(2008/03) March 2008

DerNemi

wat u said sound so familar..i am always telling my pals me "yao4si3bu4si3" =p

I had my 1st child immediately after marriage, in fact, she comes out 9 months after we married cos she is a premature baby

being pregnant is my excuse for not touching hsework since ever married ;p

Aly

after this child, must get a maid, cos we ladies will feel more tired after working then look after bb, No time for housework one really

it is more fruitful to spend the time to play with the bb

never do housework just looking after bb even b4 i pregnant with 2nd one is already very tiring

same goes for hubby..he can't imagine coping with housework now

Ever since i m preggie, my hubby has been doing the hsework but of coz i help him a bit too.

So i m very touched by wat he is doing. During meals times, he always let me decide wat to eat.

So glad to have my hubby around.

<font color="aa00aa">babypink,
hahahaha...........ya loh.
my hubby see me so poor thing..then he said i do lah. hehehe.....
like what linda says v touching by what my hubby doing it for me.

linda,
me too....i also glad too.</font>

aly

must tell your husband that you're also working leh... and on top of that, still must go thru' the pregnancy... not easy...

for me, my gynae kept on reminding my hubby not to let me do too much things like housework chores , workplace wise, bo bian... this is also becoz i experienced spotting earlier on.. so i tend to be very careful... i think all preggies should be very careful and rest more esp. in the 1st trimester... better be safe than sorry.

Same same.. my HB do everything for me including looking after daughter. I just keep sleeping. when wake up he already prepared food for me kekeke.. Though he is also working but he understands i am very tired.

<font color="0000ff">NB clothes</font>
GEt 2 new sets. 1 for coming out hospital meaning brand new start and another for 1st month celebration.

<font color="0000ff">Mommies clothes</font>
Remember to bring those button up clothes for easy breast feeding in hospital. For my case in Mt A. They dont provide clothes for natural birth. You will have to get ur own set.

<font color="0000ff">beansprout pillow</font>
It might be good to have beansprout pillow. but beware. my girl almost got suffocated by the pillow twice. Once was when she was not even 1 month, she somehow moved and the pillow cover her face. too heavy for her to move it away. 2nd was when she 3rd months. Quite a scare but eventually, she knew how to turn her face after the 2 lessons. This is a risk i wouldnt want to take though. Luckily she cried and we hear her voice is being covered by something.

<font color="0000ff">baby blanket</font>
Yea i would agree no need to wrap baby up in singapore's weather. Unless at night u bringing baby home. if not baby might "what what" if weather too hot.

<font color="0000ff">pacifier</font>
i will say stand by a pacifier. Though i know not all people like baby to have it. but it will be better if you have 1. and if u cannot stand the crying already as they wanna suckle for comfort, consider using it.

<font color="0000ff">sarong</font>
This helps the baby sleep well. do not get those standing type. It's quite dangerous.

That should be it for me. Hope it helps!

<font color="aa00aa">totally agreed!

juz had my dinner, curry pizza n sweet n spicy drumlets. v full now wana puke liao.</font>

was chatting to my hubby's family yesterday regarding my gynae. I was telling them that how I was always the only one in the clinic. No waiting time. However, no reviews of him can be found anywhere in the net. Nobody has referred him to me. I just walked into his clinic because it is near my home and there is no queue. Then my sister-in-law says a gynae is different from a GP. You have to rely on reference from people who have been with the gynae in order to know whether the gynae can handle or done a good job.

hello good morning girls,
yesterday i had potato and eggs for breakfast and spaghetti for lunch. luckily no puke. felt queasy but no puking. so i deduce that my MS is improving. at night, i just have milo. so shiok. and i just realised that i'm beginning to show. yesterday i wore my shirt and jeans to go out and we pass by a glass display panel and i saw my bump. alamak i look pregnant already. guess now must be careful what i wear to work in case the bosses spotted me. me not confirmed staff yet liao.

baby blankets,
yes hospital will give shirt and blanket for baby but depending if baby is born full term or not, you may need to wrap him securely. if baby is not full term, below 37 weeks, he cannot regulate his own body temperature yet, hence relies on you to keep him warm. remember that baby has been in the womb for 9 months and our body temperature is hot so baby is more used to heat than cold. but if you're going home in the blazing hot sun, use your intuition b'cos if too hot can introduce heat rash. btw, keep lots and lots of diapers at home b'cos first week, baby will poo a lot. i recommend pampers newborn b'cos it's small enough for a newborn. those S size sometimes too big. but don't get a lot, b'cos some babies outgrow the diapers quite fast. average birthweight is 2.4kg i heard but my 1st girl was born at 3.2kg, two weeks before EDD.

aly,
who's your gynae? usually pple go by recommendation. if you need one, u can ask anyone from this forum, i'm sure they have their own favorites. if u prefer female gynae, i can recommend you mine. she's very gentle, even do vaginal scan oso must apologize. kekeke.

