(2008/04) April 2008

Thanks Calamari and Lynn RE: the pram.
Ok will go check out the ESPRIT pram at Toys R Us.

Lynn, am interested to see the BP for strollers but can't seem to find the link. Can anyone help me find it? thanks.

the problem is parenting BACK THEN is different from NOW. the ILs and parents hv to first accept this. it is true - many more allergies and bugs around now. that's why we are so careful with diet & introduction of food. back then everything also can eat. then they need to hv someone whom they believe to tell them this. otherwise they will tell u -- "last time all the children also like this give water/honey/sweets one! all no problem" ... LOL

i had same problem over water issue. but my PD say can give a little so we r happy with compromise - boy drinks abt 1 oz a day only anyway - quite a safe qty (MIL win). PD say cannot give honey cannot give glucose so MIL guai guai don't give (yay, I win!) . PD suggest give apple juice - which suits MIL and me cos healthy (my concern) & can help with bowels (MIL concern). i win some and lose some.

sometimes i take the health studies with a pinch of salt. it is based on children in UK/US- the climate here is v different, it is scorching in Sg on some days!

joelle,
ya, i also lmit my mum whom baby sitting my baby to abt 2oz daily recommended by PD

Cherish/ Kea - same lah my FIL come and play with bb only, duno hw to take care. Whenever she fuss, he will look @ me and say hey she wan mummy! argh!

koori,
i like that, follow grandparents.. haha

cherish,
haha.. so your baby take after anyone else but you.. :p

mine is good thing will be my hubby or bro-in-law, bad things always from mummy..

haiz also have similar problems with my mil. say that only she know how to carry baby. all of us carry him wrongly. then she carry and put him sit on her knees adn only one hand support baby under his right armpit. bb almost fall twice. then say bb must learn like that then they can sit on their own very fast. haiz
after that my boy don dare to have people carry him with only one hand. he will grab our clothes when we carry him.
hubby see his mum like that, never say a word. *faints* but at least he say that his mum dangerous so from now will only bring bb to see his mum after bb can crawl on his own. hahha think will only see mil during their birthdays in october.

but at least my dad listens to his friend who is a dr. says that bb now still young so cant feed any thing yet, only can drink bm.

maro

hahah it all the same. my mil also says the same thing. good things from hubby or her side of the family then bad things from me. haha but i don care as long as she don go over my limit.

Sputnik - agree, must factor in causing of electricity, water and time spent on pumping :p

Maro - hi5. My MIL too. I think she is sore over the fact that I stayed at my mum's place for confinement, keep telling me that my bb cried during bathing, bcos during the 1st month, my mum didn't do this and that..... Argh!!!! And keep saying my bb is naughty, and her daugther's children are guai..... When her daughter's children cried, go and carry, hug and calm them. When my bb cried, it is only ME who go and carry, hug and calm him, CAUSE it it MY BB!!!!

veronica

*hugs* you poor thing. you still stay at her place?
don worry our bbs are very smart they will be very good to those who love them and then show their naughty side to those who don.

Mummies, here is my two cents worth:

Re water:
So far I produce enough milk that I never gave water to Maddy. However, my PD the other day (from Baby n Kids) told us to start give her water every once in a while so that she'll get used to it and won't refuse. But we still haven't given her water cos kept forgetting until I read this thread hee....

MIL/Mom:
The first thing that I thought was, it was never their duty to take care of our baby. Thus if they do help we should be grateful. I guess I am among the lucky one who has very good MIL (so far) who agree with my philosophy on babies as well as FIL who will do extra babysitting at weekends when they think we are too stressed out and need to go for a date. Yes, I disagree with some of her opinion, but as compared to what she has done for us, the disagreement seems very minor..

My mom, who is not in Singapore come over every 2 months and stay for 1 mo to take turn with my MIL. Of course I am more comfortable with my own mom. But I am just grateful that I have 2 mothers who cares so much.

I think (for those of us who have daughters) we might also be like our MIL/MOM when it is time for us to be grandmothers
. I sympathize with all of you who have a hard time with MIL, and I hope that it will all be settled. Don't worry no matter what our baby will react best to the mommies, and after all, we are the one who has all the rights in raising our child

Man... that was a long post

<font color="119911">chewy,
hiaz.. cant join u gals to the taka fair... will b there nxt wed
hey got any loots?

