(2008/04) April 2008

Kea: Congrats on your baby prince!

Celine and Cath: Hope that everything goes well with your bb and new gynae.

Geryl: Is your massage lady gd with c-sec mummies as well. I am interested to get her contact. Wat r her rates like?

Cath: I just spoke to my friend wrt Prof John T, she said the reason why she did not use him again because he very 'bo chap' and she lost her baby because he took for granted that her pregnancy would be ok (because that was her 4th).

calamari
haha I also have a colleague who uses a strong perfume that I am allergic to. Luckily I don't sit hear her. The bad news is I couldn't find a way to tell her either LOL

However one day she wore a different perfume, something that I could tolerate. I immediately complemented her "WA what perfume you using, very nice leh, etc." After which she uses alternates this new perfume with her old one more frequently LOL Not a 100% solution but better than nothing huh :D

anyone know which brand to buy for baby diaper cream?

If u don't...i got a good brand for u...Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment, Creamy (with Aloe and Vitamin E) very good!

I've been using it for my boy since birth till now...he don't have the Rash problem...i apply it after each change of diaper.

Very Goood!

Jenny Hoo, joelle: remember to note that there are infant car seats (under 1 year), toddler car seats (above 9 months) and convertible car seats (newborn to 16-18 kg) . They are all for different ages.

Jenny Hoo
Do note down the address of the shop in Balestier, would be very useful. Thanks in advance

joelle.. go when you are free or have transport lor.. cos' not accessible by walking. it opens on sat/sun.

i think both quite big.. 1 is ang mo brands. Peg prego / maclaren/ quinny.. the other is jap .. combi mainly. go there later in your preg also good then you can buy the things you need at 1 shot lor. The price is reasonably lower than in the shopping ctr e.g. pamper, bottle, teats

i like a peg prego, my hubby likes a quinny.. my friend told me combi is better cos' lighter .. *aiya* very confuse. I think i just the carseat cum carrier first.. then decide after confinement on the stroller.. **i want to hug/hold bb as much as i can and while she is little **

joelle: aiyoh, dunno how to hint hint to her hehe. Very paiseh one. Somemore she is new to the company. Actually quite funny, she uses Gucci Envy and before pregnancy, I also use Gucci Envy. But after pregnancy, I cannot stand the smell liao cos too strong! Also because she sprays so many times a day :p

Geryl: i think hypermart got more of carseat & stroller... hubby will just redeem points to exchange for carseat then go kiddy palace pick up hehe~

Calamari: yap yap thanks for the advise .. most probably i be looking out for those convertible type which can use from newborn till abt 3 or 4 years old ... if not everytime got to change new one pengz ... me surf the website and found 2 or 3 .. but dun know if the shop carry it anot .. cos not really heard of the brand but pricing wise is less than $300 which is within my budget ..

Joelle: sure no problem...

Jenny: yah me too
i think in singapore not many convertible seats selling. I will recommend the Britax Royale personally. Its selling at $328 if you get it from Cheong Choon at Chinatown. That's the lowest price I managed to source for.

Simp: she says 2 weeks after birth/ c-sec (for a better result) if u scare then one mth after c-sec (result not that good) up to u she says.
package is 7 days (price range 400 to 450)

Geryl
I have read about this Desitin on SMH bulk purchase forums. Do you buy it via spree/BP too? Is it sold locally, if yes which shop?

Calamari - i have 2 perfumes, one burberry classic, one anna sui. I cant stand the smell of anna sui now! i used it once during 1st 3mths and nearly puke, gotto go toilet to wash away the smell.

Joelle: most mothers will come to SMH forum to purchase from Spree/BP...it is cheaper!

cos in Singapore they selling in small pack which is 2oz for SIN12 plus
but overseas they selling in a large pack which is a 4oz for USD4.69 to USD5 (convent to Sin is around $7 to 8 ) u can see how much is the diff.

u can save alot!

Hope i can help u save some money! Hee Hee

Koori: u can buy first...bb can use it during confinement too.now u start storing up...

i am getting my friend to buy from the US for me. hee hee! storing up for my both kids too!

where is baby hypermart/kingdom?

maybe will go in dec... coz this weekend hubby not in town... next weekend gg to cook some stuff with mil

Jgal
Yeah mebe... find a weekend go there and look-see. For me Quinny is out, I can't tahan the cost of a 3-wheeler LOL Peg Prego still ok but haven't check out cost... Combi looks abit tight leh the seat I duno mebe need to see somemore.

I have half a mind to just let other people buy as gift, then I use wadever comes my way lah hehhehe

Joelle: i got the combi Stroller...i will be getting another one for my No.1...cos he has grown heavier..that current combi will keep for the newborn!

Geryl - try to look out for overseas spree in the forum, quit alot opening...then u can order from there, hehe.
Btw 4oz can last how long?
I bought palmers stretch mark cream only US$5.90, so much cheaper, selling abt S$24 here.

