(2008/03) March 2008

sticky kids
i can't visit the toilet too. cannot be out of his sight for more than 2 mins. My boy is very close to me maybe bcos its just us at home. He used to be better, now when I leave him at my mum's place to do my part time teaching, he keeps on sayin 'ma ma'...my mum is very jealous about this :p

yasmin: ahahaha.

another reason is like earlier posts we said separation anxiety starts at this stage.

maybe put zayed in some play classes, he gets entertained thus won't feel as bored.

HappyGal
rayden drew a v. nice picture
he's the same age as my Chelsea! Dec 05...she also loves to draw and we put some drawings up on the fridge

same boat here, my kids fight a lot too...but i can sympathise wif my #1 also cos her little brother always try to mess up her building blocks and everything she does, he wants to do too....at times they do play nicely together but still have to watch carefully since there's such a difference in their size...i'm sure when they get older, they'll play even better together since there's not as big of a difference in size/skills

anyway that's why i prefer to get them out of the house so that they're not always fighting over toys etc...outside they play v. well at the playground or just running around

Yasmin, Kell
i'm sure all of us has had similar experiences haha especially since traditionally we are supposed to listen to our elders so i do find that my parents don't really respect my decisions....usually though they will just kept saying how bad or wrong i am *haiz* but if i'm there, which i usually am, they don't really act against my wishes...they just complain a lot haha

i have to say my ang moh MIL is v. different....she used to tell me that I'm Chelsea's mum so I get to decide....and over there all the relatives always say what a great job i was doing as a mum! hahaha...so different right?

AdeL: That what I hate. Mum telling u're wroing in this or that in front of the kids. Its not good. Later kids will lose respect for us.

me thinking of putting my son in CC too, b4 #2 comes. but i dunno how to choose a good CC for him. any AMK mommies here have recommendation??

when it come to discipline my son, my MIL will start going"aiya! he still small la, is like that one." i always roll eyes. so i really can't imagine to put my son under her care.

abc,
i saw the little skool house too. but i dunno if i like the aircon environment. cos easier to get virus pass ard? maybe i will dropby someday and check it out with my hubby.

red tea, how abt thomson area? My neighbour's kids go to this clover (wat a gd name!) pre-school. It's not air con. She finds the place quite ok.

Yasmin, can understand how u feel. Maybe zayed is going thru a phase. Alex had gone thru this phase a few times, so i'm non-pussed abt it. If he doesn't want to eat, i wont force him. However his meal can take up to one hour. So maybe now it's time to discipline our kids.

Kell, my mil gives in to alex too, so alex is sticky to her n she actually relishes the attention. Haizzz alex learnt how to throw tantrum with her around and now gives hb n me the same treatment. I told her not to give in to alex, and she laughed. Coz of this + other reasons, she is not a suitable caregiver. I find no reason to send alex to cc this early so i'm still taking care of him.

clover,
thanks. hee.. ya, wat a good name. actually me and hubby is lazy ppl. wanna send DS to nearby home and can jus drop him off and then head to work. so we prefer near to central. but will look at other option too if they are good.

i think huh, cos it's first grandson, so grandparents tends to give in to them and pamper them like god. :p

Redtea
i agree. Now with #2 they dun interfere when i discipline him liao. regardign aircon u ask them how the kids slp. Are they separated? WHat precaution they take to prevent spread of flu etc. How are lesson's carried out etc.. at least u knw. Sometimes non aircon might be too warm too considering Singapore's weather.

Pet, clover
maybe cos i am working mum. If i am SAHM i might start him schooling later too. Cos i think i would wan to b with him more and play more.. hahaha...

abc
i agree wif that hehe...i think SAHM will feel so strange not seeing their kids 24/7...so putting kiddo in CC is a BIG mental hurdle to overcome....i've been through all that with #1 and now with #2, still can't bear to put him in CC! :p

AdelineL
i knw what u mean cos right now i off every wed. knw how it feels when u wake up and the house suddenly feel so empty and quiet...

thanks ladies.

Adeline and abc
I dread the day when zayed hv to go to sch..kekek...guess this mummy will hv seperation anxiety..lol

Planning to put him in playgroup when he's 2. or when he communicate to a certain extent.i will feel better if he can tell me if somethin is wrong.

kaa
you are spot on. although my boy is super attached to me. he is very active and curious and get easily bored. I'm all for joining him in a playgroup. i live in Tiong Bahru area so I'm considering learning train since apple tree only takes in kids from 3yrs old.

