(2008/03) March 2008

<font color="0000ff">fr my colleague, good laugh to end a friday..i just copy &amp; paste the whole thing cos it is quite long ..so boh bian for the lettering </font>

Subject
Fw: Confession of a Boss - Why I fired my Secretary.

I WENT
DOWNSTAIRS FOR BREAKFAST HOPING MY WIFE WOULD BE PLEASANT AND  SAY,

'HAPPY BIRTHDAY!', AND POSSIBLY HAVE A PRESENT FOR ME.

AS IT TURNED
OUT, SHE BARELY SAID GOOD MORNING, LET ALONE 'HAPPY BIRTHDAY.'

I
THOUGHT... WELL, THAT'S MARRIAGE FOR YOU, BUT THE KIDS WILL  REMEMBER.

MY KIDS CAME INTO BREAKFAST AND DIDN'T SAY A WORD.

SO WHEN I LEFT
FOR THE OFFICE,I WAS FEELING PRETTY LOW AND
SOMEWHAT
DESPONDENT.

AS I WALKED INTO MY OFFICE, MY SECRETARY JANE
SAID, 'GOOD MORNING,  BOSS,
HAPPY BIRTHDAY!'

IT FELT A
LITTLE BETTER THAT AT LEAST SOMEONE HAD REMEMBERED.

I WORKED UNTIL ONE
O'CLOCK AND THEN JANE KNOCKED ON MY DOOR AND SAID,
'YOU KNOW, IT'S SUCH A
BEAUTIFUL DAY OUTSIDE, AND IT'S YOUR BIRTHDAY,
LET'S GO OUT TO LUNCH, JUST
YOU AND ME.'

I SAID, 'THANKS JANE, THAT'S THE GREATEST THING I'VE HEARD
ALL DAY.  LET'S
GO!'

WE WENT TO LUNCH. BUT WE DIDN'T GO
WHERE WE NORMALLY WOULD GO.

WE DINED INSTEAD AT A LITTLE PLACE WITH
A PRIVATE TABLE.

WE HAD TWO MARTINIS EACH AND I ENJOYED THE MEAL
TREMENDOUSLY.

ON THE WAY BACK TO THE OFFICE, JANE SAID, 'YOU KNOW,
IT'S SUCH A  BEAUTIFUL
DAY... WE DON'T NEED TO GO BACK TO THE
OFFICE, DO WE?'

I RESPONDED, 'I GUESS NOT. WHAT DO YOU HAVE IN MIND?'
SHE SAID,  'LET'S GO
TO MY APARTMENT.'

AFTER ARRIVING AT HER
APARTMENT JANE TURNED TO ME AND SAID, 'BOSS, IF  YOU
DON'T MIND,
I'M GOING TO STEP INTO THE BEDROOM FOR A MOMENT.  I'LL BE
RIGHT
BACK.'

'OK.' I NERVOUSLY REPLIED.

SHE WENT INTO THE
BEDROOM AND, AFTER A COUPLE OF MINUTES, SHE CAME  OUT
CARRYING A
HUGE BIRTHDAY CAKE... FOLLOWED BY MY WIFE, KIDS, AND  DOZENS OF
MY
FRIENDS AND CO-WORKERS, ALL SINGING 'HAPPY BIRTHDAY'.

AND I JUST SAT
THERE...

ON THE
COUCH...

NAKED.

misa..yeah
i m such a worrywart :p

isabella : if having boys, no such worries ;)

<font color="0000ff">Shall we have a November outing ?
i m clearing my annual leave

Proposed date : Friday, 28 November
Venue : Novena Square
Time : 2.30pm => Dim Sum Buffet ( $10.20)
very worth rite

who are keen

very worth rite

1. abcdisney (and maybe no kids if it is buffet. hahaha)

very worth rite

2. Dreamlife - last day of freedom!

very worth rite

3. jerejoy n bb

Any mummies enrolled yr child to Shichida? I just enrolled my boy for the shichida course but still waiting for slots for nx yr jan. Will be gg to the Shichida seminar "The Concept behind the First Shichida Kindergarten in Singapore" tmr at 2pm.

hi, i thot of taking half day to join u al for e dim sum buffet since i am working near there, juz 2 bus stop away frm novena square, but abit shy since we nv meet b4, hehe...

Happygal
no nd shy la.. jus join la...

Shicida
i heard for reg fee alone u nd to pay $300plus. My gf has been on waiting list for more than 4 mth liao. Paid the reg fees but till now no slots. When she called the customer service ppl, she say that they were rather rude to her... She feel cheated lor...

