(2008/03) March 2008

There's finally the long weekend for FTWM. Yipee!

Anyone decided to put bbs in CC? I feel like sending Phoebe to a half day or flexi care but on the other hand, worried its too early to enrol at 18mths. Most ppl tell me if possible, put them in aft 2yo. Hm...

My gal is gg full day CC starting from next Wed. I appeal for her to start two weeks earlier before she turns 18mths. Feel abit heartpain that she got to start so young and not at home relax & play her toys.
But she needs to make way for my bro’s newborn popping out this Saturday, 08 Aug (very gd date lor…) and my mum will be busy looking after SIL & the newborn. But I believe it will be gd to start them young lah…

erny

30 sep =)

btw, one for one lunch treat fr 11am to 5pm at all swensen outlets on weekdays will end 31st aug

JB
was @ citysquare JB 2day, they have a malaysia swensen there called Season..also one for one on weekdays ! so worth, end up less than 25% of wat u pay at singapore swensen too bad we are already full from the yucky food we had at danga city mall ( a horrible mall which is huge but with only 30percent of shops occupany rate and only 1 stall at foodcourt in the whole mall that opens for bfast'

Citysquare is still the best

CC

kyzac will be going childcare in Jan =) i was still telling hb my mum will have a happy life fr jan 2010 to sep 2010 , cos no need to look after grandkids while we are working

JTS
another promo ending next fri

http://www.newaykb.com.my/main.php
imagine all these for a total of $10 bucks ( buffet, unlimited drinks, ordered meal, singing using sterilised microphones in a spacious room for a couple..hehe, can go on monday which is a public holiday in singapore, exchange rate is now $1 => RM2.41, location inside City Square which is linked all the way to custom

2784089.jpg

2784090.jpg

bbpink: yeah.. free till sept 2010. hmm, u r hoping to have a #3 somewhere ard sept-oct? hehe...
the more the merrier ya?

so nice to be preg again...

CK
waiting to see the responses leh =)

<font color="0000ff">the young Ks wishes all a Happy National day
hope all have a happy day today</font>

2787815.jpg
2787816.jpg

Long time din post liao.

Andrae will be going CC in sep. Same sch as FL.. heehee...not confirm if full day or half day yet.

Kaa
i beg to differ. I think starting early is gd for social and independent skills. I see difference when startign the kids early and ltr in sch. In fact the earlier u start the less separation anxiety they hv. When they knw hwo to throw tantrum and talk that's where they know how to defend themselves. My older gal start CC at 17.5mth

i have a qn.

Why do kids have to go cc if there are caregivers at home? i tot cc is for kids with no available caregivers. whereas playgroups (daily or 3x a wk) are for socializing &amp; learning...

afterall, they will enter nursery &amp; kindergarden at their appropriate ages?

correct me if i m wrong...

pet
i choose cc cos there is no good playgroup ard my place. Also timing for playgroup is too short. They need to be occupied as they feel bored at home.

my dd was at cc cos intially at my workplace there is a cc and i wan her to be close to me. After that when i got preg i move her to somewhere near my home instead. I continue cc as do not wan my helper to b lookign after 2 kids since tehre is no other helper at home .also my ger enjoys playing n socialising thus cc suits her better. She gets bored at home.duno what to do... i am away from work and my maid duno how to teach her, can only read to her and play with her in eng. What's more maid nd to hv time to do houswork as well.

For my son, same thing, he needs to be occupied. Cannot tahan staying at home whole day.He'll get cranky. Thus am going to put him with his sister at same cc. Might jus put him for halfday prog where he will go home at abt 1pm. Also longer hours at childcare for him to socialise n oso to occupy his time.

Childcare offers nursery and kindergarten too. In fact they started their teaching at as yougn as 18 mth usu starting with learnign thru play, songs, art and phonics. My dd is in nursery class in her childcare.

Good Morning all!

Thanks ABC! Then I think most prolly I will put Phoebe in AM sessions. Now I am trying to decide btw Just Kids and Carpe Diem both in Bt Batok. The Carpe Diem there doesnt look too fanastic, but at least their timetable looks interesting enough to engage the tots...

Actually, what is play group? Pre-nursery or really just go there and play for 2 hrs? But I chk w the above cc and the classes for 18mths are called playgroup. Very luan leh.

Kaa
I heard gd feedback on just kids. Most impt which is convenient for u.