dernemi,
wow u eat a lot, if i were you, i will eat the pizza first, wait 30 mins, drink, wait 30 mins, eat the drumlets. basically space out your meal and you will feel and enjoy the food better.

pacifier,
me got one but my girl until now don't like it. so heng lah. however, she sucks her thumb though!

pump,
i recommend Avent Isis manual pump. it provides a faster let down and can get milk as fast as the electric pumps do. i have 2 pumps, one is the Ameda Lactaline for office and another Avent Isis for home. i prefer the latter though i swear by both.

nursing pads,
a MUST. during the early weeks of nursing, your body don't know yet how much milk to produce hence it produces a lot and it leaks easily so wear a nursing pad all the time. i recommend pigeon nursing pad b'cos of the double tape, it doesn't slip easily.

sanitary pads,
hehe hospital don't provide the normal sticky one, but the old fashioned, string one. bring your own sanitary pads easier. i like those slim type.

abdominal binder,
after you give birth, your stomach will have excess skin and you will still look like you're 6 months pregnant. if you wear the abdominal binder all the time AND breastfeed, you will get a flat tummy in no time. i swear by it. my tummy got so flat, all my pre-pregnancy jeans becomes big and i have to get new ones.

i will add more as i remember lor.

939794.png

<font color="aa00aa">how's the gathering ladies? any pics to share?

aly,
i also tot of changing gynae...still thinking...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">melissa,
ya loh. i cant finished 3pcs of the pizza, ate 2 already v full liao, somemore ate 3 small drumlets. hee....

duno y my appretitie in the morning n afternoon better but at nite worse leh.
sometime can eat sometime cant eat then till 9pm i feel hungry liao then i go n drink milo.</font>

if you've not taken up a package yet, maybe you can try consulting another gynae for your next consultation, then you can compare between the two, then make a decision.

i chose mine based on referrals from my relatives too..cos i wanted some assurance regarding his skills... in fact, i decided to take up a package with my gynae only after 2-3 consultations cos i'm quite comfortable with him...

i think wat's most impt is your comfort and confidence level with your gynae...

aly and Deremi
Who are yr gynae? Personally for me convenient is a MUST. Oso comfortablity. Even if nobody but i am comfy with him i will still carry on. My #1 is given birth by doc jus opp my hse.. no nd to queue and i am comfy with him too... The reason i change is jus tat i wan to experience a new one. Even if go back to the old one, i wouldnt mind.

i also read in the newspaper last yr that bird nest is not good for the bb during pregnancy, higher chance for your bb to be asmatic after birth!

been waking up in the middle of the night ard 5am too... just wake up on my own, it's like all the position is not correct. i read that it's not good to sleep on your back by 2nd trimester, so i'm training myself to sleep on my sides, so probably subconsciously i will wake up to switch to sleeping on my side..

i'm starting to suffer from evening sickness since two days agao - from 5plus pm onwards - will feel v bloated, and alot of gas. and nid to fart.. (LOL).. and v smelly gas.. aiyoh.. also got to control v hard.

anyway, any of u got part time maid? my part time maid, suddenly want a rate hike, wants to increase $2.. SIAO so much! we don't need her to do v strenous stuff - just ironing and clean floor and toilet - my hubby says next week onwards he will do the household chores himself, until we get another at a good rate.

aly, who's ur gynae? mabbe u can do a search in this singaporemotherhood forum to see if u can find any info about him.

<font color="aa00aa">abc,
my gynae is DR Roy Ng from Mt.E. still thinking only...maybe not changing.

niwa,
im like u, in the evening time i feel sick.</font>

babypink,
you can get it from any pharmacy. Osim oso got. actually i also have the traditional Malay cloth tummy wrap but i don't know how to wrap it so i used the abdominal binder and wear it everyday, as long as I could. I can see result in 3 weeks. tummy so flat. really happy lor. when you apply the binder, don't forget to breathe in so that you can bind as tight as possible. sorry can't remember price though.

mummyboy,
quite anxious dunno how to cope with new baby since my #1 is still a baby too... hehehe.

melissa
can use the abdominal binder straight after child birth or must wait until after confinement?

mummyboy
i'll worry about well-being of bb, whether the pregnancy will be a success...but i try very hard to keep happy thoughts and stay positive..

