy. She alreadi suck her thumb when she was in my womb at 5th mth. Interesting isnt it?

geryl
my boy also suck thumb, 2 thumbs at a time ....
last few days he seems to hv found his vocal, loves to scream &amp; play by himself