There are playgroup, nursery and kindergarten in all childcare.
playgroup means 18 mth to 2 years (some sch extend to 3 years)
Nursery is 3-4 years
kindergarten 1 is 5-6 years
kindgerten 2 is 6 years to 7 years

Some people refer to playgroup as 2-3 hour kind of prog eg church schools or PAP schools... i think they are usu referred to as pre-schools bah...

Kaa
try innate montesori. It is at the cannossian kindergarten there. 64687449 it is montesori childcare at very reasonable fees.. but need to hv transport. It is located at jalan jurong kechil opp the international sch (forgot the name) Just go and take a look...

ABC: Thanks! Was worried for a while as there's not much feedback anywhere for Just Kids.

http://innatemontessori.com/about.htm This is good. There have swimming lessons too!
I also found Cherie Hearts in Jln Jurong Kechil. But really need to have a car to go up there. That road will have traffic jam - towards Clementi starting from 7.30am.

Just Kids bt batok having open hse this sat. I am gng to kpo more.

I Have A pair of KEANE Perfect Symmetry tour Concert Tickets!!!!

DATE : Thurs, AUG 13 2009
Time : 2000H
Venue: Fort Canning Park

Retail Price for 1 ticket :$95 / --$103.65 (Inc GST)

SELLING at $150 for both tickets. Price Neg. Interested pls sms 98414683 or e-mail [email protected]

happygal29
wow , he is good ! =) my kelicia will never be able to draw like that alto she is also 3

adelineL
kids r fun , esp when there is a sibling to play with ..feel very happy and contented when i see them having fun

jeangal
hehe, just do it :p

thx bbpink. no lah, my boy older. i rem u told me ur gal sept 06 child? mine dec 05 leh. but am really glad to c him draw tis tiger.

wow, can c ur kids enjoying. my kids recently always fighting wor. gorgor dun share toy or see his meimei take, oso wanna take. faintz! smetimes really scold till feeling our blood pressure shot up. duno izzit becos he nt feeling well, hence very sai nai...

Not sure if u have heard of this from any of your friends. My close friend was advised to put her child under Tamiflu even though he just had a flu which was made worse by his bronchitis problem. The side effects mentioned were nausea and vomitting. However, after he took the course, he suffered from depression and behavioural problems. My fren had a huge heartache and hard time. when she checked with her PD, her PD admitted that in severe cases, kids undergo these symptoms.I guess if she was informed earlier, she wouldn't have taken the course as he doesn't have H1N1. He's getting better now but his behavioural issues are still there. So scary...Just to share. Better to keep the kids away from any flu bug.

happygal29
hopefully she can draw well next year hehe,now all her colouring r a big mess, colour until outside the picture and still happily announced, " i coloured outside"

it is common..siblings who dun fight r rare ..hehe, mine also

Yasmine
yes, i heard ! i m so glad both happygal29 and myself din let our kids take tamiflu (kkh precribed to both my kids)

really scary after reading all the newspapers report, got a teenager in singapore who wanted to jump down after taking Tamiflu

oh my. scary rite! my heart ache just listening to my fren. he's 3 yrs plus. Very cheerful and mischevious boy. now, it seems he just sits in a corner and cries saying, nobody loves him, dun wanna play with his cousin, dun wanna eat, drink or listen to his mum. His mum is the stricter one so he says that he doesn't want her, only want daddy. WHen he hit his granny and she got blood from her teeth, he refused to let anyone wipe it away! Threw the tissue boxes down and screamed that he wants to see the blood flow! scary!

My fren is just tearing everyday seeing her only child like this. *haiz*

Tamiflu
i was asked to take tamiflu when i had masitis 2 weeks ago. It is in tablet form. Cannot rmb if i got depression.. din knw this side effect tho... 10 tablet already $45 liao...

Happygal
oh my gal is March 05... our kids abt the same age ya...

babypink
cannot say jus do it la. child come with time, money. I wan to spend a lot of time with kids..i only hv maid to help me look after the kids... she nd to juggle with housework and children... if i ever hv #3... i will definitely take no pay leave for the first 2 years of his/her life....now i already find it hard to cope with career and kids..

My boy has become a fussy eater. Things he loves to eat now just get spat out the moment it goes in. When that happens, I tell him meal is over and ask him to leave. If he cries terribly, I'll carry him away and put him somewhere while I clear the plates. About 1 hr later, I'll try the same thing or give him something else.