Celine, just think on the bright side of life bah! no matter rain or shine, the sun will continue set in e evening n rise the next morning.. dun ever let today's unhappiness goes beyond today.. =) emotional also make it today's issue... tmw will be a brand new day!

Just try ur best, bb will be happy when mommy is happy =)

Doris: i only got the address for baby kingdom...
83 Kaki Bukit Ave 1
Shun Li Industrial Park
Singapore 417954
Tel: 6547 1677 / 6547 1647
Open Daily: Mon - Sun & PH from 10am till 9pm.

Baby Hypermart is a few shop away!

Enjoy Shopping!

calamari:

Re: car seat
britax royale, noted @_@

Re: perfume
Sometimes people with overly-strong perfume is just as bad as those with BO!

Geryl
Re: Desitin
Orh ok. Yes I know the BP is cheaper but.... *Whisper* I abit suaku with BP/spree lah @_@ :p So for newborn I need how many tube of 4oz? Or rather, 1 x 4oz tube can last for how long?

And er just in case I don't manage to get from BP, local which shop sell Desitin?

Joelle: abt 2 mths (less or more) it also depends how much u want to put...ha ha!
when i finish the tube...i will make sure i really use all inside...I WILL CUT the Tube and start taking those left overs to put they into a container so that i will not waste them. (Crazy me right)

Local Shops like those Guardian Pharmacy...which they only display the ORIGINAL(2oz) not CREAMY! if u want creamy u must ask counter (not every Guardian Pharmacy carrys CREAMY)

I Prefers CREAMY cos it has the Aloe (which Heals) and Vitamin E (good for skin)!
this is my point of view lah!

Hi mtb... before i confirm my bb gender, MIL already know its a girl... tat day came back from detailed scan she told me she knew it from guangyin temple tat im expecting a girl even before tat. i was so shocked tat she went to temple to ask. to me whether boy/gal is my own child. i dont care what gender or wat other people think, but why must use this way to predict the gender of my bb? when its time we will know. obviously she wanted a grandson this time as she has 2 granddaughters (my SIL de) liao. she also told me my SIL's PIL went to temple to ask which mth for SIL to conceive will get a son. dont u all think she trying to hint me to do this in future planning? hope im not being sensitive here

but this has been in my mind since then. hmm~

doris
Hehehe yeah lazy mummy solution... let other people headache which one to choose lo @_@

Eh I very impressed with you leh. "next weekend gg to cook some stuff with mil" Is this bonding time with the mil?

Geryl

Please don't need to make excuses about saving cost - soon with added family member I also need to be economical! :D OK I go see got BP for Desitin Creamy or not... maybe buy 2 tube lah.

Yah my hb got eczema and he does well with creams with Aloe and Vit E.

Geryl: Thanks for the info on the massage lady
. Would be great if i can get her name and contact as well. Her price seems reasonable. I have also noted down the diaper cream for bb, great recommendation!

Cheesycake: whether BOY or GIRL it depends on the Hubby's Sperms...so tell her to ask her son (ur Hubby) to produce male Sperms lah...it is not ur fault!

joelle,

coz my mil can cook many things de.. just last time fil every mentioned 'not filling enuff' she stopped... everyone complaining... recently her mood came back.. so must faster grab skills from her..

anyway she only had 1 son n 1 daughter, she will wan her dil to be able to take of her son ah... usually i just put myself in her shoes.. thats how we get along...

(though sometimes also kana from her... but i dun like to let unhappy things block my future path)

Ah ...OMG.. calamari... Thanks a mill for asking for me. looks like the search carries on...

Kea, cheer up... my office's getting one more full timer too to cover me. Think on the bright side. Part-timer come in to cover, later they may have the mentality that anyhow, they will leave, so they dont do a good handover when you are back from the leave. That leaves you with a load of mess to clear. And, esp, you're just back to work and away from bb, you cant have too much stress.

So, if a full timer comes in, they will have to do a good job as appraisal is important for them. So, when you are back, you may have a peace of mind or new job scope. BB will bring good luck to you...

Cheesycake, relax... complain n forget abt it lor... some older ppl have older tots.. it will be tought to change their mindset de..

maybe get ur hubby to educate her lor..

Koori, Geryl & doris...

thanks... it wont affect me anymore but... my SIL sure very happy mine is a girl. coz she a very jealousy person. though she my hb's sister but still she dont like people to be off better than her. when she knew me having girl she ask my MIL whats my reaction. i was like... 'hey, none of ur business leh, child is mine'. im not like her no planning then got conceived before marriage de. somemore she boost to me tat her PIL is paying for all her wedding banquet, delivery charges and now even her bb's expenses. of coz she can plan for 2nd bb without worries lah!!! i was so pissed off by her...