(2008/04) April 2008

Lynn : dun be upset lah..Sometimes, it beyond our control. You have been a great mother already. I was telling Jule's mum, my gal is getting more and more spoil by her gparents..but there is nothing can do. So hard to discipln her now..this morning she cry non-stop because we refused to open the jewellery box for her.

Jule's Mum : my gal also dun have playmate.. I hope to bring her to playschool soon... another 10 mths to go..

Sputnik : My gal will grab the bottle from me when she is hungry..
and quickly lie down to drink holding her bottle

sometimes i wonder if my boy ever feels hungry at all. he eats so frequently! breakfast - break - lunch - break - dinner. cereal milk porridge milk fruit etcetc. seriously?? do they ever feel hungry?

my boy watches tv during meal time. is a bad dining habit i know haha. he needs something to hold his attention and keep him in the seat. my parents r the greatest proponents for tv, they tell me to let boy watch more tv and cartoon -- "improves his english!" they say LOL

jgal - wow, yr gal so smart....i wonder when my gal will learn to hold her own bottle.

I have a nephew who is about 4 this year, he speaks in a very cute accent which his parents say comes from watching nickelodeon!

sputnik : dun be too worry.. they are of a age that they need to be self-motivated. they will learn at their own pace. Knowing how to do certain things earlier does not means smarter. Cos' I am sure your gal knows how to do other things my gal dun know... depend on the environment and themselve. Very difficult to talk her into it.. my gal still cannot wave her hands and say bye bye properly..
but she has alot of other patterns.. ha haha :p

joelle : my gal also have alot of meals..
>Morning
milk
biscuit and milo
cheerio
>Afternoon
big bowl of porridge
wholemean bread with peanut butter
>Evening
big bowl of porridge
Milk again
.... but she is still so small..
i think 8kg only...I guess just let them eat what they want.. as long as they are healthy..

after reading jgal's links i wish i could cut tv out too! but very difficult leh.. it's the only way to get my boy to sit still during mealtimes for feeding.. sigh..

but come to think about it.. it could really be true.. i have a friend.. her baby just turned 2 and never spoke till now. just after 2nd birthday.. he used to watch tv whole day long and would scream if you turned the tv off! recently he started child care.. the moment he started classes, he started talking also! all of a sudden can speak so many different words!!

Wah, the discussion topic of the day is TV ah? Hmm, i am not a supporter of letting children watch TV excessively but i suppose everything has 2 sides to it. I have a friend whose gal is the same age as mine, though she watches TV she can also speak very well. Another friend of mine her gal is currently 2 yrs old, also have no speech difficulties or what short attention span prob despite the fact that her house TV is switched on from the moment she wakes up to the time she sleeps. Personally i quite like the baby enstein series, even though the many pictures so not make much sense to us but hey, in our child's little brain now, nothing much makes sense also right? When i want to show her safari animals, i can't bring her to the jungle right? Just like when i show her wat is water, i can probably only show her what comes out of the tap and not streams, rivers and oceans right? I supposed, its not the object we are talking about but the method of application. For example, if a child is left to a caregiver for example maid with minimal attention from the parents or care giver, TV no TV, you dun expect much positive habits to be instilled in the child. In the reports mentioned, TV watching time is 2-4hrs per day... that is a lot lei... I dun think anyone of us will let our kids stay in front of the TV for so long.

Anyway, in case some of us here r excessively worried by the reports, here are some that shows that there is not much impact from watching TV

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/29463687/

http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=4839635n

sputnik
exactly my parents point LOL my parents say they let me and my siblings watch lots of children's programs and we pick up the language, words and songs from there.

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/29463687/

This report only show that it does not affect their vocabulary.. but it conclude tt Children who watch more television run higher risks of being overweight, developing attention problems and not getting enough sleep.

I do believe that there will be reports trying to play down the effect of tv.. Afterall, these babies programmes are making millions for the networks/disney.

But it is interesting to note that a country (France) has banned Baby TV cable channels.

http://www.themoneytimes.com/news/20080821/france_bans_baby_tv_cable_channels-id-1033561.html

But I guess it still up to the parents to make a decision. Personally, I think maybe to "banned" them until 3 yrs old may be a little too long.. I probably will start her when she is 2yrs old..

my boy also love to watch tv...my only concern was he get short sighted easily nia... other than that.. i not so worried leh..

hehee..coz fun to watch him smile and laugh at certain part of the video.. =D

jgal : e cheerio u never soak in milk right? I tried it myself I find like going to choke like tat. haha. but I got very small throat la. even peanut also will choke one. haha.

sputnik : my son also refuse to hold bottle. cos he use e cap to knock e bottle while drinking. I stop carrying him. s let him lay on pillow. dun care he hungry or not sure cry when he see milk. sometime drink abit only la.

tv : I tried to discourage my son watch tv la. but very difficult. but I strictly dun allow him to watch tv while eating. he just tried his luck today. haha. luckily grandparents not around. if not he sure get his way. haha. usually I give him bowls with food in there and spoons to play lo.

