(2008/04) April 2008

2nd property is not easy to maintain leh.. cos' 10% property tax each year.. If i buy a condo, i want to pay off at least 50% cos interest very high and if recession come and we lost our jobs , we will be in DEEP trouble. No house still need to pay off debts.

Personally, i think primary school plays the most impt role in the child education and future. Good school ->good classmate ->good influence-> higher achievement. I dun come frm a good primary school lah.. so i think i lose out lor.. cos' my cmd of english is not as good as my peers and i aim lower as a child. I really really regret listening to my wuloo primary school teacher not to chose raffles girls before my psle cos' she told me i will never get in. Maybe now i will achieve more

simp, i agree with you on the playmat. really worth the money cos it's easy to keep clean and very very comfortable. my girl can even nap there after she gets tired after her'exercise' or massage. i bought the LG one and wonder how the Parklon one feel like. the one you tried is LG or Parklon? Cos $100 difference is a lot, and if i were to buy a second one to put at my mu's place cannot afford the LG again

re: tummy time

mummies starting your babies on tummy time already right? wonder what i'm doing wrong cos i think my girl hates it

she'll try to move and arms and legs and when she has difficulty she'll get frustrated and cry. how to get babies to enjoy tummy time like the happy little babies smiling during tummy time in pictures??? my girl will be 11 weeks tomorrow..

jgal: i opp...i wanted to go to "River valley high" but can't get in...can consider a setback for me loh for aiming that high...

<font color="aa00aa">Playmat BP. $5 off. This is her last batch with the current pricing. Prices going to increase afterwards.
Collection after 25 jul 1. Redhill 2. Pasir Ris
1. Jgal - LG Prime Looney Tunes 2300*1400*15-$266
2. Tratties
3. Tratties
4. cyl_16 -LG Prime Yellow Bear 2300*1400*15-$266
5. Porkie -LG Prime Yellow Bear 2300*1400*15-$266
6. Steph
7. Jaspire ?
8. Simp ?

Please let me know which mat you want. I will let alien know first to reserved for us. Also be reminded the deposit is 50%. you transfer to alien.

lynn:
i started out having my ger lying on my chest...and she will try to lift her head up to see mummy...
now she like tummy time...

cloudme : but at least you get to your other choices. For me, the place is allocated when i get my result. I cannot apply for RGS afterwards even when i got the grades
I was allocated Gan Eng Seng. Later then through sap arrangement, to anglician high. Aniway.. past is past liao.. now have to look forward and plan for little gal.

jgal, i'm planning to move house soon too. Another 3 more years. SOmewhere near my girl's school. We are planning for her to go MGS at bt timah. Old boys and girls kids have priority. Hopefully she can get in.
I thought property prices are increasing? anyway just re-renovated my place. have to wait another 3 years plus.
re: kindergarten or childcare in CCK/yewtee
I think appletree kindergarten is good. v new also. But quite pricey. For kindergarten per term it's $990 or $900. Making it $300 per month. Childcare wise, either cambridge or kinderland lor. But price wise the difference is quite wide also. I'll be sending my girl to Little Skool House at OCBC when she turns 18 months old.

jgal: at that time "Gan Eng Seng" is a very good school...
yap...past is past...

"Red swastika" is good but every year have to ballot for the seats...also stress lah...even old boy/girl does not mean a definate secure seat...

re baby einstein vs my baby can read
I let my girl watch baby einstein when i'm not working. Find it quite good and it's good for general knowledge. I just realised that my mum has been letting my girl watch my baby can read dvd everyday. She mentioned that she can "stand" through the entire session. She watches it from her bounce bounce baby. Now cant comment which is good. I've not watched your baby can read. But i think baby einstein is interesting!

wow,
you all are planning what school to send you kids to already...

hehe but me prob will send my son to acs. hope can get him in as an old girl kid

veronica : http://www.lgmat.blogspot.com/

luann's mummy : not too early liao.. cos' need to move house.. then do volunteer work etc. Also move house got alot expense planning. :| one of my GM in the office move house 2 times for his 2 kids, 1st boy move to bishan to put him in cat high. 2nd one move to AMK to put into st nic.
i also heard to get into raffles, both parents has to be old boy/gal , else also cannot.

sherin : you know anything abt odyssey by the same grp as learning vision. I planning to put my gal there for half-day.

Primary School
I see that there are many intelligent mummies in our thread kekeke. Maybe i was never from any fantastic school thr' out my whole life so i am easy on myself and child. I agree that the group u hang out with is impt esp in secondary school besides home teaching/upbringing.