RE: SAHM meetup @ Raynsky's abode [5aug08]
Yo, Raynsky &amp; Lynn: cya gals again! nice meeting u Lynn
shall post the pic soon

Jgal,
thanks for joi-ing
i've commited to a Pikkolo... stilll waiting hee
u intending to get carrier too?

raynsky,
bb Asher wnt fresh milk fr mommy.. *more slurppy* hee.. so is he takin well after hubby n FIL fed him?

Lynn,
does she pefer u to bring ya ger over to her place instead? mayb u like to brot up the issue again ask her hw her arrangement like.. afterall it's good to hv own mum look after ya bb

RE: minigym
yappie cya mommies n babies tmr!

RE: MIL/ Mom
i guess im blessed so far with a not-too-bad MIL ba.. she quotes to me or cut newspaper out whenever rgds to bb stuff... recently she just hand me the cut newspaper on cost saving on BF at least i know she support me on TBF

now i know.. PD cld b the best person to convince the 'opponents' hee

cloudme,
wat ya PD says abt no jumperoo??

koori,
ya heee.. shld minus off the higher end BFing accessories but i think its the BM benefits tt counts... more saving in yrs to come

<font color="0000ff">Hey anyone wan NTUC M size diapers BN, if u interested i can bring to the playgym tmr for you.

2 packs to let go @ $16.00
If can collect @ playgym let go @ $15.</font>

went to taka baby fair.. bought pigeon wipes and huggies ultra diapers.. very short of diapers so bought $100 worth and got the free fleurville diaper bag..

Thanks mummies for the encouragement. My boy still refusing bottle. From tomolo, I'm gg to ask my mum to try to feed him while i hide, since she is gg to take care of him when i go back to work. Last night hubby n FIL tried, but also cannot. And guess what my FIL say? He say aiyo, then must give him some 'holy water' to drink/ bathe ah, maybe got scared or wat. I almost faint! I dun like it when they always suggest all these weird methods. I'm glad my MIL not taking care of my boy, though we stay together, cos she always have a lot of weird theory one. During confinement, she tell me i must sit down to drink, if not next time will have urine incontinence. Then cannot squat cos the womb will drop out. Then on one occasion when my boy's poo was a bit greenish, tell me that my boy got a bad scare n must feed him some chinese medicine. Ever since confinement i very scared my MIL touch my boy. She'll play with my boy when my boy is obviously sleepy. Then she'll tell him to sleep this moment, and play with him the next. Then when he cry loudly, she'll complain to me why he so bad temper, then give back to me. Then at night she'll play with my boy, then tell him, now play with ah ma, later mummy make u sleep, k? Duh! Then now my boy learning to grasp things, she'll scold him stupid when he cant grasp!

amy- please order for mye 2oz $12.

jasmine- please order the builders for me too.

jgal- you starting the spree for the exploration soon.. kiasu just in case no more discount. just now bought the ;leapfrog pad $89 now heart pain cos u only selling at $40.. but is really fun..
so if you orangising the spree for the books to go along sms me.

I want to orgainise this spree cos i really like this, taka selling at $99 after discount. If from spree be $48 without shipping.to order when reach 20.

Mozart Magic Cube by Munchkin

http://store.babycenter.com/product/mozart+magic+cube.do?search=basic&amp;keyword=mozart+magic+cube&amp;sortby=shortdesc&amp;asc=true&amp;page=1

raynsky.. not asleep yet ah?

aiyo is complaining abt mums and mils day.. but really cannot understand them leh. i tell you hor, i very worried even leaving my girl with my mil for one hour. si-bei sian ah, then my hubby like soooooo happy to leave his baby with his mum, keep saying his mum loves our girl what. aiyo, must carry ALL the time to show love? once i saw her carrying my girl and scolding my BIL. wah biang, wan to scold someone please please please put down my girl lor! why pass all these negative emotions to my baby?!

then when my girl cannot finish her milk she will say later mummy beat your backside! wah biang like i ill-treat my baby, i NEVER beat her lor! very pissed! and then when my girl smiles she say she 'kai-hua' machiam flower in bloom, somehow i really HATE that term used on my girl, never heard anyone use it until she did..