I think if a child is watching TV excessively, all the bad consequences will come in. But in all fairness, if a child is always playing playing playing, i think the child may also develop attention problems coz he is probably not used to sitting down quieting for a moment or two.

I dun think its a good idea to ban TV altogether coz by the time they are exposed to it, the tendency to be addicted to TV is going to be higher. Rather, limit the amt of exposure would be a better idea. Afterall, TV is still a good source of information and knowledge. There r just somethings that we cannot do and have to rely on TV to show and demonstrate.

Jules' Mum : hee hee.. thanks for your cheerio and introducing to me.... they are def cheaper than the pigeon snacks.. now she eats them daily....
hmm.. no milk so far.. hmm.. i think i better put them in milk next time..

jgal. u try 1st k! cos i find it abit hard to swallow. I dun dare to give ju after trying. i might try corn flakes and rice puff with milk la. won't give frosty though. haha.

amy...hmm...tink we have our own ways to teach the child ba... hahaa..hard to gauge rite or wrong...

for me is he happy i happy YEAH!

Re: watching tv

Xavier only watches once (YBCR) in the morning, tt is after his bath and once (the wheels on the bus) in the evening.

This is to keep him occupy while I go for shower or clear up his stuff..

He only like these two, I tried Barney for him, no response from him, he just walk away !! hahaha
But for the wheels on the bus, once I accidentally switch off by mistake, he wailed !! Immediately stopped after the show came again.

Jgal and Joelle : Thats alot of meals. hahahaha.. I dare not let X snack. cos sometimes getting him to finish a bowl of porrige can be quite a challenge!

Jule's mum: I intend to try making steam cakes for X breakfast. If successfullet u know ! tHen u can try for Juju

Xav, steamed cake ah? Sound good! You have recipe to share? Now headache what to give that little imp for breakfast, just tried bread with laughing cow cheese, she only took an quarter. But could be the cheese, she seems to realy not like cheese! How can it be? I'm a huge cheese lover and frequently ate it while preggie!

Oh, just tried agging a teeny weeny bit or pepper to her steamed fish, she did not complain and finished everything. Maybe she likes hot stuff like me

TV:
I also read a report in the magazine that TV is a no no 4 baby under 2, above 2 less than 2 hrs a day.. But i do agree with amy, if not excessive is ok.. my boy likes wheel on the bus (WOTB).. like xavs_mummy, the only time to distract him so that we can do our work..

lynn,
same la, everyday i went back my mil's place, the tv is certainly on and my boy is sitting watching.. haiz.. i think bo pian, i did hint to my mil that too much tv is not good. she ever let him watch WOTB for 2 hrs without stopping

lynn : is this first time u give her cheese? dun give up. try again. I realised julian will reject or eat little if e taste is new. after 3 to 4 tries, he'll like it.

for breakfast-
try oats?
yoghurt
i blend banana & make into a milk shake
or avocado shake
custard
eggs

how you gals bathe your kids?
my leo still want only bath tub. scream if in shower.

we went swimming today & i showered him at the poolside. he cried but din scream. must do more often to get him used to it i guess

can we compile a list of who wants to go to bambini?
ok so
leo's mum
maro
jules' mum
lovemum
xav
jayden
cath
Yvonne-ynby80
any more?
when we going?

Re: TV
Everything has to be taken in moderation. These articles are meant for info and discussion.

However, to compare playing and tv watching, is probably abit too far fetch as we all know that they shld be encourage to play and explore, it helps with their development, dun really think it will caused them to have attention problem at all.
maybe at most cannot sleep at night..

And abt banning toddlers/baby totally from tv, my cousins did that when their children is >2yrs .. their children grow up just as well.
Now they are 4 and 5 , i dun see them super addicted to the tv..
Then again, it very difficult to conclude just by looking at other ppl's children.. because we cant be sure that they will not be better if they are brought up otherwise.

Aniway.. we are parents are old enuff to assess these reports use our own judgment to bring up our kids within our constraints..

Given a choice, I will be SAHM to bring up my gal.

re: showering
leo's mum : my gal was like that in the first few weeks... She will cry when we tried to turn on the shower.. :| but after sometimes she is okay..
and now she loves it.

Xav'mum : yeah.. can share your receipt?

