(2008/03) March 2008

adeline: kim very well brought up... good gal. i hope ryan is gonna be a well mannered boy too.

bbpink: virtual supper for you?

apple tart
2747103.jpg

2747104.jpg

2747105.jpg

Melissa,
I wish my kids will look up highly to me when they grow up ;-) I can't say I'm the best mother but I try to do what I can for them. Take last night for eg, I just finished baking a matcha chiffon cake and mil came over. She commented I'm home alone yet still wanna bake so much. I told her because my kids are "different", they are gluttons and always asking for food. For me to serve them bread after bread for breakfast and tea, even if they're not sick of eating, I get sick of serving :p

Can't agree more on the office politics. I used to kena bombed by all these though I'm only a small fry in the company. But when it comes to politics, anyone can kena.

Do you brush your toddler's teeth? I've been brushing her teeth until one night, I was busy and DH helped out. Then he started shouting out for me, asking me why dd3 doesn't spit out the water. I told him I never let her gargle water, just action action brush teeth to build a good habit.

reena: i added custard to the apple pie.

bbpink: haha... tat shop @ ION their apple kueh really taste fantastic. u shld really go try it.
i'm trying to replicate it. but i dun have the same tray. so i can't do it. so i'm trying tart/pie style instead.

reena: haha. lucky u have 3 kids to help u finish ur bakes. i mostly eat myself. cause my mil seldom eat baked stuff. bil seldom at home. hb scared of being guinea pig already. can't blame him, afterall he's been a guinea pig for the past 11yrs. lol

yupz, Pet, my colleague was telling me abt ION just a few min ago, saying a lot of nice shops & food

talking abt ION, my colleague was telling me that Lee hwa at ION carries a lot of nice designs

his wife bought this 1k diamond ring for the son's gf who is turning 20 soon..

they went shopping and the gf selected tat

lucky gal! potential mil so generous rite , somemore only 4 months of dating

Pet
11 years ? ur hb noe u when schooling ? =)

Reena
i finger brush kyzac with water only..he only very few teeth..it think 4 also..and of course he dun noe how to gargle..kelicia gargleonly a few months ago :p

bbpink: yeah.. when i juz graduated from secondary school, i did a part time job. he was my trainer.

we ended up together ever since.

wahh.. "wu shi xian ying qing". scali give exp pressie, expect her to marry her son.

i like the parenting talks, very beneficial. last sunday, my boy try to get attention and start to do funny thing like climbling the sofa from the side. couldn't and start rolling on the floor. so drama. make me and hubby laugh. and we ignore him and let him roll agn and agn. :p bad parents.

Reena,
You heard about the term "cooking for love" right? there's something about the cooking if you do it because u want to, and not because u have to. Everyone would agree that the best tasting food is a mother's cooking. It's not all about the taste, but the love that has been cooked together with it. It's the reason why I always think about my mom. That's why i'm dying to cook at home! But i need A LOT of time to perfect the skills..haha..

AdelineK,
Kim is so cute!! My DD1 is also always saying thank you and welcome and she's in the stage where she loves to be helpful and take things for me or baby sister and wait for me to say "thank you" and she'll say "you're welcome" + big big smile. She can also beg and say please, please if I refuse to give her something she wants! Hahaha.. And when my hubby or I am angry, she'd quickly say how handsome daddy is and how cute I am..lol.. really make me wanna flip.

Tricia just learned something new, whenever we opened the fridge, she'd go "Waaaaaaaa!" like it's the first time she sees the contents of the fridge!

Petrina,
wa lao.. i see this post while i'm very, very hungry!!! now i feel like buying apple pie from Mac!!

Toothbrushing,
not yet, though like Reena, sometimes i just use the brush without any toothpaste to practice it on Tricia but she's likely to bite it hard and never let me brush.

to those who've been to ION,
are things there generally expensive? parking easy or not? i have this impression that ION is impressive on the outside but may not necessarily be so from the inside.. hehehe..

RedTea,
i have to admit, sometimes i just laugh it off when I see Tricia throwing tantrum and wanting attraction. she'll start doing faces and i find it too cute!

Melissa
We just went Ion last Sunday and you;re right, the outside is much more impressive than inside...there's nothing really interesting in terms of design on the inside....not like the MRT entrance where the colour changes....we ate at the food court and it seems like there's a lot of famous stalls there and we had the dim sum there which was pretty good but the roti prata wasn't nice but what surprised me was how lousy the tables/chairs are....the tables were rickety and kept rocking haha and the flooring looked cheap to me and it was very oddly spaced out with hardly any room for people to walk around....anyway the food looks promising though and i'll be back to try more food!
just thot their decor was disapppointing......Orchard Central though was much more interesting in design but i haven't eaten there yet...will go there soon

Tricia and your #1 v. cute hor :D
Tommy boy also super cute...he loves to tickle us and then squeal with laughter and both my kids love to make silly faces that's just toooo funny!...aiyo kids are just so lovable...makes me laugh laugh laugh everyday...even though many times they also make my blood boil!! haha

bbpink: dun murder me hor...

melissa: i love mac's apple pie. i intend to try flaky pastry the next time round... hehe

Today's Bake - Chocolate Chip Cookie (Subway's style)

2751194.jpg

2751195.jpg

2751196.jpg

adeL: yeah.. ION is nothing interesting. i like B4 the best. haha Food!!

but I muz agree that everything is mostly costly in there. food to fashion... perhaps you can get some good bargains there, but it's very little.
They sell food costing from $12 for a small bowl of noodles. $3 for a small pc of japanese mochi.

