(2008/04) April 2008

Abstract from AsiaOne health on Jul 25, 2007:

A study by the AVA on the leaching of bisphenol-A from different brands of polycarbonate baby milk bottles showed that 'the oral exposure to the leached bisphenol-A from actual use of the milk bottles does not present a health risk to infants', said Mr Goh Shih Yong, assistant director of corporate communications at AVA.

But that has not deterred a local pharmacy, Pharmaplus, from bringing in bisphenol-A-free (B. free) baby bottles two months ago, though awareness among parents is still low, according to Dr Goh Suan Choo, its general manager.

The bottles are made of PES (polyethersulfone) plastic, which is free from bisphenol-A.

Dr Lily Neo, a Member of Parliament for Jalan Besar GRC, said it was not proven if the toxicity of bisphenol-A is for real.

Read more
http://health.asiaone.com/Health/Ask%2BThe%2BDoctor/Story/Can%2Bplastics%2Breally%2Bcause%2Bcancer%253F.html

hii mommies to be

the more i read.. the more i puzzled too..
hmm... all of us want the best for our baby yet its sumtimes so confusing ghee~ (\"o"/)

babybliss
imo b-free or non-b-free pdts, no problem as long as change bottles once worn out.
i *like the dr brown's ones cos they're supposed to prevent colic. B-free factor for me, is just a bonus.

* OK "like" may be too strong a word, esp since i've never used them . More like I'm curious about the bottles hahaha.

stefylim

if u read the chart again.. it is categoried into top pick, proceed with caution and brand to avoid.. top pick is considered safe from bisphenol-A

Joelle
you got the point ^^ is there recommendation how frequent to change a bottle?

keke.. most of us here are first time mommy.. sure face trials and errors.. i'm glad to learn from everyone here ^^

hmm.. what are the feeding bottles brand that comes with anti-colic teats and bottle?

Hi, me just came back from shopping at OG, Taka and Robinsons. Did not get anything at Taka, the sales did not seem very attractive, and the Children's wear fair does not have baby clothes, mainly for older kids.

Bet OG, Taka and Robinsons, I thik Robinsons still have a better selection, and for OCBC cardmembers, got additional 5% rebate in the statement. But i bought a Bfree bottle at OG cos got 20% off. Robinsons does not have the Bfree bottles. Robinsons is still the most crowded among the 3 places although all of them having sale.

At Robinsons, I bought a Pigeon steriliser for $149, packaged with 3 other items, one box has twin pack of wide neck bottles, another box is a newborn starter kit (with 3 bottles, 1 pacifier, 1 bottle brush and 1 milk power container, cost abt $40 if purchased separately), and 3rd box is the bottle and babyfood warmer, which cos abt $60 if purchased separately. Not sure if this was a good buy, but the items which come with it are pretty useful. The funny thing was Robinsons had put this special offer package out by mistake, me and hubby saw it before we hopped over to OG, but when we went back to Robinsons to get it, the staff were quickly removing it off the shelf, and I heard them say that it should actually not be displayed out yet, cos the special offer for this package will only start in a few days when they advertise it. But me and hubby told the guy that we saw it earlier and wanted to buy it, so they let us buy it. Another couple also saw it on the shelves when the staff were removing it and wanted to get it, but the staff said they can only get when the item is advertised.

Oh yeah, i also went to check out the Avent steriliser which was on special offer at Taka for $149, but the item it came with which was the gourmet storage set did not seem very useful.

BTW, realized that when buying baby things, some things come with the certain sets on promotion so no need to buy separately, e.g. tongs come with the sterilizer, bottle brush may come with bottles.

I would say its true that all of us want the best for bb

Same sentiments as Joelle, I would feel that just change the bottles once its worn out or after a certain time. Cos babies from the past generations too grew up on the bottles when all the findings on bottles whether if they are B-free or not is yet to ascertain.
I would say perhaps we can learn from the information and if possible get the best, trial and error like what babybliss mentioned.

So far I bought Avent bottles with the anti colic label.

Blueskies: depending on your needs. I just got a peg perego pika 3. Its heavy but very stable and cushioning too. Hee .. But will get another lighter pram for my own usage when hubby is not around. Easier for me to carry onto buses.

babybliss
so far wad I read, nipples need to be changed more freq, e.g. when u see the flow is too big, or if the material is thinning, or if it changed color. as for bottles, other than obvious cracks and breaks, mebe every half a yr or so?

BTW, does anyone know wat is the smallest size for the Bfree bottles? Seems like the smallest size is 160ml, which I guess is abt 5+oz?

Also, for those things like the cotton balls and cotton buds, is it necessary to buy those specially for baby, e.g. pigeon brand? Wats the difference bet these and the ones selling at watsons?

thanks Prawnie, prob u can try getting the combi later. heard that it's one of the lightest.. Now there's a lot of sales going on now, so was thinking of getting some of the big items.. eg the amelda lactaline pump & the baby cot at robinsons. I prob will go ahead with the cot but guess the pump is still too early.. worried it might not be suitable for me later on or if no milk, it wil b wasted.. ;P

Sputnik, good for you, sounds like u got a good deal!