leave my girl in their house dunno she'll blast hokkien songs or turn on the tv damn loud or not. cos even when i was preggy and FIL was driving he'll blast hokkien song damn loud and then must they must talk even louder so as to be heard over the din. wah until my ears hurt from the noise and my face so black, very angry my unborn baby msut be subjected to all this noise. then my mil can still ask why i look so sian, hubby dun dare say so he said i headache. all this noise of cos headache lah!

tomorrow going again.. DAMN SIAN! i really already try to turn a blind eye to all she does. reach her house i quickly go pump and take my own sweet time, dun wan to come out and see how she handles my girl. yet can still witness so many incidents that made me so unhappy

raynsky, must hide wor, if not baby very smart will know one..

for the 2 days that my hubby managed to feed my girl evening time (she usually will refuse, only let him feed her once at 5am), he held her and play with her for about half an hour then attempt feeding, and i hide and not talk to baby for let her see me for that period of time. then no rejection. hiaz but she buay-zun one though. sometimes like tat also cannot.

Serene,
can i order other things besides the mozart magic cube. Wanna order other pdts from Munchkin. Wat;s ur exchange rate btw?

ya lor ... so worried ... my fren struggled with the problem for a month ... hmmm ... see how tomolo when i go my mum's place. Luckily my mum dun give me nonsense, if not can go crazy. I'm always very happy tt my MIL goes m'sia, so i dun need to strategise wat to do in my own house. faint.

By the way, can give me the link for healthy times? the website tt i go into seems different.

lol... alot of "complaints" today .. same same .. hugs to all mummies facing those problems with their mil and mothers.. Me too.. Generation difference I would say. Maybe I'm luckier to be able to look after baby myself. I can only trust my elder sis to help me babysit. Definately for sure I will not ask my mil or mum to help me. Seriously cannot stand their way of handling BB no doubt that she brought me up using her way.

Little_princess &amp; goodbb: nice meeting you babes !!

CHewy: Rest well ya !! We had a long day !! Hhahahaha... Meet up with you again !!

my gal drink beer yesterdy.. ha ha ha.. yesterday my bil celebrate birthday so i drink abit.. come back my gal refuse the btl.. end up have to latch on.. :|

maybe that's why she sleep for 8 full hours last night

Lynn - hope you have decided on yr stroller. back to yr qn, maclaren is not flimsy, very sturdy compare to aprica n combi. But not sure of the quest mod fabric...

prawnie &amp; Chewy - nice to meet you, my apology as i can't stay n chat for too long.

<font color="0077aa">*hugz* to all mummies, somehow im felt tat im so call blessed though i do have some little issues wif mil.. is juz tat i 1 eye open 1 eye close.. cuz staying together dun wanna have conflicts.. sometimes is not really easy staying under 1 roof.. </font>

Hi JGal,

Nickname : cyl_16 - Batch 2
I wld like to collect my discovery ball tmr at 12pm at yr hse void deck - Blk 75b rite.

I will transfer the remaining $9.30 tmr cos think internet banking service is down today.

hi jasmine,prawnie,chewy and amy,

nice meeting u all :>

hi serene,

i m interested in ordering that,can count me in? will there be more discount coming up?cos now only 15%...

mushloom: sorry tml can't join u at HX....we worry with swimming &amp; playgym, bb may get too tired so decided to swim another day.

Babe can't trf the $$$ to u by tonite, tml morn can? Coz the server down. Oh do u mind if babybliss share my ten sessions? so 5 sessions each. I pay for 10 sessions first, no worries.

littleprincess, amy, goodbb: nice meeting u all! OH no worries abt the short meeting... sorry Prawnie &amp; I too beng shan to chat longer too.. hahaha, especially me! First time out w bb alone using baby bjorn... my god! carrying 7.6kg with a diaper bag &amp; loot is not EZ! Shopping feels like a road march with full pack....

