(2008/04) April 2008

btw, for those feeding baby with EBM, how many feed portions do u have in the fridge before u decide to freeze? E.g i have 6 bottles in the fridge, which means 6 feeds, shld i freeze the next time i express? Jus wanna know what u gals do so can use as a general guideline....

JrRain: Eshin takes after u! Hahaha! How r u babe? Xiang & I are ok to meet up but needs somewhere near MRT heehee... I only be able to go out by myself 2wks later as am recovering fr op. SHall keep in touch, otherwise can meet at Jgal's outing on the 12th.

Xiang: shall dbl check my orders & trf the money soon. How's the wetseal & VS orders coming? If wetseal has poor response it's ok, no worries. Let me know wat's the final amt to trf u then. Thks babe!

Tsukushi, I am interested in getting some cloth bks. Shall revert 2 u by tml? Can't sit ard too much to shop online... sorry

Sputnik,
normally when i express out, i will straight away put in the freezer. Then when i need the BM then I take out 2 warm it, mayb take long time 2 warm.

Sputnik: babe, I thaw the older milk in fridge according to amt of feeds, eg 3 ( as I direct BF in mornings). Freeze the ones I pump out & till they hv same temp, I combine in milk bags to be frozen in freezer. My logic to thaw milk is the oldest one get thawed first so as not to let the antibodies diminish.

hi sputnik
i go by date. e.g. today is 3/7, he will be drinking 2/7 ebm. any leftover from 1/7 will be put in freezer this morning, or even 2/7 night.

sputnik: my EBM every pump is about 280ml. Am pumping 4 times a day. Every pump, 140ml goes to the milk bottle into the fridge for consumption today or tomorrow. The rest of the 140ml goes to the glass bottle to the freezer. My girl drinks about 6 times a day. Out of these 6 times, 1 time is frozen 1 month old EBM. I throw away any frozen EBM that is more than 1 month old. Hope this helps.

Jgal, is this spree still on? If yes, I will like to order :)

Order for Bounce Bounce Baby (in order of posting):

1. jgal
2. jaspire
3. angel
4. Calamari
5. bebe11
6. simp (jurong west mummy - jp/pioneer mall)
7. luann/stefylim
8. koori
9.goodbbb
10. mashimaro08 (maro)
11. Veronica

Sputink, I usually take 2 frozen one and prepare 4 feeds. My boy takes 5 to 6 feeds, then the rest of the milk to freeze.

Geryl, I don't latch on anymore, but I pump for 30 mins, rest for 10 mins and pump again for another 10 to 15mins. My supply seems to be increasing. I pump only 3 times a day, and average from 750ml to 850ml per day. Last time, only 500ml. Hopes it helps.

Veronica, my girl same as u... pd will only insert med in to make her poo..

my girl is having constipation again. 4 days nv poo poo le... anyone have a good way to make her poo? She is on BM in daytime, 2 feeds on FM at night.

Eshin is so cute, feel like pinching his face kekeke

Bb Constipation:
Natural/holistic remedy
Use 1 drop of sesame oil at night and rub ard the navel area/stomach in clockwise direction. B4 applying, do rub between palms/hands till warm like ru yi you. Next day shd be able to poo. 11 days is a long time, even adult also no joke. I am only pooing once in 2 or 3 days nia, think if i dun poo today, will use sesame oil and see if it works for adults too.

veronica: i read somewhere that you shouldn't pump more than 15 mins leh....

esther: hmmm, i guess my milk ss was established during my confinement period. Nowadays I didn't do anything or consume anything special to maintain the ss. It will range between 240ml to 280ml per pump for 10 mins. The papaya fish soup is the best dish to increase ss. Otherwise, you can try drinking lotsa fluids/soups or drink a cup of hot milo 15 mins b4 u pump. Hope this helps.

Calamari.. Oki, will pm u, any preference on bank? POSB or UOB?