Hi mummyboy

must rest & relax ..when i had my 1st, except for the 1st trimester when i want to puke & sleep, i was very excited abt the whole pregnancy after my ms is gone

when bb start to show symtoms of coming out more than 3 weeks ahead of EDD, my pal was so anxious for me..she had negative tots and think bb will be too premature..but she is a good pal lah, so concern for me

whereas i was so excited..haha..all positive tots leh..was surprised taht she sound so worried for me

when i feel anxious, i try to think positive but still anxious. don't know why cannot control.

can we go for a stroll at parks, etc? maybe will help me relax. But they said 1st trimester shouldn't walk too much.

aly

i think i will feel more confident with a gyane who is convenient for my access, as in dun have to travel too far and at teh same time got at east some good comments leh

no comments at all, i wun feel comfy

babypink,
yes but mine is the old type one. a hand-me down. no more in stock. i think it's the discipline that matters also, after birth i'm not so hungry so i've been drinking a lot of water to keep me full. i used the binder from morning and remove it when i want to sleep.

twinklestars,
bring the binder when you're delivering in the hospital. it's one of my hospital's to-bring list of item. i used it straight after birth b'cos my tummy looked awful, can't stand seeing the access skin after birth! your body will recover quickly after birth so knowing that, i took advantage of it.

mummyboy
maybe when anxious and you feel your heart beat racing, try taking deep breaths... sometimes i do that.. or i 'll go online looking at those very cute baby stuff.....and it'll help to distract me hehe... currently, i'm looking at strollers..not very cute la..but some of their features are really very high tech...amazing

baby pink, dernemi, niwa
yah yah... last two evenings were quite bad for me.. can't eat much and felt like a lot of wind in the chest area (?) . sometimes want to burp, sometimes felt like puking....aarrgghh

melissa
thanks for the tip! i'll sure be putting the binder into my to-purchase and to-bring list.

my gyna's name cannot be found in this forum or another baby forum at all. that's y i dono anything about him. His name is SH Chen. See if you gals can help me find any feedback about him.

<font color="aa00aa">especially at evening time, like so sick till so sian...eat cant eat much, dun eat then hungry...duno wat to do.</font>

oh yah, <font color="0000ff">melissa</font> is very rite abt the pads..cos the string kind really sucks and luckily i got bring some there..but somehow not enuff..

better bring at least 1 full pack

<font color="aa00aa">babypink,
HIGH*5 back to u.

must bring the pad for what use? paiseh abit blur coz now nite time v GONG. blur blur blur...</font>

i also have this evening sickness..

so muz eat more during day den night time wont be hungry le. plus, my new hobby --> snacking

aly : Is this gynae from Yishun? Hmm actually mi gt to see him for my first consultation, then i nv go for next visit liao..He is not bad actually,i find him quite friendly wor.. but cos my hb's fren recommended another gynae, so we change gynae liao...

dernemi: I think u need to bring pad because you'll still continue to bleed after birth. Therefore u wun wanna stain ur clothes or the bedsheet... I rem cause i was a teen when my aunt gave birth. I saw..

melissa
So when u use the OSIM binder do u still do postnatal massage? Do they still sell it now? How much?

yea going see gynae later.. hopefully everything is fine cos spotting again yesterday.

petrina's right. we will have lochia after birth. it goes on for a few weeks after birth. it's a lot at first but slowly it will taper off.

abc,
yes i do postnatal massage for 7 days and i will be bound by that lengthy piece of cloth. i use that for days and then at night, i will use the Osim binder. b'cos i was kiasu during the first few weeks. sometimes i don't bother. Osim still selling the abdominal binder now better i think, got 2 belts for more tighter binds. price i dunno but can check out Osim website.

abc
hoped the spotting is nothing big...
take care...

Melissa
i do believe binding in first few weeks very impt...cos tummy still shrinking...postnatal fats still "fresh" to shed.....so must hardworking a bit...but i find the bind tight...and then hard to sit n breast feed bb...so tahan abit for sake of vain....

<font color="aa00aa">petrina,
oic...thanks for the info.

juz back from my scanning...my babe now 10wks n 5days. seeing my babe moving so cute, heartbeat beating fast, got head, tiny legs n arms...hee....
my EDD will be earlier due to my babe age now. my gynae said i need to go for a oscar or NT scan like u all mentioned it earlier
to see wana babe got any risk of anomalies. my next appt will be next 2wks time.</font>

Girls, I found out about the Osim Slim Belt.. Its 88 bucks only and for post-natal use... Haha

I 'm going to get it loh... And also i starting to buy stretch mark cream liao.... i very vain scare got ugly marks all over my body

isabel, my gynae recommend clarins massage oil instead of cream..she say oil is better.. u can go check it out..i bought mine liao, will start using come 4th month. cost ard 80+

hahaha i dun hv stretch mark. Envy sia...

Isabel
Wonder if we can do a BP on the Osim slim belt. I oso interested ley.. hahaha... Say mabe buy 10 got discount and chio other ppl to buy? hahaha... Let me check it out.

Hey mummy,

thanks for the tip..maybe i will buy that too... I just bought the PALMER'S STRETCH MARK CREAM/SLIMMING CREAM..u finish then i get the clarins massage oil one...

abc... u go check and let mi know..coz i really interested in it ...may want to buy the U Zap also...but wonder if its good ?? any reviews??