Yasmine
very scary, poor boy and his mum ..imagine i was told to get Tamiflu for my parents too cos they are old. kelicia has a fever and they felt she is a suspected case, so pescibed for all the young & elderly who is in close contact with her..i cannot imagine facing 4 depressed and hallicinating people at a go..
*hugzz* i agreediscipline does need to be instilled fr young,
just tat i dun like to waste food, so i try my best to get the yucky food* i cooked into them, by coaxing &using lousy ways like if u eat ur lunch, mummy will give u raisins/ blueberries / or biscuits
i like to steam plain cod fish/threadfin & brocoli, then add plain rice* for the kiddos

Junk food
jeangal, i agree that minus the junk, they will kuai kuai eat ..adults is the same too..when hungry, anything is nice :p

Kaa
i think my hb agrees with u :p it is true tat those who spoil the kid is the one the kid will stick to, he is always telling me not to be so biased towards kyzac..cos the little chap just melts my heart, really unconsciously din scold him even when he did wrong..oops

cc
after all this talk, i was tempted to put kyzac in his sis' childcare next month..so this evening went to ask the principal when I fetch #1..she was saying 18th months is too young, asks me to wait till end of the year leh

Made this for a friend's son's 1 yo birthday. It's the same steamed chocolate cake I made a week ago. Friends saw my blog and requested for this cake.

2799944.jpg
2799945.jpg

2799946.jpg

And a marble chiffon cake for a picnic last Friday.
2799947.jpg
2799948.jpg

thx all for e compliments of my son drawing...sigh...my son has been coughing since 23 july till nw. gg bk to pd for the 4th times tomolo for review. duno y this time around, the virus so strong. normally his cough wil recover after few days if take medication. develop slight fever on and off since last sunday till nw. vommitted once yest and today in the morning. what should i do, mummies? any advice? especially yest till today, he keeps crying and waking up many times, either complaining his ear pain (but pd chk on tues his ear ok leh), or eye cnnt open or what...sigh...and i am afraid he will pas bk virus to his sister...sigh...oredi spending like $600 on pd...excluding tomolo visit

Happygal
u went aglow? switch PD? try tcm? i bring my gal to eu yan sen for cough. Not bad... but after her fever tat day it came back again. Now i oso headache cos phelgm jus cannot seem to go away

cough
Alex has been coughing too. Brought him to gp 1st, then tcm at yu guo which he was better for a few days but his cough came bk. The tcm doc sugg for me to c a western doc so i brought alex to kinder clinic. There dr tan diagnosed him as hypersensitive. His body is overreacting so his cough is prolonged. This was last fri, and alex's cough is much better.
Happygal, perhaps u shld bring yr son there? I highly recommend dr tan.

Abc, maybe it's the diet, so the phlegm dun go away

good morning ladies

as i was reading the posts, i was smiling to myself, i think all our kids are at the same stage. lele has her phases of spitting food, refusing to open her mouth to eat her regular meal. if i flash out her favourite biscuits she will open her mouth as big as hippo.

i have clashes with my mum on giving in too much to lele too. somehow she and lele bond very much even much better than zac. there was this time when lele insisted to have her biscuits when she already taken 2. she was throwing a tantrum and i left her to cry. my mum came out and she blurted out to lele" your mama is naughty, come popo carry!"

haiz, i immediately told her off. i guess it is easier as she is my mum. cant imagine if she is my inlaw.

Unfortunate incident
====================

Lele fell and had a deep cut on her forehead, quite deep and Pd need to use glue to close her cut. when i first saw it, i got a shock but this chilli padi was still laughing away. now have to be extra careful these few days as pd said if fall at the same spot again will need stiches. haiz haiz

yasmin
i agree with the rest it could be teething but sometime it could be a testing of limit too. lele was on food strike when i was overseas and when i came back she is eating well again. but my maid feeds her she started her nonsense again and my maid was very angry, brought her to her room and told her sternly "if she doesnt eat and keep spitting her food, no more biscuits next time and have to stay in the room till kor kor finish" viola, eversince that incident, lele has been very cooperative when come to meal time. not sure how long can this last. hang on there.

happygal
he is highly sought after. Better call and book him early. His clinic close early too and do note he is very very busy. Got to wait quite long even with appt and do avoid weekends

dr tan appt is fully booked. So can only go as outpatient. Either u go v early b4 they open to be 1st in q or go ard 12 noon. Better call n check whether he will be at the clinic tomolo. Also Be prepare to wait. My bill was $150, definitely not cheap coz consultation is $80 alone but he gave us a lot of information n proven to be effective overtime. =)

i mean everytime. =)