But i think their food tastes great.

wat a terrible thing to do see early in the morning, trapped in office and cannot go out to buy cookies :p

anyway, Pet, I have stopped baking..hehe, but u really have a lot of good bakes lately..

can post a pic of the oven when u r free ? can make so much stuff must be very useful

anyway, very upset with my nose.

I am not sure abt the other babies, but this kyzac always landed on my nose at night when lying on the bed, as in his head hit against my nose cos he used my face as a pillow, he just came down so suddenly with full force

yday nite was the worst, it was so painful tat i started to tear, tot my nose bridge is broken cos it was so painful

and this morning it still hurts, the longer eveer

Redtea/Melissa/AdelineL
reading funny episodes of ur babies is really very enjoyable =)

agree with adelineL, the babies i mean toddlers are really very adorable

the only time when they make me upset is when they put their hands into the mouth, esp my kelicia..very sianz esp when we r outside..

other than that, i am at peace with them :p

bbpink: hehe... tat was breakfast for today.
my electric oven very common type. cornell. i'll take pic ltr. i'm making swiss roll for my bil's ofc presentation today.

boys are always so forceful. haiz... did ur nose swell? ryan does it on my boobs. using his face to bang my chest. very hard n painful too.

Melissa
yea they very independent now. like kim will keep scolding kat for being naughty.. then turn to me tell me 'mommy i very guai..' fainted! ahhaha then keep telling me how notti mei mei is..
2 weeks ago, my friend asked a kiss from kimberly. after kim kissed her, kim tell my friend 'say thank you kimberly.. faster say'.. my friend almost fainted.. and down there laughing.. ask for kiss also must say thank you! hahaha... but thats just her.. now she do things for us, we must say thank you also if not she angry.

<font color="0000ff">How many of you are keen with a Children's Day Bash on Sunday, 27 September 2009 or dun mind taking leave on 1 October 2009 itself </font>

i have recently applied for internet banking and can be organiser cum treasurer =)

pls indicate ur names if keen.

Ck already has a banner to recycle, so we just need every parents to bring some toys

we can order some food or see whether u guys prefer potluck

AdelineK,
LOL I can't contain myself when I read about Kim forcing your friend to say thank you for a kiss!! How very, very cute of Kim!!!

Just wanna share with you and all, my friend just told me to be positive when interacting with kids, so quoting what AdelineK said, if Kim ever complain that mei mei is notti, dun agree with her. You can say, "no mei mei is guai too but you're are more guai i like it very much" and give her a kiss. I think positivity can go a long way! I have to practice this myself.

babypink,
yeah very excited to hear stories and tell stories about our growing babies! how's your nose now? better?

petrina.
when you make cookies, are you likely to do it manually, like the Home Econ style rubbing-in method or everything use appliances one? u make me wanna get down and dirty on a weekend!

oops, i will agree with kelicia and said kyac notti, u must tell him nono

the positive way sounds much better =)

thanks, melissa, my nose is still painful when i touch it ..

adeline: very cute! lol but also good. cause she noe muz say please &amp; thank you.

melissa: i m still using my home econs recipe book.. all tattered already. but it's my treasure. lol
so i m doing the rubbing-in method. i dun believe in machines other than creaming in method. (cause creaming in method with wooden spoon very very tiring...)
recently i also got lazy and i use electric whisk to do my egg whites. usually i use manual.

reena: i think i agree that the traditional method is best. i tried swiss roll with plain flour instead of sponge mix. it actually taste better. softer &amp; fluffier. dunno y...

Melissa
is it???
when kim say mei mei notti i always say ya mei mei very notti and kim very guai.. ops.. i did it wrongly??

now whatever kim do for us we hv to say thank you but she dote on mei mei also. like when mei mei knock on herself kim will sayang her, hug and kiss.

I haven't been baking cookies for the longest time as I'm not a cookie fan. I wish I took home econs during school days, think I'll be able to bake better if I had the early exposure.

Here's sharing my recent bakes.

I baked this yesterday, Matcha Chiffon Cake
2757023.jpg

And today, a steamed chocolate cake layered with fresh cream and sliced bananas
2757024.jpg

Pet,
Are you cookies the chewy type? If yes, can share recipe? I'm looking for chewy cookie recipes as my kids like Subway's but too ex for me to keep buying.

reena!
i love steamed chocolate cake!!!
yum yum yum!!!
i thought that after i stop working i have time to bake etc but till now, i have not done anything yet loL!