I asked the Lac Con before, she say, for starter cannot be more than 15mins, cause will give sore nipples and discomfort. If no pain, then it is all right, jus don't pump for an hour straight. Guess pump too long, no good for nipple and pump...

sherin, i recognised the pretty pouch and your darling baby leh. but scared i recognised wrongly will be so paiseh.. next time i see you i call you okie? heehee..

sputnik, i just started the last-in-first-out system for chilled ebm. cos my doc said the precious antibodies will die in the chilling and heating process, so best to give straight after expressing. but my girl's schedule so unpredictable, no way for me to do that. so the next best is to give the freshest ebm possible.

i'll usually freeze if i see more than 3 feeds in the fridge.

Sputnik : yeah. WHO recomm that baby be exclusive BF for at least 6 mth. Refer :
http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/solids/delay-solids.html

If possible another few more mths will be better, as this will lower the possibilities of baby having food allergy and asthma etc. If you can, delay intro solid food.

Re : Freezing milk.
Normally, i freeze the the first pump of the day and put it directly into the freezer to make sure it very very fresh when i freeze it. Cos' i dun know when it will be drunk. Maybe a few wks later.

sherin: i come and collect all the stuff from u when they are all here and will give u the money then, ok? ;) thanks!

jgal: of cos lah....cannot TBF until 2 yrs mah haha

cherishbebe.

my bb also nv poo for up to five days last week. PD said so long as the bb is not crying in discomfort for the few days then its ok. cos their digestive system still developing.
what i did is gave him the 'ridwind' and ru yi oil.

wow u mummies are so good...BF for six mths...

now i returned to work and my MIL insisted that i give her Formula during the day otherwise she will have problems looking after my ger...even thou i have frozen EBM in the freezer MIL dun wanna to use

Cloudme - why don wan give EBM? If she scared troublesome, then pour all into bottles so she just need to warm up and let bb drink

cloudme : yeah .. you shld ask your pd to speak to her. Really no different to feed baby via EBM or formula, and in fact , it's easier.

Esther zhang : come come get your things :p

calamari: i tried telling her but a couple of wks ago...she went to market and saw a bb feeding thru inserted tube from the nose...so she scare bb dun wanna have formula if i no more BM...

MIL told me that the bb she saw is a result of exclusive BF and the mummy no more supply and bb do not eat or drink other than the BM(she enquire from the bb's caregiver)...

cloudme, ya u pour ur ebm all into d milk bottle and she just need to warm up and give it to ur bb. This is hw i do. i will prepare all my ebm b4 i go to work. so my mil just need to warm up and give it to bb. =))

RE: BB poo
that time my bb also never poo for a wk ...and we went to see her PD...and was given the "insert"...
after that she still have a couple of time never poo for a wk...we gave her plain barley water and she poo...
sometimes it could also be due to not having enough food...

Re : Heat Rash
My ger suddenly got alot of heat rash on her forehead, tik weather too hot. Wat can we apply to reduce the rashes ah? Buy from there?

cloudme, koori: think go PD ask for cream? the cream which PD gave me b4 works like a miracle cream. Its called beta cream.

cloudme, my mil also don't like to give ebm, she said bb will not be full and hungry easily. She insisted on FM the day when bb was born. She's been nagging me for 10 weeks already!! HB and me simply just ignore... she's very anti-bf de..

cloudme, i have the insert, scared bb too rely on it, seldom use on her...

these few days, she did drink lesser, so maybe really nothing much to poop too

sigh...my mother was also skeptical about BM at first although she did not insist I should feed FM. Then I made her watch the sat ch 8 show hosted by Evelyn Tan. There was 1 episode on breastfeeding. After watching, she was finally convinced that BF is the way to go
Maybe u can subscribe to MobTV and let your mummies/MILs watch that episode.

calamari: that episode my MIL also got watch but the real fact of what she saw at the market is what she believes in for now...