Shirley, hope lele wound will heal n leave no scar. When alex was born, he had a cut too. Dr tan also applied glue. Now the scar is not obvious

clover
think hv to book Dr tan in advance de... if not hard to get him. But according to him if serious then jus go in. No nd to queue or make appt

ok lah, u try and let me know? my personal experience is i called up to ensure dr tan is in (coz sometimes he's not) and i gave my child's name. the nurse will retrieve out his file and i get to see dr tan not by appt but by the time of arrival.

shirley: woah.. lele ok mah now? how come got deep cut? danger now that they r trying to be "independent"... i refuse to let ryan walk w/o holding hands in malls. though he always try to negotiate wif me.

just to vent
so pissed wif a colly of mine. different agency. he was coughing & sneezing away since tue. keep staying in ofc and passing germs ard. he's definately sick, not sinus or anything cause his voice also changed. he said he saw doc liao. but have things to do so have to come ofc. i find it irresponsible.
ryan has been sneezing n coughing since last nite. so this morning when his fever hit him, i immediately brought him to PD. hengz is juz throat infection. now fever subsided. usual active self. but still drippy nose.
i made a mistake by bringing him to my mom's plc when i came home from work yesterday afternoon. i thought by changing my clothes, it's safe.
if only i had shower b4 handling him, i think he won't be sick today.

i usually stand by my rule of showering b4 handling ryan. haiz...

Pet
nothing to do with yr coll or virus on yr clothes. research says that cough or flu better to cough into a piece of handkerchef. That's becos the cough n flu virus will die off after 2 hr on clothes. Thus i think it is more to immunity and everythign else come as a coincident bah...

Hope he get well soon.

Talking about Dr Tan, i spent 1k at his clinic before..! just that 1 day.. 1k gone.. Heartpain! but no choice..

shirley
like kim ah? but kim is eyebrow lor.. now got scar..

Kim's cough comes and go one.. sighz now coughing again.. bringing her to see normal gp..

petrina/adeline

her cut is quite deep cos she knock her head against a plastic toy with edges. can see her open wound. quite scary. today going for review. hopefully healing well.

AdelineK
so kim has a scar on her eyebrow? lele is on the forehead.

Shirley

poor lele ! quite jialat, hope the wound will heal

Pet

hope ryan recovers soon , i also have the habit to bathe 1st after work b4 b4 carrying kyzac.

Hei...i feel..recently.. a lot of young kids got sick. Either coughing, fever or running nose/block nose.

My first son, also got bad coughing and breathless. Now, he's under medication and nebulizer every 4 hours.

I notice quite few of his classmates got sick too. One thing i am quite afraid is Swine Flu goes to kinder school...that's frightening.

If any of you heard about that..pls sharing with us lehh..so we can take precaution for our young children. Very much appreciated.

so tired.. thks all.
ryan is better now. juz left wif drippy nose. everytime he see my medicine bottle, he'll shake his head and put his hand to cover his mouth. damn hate to feed medicine to children.

OMG! Andrae went to the fridge, open up the lower compartment ,took out a mentos ,unwrap the wrapper (duno hw he does that) and put into his mouth without anyone's knowledge.

By the time i found out, it is left with only a small tiny bit (size of an ant) in his mouth.. when i ask him wat's that he jus keep saying "sweet sweet"... i put it into my mouth to taste and indeed it is really mentos sweet... duno whether to laugh or to cry!

sob...sob...my rayne will have a scar on her forehead too...yest, she fell from our sofa while i was attending to rayden cos i am feeding him medication and my hb was attending to a phone call. But I was actually near her cos i was feeding him near the sofa area. I actually know she is walking on the sofa, but it was quite normal cos she always climbing here and there...but yest was so suai...she fell while attempting to sit on the arm and topple and forehead hit the floor. She cried and I quickly go and get her...and i saw blood all over the head and face and still keep on flowing....was so scared...hb and i were so panic..rayden was oso crying cos he saw his meimei covered with blood...i tried to stop the blood by applying pressure on the wound but it still din stop...my hb then thot of using tabacoo on the wound...it stop eventually but we already call 995 (cos dunno what to do). In the end, ambulance sent me and rayne to nuh A&E and doc checked and said no need stitch cos the wound though deep, is about 1cm long, so can use glue. No need to go back for review unless got abnormal behaviour or fever. My goosepimple still stand up when i thought of the her covered with blood....sigh...really suai recently....