(2008/03) March 2008

jerejoy

weekly bb gathering?
i think my hb will be the 1st to collapse :p

his threshold is once a month :p

just checking on the xmas party...
turnout quite few so far... is the date the problem? want to change the day? more mommies n babies come join us lah! =)

babypink
we used to have weekly gatherings in the first few months after we gave birth remember? =)
think now only the SAHMs can afford luxury to have weekly meetings!

clover
There's a book on infant potty training, its called Diaper Free. But I don't have the opportunity to follow it fully (coz my MIL is super unsupportive of everything I try to teach my boy, grumble grumble)
Wat i do is put my boy over a potty at the regular times when he's going to shit, and over the sink to pee. So far it works, and hopefully as he grows older he will do it on his own!

pancake, that weekend not gd for me so can't join u gals. tks for the tip. will go find the book.
oh, think almost every mil is unsupportive of the dil's methods coz they think their own method is better. hiak hiak....

lee hong, ha... I seldom go to hv area!

babypink
only next weekend left! 20th/21st.
Either is ok, but need to clear my place early on 21st- like twinklestars, I also have wedding dinner that night on 21st!
i'll be leaving the following weekend on 27th am already! =O

potty training
i wish my boy will not be potty trained so early. My gal potty trained herself at age of 2. Very troublesome when go out. Every now n then hv to bring her to toilet. As a first time mom last time i wanted to start her early too. Bought training pants, bumwear etc... but then everytime i wan do it it failed. Decided to let nature takes it course. I guess it is easier if they can talk or at least signal... Anyway by 2 yr 3 mth (before andrae was born) Arielene was toilet trained even for the night... For andrae, i will still leave it for nature... even if i were to teach will wait till he can signal to me he needs to go toilet if not go out very troublesome. Nd to bring extra shorts or clothes... imagine in the MRT or bus halfway the nd to ease themselves? Sigh... cannot imagine!

Going out
i have been bringing andrae and arielene out almost everyday! Today we went sentosa for sand and water play. Andrae enjoys walking on the sand. He was amused with the sand that flow out from his hand when he hold them. Watch parrot show, animal shows and see a few peacocks before heading to Palawan beach for water and sand play... Bath them at nearby public toilet.

Last week we went zoo. Children's world... Anyway i am frequent visitor for zoo, sentosa and gotten their membership. Anyone going those places remember to ask me.. :)

Oh i also bring the kids to those barney shows or sesame street shows at those shoppign centres where the character would sing and dance... AMK hub has loony tunes, Plaza Sing has barney, Causeway point has Mr Men etc... Andrae loves them a lot...

Babypink,
The pool is at Regent Heights in Bt Batok.

These days v windy. I think cannot go swimming. We could arrange one Bt Batok swimming weekend in Jan or when its not so rainy and windy.

Clover,
Me and my mum also Poo Potty Train Phoebe from the start. The reason my mum gave was:
1. Save on Pampers (Damn Expensive)
2. She's a girl so must keep her poo poo off her bottom to minimise any germs
3. Make her Poo Poo time a regular one

But sometimes poo poo time also go havoc lah. Now at 9 mths, she dun wanna sit on her potty. I got a Piyo Piyo one, and a normal bucket types (abt $2.50 from Provision Shop. And tot I can get it at $1 LOL). Easier to put her on the $2.50 potty.

Agree have to wait till they know how to tell mummy before can Wee wee train.

bbpink
has Kelicia started to go to her playgroup regularly?? the teachers are v. good at training kids to go potty
save us some trouble haha

i never really took much effort to train chelsea too...just bought a potty to put over toilet bowl and since she saw me pee often, sometimes she wanted to copy too....and then when she started going to CC, right bfor she turned 2, the teachers reinforced it

i think saving on diaper money is the one big advantage of early potty training...it definitely doesn't save time..going to the bathroom, waiting for Chelsea to finish her business and then cleaning her and potty (esp the sit down type - we have both) is much more time consuming than changing diapers

i make Chelsea put on diapers when we go out, don't want to have to hunt for public toilets, some more these toilets tend to be pretty dirty :p

i was told babies who use cloth diapers are easier to toilet train cos cloth diaper requires so much more work... i hope to toilet train Isaac soon too...

bbpink,

haha! my hubby too. I think I'm referring more to the SAHMs to meet weekly. I went for the Dec motherhood gathering and the SAHMs are meeting weekly. It's nice for the kids to mix ard and also the SAHMs can breathe a bit of the fresh air instead of facing alone with the kid and 4 walls. haha!

