(2008/03) March 2008

btw, can our baby hear at this stage?
should we start listening to music?
tmc gave a free music cd for babies. not sure at what stage to start listening as i m not keen on music myself.

linda, do take it easy. same here, earlier in the pregnancy i scolded my students until got cramps at tummy. think maybe baby is protesting. do agree that temper is a lot worse now.

It is usually the younger students who are more mischievious and childish. Everytime i go in to my sec 2 class, i will end up scolding them. My sec 4 classes are taking their N level next week too and i am also more gan jiong than them. There were also times where they were quite nice, once when i dropped some papers on the floor, they dont even allow me to bend down and pick it up. Told me to stop where I am and say pregnant woman cannot bend and squat...haha...they went to do it instead. It's those little things the students do that warms my heart.

Think of the happy experiences with them, i am sure at the end of the day, they will appreciate what you have done for them.

Got a feeling that next year my classes will be worse cos i will be away for maternity, i will will probably be given more N(T) classes. I am also thinking of taking no pay leave after giving birth but my husband not supportive of the idea. He said once baby arrived, sure got more expenses to take care of.

Hi all.. I'm new to this forum. New going-to-be mum with EDD in March 08. Baby Gender unknown and I am turning 28 this coming year end.

<font color="aa00aa">melissa,
thanks. i will go look out. now i know liao.
that is breathless not heartburn.</font>

babylush,
right now, i m thinking about how to manage after maternity leave. maid/nanny both need money. that will be additional $800 per month, excluding diapers and milk powder. can faint thinking about it. how to cope?! even with two of us working, also cannot imagine where the money is going to come from.

liyun, welcome

give ur details to babypink, she consolidates our details.

NICK Yr EDD DR HOSP ADD
CHILD GENDER

aly,
interesting issue, do you know how i cope with my expenses? i simply stop counting and live by faith. so far we're able to get by and thanks to baby bonus, it really helps to offset some of our expenses, plus re-evaluate your needs and wants. don't worry. if our parents can get by with more kids, we can too. last time my father is the only sole breadwinner. when we're in secondary school and our expenses increases, my mom, who's not highly educated, went to work and earn a meagre salary but b'cos they all earn an honest living and never cheat pple's money, God bless us with a fulfilling life.

That's why i must stress that we should all keep an open mind and don't unnecessarily worry yourselves. Why worry over things that hasn't happen yet. We can keep cautious but don't overdo it. I think Singaporeans are generally so uptight they forget that life can be beautiful and easy at times. Focus on the positive things. We all can cope. Jia you all!

i've been mia from this forum for 2-3 days, and omg, so many pages to catch up wif!!

gals, enjoy the swim! I wish i know how to swim.. haha, but anyway, the kate's aunt's pool looks awesome.

i juz bought a maternity yoga pants, see whoever who's gonna be at rita's lesson next sun onwards.

talking abt finance - my hubby's fren said $1k then enuff - cos cannot exclude diapers and milk powder.

2nd mtbs, if u had breastfeeding, did u know how come u had milk? some of my frens did not have breastmilk to feed their newborns.

i want to make sure i have - my boobs r growing - but unsure if that's a sure sign to be producing milk when it's time!

aly, i've that cd too, having start playing, our gynae (believe we have the same one) told me that bb still can't hear yet (mine at 13wk +).. nonetheless, harmless for urself to cultivate the mood for enjoying music. u can start listening to it to relax and destress (ur work sounds hectic).

melissa, i totally agree wif you about the part that we can stop counting and live by faith that we have enough for our expenses. and why worry so much.

we should enjoy life, enjoy our pregnancy, and we live with a mind of abundance, we probably will get abundance.

that aside, just bear in mind to spend only when necessary, and think twice before buying to avoid overspending.

i know when i have a kid, i will definitely spend less on myself, and more for him/her.

melissa, have fun at seeing ur bb.

Speaking of stress, was super stressed out yesterday at work. Not sure if I'm imagining it or what but I felt a bit of discomfort on the lower abs. Then I thot abt my baby, I felt really bad. I guess whatever it is that we're feeling, baby can feel as well. I kept rubbing my tummy and telling baby that it's gonna be ok, mummy will be off work soon.. not sure if that's any help. *sigh

Surely there has got to be an easier way to make money..