What troubles me now is that, when he does the spitting thingy, my mum, dad, mil, mum's sister all start panicking and noisy asking him to eat the bloody damn thing that he's spitting out! And if I stop his meal, I'm looked at as if I'm starving my child. "Oh, he's crying so badly, lemme try lemme try, Poor child, starving, My darling, you're starving and I can't do anything, etc etc etc". The senseless comments go on.

The same thing happened in my house a while ago and it was a very noisy affair, with me telling my mum to give up and she forcing the rice back in zayed's mouth and zayed screaming away....This is just the tip of the iceberg.

I understand tantrums are gonna get worse, I know this is a phase. It is already quite challenging. When ppl come in to undo things that I'm trying to instill, act as the good cop while I'm the bad cop, it drives me crazy. I'm slipping into depression and I can feel it. I can't ignore the comments. I'm trying to handle them as well as trying to do the best for my child amidst his whining and screaming. NOt to forget housework, cooking, etc. I've reached my limits long ago with this commenting.

Now, I just feel like vomitting. After the episode just now, my head hurts and I feel like vomitting. My heart is beating damn fast and I feel like calling my mum and give her a senseless lashing. I know she and my dad thinks that my zayed is the victim of my temper and I', stupid to treat a child like that. But I see him more than them! Wouldn't I know better?

Sorry for the long post, I just needed to vent out my feelings. I hope you ladies understand as your kids are the same age as mine. Anyone in my shoes?

yasmin: calm down.. hugz! i went through this phase of urs too. the gd cop/bad cop thingy.
sometimes when i get too frustrated wif ppl fussing over ryan, i tend to flare at ryan also.

ryan is also fussy at table. so we do not restrict his diet anymore. i let him eat anything he wants. i dun bother what others say abt it being unhealthy or other rubbish.
to me, it's either he eats whatever he wants, or he starve.
so sometimes u juz need to get them off ur back and tell them that u noe best.
things u dun wan zayed to do, dun let them allow it.

tamiflu
i wasn't given any even though i had flu &amp; fever. cause my GP say unless he believes i have a chance of getting it, he will not anyhow prescribe it.
and he was quite against ppl taking it as a precaution.

pet
i do try to tell them nicely not to allow behaviour that I told him not to. But nobody listens. My words are not respected. wat to do. foodwise, Zayed likes the Nestle cereals, bread, biscuits, fruits and a lot of other stuff. BUT my mum's place and MIL's place feel that a meal is only rice, curry, vege, ie. similar to our staple. If not, it's not filling. My mum has this weird tendency of biscuits and milk in the afternoon. NO matter how many times I tell her to cut dwn on the amount of biscuits and substitute wit fruits or comething else he likes, she doesn't listen.

Yasmin, I aso face similar probs as u. There was once I had a fierce quarrel w my dad. I refuse to talk to him for a few days. Now I aso take it easier. I aso let him eat whatever he likes to eat like wat Petrina does. No choice since he's so picky. The strange thg is now he's back to "normal". Eatg his own food. Dun give up...

Oh forget to add. My parents like to buy him biskuits too. I did somethg v bad. I threw them away tellg them all these r junk food. So now they stop buyg him &amp; he stopped eatg all these biskuits. Nt sure if its due to the biskuits tt he has no room for his food. Eversince we stop his biskuits he obediently eat his porridge.

yasmine, pet, jeangal
As a second time mum, i definitely faces all these even now. But with my #1 is much worse.. first grandchild and i am staying with them. WHat i do is when i discipline my kid, first time i will do it outside. same like u when they dun eat i will throw the meal away n no more food until next meal. Whether talking abt eating or behavioural prob they r sure to throw tantrum and cry. Now wat i do is i will carry him and put him on the bumper mat for him to cry out loud. He can cry for 5 min but i dun care. Not really dun care but ignore him. With my first child, my in laws will interfere. When they interfere, i will carry her into the room and close the room door so that they hv no chance to interfere. Even if they come knocking, i will ignore. They can say whatever they wan after tat i jus keep quiet. Always rmb one thing, he is yr child. Not theirs.. how u wan to groom a child is up to u. Not them...Last time even when they cry in middle of night mil will come to my room to grab her from me... after tat i will get pissed off and jus shoo her to slp... when bb cry or unwell i wan to be the first person to b there for them... not my in laws. i knw she mean well but i am bfing, what can she do? hahaha...