Jule's mum : do you put into fresh milk ?

shower : Julian bathe under shower. When he was still using tub, we do sprinkle water onto his face to let him get used to it. Slowly, we pour more water down from the head. When we know that he is ready, we used the shower but water flow not so powerful 1st. Cos mine when full power quite painful. Now, he ok even with "FULL POWER". hahaa. Leo's mum. Take it slow. DOn't scare him.

Jgal : I eat I put fresh milk la. But for Ju, I will use his usual milk but I don't use hot water. Can't imagine cereal with hot milk. Dunno how will it taste. Haha. Anyway he don't drink very warm milk. My ex maid was so bad at testing water that I told her just use room temperature water.

Children definately need to learn through play but at the same time we need to do non 'play' like activities like reading a book or flash cards coz as much as they learn through play, we also want to teach them to learn through other methods such as reading. Otherwise why would we start reading to our kids so early in their lives knowing that they probably understand very little from the books we are showing them. If a child is allowed to play and play and play only, there is definately nothing wrong with that but when you expect the child to sit down quietly or when he joins a school in future whereby he needs to know when to be quiet and when he can be playing, he is going to face some difficulties. That said, nothing is irreversible here just that it takes time...

JTS, My gal watches TV at nanny's place. I dunno how long she watches TV but the TV is not switched on for her, more like for nanny's grand daugther. At home i may let her watch another half hr when we first reach home so that i can get changed or get dinner ready. Sometimes we watch TV together also like her favourite, mickey mouse clubhouse, pocoyo and my friends tigger and pooh. She kinda out grown baby enstein already... But right now, i also dun have attention problem with her. Her bedtime routine incoporates picture cards, singing and some reading. Typically we read about 5 books to her before bed and show her 3 sets of picture cards each set about 10 pics before bed. So far she enjoys sitting through storytime. There was even once when i felt very tired and tried to cut short the story time by reading 3 books instead of 5 but she crawled over to the books that we picked out and picked it up shoved it to me, haha, like telling me we are not done yet...

wow Amy, that's a very good bedtime routine you set for yan2! The most we read is 1 book but Dana will interrupt by flipping the pages so we can't continue reading :p

RE: TV
Mummies, which Wheels on the Bus VCD/DVD do you show your bbs? Can post a pic here? Dana loves YBCR - watches 1 disk every evening during dinner time but she's not obsessively glued to TV so we're not worried.

Re: Bambini
Would love to join the outing there too if timing fits!

Angel,
Thanks, We gradually increase the number of books one. Started with 2 books then we realise she can take more coz she was still very attentive so we thought can add another book and over the days it became like 5 books every night.Some of the books has flaps that she can lift, she already know them by heart and will lift them up without us prompting. Sometimes feel really tired and want to cut short but can't bear to do it coz she really likes that half hr we have before bed everyday...

Xav'mum : hi hi.. silly me.. i missed your post.. :p

Maro.. my biggest "enemies" in discipling my gal are the old folks.*ha ha*. aniway, i am still glad they really love my gal so i try not to comment at all.
and I usually **close both eyes** when they are with my gal..

Just 2 days back.. my mil carried her the whole day.. and yesterday, my gal make my maid carry her ard.. hahaha.

Amy's yanyan really very guai. My girl more like Dana, keeps snatching the books and insists on flipping them by herself.

But these couple of days she'll walk over to her bookshelf, bring down some books and bring them one by one to me, like asking me to read to her, then can sit and let me read for slightly longer, although sometimes before finishing an entire book she'll walk off and get me another book. Think I gotta rotate the arrangement of the books, cos she can only reach those on the lower shelves hahaha..

angel, how are you doing with the GD cards? I'm almost gonna give up on the word cards already. She enjoys the Maths cards though, although there are days/weeks when she doesn't care for them at all, and yet other days she really likes doing the equations.

any GD mummies wanna go for refresher course?

Hi Lynn, Adel and Dana same 'pattern' - like to flip the books on their own - machiam can read so well! I am very ashamed when you mentioned GD cards leh...we've stopped it for almost half a year already (since our 1st maid left)
Now with her increased mobility, she will never sit still so we have to confine her to the highchair whenever daddy's free to flash a card or two... Thinking of going for refresher but dunno where to begin. Worse, Math cards totally untouched (sighz)...

Anyway, I like to experiment with new recipes to feed our toddlers too. Just prepared Mashed Potato with Broccoli, Carrot and Cheese today.
Recipe taken from Annabel Karmel's book. Lynn and mummies, this may be a good subtle way to introduce cheese!
2510061.jpg

Ingredients:
300g Potatoes, peeled and chopped
125g carrots, peeled and chopped
75g broccoli, cut into florets
2 tbsp milk
15g unsalted butter
40g cheddar cheese, grated

Method:
1. Put the potatoes and carrots into a saucepan, cover with boiling water and cook for 20 mins until tender.
2. Steam the broccoli florets for 8 mins until tender.
3. Drain the potatoes and carrots and mash together with broccoli, milk, butter and cheese.
4. Serve hot. Suitable for freezing

Hi mummy,

Quick question, do you have to request for baby bassinet for a long haul flight? I'm going to Sydney and totally clueless on how to go about this. Some say, its first come first serve, some say, it must be reserved. Anyone can share tips?