Blueskies - saw the Ameda pump, was tempted to buy, but decided against it, cos like you say, not sure what my supply will be like, if not much milk, may be a waste of $$$. Guess no hurry to buy till after we give birth. My friends who have kids also gave the same advise.

On the topic of b-free bottles, actually pigeon has a range which is B-free.. its colour is different from the normal pigeon bottles.. like a bit honey coloured. But the bottles are not cheap and so far i have only seen them at BHG (The former bugis). And they also carry a glass range which can be good for keeping milk.

meanwhile, am hitting the sales!! hope to get some good bargains!

Hi mums, just back from dental appt... gosh.. my gums r really bad because of hormonal rage. Pain pain....

For those interested in Avent Steriliser during this sale, juz a reminder that RObinsons & Taka has different sets on promotion. I bought mine at Taka as we wanted the 24 hrs steriliser, Robinsons one is only 6 hrs, compared to iQ 24 which has 2 modes.

BlueSkies-U may wanna try out the pumps first before buying. Most imptly, which pumps is more suitable for ur lifestyle later. If u are working, maybe a faster flow , dual electric pump is more convenient. It also depends how long u wanna breastfeed. Some frens of mine find manual pumps to tiring. I am not working after birth so I dun need anything too advaned like Medela's pump in style advanced version @ almost $800.

Joelle, Prawnie & stephanielim: Heehee.. this tri I hv been craving for cold stuff too! Coke is my fav... but been watching diet too...try not to eat too much ice-cream like 2 a week. Tho' it's tempting to creep to the fridge. Hey! We can meet up for ice-cream party!!! Slurp!

Blueskies: For prams maybe can go Baby kingdom/baby Hypermart at Kaki Bukit. I am going there tml to recee prams. Yesterday while shopping for prams at RObinson, a mom told me she bought peg perego pika 3, but newborn baby keeps sliding down & very uncomfortable due to 5 point harness. So Hb & I reconsider the choice, anyway too heavy for me tho' Hb loves the comfort & stability. So we might go for Peg Perego Pramette (2007 collection)
http://www.pegperego.com/page.php?sid=3dc536e6e4fcb7f695a49ece793aacd3&pageid=IJVNL001&idf=08&idp=0000000099&cl=C

It's convertible mode allows a bassinet version for newborns. When baby is older can convert into a pram. Paragon's My first few years sells that. Only brown & red colour left.

BBRoyce: I am caught in a spot as in dunno if I should work after birth or should I take care of BB till he turns three then work. To me, I feel that looking after him and teaching him while he grows up is important. All the basic habits and my own tyle of upbringing.

But at the same time worried that my hubby's load is too heavy to support everything by himself.

I'm from Nov07 MTB thread.
I have Gina Ford's Contented Little Baby Book for sale. It's recommended by many mummies who want to establish a daily routine for baby.

Bought it at $28, will let go at $18. Good condition. Anyone interested?
Please email me at [email protected]

Prawnie, I understand how u feel and I believed many mummies are in your situation... For me, I am helping with my hubby's business since before marriage, thereafter, I became a full-time mummy after giving bith to my boy in 2006. Hubby's business is not affected without me but only different is that hubby got to handle all admin works on his own...

Hope u can make up your decision soon.

Today went Metro expo sale, not much on bb's stuff. But there's a playpen selling at $65 only, quite big, quite tempted but my DH say design not nice (twitty bird one).

Bought 2 pillows for ourselves and get 4 rompers ($3 each), top and pants white color 3 for $10.
Also bought panties for myself.
Those looking for nursing bras, selling at 2 for $12, quite cheap but i dunno wats the brand.

I also Apr MTB. Me having a prince oso and EDD is 13 Apr 08, deliver in TMC by Dr Eunice Chua.
Me planning to buy Avent Duo pump cos my fren told me that Medela's pump is quite painful when pumping the milk cos they dun hv massage pad like Avent wan.

Piggy_mummy_ peg perego pramette is @ $799

Prawnie: I stopped work after 1st tri, Hb dunno me to get too stressed. I understand what u mean, we decided tat I stay hm even after birth in order to nurture our 1st kid ourselves. We even try to do without a maid. We hv frens who regretted not being there w their kid for 1st words, 1st moves, etc. It's predicted to be tougher for Hb but we agree to change our lifestyle like shopping & spending less, taking nearer trips & plan our finances more closely with our insurance agents & financial planners. I be doing freelance work only when baby is more independent, so maybe after 1 yr.

Prawnie, all new parents will hv certain adjustments to make. Dun worry too much so long you & Hb work out a plan & see how the plan works out. Must imptly it's communication & keeping an open mind. Guess there's struggles & sacrifices but nothing stops us from hv our own bundle of joy, seeing the little one grow well in our love & care

Prawnie
i am working and will continue working. don't feel financially secure enough to give up job. anyway, though work is the pits sometimes, i do enjoy work.

hi, sorry to interrupt, have got the following for sale:

hi i've this MIM sling for sale. used only once with DVD. $35. color:
lime green. collection by postage or shenton, serangoon, AMK o TPY.
interested, pls pm o e-mail me @ [email protected]

1170108.jpg

Any mummies interested in the below items. Collection at Bedok.
1.Daifonai (Herbal Bath), 17 pack.
2.Friso Gold Step 1 (900g), 1 can
3.Frisomum (400g), 1 can
Interested mummies can contact me at 92789982.

any april mum attending prenatal yoga class and or hypnobirthing classes?

any comment for the class?

btw, iam april's mum too.. due in 13 apr 08

thanks..

