(2008/04) April 2008

Geryl
Oh man my feet have been swollen for weeks. They are star of attraction and source of astonishment/horror for everyone who see them. They look like hams. I can only wear Birkies now, size 40-41 somemore! How are your feet?

Geryl,

me too... Tail bone area hv been aching for quite a while.

Lyn,
Guess wat Geryl listed are the stuffs for the hospitl bag.

As for me,
Things inside the hospital bag:
For Mummy -
Personal Toiletries
Nursing Bra (4 Sets)
Disposable Panties (1 Pack of 5)
Maternity Pads (1 Pack)
Sweater (in case u feel cold)
Tops With Front Opening (3 Sets)
Toothbrush & Toothpaste
Slippers (Wear There)
Mobile Charger
Camera
Spectacles & Contact Lens solution
Breast Pump (to pump out excess milk after latching to help to stimulate milk flow
Disposal Breast Pads (8 sets of 2)
A set of clothes for discharge

Hospital Admission Form
Hubby's NRIC & your NRIC (In Our Wallet)
Receipts To Claim From CPF

For Baby:
1 set of mittens and booties/socks
Baby romper/vest
Baby receiving blanket

Joelle,
ya ya so ugly right...i am also wearing my Birkies to work now...outher shoes will be too tight for my feet...in the morning my feet and legs are normal size....then later in the afternoon they will be swollen.

Geryl: me hv swollen feet oso but nt so jia luck. I think my fingers are more swollen. Every morning wake up wow the fingers all look fat & short very ugly then when try 2 bend the joints are very painful, do u hv this problem?

Geryl
RE: baby clothes on discharge
Don't know what my hospital will provide, but Mt E being Mt E, I suspect they will charge for the baby clothes if you take them home LOL . I need to check!

Mt A doesn't provide clothes for bb for gg hm. They only give a rceiving blanket. But, I wont use the receiving blanket coz it's new and gd to wash b4 using it to wrap ou NB.

Joelle,
u hv any contacts for prenantal massage??? Can advise me the contact?

Geryl
I gave up finding big sized shoes... is impossible. Not only length and width expanded, the THICKNESS of feet also increased, thus cannot find sandles to fit! My feet are perpetually swollen. Seldom see it go down LOL People tell me to raise my feet more often , I try it sometimes but not effective :S Any other tips to reduce swelling?

cloudme
u lucky loh...for my first pregnancy i only got one swollen foot...but that is during my 37 weeks onwards! but this time round is too early wor!

Joelle,
my Gynae advise me to rest more on bed...cos we walk and sit...so will swollen...after resting the feet they are much better!

Re: bb discharge clothing

Mt E, East shore and gleneagles are under the same org...so i think they will not provide any clothing for bb upon discharge..

this is what i get from their org website

What to Get Ready and Bring along upon admission?

During your stay, the hospital provides a basic toiletries pack for you, as well as vests, wrapping blankets and a box of tissues for your baby.

Pack your suitcase after your 34th week. Prepare two days' clothing for a normal delivery and four days' for a caesarean section.

Bring along the following items
For yourself
• Brassieres
• Nightgowns with front openings (for breastfeeding purposes)
• Maternity towels with loops
• Disposable diapers/wet wipes
• Toiletries for yourself, Slippers

For Your Husband
• A warm jacket for your husband

For Your Newborn
• One baby suit for the day of discharge
• Baby mittens and booties – if you wishes

yup yup...same lady...she did my post-natal massage for me during my first pregnancy! she is good. will be ask her to do for my second post-nantal massage! will be asking her to come next month for another back massage again!

geryl & joelle: ic, so nw every nite me will do the hand & fingers exercise taught by Mrs Wong, it does help abit. But for feet not idea wat can b done 2 reduce the swelling........

Hi yo
RE: Prenatal masssage
so far i only tried 2 prenatal massages

1) Spa Esprit at Paragon (Downtown)
http://www.spa-esprit.com/thingswedo.htm for services and rates, click on menu
1 hour $95 excl GST
verdict: relaxing, not very hard kneading, but expensive. does not massage stomach

2) House of Traditional Javanese Massage
http://www.javanesemassage.com/rates.htm
1 hour $40 (this is member rate after 20% off)
verdict: harder kneading, really works out the kinks in your body. gentle and very brief massage on tum, can instruct them to skip stomach massage.

Cheesycake,
i'll not be keeping but we are donating it away to help save lifes...cos family dun have any history on this!

Geryl
For spa esprit, i've never asked (too pricey), but i don't think they do house-call post natal massage.

for house of traditional javanese massage , yes their post-natal massage is done at client's home, @ package rates on the website.

JuniorRain
hehe i think the only thing that works to bring down feet swelling is to sit with leg raised or lie down more

hi mummies, how do you know that our babies are having hiccups? can we feel it?

Are any of your preparing to bring NB diapers too? I was told we may be charged by the hospital but I am not sure. I am delivering in GlenE so will try to check it out soon.

scubababe,

For Mt A, Yes Free. But, I think sually hospital will provide a pack of Pampers NB Diapers & Pigeon Wipes as complementary....

cloudme
thanks for the parkway health hospitals admission list. I just read carefully... we need Disposable diapers for ourselves?? -__-"

scubababe
no i won't bring NB diapers. for one, duno how many to bring LOL another thing, difficult to keep track of item being kept and used in nursery.

Cheesycake,
i'll be checking with the Cordblood bank person-in-charge...on how to make the arrangment to donate the cordblood to the bank!

cheesycake: I can't really remember leh cos signed up 3 months back. But I think there is a one-time application fee of about 1k and an annual storage fee of $250. I signed up for it during a seminar so got $300 off. Let me find out the details and get back to you.

Geryl,

chk w u.... do we have to call hr n book in advance?

I didnt hv any wrap or massge lady after my 1st preg so tis time round tot of trying since it's going to be full stop for me....

cheesycake: no, its not late
as long as u enrol b4 you give birth. If too last min (e.g. on actual day of birth), they charge you extra i think.

Yo,
i think it is better to tell her when u due...cos the other time i spoken to her...she told me that she is almost fully booked...so i told her to keep slots for me...hee hee!

so this is ur second pregnancy too!

Geryl,

my #1 is coming to 31mths old. So my girl and boy will be abt 33 mths apart. When r u due?

by the way, e massage lady charges a pckage fee or per session?

Geryl,

is it really true tt e post natal massage & wrap will help to slim down faster???

wat i did after 1st preg was juz BF and it does help to slim back.

yo: i heard the post natal massage by those malay lady nt oni 2 slim down, the massasge oso help get rid of the excessive blood & wind in the tummy pluz also to bring the womb back to the original place.

Geryl - gleneagles don provide bb clothes, must bring. But they will give 1 gleneagles tshirt, don tik its washed so better to bring.