I've started playing music already, heard that Mozart is good. Not sure if it's true but I read that the strong beat is comforting for baby. But usually I'm not a classical music person, so I really feel sleepy when I play Mozart..hahaha.

niwa is right. once we have a baby, our interest to shop for ourselves goes down the drain hehe. more often we put the baby first. so it's a matter of changing priority.

niwa,
everyone will have breastmilk when baby is born. when i just gave birth, the LC taught me how to latch the baby. your body might have or trying to produce colostrum and the real milk comes in on the 3rd day. so you have to keep latching everyday and every few hours even though newborn have reserves during those days. it's to send the body the signal that they should start producing breastmilk right away. niwa, nevermind, have faith. i started from scratch too and i'm glad i am able to breastfeed for as long as I could.

me too start playing music for my baby everynite b4 n during sleep.. all thks to the disc from Linda..

went for my gynae check yty nite le.. i m down with flu.. given many medicine.. n even mon mc.. but i m so much better tdy after first round of medicine le.. thk i sld b fine by tml.. to celebrate my hubby birthday..

gynae still dun wan to confirm my bb gender.. but he do mention.. "still looks like boy" hahaha.. cos i bought forward my visit.. n now bb only 15wk+... he say will confirm in three wks time... Again got to wait le...

aly,

got to give up a lot of luxuries once baby comes along, have to give up my facials and pedicures, no more gym membership, fewer shopping sprees, etc. or maybe find other cheaper alternatives.....no choice got to sacrifice.

have u thought of taking up the flexi adjunct teacher scheme? no cca, no committee and based on your last drawn salary. they will convert it to hourly pay. i have been thinking of all possible options. then can have more time with baby and still have some $$ to supplement household income.

melissa, really?? afterbirth, as long as u latch baby on and we produce breastmilk? i'm always amaze at how sophisticated our body system is.

just wondering what happen to frens who have no breastmilk to feed. i better check with them about the WHYs.

liewb, i'm not into classical too - but my hubby is fine with that. so i've decided to play the music at night (when it's time for me to sleep), anyway, as long as baby can hear it, it's fine. LOL.

the reason for the *SOOTHING* or *CLASSICAL* music, is to allow bb to associate with it, and also learn to relax, this is especially useful when we preg at 28wks onwards, when he/she has developed the brain nerves for memory. so after born, and when he/she hears the same piece of music, he/she had already associated wif it, and will calm or quiet down. good for a peace of mind - for the adults.

same thing, at that time, talking to ur bb will help, cos he/she can hear u, and will associate ur voice as a familiarity - i guess that's part of bonding.

my hubby dont really for the idea of me taking leave after giving birth...he keeps saying later we eat grass heehe... actually i think will not be that jialat...just have to give up the luxury lifestyle onli...

if possible, really want to be my child till ard 9mth-1 yr before i go back to work...

<font color="0000ff">Liyun</font>

haha,at 1st i tot my best pal is here
cos she also has tat name

Congratulations to you

<font color="0000ff">babylush & aly</font>

dun worry too much lah

can cut down on other expenses..and i agree totally with <font color="0000ff">melissa</font> abt if our parents can do it , so can we

it is true living expenses is higer than in our parents' time, but pay also higher then theirs..so balanced out

<font color="0000ff">niwa</font>

really needs to drink a lot of liquid, which i admit i fail to do so

in fact, drink more papaya fish soup then can save on milk powder & can slim one down too

alo i dun practise wat i preach cos i stop breastfeeding b4 6 months, BUT i will try my best this time round

================

anyway, last nite was conversing with hb and got a shock..no wonder he is so reluctant have more than 2, cos he tot we needs a helper PER kid..he still said matter of factly..we r getting another helper..then i was going like huh ?

aly

There's many options besides taking no pay leave. Under MOE, we have 30 days MC and 60 days hospitalisation leave which does not require physical stay in hospital. I'm sure your gynae will be supportive in writing the leave for you. My colleague was given nursing leave after her child was born.

