(2008/04) April 2008

piggymummy, ya i bot her out, since one week old already brought her to orchard to see the PD already mah.. but not for too long lah, cos i need to go home to pump, still haven't tried pumping outside. me not doing the very strict kind of confinement, if not i sure die of boredom.

anyone knows which shopping centres are most child-friendly? like they have clean nursing rooms for mummies to BF or to express milk? need to know before i can plan longer trips..

these couple of days i notice one side of my breast not emptying very well during my pumping session. now must use the avent manual pump then can get same output as the other side. quite upset by this.

littleprincess, thanks for the info. i think can use the breastfeeding rooms to express milk right? cos cannot stand the idea of doing it in the toilet, no matter how clean the toilet might be..

lynn,

i'm sure u can do that as long u don't mind another mummy in the same room...

April Mummies Outing:

When: 12 Jun 2008 (April)
What Time: 2pm
Where: Tanglin Mall Starbucks

Who:
1) Sherin & Summer
2) Koori & Kaylen
3) Chewy & Elliot
4) Xiang & Ethan
5) Jamie & Bryan
6) Stefy & Luann
7) Amy & Zhiyan

Lynn, you using manual pump or electric pump? if using electric pump have to make sure there is powerpoint first lei... I been to paragon's nursing room, quite ok. Then raffles city's ladies toilet has a nursing area, very clean...

Anyone has any recommendation for a multivitamin to supplement lactating mother's nutritional needs? I quite sick of drinking annum for lactating mum's liao...

Simp,
I will bring my nursing shawl. Usually in my diaper bag for baby, i will just bring 1 set of clothes, 2 pcs of diaper, small pkt of wet wipes and changing mat for baby then the rest of the stuff will be my usual stuff lor like wallet etc...

amy, my electric pump can use batteries, but will be quite heavy with batteries.. or maybe i'll bring my manual pump out? dunno yet, my outing now all restricted by my pumping schedule, pump and go out and then rush back home to pump..

April Mummies Outing:

Who:
1) Sherin & Summer
2) Koori & Kaylen
3) Chewy & Elliot
4) Xiang & Ethan
5) Jamie & Bryan
6) Stefy & Luann
7) Prawnie & Xavier

Its a challenge to go out with bb alone. I tried once, taking train with baby. The baby bag is so so heavy and plus baby's weight. Phew... best part, very hard to get a seat. Think I was seen struggling with the big bag and carrying baby and in the end one auntie gave up her seat for me.

Ameda pump valve

Any mummies need to purchase extra valve ? Mine broke left with one only. MIM selling at $9.80. I managed to find one seller selling at $8 each. If buy more than one would be at $7.50 each. Interested mummies pls email me.

April Mummies Outing:

Who:
1) Sherin & Summer
2) Koori & Kaylen
3) Chewy & Elliot
4) Xiang & Ethan
5) Jamie & Bryan
6) Stefy & Luann
7) Amy & Zhiyan
8) prawnie & Xavier

lynn,

i fd that all the mummy here very brave leh, for me, i don dare alone with bb, i cant handle..wow, somomore u all can go out alone with bb..

i think i am useless leh..i don know how to bath bb too..

PD,

which PD u intend to go? i think sembawang got kidslink PD, but don know gd or not.

5 in 1, 6 in 1,

what is the diff??

milk storage,

wana to know mummy here how to store breast milk?

Koori,
Pls order for me in that case since u r odering 2 sets of mim soft padded bra. My order is nude colour, size 36c. Let me have your details to transfer payment to u.

Piggy mummy,
6-in-1 is the same as 5-in-1 with additional hep B jab 2nd dose. When bb is reaching 2nd month, they can sit while u bath them as they r more sturdy and they enjoy bath. One way to have a happy bb bath is to feed them and rest them for 30-45mins before u bath them. If they r near feeding time and u bath them, expect a cranky and uncooperative crying bb. Usually bb less than 1 mth old will be a little jelly, after that they r easier to handle. The 1st mth to 6th week may be the difficult period. After that it will be easier as they r conditioned in many ways. Hope this gives u encouragement to bath bb and handle them.

I am thinking if anyone living in town is opening her place for gathering. I am kiv the outing date. To confirm nearer the date. I may take taxi to the outing as i think easier for me to take bb and heavy bag. Any mummies staying in jurong west area, do let me know if u r keen to share cab to and fro the outing. Then less costly.

hi simp..
can come my house for outing lor.. ;) someone can bring a big playmat ? then we can sit on the flr with our bb.

Koori,
can u also help me to order bra extension from MIM:

Colour beige, size #200: 1-1/2 inch 2 hook wide @ $2.10 each
Colour beige size #250 2-hook 1-1/4" wide @ $2.10 each
Colour black, size #250 2-hook 1-1/4" wide @ $2.10 each.

Total to pay u: $30 + ($2.10 x 3) = $36.30. Can pass to me during outing or post. Let me know ur bank details ok.