The longest time Maddy has ever been in the plane is 2 hours, and it was two ACTIVE hours.... I don't really know how to survive 8 hours flight...

THanks

Hi Maddy's Mum,

you request with the airline office upon booking of tickets (if after booking, just quote your reservation number), they''ll always say it's upon availability, no guarantee but usually you'll get a bassinet as you're travelling with an infant (below 2). Usually night flights is ok, babies will sleep throughout. If returning flight is day flight, just occupy Maddy with books and some toys on board. I saw some passengers let their kiddos sit on the space below the bassinet and play there.

angel : e mash potato looks yummy. I'll try it 1 day.

reading stories : like dana and adel, julian will flip e pages, change book, play with other stuff. we hardly read to him. hb and I too impatient.

xav, how's o steam cake?

Maddy: I am travelling with Qantas in July and like what Angel said, they'll always say its upon availability. So I am going to check in earlier to ensure Kayla has the bassinet seat. On the other hand, I think if you travel by SQ, infants are guaranteed a bassinet. (angel, am I right?)

yeah... have to book in advanced for bassinet.. i travelled to HK with my baby when he was 4 months.. we took SQ.. and requested repeatedly for bassinet.. the moment i booked my ticket with the agent already i told them to reserve. i even called SQ.. and went in early to checkin.. everything... but we still didn't get the bassinet.. i held him thru the whole flight... sigh... 4 hour flight.. thankfully he was still only 5 months.. not so active yet..

can we compile a list of who wants to go to bambini?
ok so
leo's mum
maro
jules' mum
lovemum
xav
jayden
cath
Yvonne-ynby80
angel
any more?
when we going?

amy - wat books do you read to yan2 & where'd you buy them from?

leo eats cheese straight from the packet.

wat's GD?

maddy's mum- i'd book the bassinet just in case. wat airline you flying? i'm so jealous, i wanna go holiday too

maddy's mum

i always booked online for SQ, the system will auto booked the bassinet if its avail. i'm also going to aussie, to perth in 2 weeks time.

maddy's mum,

when u book ur tix, did you already get a seat? for mine, when i book my flights to melb n back i got a seat with bassinet, do not even have to request...

my suggestion is night flight req to haf the basinet installed but if day flight beta not coz with the basinet, baby will haf no room to move ard or play...beta put the blanket on the floor n let ur bb play there wif toys n books... easier
tt's what i did during my rtn flight

wish you luck...

Oh, as I am speaking about this, I checked my seat allocation on Qantas web site. They have already booked me on a seat with the bassinet for Kayla
So Qantas not so bad either hehe..

Angel, can pick up the GD cards again lah, I did stop for like 2 months cos Adel showed no interest, think she was busy developing her physical skills. Now she's on and off interested. Like last week so keen and happy to do cards, this week can walk over the cards nonchalently when I asked her lor.. hiaz..

on days when she wants to i do more, on days she dun feel like it i dun do lor.. but the words card really dunno how man, she not very interested, more keen in YBCR cards, cos got pics, and she can have some fun crumpling the cards at the end of the session.

I tried the AK recipe befores, so yummy even I wanted to eat it! But Adel didn't take to it. So far tried numerous times to intro cheese to her, the only form is kraft's cheese straight out of those indiv packets. All the other yummy cheese she rejected

hey mummies! been so long since i log in again, think being a SAHM gives me less time to surf net.

I am on for Bambini! But just to note now that its the holidays its gonna be very crowded. I brought Byron there last Friday (was a good boy for the week so thought to reward him) and it was pretty crowded. But he had the kids ball pool to himself most of the time coz the older kids are in the indoor playground.

Seems like all of us are cracking our heads over what to feed our babies
I tried AK's broccoli/sweetcorn with cheese and pasta and sheperd's pie for Byron and he loves them all. In fact I will always prepare double portion so I will have them for lunch as well!

maddy's mum
i agree with luann mummy, its better to put our little ones on the floor, more room for them to play. although i'm booked with a bassinet but i think my boy now is too big for it liao.

leo's mum
maro
jules' mum
lovemum
xav
jayden
cath
Yvonne-ynby80
angel
scubababe

wat if we go AFTER sch hols? can you all make it?

ya ITA, as a SAHM i hardly have time to surf the net. i miss working