Jerejoy
That's very true.. Sometimes I also hope that I can have more time to bring my kids for playdates. I can't help but feel that he's like some mountain tortoise sometimes.. Haha~ I would raise both hands if someone could kindly 'sponsor' a place for the playdates.. =)))

Saw 2 teeth popping out from the upper gums of Rhys. There's a big gap in between the teeth. But it doesn't seem like there's enough space for another to pop out. I'm afraid that he'll have big ugly teeth in the future. =(

AdelineL
Kelicia started on 1 Dec
me wondering too..so far teacher din potty train leh..they are changing her diapers 2 times a day :p

PS: she is still crying every morning since theteacher asks me not to come fr 4 dec..they only allow parent to stay in 3 days

this morning, i ask her to say goodbye..she happily say goodbye to the teachers..the teacher corrects her and said it is bye bye to ur mummy..her face changed from a smiling one to a crying one in a split sec :p

happygal
bro & sis look so alike

jerejoy
oic
i would love to do tat if i am SAHM too, gathering with mummies & babies r fun

isabella
dun worry, this 1st set of baby teeth will fall fast in a few years and new ones will take over. With his good looking gors gors, i m sure Rhys will also be good looking too with nice teeth

Confirmed XMAS Babies' Cheer join leh, the more the merrier

Date : 21 December 2008 (Sunday)
Time : 1pm -3pm ( Lunch Gathering)
Venue: Pancake's place @ Faber Drive, Clementi

Attendees ?
1. Pancake & bb
2. Bbpink & bb - Xmasy Noodles
3. jerejoy,hb & bb - Nonya kuehs
4. FL,hb & bb – topshells & sparkling juice.
5. Ade n family (if hubby not working then i attend)

Yoo.. cannot attend the xmas party leh... got a bday party to attend.. unless the party ends late.. i can swing by after the party (ends at ard 2pm)

I recall seeing something about Shichida Method here. Anyone is on their course now?

I am considering this class. But the centres are far away from my home. Bt Batok to either Toa Payoh or Tanjong Pagar.
Total fees for a term of 12 weekly lessons are about 1.3k (Some refundable component inside). To add in transport exp, think total will cost me 1.5k.

Another centre is called Little Neuro Tree. I'm attending their preview at Jurong East tomorrow at 10am.

My mum commented that my gal is so poor thing, so young need to attend lessons liao. :p I'm tryiing to drain her energy in a way cos I'm so tried sometimes.

Liyun

just saw mouse in a box..super cute

<font color="0000ff">how abt 20/12/2008 for xmas gathering ? can more people make it ?</font>

Date : 20 December 2008 (Saturday)

Attendees ?
1. Pancake &amp; bb
2. Bbpink &amp; bb - Xmasy Noodles
3. jerejoy,hb &amp; bb - Nonya kuehs
4. FL,hb &amp; bb – topshells &amp; sparkling juice.

Hi bbpink,
I am gg to attend the May'08 bb xmas on 20 Dec as I happen to know the organizer, a personal fren. Hence, will not be able to attend Mar'08 one if it falls on 20 Dec.

how abt 20/12/2008 for xmas gathering ? can more people make it ?

Attendees ?
1. Pancake &amp; bb
4. FL,hb &amp; bb – topshells &amp; sparkling juice. (Can't make it if it's 20 Dec. Tks)

bbpink
Haha~ Thanks for the compliments.. But what worries me is that they might inherit their father's gum problems.. My hubby's teeth is really terrible to look at~ I dun wish my boys will be like him, but have no idea how to prevent.. Sad~