Jgal,
Great, let us know if u have a date and time for us for another outing. Thanks for opening up your place once again

hi.. i have brought my little one to raffles for her first jab.
the pd, dr tan is good.
he's very friendly. the nurse take her weight, height then Dr tan check the baby before the injection at her tight. Her breathing , lungs / chest, her temp. and then the jab. bb didnt really cry during the jab. ;)

the pd also ask question on bb's responses and also feeding patterns.
my bb drink very little each feed. only 60-80ml.. but she drink every 2 hrs. ;)

wkend are fine with me.
now i gotten a maid. the house is neat and tidy all time. ha ha ha
no need to pack like crazy before you all come :p

Jgal,
Yes Dr MC Tan is quite detailed in raffles hospital. I also use him for the package. He is the one who gave me the terms of my bb's birthmark and raise my alert. I took bb for hep b jab on 9 may. Think after vaccination package i may not go to him coz he is exp, consultation is $65 per visit, very high end. I would look for another PD to standby after the vaccination package. Maybe find 1 near my place or west area.

i'm good most of the time. since you gals are meeting on 12 june. let's set the next outing either on 12 July (sat) 2pm. I already started working liao. I think by july , you gals too right.. hee hee.

Simp, i always use my pouch. She seldom cries when she's in the pouch and more importantly, i can go handsfree, so i can still carry my bag. I'm using the pouch not sling. Much Much easier to use. I can put her in and take her out easily. Will show u when i see u, ok? Is ur girl borned on 26th march? I think height shouldnt be a prob.

Lynn, you got dogs as well? I'll bring her (in my pouch) with my dogs to the park almost everyday. Yesterday we went henderson waves! Tried to bring her in the stroller, but sometimes she will get cranky, then very difficult to carry her, hold 2 dogs n push e stroller. How abt u? U carry or let her sleep in e stroller?

Cherish, dont worry, you'll be able to cope. Usually i drive her out, but, on friday, my hubby drove, so i brought my girl, took e train to meet him at chinatown. Mid way she wants milk. With my pouch, i find it managable. Can still feed her milk and i can eat fruits with other hand.

Koori, i thought the carrier can only be used for baby frm 4 mths onwards? Coz now baby cannot support her own neck ?

Prawnie, talking abt taking train. That day when i took train, guess what, a man gave up his seat for me and another uncle wants to go and sit down! then this auntie told him off. I also abit pai seh.

Piggy, i go to kidslink (CCK), i find the PD quite good price is reasonable also. Dont worry about bathing, i think all babies love bathing. Whenever my girl i cranky before i bath her, the moment i put her down in the water, she'll stop n smile. I think water is very soothing. So you just have to support her back n neck.

Chewy, i can "tompang" you for e outing. Simp, if u can take cab to CCK, also can "tompang" you. JW quite nearby.

Jgal, thanks for offering. Ok, so we'll set our next outing venue at ur place?

<font color="0077aa">hi mummies..wanna ask ahz.. do ur wake ur baby up to drink milk (be it EBM or FM or latch on when the hours are up but bb still sleeping?? my mil sae if bb still sleeping leave him till he awakes..)</font>

sherin: I dropped you 2 or 3 emails/PM regarding Controlwear but u didn't respond leh...can u pls check? Thanks!

scubababe: Let me know when I should transfer money to you for Baby Art Magic ok? Thanks!

piggy: I am like u...still cannot really bathe baby well. Also dunno how I can cope without my hubby if I go out with baby alone especially with BM. I am not breastfeeding outside so always lug EBM and hot flask out whenever we go out. Btw, I store my EBM in glass bottles and into the freezer which I obtain from TMC nursery. To date, I have stored 96 bottles of EBM liao since baby was born! Hahahah! I find it so addictive! :p

Stefy - i don mind getting one pc MIM Padded Multi-Way Bra with Removable Underwire with removable shoulder straps to try. I will order for you if you wan, let me know.

Simp - noted ur order, incl the bra extension, will let u know the cost once i finalise all orders.

Anyone interested in MIM Basic Cami-Bra ? I wan order 1 pc.
1429106.jpg

My girl these 2 days have been quite fussy in the evening. She demands to feed every 1 hour and its almost for 40 mins every time. She will also make noises while suckling, as though fighting with the nipple :p Then 1 hour later, want to feed again. Is this growth spurt?

shering, me have 2 dogs as well! but can't handle 2 dogs and a baby alone, cos my dogs a bit hyper and excited when on walks, and both will insist on walking separate ways lol. i bringing baby in a stroller, cos mine not even one month yet, i think maybe too 'soft' to put in a sling.

strawberries, the advice given to me is to let them sleep leh, but it's sometimes worrying cos my gal tends to 'oversleep' and ometimes can completely miss her feed. and after missing or being late for a feed then the feeding go haywire, sometimes after finishing she's still hungry etc, very hard to prediect the next feeding time again. hiaz..

hosp bottle:

can i go back to tmc n ask them since i give birth 3 weeks ago leh.hw abt the bottle cap? heard that must buy fr tmc pharmacy? and the bottle label?

hi Prawnie

I am interested to get the valve, just in case.
have u tried surfing overseas website? I'm not sure how much is the difference after taking into consideration shipping cost.

piggy mummy,
I go to the kidslink clinc at sembawang. I like the PD there, very gentle and detailed. I going to take up the 6 in 1 package there.

koori...

pls order for me lah....36C

i also can share with u the basic cami-bra (Large size).

