(2008/04) April 2008

Geryl, my next checkup is on the 2nd Jan wor... no more 12th Dec as I shifted it forward to 3rd Dec to do the detailed scan... hee...

Wah, maybe we can meet up go shopping together man! Keke.

BTW, I will pm you my mobile no... lets keep in touch!

jennyhoo: ya my colleagues also commented that my tummy looks small for my stage! so i try to eat more but still the same leh...most importantly i feel bb's kicks harder and stronger now, so i feel more reassured.

Oh u planning c-section? I thinking of it soon but have not spoke to my gynae yet. wonder if he will flip. hee hee

jaspire: congrats on ur little princess! There are so many pretty dresses and floral skirts for girls! You will love shopping for your princess.

calamari: wat is FBI card? How to apply? hmm

<font color="0000ff">hi jenny,
agreed with the gyn, it might be better for another date... haha... more reason for celebretion..... hee hee

i think with the FBI is about 10% discount.... actually if u r due to the scan.. just go to downstair to apply... tell them u going for detail scan... they provide u a receipt.. then go to for your scan... later collect your stuff later..... i did that...</font>

morning mtbs,

went for the checkup yesterday... din manage to see my gynae. went to the kkh 24 hr clinic instead. was attended by a MO. She informed that as long as I am not suffering from any food poisoning symptoms, baby will not be affected and she just use the doppler to listen to bb's heartbeat and say that bb is fine. Is it okie to just listen to heartbeat to know that baby is fine and is not affected in anyway?

Burby_Babe: yesterday Dr Tham quite bz with delivery ar .. me also waited for him for 1/2 hr b4 i managed to c him also ... :p

Poshies: hmm but too many dates to remember .. Dating Anniversary, Wedding Anniversary ... hahahha so tot can put the dating together with bb's bd mah .. something memorable for us also ... but think i will insist on tat lar .. cos i quite stubborn also .. lol

Gervynne: Think should be 80% i be going for c-section ... me dun wan to go thru labour & suspense ... And also this way i be able to plan my maternity leave easier lor ...

morning, mummies

since u are not affected, should not affect ur baby too..
baby heartbeat is normal, then should not be affected ba...

good morning everyone
hope y'all had a good breakfast

chewy - my ETD is 21 April. Yah, closer to date of class, mebe can arrange something so we can ID each other ;)
btw I'm not a TMC patient but took the TMC class for convenience

active baby is healthy baby - it's great!

i love shopping too! yesterday i was at taka & bought a few household items
saw many people carrying gucci and burberry shopping bags too :p

burpy_babe
if you don't have food poisoning, baby should be fine. that was a close shave though. hope u threw away all leftovers of the cake!

last sunday i too attended a birthday celebration but thankfully the FIL bought cake from Bengawan Solo :p

muzicgal- congrats on ur little prince =D

geryl/jaspire- maybe i shd change to dr lim for my nxt one so i can hv a gal too! hehehe...

PrimaDeli told to shut factory after food poisoning outbreak

By Chua Su Sien/Julia Ng, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 04 December 2007 2055 hrs

SINGAPORE: The Agri-Food and Veterinary Authority (AVA) has ordered a PrimaDeli factory to shut down its operation.

AVA said that "in view of the food poisoning outbreak and severity of the situation, Prima Food is required to stop all operations at the factory with immediate effect until the outbreak is over".

Prima Food is the management of the home-grown bakery chain PrimaDeli.

In the meantime, the company is required to step up the hygiene and sanitation standards in the factory, and to review the food processing procedures thoroughly.

AVA will continue to carry out inspections at the factory, and the company will only be allowed to resume food production when all is safe.

At the same time, Prima Food has decided to temporarily close all retail outlets from Wednesday. Tentatively, retail operations are expected to resume on 11 December.

Prima Food also said it "regrets" that 106 people were taken ill after eating its contaminated chocolate cakes. It said the entire bakery processing facility is undergoing disinfection.

Initial investigations had found that one of its workers could have been a carrier of the Salmonella bacteria. However, he had shown no symptoms.

Salmonella is a group of bacteria that can cause fever, diarrhoea, vomiting and abdominal pain.

Of the 106 cases of food poisoning, six tested positive for Salmonella.

Some of the victims bought the cakes as early as 19 November and the latest case was reported on 26 November. Six were hospitalised but all have since been discharged.

This prompted the Health Ministry and AVA to issue an advisory on Monday, asking the public to throw away any unconsumed chocolate cakes bought from PrimaDeli.

Prima Food said 50 of its food handlers went for health screening last week to make sure they are medically fit and not carriers of any bacteria-borne conditions.

PrimaDeli has also recalled and discarded 400 chocolate cakes and is cooperating with the Health Ministry and AVA in their investigations.

However, with the disinfection and recall, PrimaDeli cakes are now in short supply. One franchisee said customers were quick to adapt. Many switched to vanilla sponge cakes and only a couple of customers have cancelled their orders.

For Jeffrey Voon, whose family of six suffered food poisoning after eating his mother's birthday cake bought from PrimaDeli, he wants an explanation and compensation for what they went through.