Prawnie, aiya so gd to c u always!!! Oh so funny tt we had to literally run to toilet.. gosh HB gave me a look when I said we left the bbs... He apologized for being so late &amp; not able to chat w ur HB heeheehee. Oh man it was a damn HEAVY day.... hahaha... I kowtow u! Can shop 6 hrs at vivo w the carrier....*faint* Oh yeah, HB says we shld really open an acct together hahaha. Ok rest well, I shall wash the clothe &amp; continue searching for the hangar.. I took out from the taka bag &amp; forgot where I put it... gosh

littleprincess, am deciding on the stroller colour now. wanted brown/pink cos mine is a girl, but saw someone pushing the turkish blue so striking and 'wow'.. but too bad mine is a girl, but hubby is trying to psycho me to get the blue one cos blue is his favourite colour.. duh... i think in the last half an hour he asked me what colour i'm getting for like 10 times liao..

let me survey the night-owl mummies.. which one to get for my gal?
http://www.amazon.com/Maclaren-Quest-Mod-Stroller-Turkish/dp/B0013IL9ZI/ref=pd_bbs_sr_5?ie=UTF8&amp;s=baby-products&amp;qid=1218213088&amp;sr=8-5
http://www.amazon.com/Maclaren-Quest-Stroller-Coffee-Brown/dp/B00130MS60/ref=pd_bbs_1?ie=UTF8&amp;s=baby-products&amp;qid=1218213088&amp;sr=8-1

raynsky,
http://www.healthytimes.sg/store.php

RE: MIL/MUM woes
Tsk tsk HB &amp; I really think for our next BB, we would send them to the prenatal courses &amp; talks!!! Babes think all the women in that generation have certain views on how to take care if bbs. They simply love to jump to conclusions too. hahaha sharing my latest "experince"

Eg 1: my MIL said my son's diarrhea is perhaps due to my medication during my op. Duh! I took 2 days only at the hospital &amp; I threw the milk away since &amp; 2 days later... anyway tt happened on 2nd July &amp; my son juz got the diarrhea 2 wks ago. Hence, I shld feed formula milk.
Moral of story: To her-BM bad, FM gd. She forever has sthg to say abt BM.....tsk tsk tsk

Eg 2: My son has this green vein across the nose bridge since birth... MIL saw last wk said neighbour told her it's there coz the bb was frightened /shocked by sthg. o_O
Moral of story: Any green to them is = shock!!!

Ed 3: Son has diarrhea for 10 days, &amp; been poo-ing green stools. Really broccoli green. MIL said coz he went to my HB's boss hsewarming party the previous nite. Not all places r "suitable" for babies hence he must hv kena shocked there.
P.S The day my son had diarrhea was at my ILs plc which they failed to inform us immediately only until when we picked him up after half a day. So theoretically the last ' unsuitable' plc was theirs.....
morale of story: dun brg bb out to anywhere except ILs plc.

Sighz not EZ to be tactful when even our BM is boiling inside. Closing one eye too long is tiring &amp; in fact straining my opened one too. At times, need to throw Ace Card &amp; let the MAN do their thg. if Hb still can't improve thgs, I am prepared to print notes or borrow bks to RE-educate them :p

haha lynn, coffee brown looks classy &amp; i do agree turkish blue is gorgeous! Hmmm... I often choose bright colours for prams as it's easier to c in the crowd fr far so my vote is turkish blue!! Nvm abt blue being boyish, I also hv red for my boy! Ur babe can be a Cool babe wat! hahaha

chewy, your "Any green to them is = shock!!!" is very cute leh..

my hubby won't tell his mum she's wrong leh, like machiam very afraid to hurt her delicate feelings! dun even get me started on how pissed i am over this.. think can write a 5000 word thesis on this alone..

hmm another vote for turkish blue..

Lynn - the coffee brown looks nice at one glance, after tat tik bit boring cos i scared brown becomes dull. The blue one at one look seems ERRRRRR, bt after i enlarge the photo seem nice and the color can last....I tik its ok lah for girls to have blue color but not for boys to have pink, tats my view to go for <font color="0000ff">Blue</font>.

koori, i didn't even take a second look at the blue one on the website leh.. but after seeing one mummy pushing it i was like 'hey that's the mod, got this colour meh?'.. really caught my eye lor...

thinking if it'll clash with my girl's predominently pink wardrobe :p