Hi chelchel!
I am doing my prenatal yoga @ birth & beyond, it's every tues, fri & sat at 10 am, Tanglin shopping centre. Conducted by Samantha whose also from Shambhala. I be doing my fitball class next yr too. I love the yoga ex, helps me to b more flexible & aware of my new body. Before the class, Samantha hv a sharing session with all mums attending, so we know wat other mums are experiencing too. Samantha is very experience & helpful. I had leakage problem but after doing the Kegel exercises, my condition is greatly improved.

Anybody going to do a BP on diaper rash cream ar?

Any recommendations?
1 of my ex-colleague recommend me this brand desitin diaper rash ointment - creamy ..

i have a brand new avent sterilizer just bought yesterday with warranty. as my friend just told me she is passing me hers so i don't need it liao. I can sell u at 130 if you are interested. sms me at 91813861.

been following this forum on and off, I'm a 1st time mum, EDD 15 April, KKH. Can I join you all here? Anyone here attending KKH antenatal class which started 14 Dec?

Went to Taka Sales just now too. Didn't buy the $149 Avent steriliser as not sure if the free baby food storage containers are necessary and a friend who gave birth less than 3 months ago said that she seldom use her steriliser now as baby latch on smoothly. Any comments on using those 3 tiers food steamer as alternative? BTW, till what age do we have to sterilise baby's bottles? Someone told me until the child reach 1.5 year old??? Hope you all have fun shopping!

Hi Jenny,
my friend recommended Desitin(creamy) too, she said her nearly 3 month old girl is doing perfectly fine so far.

zishumo,

for the philips avent sterilising set, robinson got better bargain. Cardmember price at only $139, you get the complete starter set(2 bottles, 2 teats, 2 pacifier)+baby neck support+3M thermal bag+non-spill cup. Takashimaya's offer is $145 but not the complete set (only got 1 bottle and 1 teat i think)+dunno what food storage.

http://www.avent.philips.com/en_GB/products/SCF274_23.asp
http://www.avent.philips.com/en_GB/products/SCD150_60.asp
http://www.avent.philips.com/en_GB/products/SCF600_12.asp
and a free pillow

I went taka yesterday too, and I find the baby food storage unnecessary... i can simply use tupperware...

muzicgal, zishumo: For Avent set Robinson (2 bottles, 2 teats, 2 pacifier) tatz a 6 hr Sterilizer, while Taka's set (1 bottle and 1 teat) is iQ24 which is a 2 mode, 6hr or 24hr sterilizer. I got the Taka set as my hubby thot as more convenient. It has a pause function so u can remove contents w/o disturbing the 24hr cycle. As for the gourmet storage set, I take it as a bonus. U.P. for iQ24 is $200 so getting it @$149 is a bargain. The cups comes in 60z & 8 oz, fits other Avent prdt, leak-proof & u can label for organisation. The lady @ Taka is very helpful she showed us how it can fit Medela's BP bottles too. So depends on which mode u need. Imptly for getting promo items, dun be distracted w other brands if u hv sthg in mind, for those w other thrown-in items, u may not need the rest of the items.
Happy shopping

Joelle & Chewy : Any time for ice- cream party cos I am not working!! Just let me know one or two days before hand.

Joelle, chewy, piggymummy: Probably apart from wanting to share hubby's load, other factors such as I am too used to working and suddenly if I have to stay at home totally, I will feel weird. I dun mind if I have my own home which means my personal space but I am living with my in laws currently. Already don't feel very home cos I badly need my own space to work things out :s

Chwey: Can I find out from you the rates and no. of sessions for the prenatal yoga class you are attending @ birth and beyond? Am looking for one which is good and woth reasonable price.

Prawnie: For birth & beyond-10 sessions($210), 6 ($144), 4($105), single($28), u can hv a trial first then decide if u like it. The package can also be extended to postnatal exercises if u can't complete by ur delivery. Package can also be used for ur Fitball& floormat exercise.

I took the 10 sessions, I go once a week. Be trying to go twice a wk next yr. They teach us how to improve our breathing which I find it gd & my frens who went there B4 claims helps in their natural delivery. If u do join us, let me know. We can meet

wad is the meaning of simulate nipple? heard fr my fren tt doc advise not to simulate our nipple as it will induce labour....anyone???

hi chewy, prawnie, joelle.....

haagan-daz sounds gd...just had that at a colleagues place yesterday...

but i working so can onli meet in the evening or on wkends....hee hee heee...

chewy: For the class do they have specific intake dates ? cos I have never done yoga before. M afriad that I cannot catch up.

Evening is fine with me... we can have it after dinner as desserts .. hahaahaha .. yeah !! Haagen- daz fondue.. slurrp ..