Kell,
here r some of the carrier for the Avita diffuser that you were asking.
2757999.jpg
2758000.jpg
2758001.jpg
2758002.jpg

My son loves to carry it whenever he sees it.

Wow! U mummies' baking n cooking is making me hungry!

Babypink,
hope your kids are recovering well. Plus, your nose!

Petrina,
I gave birth at age 33 and my eggs suppose to be half gone. Wow! Means my hubby sperm is very strong wor. I can get pregnant juz after first try. Hehehehehe!:p

Melissa,
can you PM me your email. May haf something that can help strengthen your womb if you are keen to know. I use it before I got pregnant as I haf weak constitution n was wori tt I wun get a smooth pregnancy.

Adeline Sia,
Kim is sooo cute. I should say she is getting prettier by day. I last saw her photo in facebook I think... the one wif a flower on her hair. Nice photos.

Positive discipline,
I hate it when my MIL n FIL said my son notti. I always tell my hubby to stop them from saying that. I nvr said my son notti or mischevious. Instead, I would always give him a hard stare n say sternly to let him know wat he does is not rite. yar... sometimes I will ignore him when he throw tantrums and it works!

Wanna check any mummies staying in AMK or Bishan area who is keen to take on swimming classes? My son is very active n I m thinking of activities to burn his calories. PM me if you are keen. tnx.

yt, what's the swimming class details?

I brought alex to yuguo tcm for tuina these few days and it is working on him. Mummies can try it out.

Reena, i wan the recipe for the 2 cakes!n the 2nd cake looks like it's from secret recipe n doesn't look like steamed cake. I'm impressed. Btw not true aft taking homec class will learn baking. U r looking at a borderline pass case here. =p

Clover,
dunno yet. Its not me organising. Only gather enough people of 4 then the class will start. You keen?

YuGuo,
I used to go also and its quite good for my son. However, as my son usually will sleep on the long journey there and the security guard will chase me away whenever I haf my engine on while waiting in carpark for him to wake up. I was so fed up and stop going.
Sorry not to scare you Clover. The ventilation is not good there. There is a tuina lady told me to avoid the place if its peak season as the germs n virus will spread easily.

hi mummies!!

long time never say hi!! just wanna pop by and say that the taka toy fair is fantastic!! on-going till 10th aug...

i second clover's opinion that yu guo is good...at least it worked on megan too!! hehe i think ventilation is not so good in any places where it's air conditioned...even at taka?? hahaha wa it's crowded but i like to think i got some pretty good buys

twinklestars, tks. i didnt know there's ongoing toy fair. any good deal there?

yuguo
since the tuina is at the basement, hence ventilation is not as good as on first floor or outdoors, but the times i have been there, i dun find the place stuffy. any clinic, letalone hospitals, will have germs and bacteria lor, but we can't not go coz we are sick n need treatment, right?

yt, a sudden thot that maybe the tuina lady wants less work so she asked u to avoid there. hahahaha..

clover,
The matcha chiffon cake recipe is already in my blog. For the steamed choc cake, let me some time to update.

YuGuo
I used to bring DD1 and DS2 there too, but it was before they moved to the new premise. Parking is a big headache and with other commitments, we stopped going too. But I must say the tuina is indeed beneficial.

Clover,
yar maybe hor. hehehehe...
I 偷 abit from them n everyday after shower, I will do on him. The massage works well for my son esp on the bladder meridian at his back n also the ying yang stroking on his chest when he is coming down wif a flu.

Mikael,
Avita is the brand of the product. Diffuser is the appartus for aromatherapy that use for putting the essential oil to diffuse the goodness of it into the air. You can see in the bags of the pic I taken.
It mainly has 4 functions.
1. Eliminate bacteria in the air. ( with test report )
2. Eliminate odour.
3. Disintegrate second hand smoke from cigarettes n cooking.
4. Therapuetic effects depending on the choice of essential oils you use. Eg. Eucalyptus can help in respiratory tract functions and ease of breathing. Alleviates symptoms of asthma, nasal sensitivity, bronchitis, flu, etc.

You can read more in the blogspot http://myavitaworld.blogspot.com/

clover,
Yes, she's wearing glasses, myopia

bbpink,
Thanks for your kind words. I like to get them involved in my cooking/baking so that next time they can help me. I also asked the 2 elder ones to help me to pluck ikan bilis head and body ;)

Reena

actually is very fun , good for bonding too
btw, anyone noe how to make flour dough for the kids to play..

kyzac still put things inside his mouth, so playdough is out

and yes, i wana share this..hehe, already trying to think of a day to go..

dun noe y after having 2 icecream cake for the last 1 week, i still not sick of ice cream

2778873.jpg

if keen, PM me, i will email u hehe

Homemade playdough
I just add water to flour, knead into a dough and let them play. Can add some food colourings if you want. After play, just discard, no fuss ;)