Anyway for andrae he is starting to throw his tantrum. So i jus put him on the bumper mat and let him cry out loud. I will only bother abt him when he stop crying. now everyone in the family knw they r not to interfere. If my mil try to "disturb" him i will tell her nicely nt to touch or disturb him.. if she dun listen i will then carry him into the room and close the door. So far it doesnt happen yet...

regarding pickiness, i feel it could be teething. Sometimes when they teething they dun feel like eating. My son dun like porridge thus now we gv him rice. He eat several meals a day.. even more than his jie jie.. but if he going thru teething he wun eat.. i dun force him to if he dun wan to eat...

Thanks ladies.

I'm still sore. maybe tomorrow will be a better day. going to surf the net for recipes on what else i can do for him since he likes mashed potato and pizza stuff (my boy has gone from indian to italian..kekeke...)

ABC
Must hv been realy stressful esp when u r under the same roof. you are really strong. I will remember that he's mine. and even if ppl pressure me, I'll try to do what's best for him. thanks

Morning! Have been away for some time coz was overseas for work. Anyway here's some info on Tamiflu that it is not recommended for children
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/health/swine-flu/6004313/Children-should-not-be-given-Tamiflu-Oxford-researchers.html
I guess whether or not the GPs prescribe Tamiflu to kids would depend largely on the condition of the child and whether they are likely to get more complications if they do not take Tamiflu.

Meals
James is still eating the same food, blended coarse. He's walking on his own now and hopefully burning up the food faster. He can get naughty during mealtimes but we bribe him with potato chips, chocolate biscuits and kit kat. It's terrible but no choice lah... And he likes to play with water so sometimes we will let him stand on a chair at the sink and let him play with plastic bowls, spoons etc and feed him at the same time.

I am the "bad cop" in the house. Usually it happens when it's bedtime and he's still running around the room refusing to lie down.

jeangal: yes.. biscuits r very filling for kids this age. ryan takes 2pcs each morning. for breakfast. homemade.
lunch/dinner, no snacks. he can pick from our dinner table range or have his baby food range.

yasmin: try to bring zayed's favs to ur mom/mil hse. so if they try to intervene, u can bring zayed to ur room or ur hb's room to feed him his favourites.
oh ya, i always say to them, "good! skinny better than fat..." otherwise nxt time need to go tough club. lagi jialat. lighter easier to carry.
this usually shuts them up for a while.

cause ryan also hasn't grown any much since 12mths... height increases but weight drops. i tell them it's normal to be skinnier now compared to baby time. isn't this how we all grow up?

Good Morning ladies!

Yasmin, don't be bogged down by all the comments. You do what you deem right and its usually right.

Once I had a bout w my mum cos she alys say "My friend told me this this this" until and I so fed up I told her She is my baby,not yours nor your friend, so just do as I said. Its like she don't trust me.

Now is the time when we are trying to discipline and the grannies are trying to say, Don't lah, still a baby and sayang them. Faint. I have a hard time. If I let Phoebe cry it out, my mum will ask me why I don't bother abt my baby. If I scold her, she says, you don't love babies, don't have #2. Very sickening. Now my girl sticks to her like glue, she can't even visit the toilet. This will teach her a lesson in the way she teach Phoebe. And this is why I am looking for CCC.

I want her to learn to be independant and undo what my mum does/teach her.

hahah. kaa, very appropriate.. teach ur mom a lesson by putting phoebe in a cc.

i used to think like u... in the end, mil gave in. so now we ok liao. cause there cannot be contradicting disciplinarians at home. child will get blur &amp; tend to stick to the gd cop. i'm glad i did not have to actually put ryan in cc.

my in laws are also much better now that Andrae is my #2.

Pet
i think i will still put andrae in a sch at 18 mth cos i wan him to socialise n be independnt. Prob a halfday to b away from home. This is the time they r learning the fastest...Also he is sticky to me like glue... yes like wat kaa says, i cannot even go toilet... but funny thing is i am working and maid is teh one who take care of him most of the time i am away. hahaa

now Phoebe thinks that she can have the whole world. so I have to put her in CC to get her perspective right.

my mum gives her anything. everything is to her way. watch TV - my dad cannot even watch news in the living room. refuses to sit in stroller - my mum said nevermind lah, carry. this is why she sticks to granny like glue. all other people tell her "no", my mum says "ok lah"

if this continues, she will have probs socialising in sch.