PrimaDeli has set up a hotline - 62777171 - to address the public's concerns. - CNA/ir

joelle...my fren us to buy from them...told me the quality is really gd but I've not bought any myself...

maybe later coz now got enuff for new born liow dun wan to buy too much later nv get to wear...ha ha ha...

Hi Joelle...

The brand that babymall carries, luv friends is quite good. I bought a couple from this baby store in tanglin. Not bad
am also tempted to order some. Is there a BP going on?

hi pretty mummies

Joelle: I assumed that you are under Mrs Wong as you shared the same slot as chewymartin. Am I right?

here's the update for the prenatal course.

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Prenatal Class</TD><TD>Time Slot </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jenny Hoo</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>17/11/2007 from 1145hrs </TD></TR><TR><TD>Burby_babe</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>17/11/2007 from 1145hrs </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaspire</TD><TD>TMC-Mrs Wong</TD><TD>22/11/2007 1900-2100hrs </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ant1712</TD><TD>TMC-Mrs Wong</TD><TD>22/11/2007 1900-2100hrs </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stephanie Lim</TD><TD>TMC-Mrs Wong</TD><TD>24/11/2007 1900-2100hrs </TD></TR><TR><TD>sputnik</TD><TD>TMC-Mrs Wong</TD><TD>24/11/2007 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xiang</TD><TD>TMC-Mrs Wong</TD><TD>19/01/2008 1400-1600hrs </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cherish</TD><TD>TMC-Mrs Wong</TD><TD>19/01/2008 1400-1600hrs </TD></TR><TR><TD>cutiebb</TD><TD>TMC-Mrs Wong</TD><TD>19/01/2008 1400-1600hrs </TD></TR><TR><TD>Calamari</TD><TD>TMC-Mrs Wong</TD><TD>19/01/2008 1630-1830hrs </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tsukushi</TD><TD>TMC-Mrs Wong</TD><TD>20/01/2008 1230-1430hrs</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chewymartian</TD><TD>TMC-Mrs Wong</TD><TD>20/01/2008 1230-1430hrs </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joelle</TD><TD>TMC-Mrs Wong</TD><TD>20/01/2008 1230-1430hrs </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

stephanie
ah yes, in this case, better to hold off your purchases now and use those you have first ! ;)

steph
Luvable friends huh? Noted! Not sure about now, but they are BPs quite frequently. Thing about babymallonline.com is the range of front snap styles are limited. I prefer front snap.

joelle...

do let me know if u happen to see a spree going on...i so tempted to buy the bedding sets with quilt n all...

saw a spree in the overseas site but am not allowed to post in it...sob sob...

Stephanie
sure! btw, u can email the spree organizer to ask if she can take in your order. if she agrees, she'll post your order on the thread.

HOMEMADE FACIAL MASKS RECIPES

OK ladies who are aching for facials but dare not go salons, here are home-made facial mask recipes that use natural products - safe and gentle for your skin. Hehehe have fun!

Yoghurt Face Mask

INGREDIENTS:

* 1 tbsp natural yogurt, room temperature (not lowfat or non-fat)
* 1 tsp runny honey (microwave for a few minutes to soften hardened honey)

PREPARATION:
Combine mixture, then apply to face.
Let sit for 15 minutes.
Wash face with steaming washcloth.
For dry skin, use an extra tsp of honey.
Oily skin? Add a few drops of fresh lime juice.

Milk Mask for Dry Skin

INGREDIENTS:

* 1 tsp powdered milk
* 1 tbsp runny honey
* 1 tsp aloe vera gel
* 2 drops essential oil

PREPARATION:
This is a classic milk mask for the face. Mix ingredients well, apply to face, let sit for 15 minutes, wash off with warm water. This recipe is enough for two.

Honey Mask Recipe

The best facial mask is honey. Place a cloth in warm water and apply to your face to open the pores. Smear on honey, and leave on for 15 to 30 minutes. Rinse off with warm water, then use cold water to close the pores. Use once a week.

Avocado Facial Recipe

Avocado is a naturally rich moisturizer. Mash the meat of the avocado into a creamy texture. Massage into the face and neck . Leave on for 15 minutes and gently rinse off.

Facial Mask Recipe

Squeeze half a lemon and mix the juice with one beaten egg white. Leave on your face overnight or, for a quick pick-me-up, just 15 minutes. Splash warm water on your face to rinse.

It helps to removes blotches, because the lemon works as a bleaching agent.

Egg & Honey Mask Recipe

Mix together 1 tablespoon honey, 1 egg yolk, 1/2 teaspoon almond oil and 1 tablespoon yogurt. Honey stimulates and smoothes, egg and almond oil penetrate and moisturize, and yogurt refines and tightens pores.

Cucumber and Yogurt Facial Mask

Ingredients:

# 1/2 cucumber
# 1 tablespoon yogurt

Instructions:

Puree cucumber and yogurt in a blender, apply to your face evenly. Leave it on for 15-20 minutes. Rinse off with cool water or soft wash cloth.