I've been exploring part time teaching. There's 1/2, 2/3 & 3/4 load. You can negotiate with your school your load to suit your parenting needs. All the medical benefits still intact, only pay is cut according to load.

On baby listening to music, you may want to read http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/fetaldevelopment/stimulatebabysdevelopment/
Title: Is it worth trying to stimulate my baby's development in utero?

anyway, after seeing the sharing of linda , aly.. i thank my lucky stars i din sign up with MOE few years back.

was abt to sign up with them when i was offered another job the day b4 i sign..PHEW

both my hubby and I are teachers. so we were thinking if really have no choice, then we got to take up tuition as an extra income. Seems that next year is going to be hectic. I already gave up all the luxury expenses since i got married. The last time I had facials and manicure/pedicures was before my wedding. my face like sandpaper now. my fingers and toes look terrible. Guess have to depend on the baby bonus and my connect plan for the first 4 months.

Btw, teachers, do u know that our babies are coming at the right timing. after 3 months of maternity leave, we still have june holidays to spend one more month with our darlings.

regarding the music.. i really really have no patience for classical and soothing music. feels impatient when I listen to them. The most I can bear to them is just one round. cannot keep playing. will get on my nerves. my hubby on the other hand, believes that baby can hear already, wants me to start listening to them.

really looking forward to the december break. it is not just the teaching and marking. I don't mind teaching and marking. But there is additional work like setting papers, vetting papers, writing remarks, setting next yr budgets and plans. these are the things that make me want to tear my hair out. my part time degree is not helping.
making me depressed.

kais,
The half load teaching does not work well for me. i did that for half a year in 2000. my colleague also tried the 3/4 workload last year but now revert back to full load. the reason is the only thing they cut down is ur teaching periods. still have to do all the adminstrative work. Somemore, for primary school teachers, they just take away the non-core subjects. I took the half load. ended up still going home same time as the rest. but pay half.

I think maybe adjunct better. no expectations from u and ur performance don have to graded.

http://www.moe.gov.sg/corporate/contactonline/2006/issue11/sub_TeachersWrite_art02.htm

A teacher who decides she wants the best for both her work and family life shares her experiences. This article was found on CONTACT.

Hope this will be helpful to all the teachers out there thinking of spending more time with your child while still being able to contribute financially to the household.

I was thinking of adjunct teaching when my experienced colleagues (God bless them!) advised me strongly against it. They are under the part-time scheme and i can see it is working out great for them. Also, my department head is very supportive of me taking up the part-time scheme so tt i hv time for my 3 babies next year. I have no luxury of help from mom or mil. Maybe that's a blessing in disguise, i choose to think

<font color="0000ff">kais</font>

wah, u must tell me further..u see once we admit inside hosp, the maternity leave starts immediately..so that means when my maternity leave ending, i ask gynae for 2 months nursing leave ..

i think i wana noe which gynae so nice, co i wana go

<font color="0000ff">aly</font>

talking abt facial, most of my male colleagues go for that, even my deputy boss who is 60 years old and is a man

he is married with 3 adult kids, then he went Jean Yip to trim and colour his hair

Ironically, it is me and my female co-colleague tat din...

i used to do my nails too outside too..now i cut my own unless i have functions to attend

really cut down on a lot of personal expenses now cos my ambition in life is to mother many kids..haha

i think i wana kudo my good pal teaching chinese in a sec school..she is so happy leh, which is very rare i noe

aly
oic. I guess different schools do it differently. We can choose to cut down on our main teaching subject and also be taken out of CCA, FT and committees.

i agree with aly.

3/4 load or 1/2 load doesnt really cut down alot.

our bbies really come in the right time hehee ... anyway, i will take leave in t3, then go back in T4 hehehe...at least i wont get a bad grading..(hopefully lah)
next yr in June, actually need to bring students to taiwan for exchange. my sch has drawn me out le. bb is so small then, if go overseas, think i will miss my bb lots lots...

babypink
You can try talking to your gynae. I know from my colleague that after her maternity leave, her gynae gave her 1 extra month of nursing leave. Where they park it under i'm not sure.