Jgal,
Our time Gan Eng Seng is also sap school i think, grades need to be very high also before u get in. I feel if u r smart, u will shine no matter where u go kekeke. I agree spore is a stressful environment for studies. I hope my ger can be contented with what she can achieve instead and just do her best. Not everyone is born/gifted in studying. I am not too kekeke

Ok i dun know much abt buying condo and the additional property tax annually. Quite a lot of hidden cost besides the monthly maintenance fee etc but with so much more facilities and security. In Msia, must stay in condo, a lot of theft cases etc Think i can only afford to stay in condo in msia kekeke. Better enjoy my these few years in KL hahaha

LG/Parklon Bumper Mat
Lynn, the one i saw and felt was parklon pooh mat, think $110. If i get, i want to get this also. Anyway LG/Parklon is so much easier to store as it can be folded compared to min toon. need to roll and take up like 1 ladder space. Parklon mat is very smooth like leather sofa seat feeling. Dun know how to describe, it feel like bb' smooth face but in bumper mat kekeke. LG i think it is more compact and double sided picture so i think maybe more exp as the print, colour and getting 2 pc in 1 so i think pay more.

Jgal,
I confirm my order later on the mat. Must check w hb first b4 my bbb syndrome comes kekeke

jgal...my old primary sch is Rulang in jurong west...too far liow...think will try to place her in radin mas, near my current plc...or st magaret which is in town...lesser pple...hee hee hee...

luann's mum: are you within 2km with radin mas ? cos' that pri also need ballot one
i dun think i can make it in even though i think that 1 quite okay. Are you a old gal of st mar?
so good.

Rulang, i know as i ama jurong/west bound ger. That sch also quite gd in west area. Last time i tutored a girl, so stressful. The mum really pushed her ger very hard as her brother went in chinses high from rulang pri so she also want her ger to go to sap school. I also feel stressed as a tutor then faintz.

luann,

at least ur gal drinks more than 100ml...my gal whole day only 60ml...poor thing!

luann i'll also try Radin Mas...near my place too!!! Will register in abt 3 years time when my son turn 6 years...for Pri 1!

wah, you mummies talking at pri school. got me so stressed i emailed the pri school (i'm an old girl of the secondary school) and asked if i'm an alumni member and an ex-girl of the sec school then would my child be elligible for phase 2A1.. omg i think i'm too super kiasu! lol!

Hi..
Jgal - Hubby finally gave the OK to buy the mat
Would like to order the LG Fisherprice Rainforest. Can you pls help place the orders with Alien?

Talking about Primary School already! Hubby and i were discussing this one day and realised that both our primary schools are gone already - mine i think got torn down and his, has now become a special school. Even though we live near Temasek Primary, i don't think our son will make it cos i heard its quite popular. I shall follow the advice of one mummy - just enroll to all boy's school cos at least then, the competition is halved!

Re: schools
Wow, so fast on the primary schs! hahaha... HB &amp; I did discuss before. We are considering the factors of the sch's curriculum, the sch's philosophy and sch environment. Convenience shld not be compromise since S'pore so small. Hence, we may consider moving the sch we want our son to be in. Tho' keeping neighbourhood schs in mind too as there r many gd ones ard too. Some of our frens choose pri schs which are affiliated ones to sec sch to junior college, eg St Michael's /SJI/SA (for boys). Wondering if we need to go so extreme!

jgal...i not old ger of st marks lah.....just that my boss told me its easier to get in then the regular neighbour sch coz of the location...

radin mas is just 5mins walk away from my IL plc...so veli near onli

Geryl, dun worry so long ur baby's weight increase then it's fine. My PD said dun force them to drink as their intake will decrease as their weight has stabilized. My son also drinks very little, but weight has increased to 6.9kg@12 weeks, so it's fine.

My ger weights 6.5kg at 13wks....is this considered average?? but she is veli chubby so I guess shld b ok qua...ha ha ha...

chewy...how r u? fully recovered liow? still got the pain from ur c-sec area?

ha ha h.. okay.. i am not the only one worrying abt my gal's primary school.

I think which secondary is up to them but normally, bulk of them will go to the same school. So if you send your boy to st michael's , they will end up in SJI or St. Pat, then a bulk of them will go to CJC. BTW, SAJC is anglician not catholic, so the affilated schools are diff set.. ha haha :p

like everyone want to get into henry park even though there is no affiliation to raffles, many of the kids end up there.

re: the baby Einstein 26 dvd box set at 70 for local pick up and 75 for registered mail. interested please pm me.

this is just to help the mummies here to get a better deal. as i got the same thing for my son at this price so just want to share.

not sure about the authenticity though.

the baby einstein dvd right seems that if have 10 people buying can get 10%, and if 20 can get 15%..

err seems pm not working can email me at [email protected]

wow so fast thinking about pri school! i hope to put my kid into chongfu as it's pretty near, but I'm nearer to peixin *sigh* Seems like higher chance for peixin.

simp,
tend to agree with you.. getting into a good school doesn't guarantee anything.

Btw, I saw the Parklon mat at mini toon, and it's not as smooth as you've described. Felt kind of bumpy.

hi i agree with this as the people that you mix with spend more time with you during your school years
but during the formative years parents or the caregiver is very important as my sister actually turn out like her nanny.

Re : Pri School
I hope to put my ger in Fairfield Pri, but alot of children near my neigbourhood, heard must ballot, sian.

Btw how do we know the distance of our home to the school?