1974529.jpg

<font color="0000ff"><font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma">This is one of the pic I edit using picnik.com.
Baby Rhys was being placed on an make-shift stool because he kept chasing &amp; pulling my cousin's Shih Tzuh's tail. Supposed to be his 'naughty corner', but you see how happy he look sitting there.. He finds it fun~ </font></font>

bbpink
has Kelicia started to go to her playgroup regularly?? the teachers are v. good at training kids to go potty
save us some trouble haha

i never really took much effort to train chelsea too...just bought a potty to put over toilet bowl and since she saw me pee often, sometimes she wanted to copy too....and then when she started going to CC, right bfor she turned 2, the teachers reinforced it

i think saving on diaper money is the one big advantage of early potty training...it definitely doesn't save time..going to the bathroom, waiting for Chelsea to finish her business and then cleaning her and potty (esp the sit down type - we have both) is much more time consuming than changing diapers

i make Chelsea put on diapers when we go out, don't want to have to hunt for public toilets, some more these toilets tend to be pretty dirty :p

isabellai
take your kids to a kids dentist lah...these days dentists can fix any teeth problems, esp if you start young...might have to wear braces but they have invisible looking ones so not as obvious as the metal type....my hubby's family also has bad teeth but they had braces as kids and now their teeth super straight

AdelineL
If it's just normal problems like straightening teeth, I know we can bring him to the dentist. But then my hubby has got some kind of gum problems. His gums are quite dark in colour, not like those normal pinkish and his teeth are crooked. I ask my MIL why his teeth like that, she say maybe heridity, cos my fil's teeth also like that in his younger days. That's why I scared lorx.. I think gums problems are more troublesome than teeth problem..

Attendees ?
1. Pancake &amp; bb
4. FL,hb &amp; bb – topshells &amp; sparkling juice. (<font color="ff0000">Can't make it if it's 20 Dec. Tks</font>)
6. Liyun n bb ( will try IF its on 21st Dec, <font color="ff0000">20th Dec confirm cannot</font>)

isablellali
crooked teeth sure can fix. as for dark gums must talk to dentist or research online...i think as long as teeth are straight and bright will still look nice

<font color="0000ff">okay, look like we will stick to 21 december
no change in date</font>

Date : 21 December 2008 (Sunday)

Attendees ?
1. Pancake &amp; bb
4. FL,hb &amp; bb – topshells &amp; sparkling juice.
6. Liyun n bb ( will try IF its on 21st Dec)

connie, this photo of isaac reminds me of ivy's aidan. the hair n eye...

alex has beeen refusing to nap these few days n I abt to throw him out then I discovered that he is teething again. haiz.

isabellali, misa,

me too. Feel that my boy is like a mountain tortoise. So hope to get him to mix ard with more kids. Prob will get him to attend some courses. Hv registered him for Shichida course n tot of gg for gymboree as well. Not to stress him but hope he will be more exposed n also to drain his energy. haha!

bbpink,

During his bad times, staying at home will drive me crazy. keke!

teething

My boy always cries when he is abt to wake up. Is it due to teething? It is so frequently esp during the morning time.

isabellali
I suppose it's ok to bbq since it's just the marination recipe. Most impt is, you need to like the taste. For me, don't quite like it as I find it too sweet (I don't have sweet tooth). I prefer another recipe (using chilli sauce and ketchup), but also grilled, not bbq.

Kathy,
Hope your bb is better now. Just to share my experience, my ds2 has diaper rash too (we cloth diapered him too) and he tried many brands. Nothing works until I got hold of Desitin (I prefer the Creamy version as it's easier to spread). My son has very sensitive skin so I need to apply desitin after every diaper change (I don't do that for dd1).

Potty train
I didn't train my 2 elder ones, just let nature take it's course.

HappyGal29
Both your kids really look alike.

Liyun
That's a cute mouse in a box.

Sahms gathering
I'm interested in this gathering. I seriously think we sahms need some <strike>human</strike> adult touch.

<font color="ff6000">BB girls ears piercing
Anyone brought their bb girl to have their ears pierced? I just brought mine today. She cried so loudly that all the staff and customers stopped to look.</font>

Clover,

It's the Dec motherhood gathering. I attended it cos my cousin recommended one of her frd to me who happens to be the Dec mother n she asked me to join their Sahms gathering. I find it pretty interesting to hv gathering every week. Gd for both the mummy &amp; child. Agree with Reena, need adult touch. =)

Sorry folks, can't make it next week as DH's travelling tomorrow and won't be back till Friday night. I'll join in next outing ;)