Thanx let me know ur bank details i tt the $$ to you okies then u can pass to me at the outing... or i collect from you 1 of these days...

can i chk for those using PIS advanced, wads the ave time u took to empty breasts? Recently, i need to take ard 30 - 60 mins which is quite long. is there any way to quicken the letdwn process, as quite tired to spend 1 h per pump and also quite worried ss will drop if dun empty. My ss is ard 950 - 1000ml now, in 6 wks, considered stable? can still increase? Currently i pump ard 6 - 8 times a day, is it considered ok?

hi amy,
hw much did u pay for the 6 in 1 there? is there only 1 PD? can u rec me the pd tt u r seeing?

piggy
i m like u, dunno hw 2 bath bb yet and dun dare alone with bb. relax!

Need some advice.... my 4 week old baby gal seems to be drinking a lot. She will take 3 oz of my EBM, and sometimes the confinement lady say not enuf and give her another 1 - 2 oz of FM. Seems like a lot for a 4 week old baby! Remember reading that some 6 week old babies drink less that my 4 week old one. I dun thik this is growth spurt tho, cos it seems to happen quite frequently. Feel so sad that my BM not sufficient to meet her demand.

blessed - the LC at TMC say to pump with the PIS for not more than 15 mins tho. But i wonder if this is too short a time cos within 15 mins like not much milk leh.

Amy, I'll go to kidslink on Wednesday to check it out. My girl making wheezing sound at night, think it's thje mucous in her nose, cos every morning can dig out quite a bit of the sticky green mucous from her little nose, so heartpain..

Is there only 1 lady PD there? Their charges sound so reasonable, even cheaper than my GP leh!

sputnik, i agree, 15 min not much milk leh! i pump ard 60 mins this mornin to get 240ml! 15 min at most can get half. LC at mt Al also told me abt 15 min, so abit worried. if dun empty breasts, body will think we dun 1 the milk anymore... how huh? read fr another thread abt EBM tt must empty breasts to est supply within 1st 6 - 8 wks.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/327014.html?1129780472

btw, u bought PIS adv liao? my rental comin to an end soon, so scared if i commit, buy, then no ss, v heartpain. Hw long do u pump n wads ur bb's age now? my bb is 6 wks 2day

blessed...i pump abt 10-15mins and can get abt 150-200ml depending on the interval of the pump...

did u massage ur breast b4 u start pumping... must massage then halfway through stop n massage again...this really helps...

good luck

Lynn,
my ger also let making lots of wheezing sound at nite but in the morning when i try to clean her nose i cannot find anything....thk will bring her to PD to chk tomolo also...worried and heartpain that she not getting good sleep n we also affected...

Question?? does any of your bb scream suddenly/ cry very loud 1x during sleep n go back to sleep again...my bb seems to be doing it very often these few nites...haiz...i always got a shock from it...

stefy - yes my bb likes to scream/ cry suddenly.

btw - hw is the cutting for the bras, isit near triumph or wacoal? am trying to estimate my best size. I count u in for the basic cami-bra (Large size). Wat color u wan?

Blessed,
their 6 in 1 package is $440. There is only 1 lady PD there. Really liked the way she handled my gal the last time i brought her there for check up.

Spunik,
My 6wks old drinks about 100ml of EBM. Is it because she dun fall back to sleep after feed thats y your CL thinks she didn't have enough?

Lynn,
Yup, there is only 1 lady PD there. you can go to the link below to call them n make an appointment for your gal
http://www.kidslink.com.sg/index.html

Re: pumping
I bought the PIS from FFY liao. usually i pump 3 times a day, each time 20mins. during the 20mins, i usually have 1 letdown n can collect 100-150ml from both sides. Just to check, ladies, if you pump for about 1hr. How many letdowns do you have? I look after baby alone. quite impossible to spend more time pumping and sometimes while pumping halfway she will wake up... currently i still latch her on 95% of the time so slowly making the switch now to prepare her and my body for getting back to work.

Re bathing baby
My baby dun like to bathe lei. 80% of the time when i bathe her she will scream lei... dunno why like that...

Amy - does the pis pump help u stimulate more milk than ur previous pump?
I haven bought mine, loaning 1 set for trial first.

re: drink milk... my gal drink 70ml each time only.. and she is 9 wks liao....but her weight gain is okay according to the pd. so i guess it's okay.
cos' she latch on for 3 of her feeds so i also dun know how much she drink all in all.

re : bath
amy, My gal love to bathe
we always pat her chest with some water first before putting her into the water. This is to "get" my gal mentally prepare for the water. If we skip that step, she will scream when we put her into the tub.