Strawberries and Cream Facial Mask

Ingredients:

# 4-5 very ripe med-size strawberries
# 2 tsp. heavy cream
# 1 tsp. honey

Instructions:

Puree strawberries, cream and honey together in a blender. Apply to your face evenly. Leave it on for 10 minutes. Rinse off with cool water or soft wash cloth.

Papaya Facial Mask

{{ Those who are anxious about papaya should just avoid this one }}

Ingredients:

# Papaya

Instructions:

Peel and remove seeds. Chop into pieces and drop into food processor. Puree until papaya is the consistancy of baby food. Use 1/2 a tablespoon for each facial. Keep leftovers in a baggie in the frig. Research shows that it is one of the best non-abrasive masks that you can use. It contains a strong enzyme called papain which dissolves oil and dead skin cells.

Banana Oatmeal Mask

Ingredients:

# 1 medium to large Banana; soft and peeled
# 1/3 to 1/2 cup oatmeal(depends on the size of the banana)

Instructions:

Mash the oatmeal into the soft peeled banana a little at a time. Continue until all of the oatmeal is moistened. Apply to your face evenly, leaving it on for 15-20 minutes. Rinse off with warm water or soft wash cloth.

I just delivered in November and I'm helping my confinement lady with recommendations. She's currently still with me for another 2 more weeks and has been a great help so far. She's malaysian and I pay her $1800. She's been very good with the baby and takes care of him very well. I also find her very easy going, in the sense that, unlike some CL's, she's not too fussy about what housework you ask her to do on top of her duties. Eg. she'll sweep my garden and wash my hubby's clothes even though I tell her she doesn't have to. I also find her cooking very good. Only thing is she doesnt do grocery shopping unless someone takes her because she doesnt know Singpaore well and is afraid to go out alone. Otherwise, I find her to be a very good CL. She's booked till March and will be available for end April onwards.

I dont get a commission out of this as I'm just helping her since she's been a great help so far. While she's here and if you wish to interview her, you can arrnge with her personally.

Her name is Jing Hua and you can reach her at :
SG number : 96126596 (until 19th Dec)
M'sian number : 0127260955 (after 19th Dec)

if i apply the FBI at the information counter, is it immediately can collect? cos i want to book for the class. if send in application take 2 weeks right?

Stephanie - i bought the sleeping bag from babymallonline.com. Very Cheap only.

I have ordered 3 sprees from babymallonline.com, really very worth it on some items. eg. rompers, towels, tattles, etc. Worth to have alook.

muzicgal: No, they will mail the card to you but they will have your records and they will give you receipt indicating you have purchased the FBI card. You can book classes at ParentCraft. After I apply for the card, I just go up to ParentCraft to book for my antenatal classes and immediately got confirmation.

Ladies - i booked my Gleneagle hospital tour tomorrow.
Here are the details for those who are interested :
Every Tuesday at 12noon
Every Thursday at 4pm (except PH)
Client services Tel : 64705610

good morning mummies....last nite the forum is down again......haiz...

koori...u so fast going hospital tour already ah....i haven call them to chk out yet...hee hee hee...might do so in Jan..

Xiang - i have to clear leave by end year, no bringing forward. So i took half day today to go, then DH on reservist, cannot leave early today so most likely ask Sis to go with me.

Jamie / Stephanie: dun know where are the gals too.. anybody check out the maternity wear? me ordered a dress (just in time for my company's D&D) & a casual shorts .. kekek

jenny

maybe all busy doing xmas shopping keke...
saw afew tops & dress but still hesitating if shd buy, coz will only wear for another few mths wor.

I don't buy much clothes online because I'm wary about sizing (me big sized lah :p ). But I do have an outstanding spree with Old Navy, still waiting for my yoga shorts and active pants!

Joelle: me also big size! hahah so normally will go for the biggest size... btw my old navy swimsuit is here and am very satisfied with it .. not so tight ..tummy area still abit roomy .. ekekekke can go for swimming this saturday le!!

Jamie: me have to buy the dress cos got Company's D&D and also 2 or 3 wedding dinners coming up .. so cannot be wearing the same dress .. pai seh .. kekekke

harlo all
i ordered frm celeste a maternity top frm the previous BP but hvnt collect it. wan to see if the sizin fits b4 decidin to buy anymore =D

jenny- hw much u bot the maternity swim wear?

Jenny
This is my first time participating in overseas spree here. Order alrdy placed, now waiting for delivery.
u bought the ON halter tankini top + bikini bottom? what size did u get?

Jenny
it's very cute! can't wait for my stuff from ON to arrive.

i hate waiting, that's the thing about sprees.... -___-

Joelle: yap tats y i check out with celeste from the BP if i can collect the dress next monday b4 waiting for the BP to close anot .. kekek

Ant1712: i made pyt on 25th or 26h Nov, recd the item on 3rd or 4th Dec .. think it took slightly more than 1 week to reach me ..

The size is more on american size lor .. so i took L .. abit bigger .. but more comfy lor.. at least won't feel so tight around the tummy area ..

jenny- tats fast! my coli ordered frm them, took 2mths thn she rec leh.

cath- i dun dare to step on the weighin machine nw
ytd i took family pic n realise my face super big!! sob sob