Dr Eunice Chua is very understanding and she writes my leave by asking me how many days i want. She's with TLC gynaecology clinic at TMC.

i just read that article. 2/3 teaching load and she gets to go to work 3 days out of 5 days in a week. That is good. But in my school situation, u only get the number of periods reduced. But still have to turn up for work everyday. The reason being that we have to teach English and/or Maths. For primary pupils, the timetable is planned in such a way that they have the core subjects everyday. My colleague took the 3/4 teaching load and have to rush home immediately after work. But she was misunderstood by many to be not dedicated to her work. (Person cannot be found once school bell rings) Though it is said lessons end at 1pm but in actual fact, we still have to attend level meetings, departmental meetings, cca, workshops, etc after school.

linda, lucky for u.
kais,
for ur case, i think u shd take the 1/2 teaching load. cos 3 babies wanting ur attention at the same time!

i am looking at the calendar every day and counting down. haha.. the only thing i look forward to now is the sch holidays!

Yup, i plan to be home daily by 2pm. I'm waiting for my HOD to return from her DDM course to discuss at length with her.

Also, will need to employ 2 domestic helper to look after kids and do household chores.

Exciting 2008 awaits.

pri sch.. yup. monday hols!
but my hubby will be having reservist training for the whole week. so nobody to spend the holiday with me.

btw, do you know if 15 oct is also a sch holiday? (in lieu of hari raya) I check my school calendar in the pupil's handbook. but it is not reflected as a holiday. yet i receive news about 15oct being a holiday. confused.
then 16oct to 19oct is psle marking.

kais,
u r a positive mum to be!

I am a worry wart.. i will keep worrying and feeling depressed about things yet to happen.

hehehee... i'm moulded by circumstance. Imagine 3 at one shot. If i think any less positive, i think i'll go bonkers before delivery :p

My situation is the best candidate for PPND - Pre & Post Natal depression.

hahahhaha So must save money from psychiatric treatment & think positive lor. Too stress not good for babies, in case they turn out grouchy

aly, no point worrying. Positivity usually prevails.

babypink, thanks. Some mothers tell me to drink mamum milk now to encourage my system to produce breastmilk in future. Since it's not some taste that I like, I just finding reasons to put off drink mamum. :p

kais, i guess you're doing to be breastfeeding as well?

I watched on national geography on 'baby in the womb' - there were some studies to show the positive effects of music from wk 28 onwards - the positive effect does not include increasing intelligence, but rather to grab bb's attention when playing the same piece of music - say he's crying, and u play that same piece of music - he changes his attention to it - and stops crying.
i believe will help us in parenting and reduce unwanted cries.

my hubby was telling me that he had never used a pacificer b4 and will not want our child to use one either. was wondering how to stop baby from crying without the pacificer. all my siblings including myself used pacificer when we were young. i also read about pros and cons of using sarong for baby to sleep in.

no $$ manicure/pedicures and facials??
how about diy? during teens days i did not have much spare cash, but survived thru diy.

i think it helps for mtb to feel good about themselves.

anyway, amk hub's ladyfingers (level 3 opp ntuc income)'s pricing is reasonable. u ladies staying in central can chk it out.

aly, yup i changed many p/t cleaner. :p :p

the 3rd one is coming in tomorrow morning, she sounds like a malay lady. i'm excited to see her. mabbe she can teach me a recipe or two on malay curry.

1st one from china, sg PR wants pay incr - we thot it's not worth it, did not agree, and she fired us.

2nd one local - not efficient - says nid 5hrs to complete all tasks - so too bad. I did household chores last two wks, and could complete faster than these p/t cleaners when i'm pregnant.

anyway, instead of 2 fulltime live-in helpers, u guys might like to consider one p/t helper. haha, help ur maid to do her work.

my grandparents managed so many children w/o helpers, and my parents too. i've colleagues who had two children, and no helpers. my SIL oso managed without helpers. in general, i think it's time management. anyway, our era is slightly different, since we are working mums.

i must say if i'm in kai's situation, i will think at least 1 helper is required.

i think i hv msn, but i hardly use it... i dun rem. give me a min to chk.

yes, i'm attending the yoga class! i haven't think abt what to bring.

yoga mat, water bottle, blanket (thinking of going to ikea later, so can get one)

rita did not send me confirmation abt receiving my cheque, but i think i will trust her.