Time : 2.30pm => Dim Sum Buffet @ Lao Bei Jing ( $10.20)
very worth rite

3. jerejoy n bb
4. pancake n bb (long time no see! can't wait!) =)

Upon request i have ppl asking me to organise happybellies

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_gw?url=search-alias%3Daps&amp;field-keywords=happybellies

Price is now USD$25.11. Exchange rate is 1.60
Thus <font color="0000ff">item cost before shipping is SGD$6.70</font>

Please indicate which flavour u r interested in. This would probably be the last time i doing happybellies spree.

Please transfer to standard chartered bank 2229940516 (woodlands)

<font color="ff0000">Will be closing spree this friday 28 Nov 08</font>

Note: one box has 6 tins thus try to order in multiples of 6...

happybellies brown rice
1 Ling yee

Happybellies Oatmeal
1 Ling yee

Happybellies Multigrain
1 Ling yee

LIng Yee..
Where is the Zhou's kitchen? Do you mind gv me direction? I'd like to go and try? any specific timing of the day?

FL,

I don't think so. I enrolled my boy to the course and therefore I'm able to go for the seminar. Was hoping to see some of u there and hope our kids can be classmates. =)

Lingyee,

Hope u can enroll soon then our kids can be classmates. =) I am still waiting for them to call me to get slots in Jan but they told me chances are v slim and I might hv to wait for the April class. I was thinking to enroll him in other activities. Any recommendations?

Happygal,

Come join us. I also hv not met with any mummies b4. (",)

JTS: there is a grandparent's walk carnival @ singapore flyer on 23 NOV SUNDAY @ 8am-1pm.
dunno wat time the carnival will close.
but there r some nice booths there.

brown rice shop
healthy times
UNISOY, organic soya milk
POSB
etc...

1910233.jpg

Tks Jerejoy for the info!

I duno anything abt Shichida but I went for the iGenius seminar and was pretty impression with their presentation and sharing. Personally I believe there must be something good about them as they’ve been featured in CH 8 special report twice.

Except that their sales ppl there very inexperience, dun even know what their workbook is about. Maybe they are last min. hired ones during the seminar last mth I think.

Anyway, to me… it make more sense to send them to any courses only after when they reach 2 yrs old, unless you have that many spare cash to spend. ;p

Shicida
My ex-collg's kids are with them. They were featured on TV a few weeks ago, her eldest girl is one of the brightest kid there. Accordingly to this ex-collg, it really helps with her right brain.

<font color="0000ff">Tandem nursing,
For those planning to tandem nurse, be warned that nursing during pregnancy hurts. It's not just painful, it's <font size="+1">VERY PAINFUL</font> A few of my gfs wanted to tandem nurse but all gave up in the 1st trimester.</font>

bbpink,
I can't view your contribution to the article.

I ever heard somebody says… it’s better to have kids to start with Chinese first before English. Bcos Chinese activates Right Brain whereas English is Left Brain. And the more a kid use English, he/she will has difficulty in Maths &amp; Science.

Do you mummies agree? I do have a classmate who scored A for English but failed rest of his subjects…

FL,

u r most welcome! =) I started my boy with GD flashcards and find that my boy enjoys it v much and therefore decided to enroll him to Shichida since the concept is more or less the same.

fairies,

welcome to the Mar forum! =)

abc,

where is the location?

jerejoy
i think they hv it at severeal locations. U may wish to call and enquire..

I prob sign her up for MPM math when she's older too. It focus not so much on school based mathematica but more of IQ mathematics which are the common kind of questions in the PSLE papers now...

ABC
Went to the link you gave and took a look. Seems quite good... And the also have a branch somewhere near AMK centre... Prob will sign my DS #1 there.... How much is the course btw????

abc, guess no response for the happybellies. Shall cancel my orders then. Thanks!

From ABC 's post
Upon request i have ppl asking me to organise happybellies

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_gw?url=search-alias%3Daps&amp;field-keywords=happybellies

Price is now USD$25.11. Exchange rate is 1.60
Thus item cost before shipping is SGD$6.70

Please indicate which flavour u r interested in. This would probably be the last time i doing happybellies spree.

Please transfer to standard chartered bank 2229940516 (woodlands)

Will be closing spree this friday 28 Nov 08

Note: one box has 6 tins thus try to order in multiples of 6...

happybellies brown rice

Happybellies Oatmeal

Happybellies Multigrain

Time : 2.30pm => Dim Sum Buffet @ Lao Bei Jing ( $10.20)
very worth rite

3. jerejoy n bb
4. pancake n bb (long time no see! can't wait!) =)
5. clover n bb (dreamlife, the cream how??)

Went to the Shichida seminar and am v impressed with their teaching method. The school fees per month for their kindergarten is $800. Is it considered expensive or reasonable? I hv yet to check the rest of the schools.

jerejoy
definitely ex. My gals childcare is only $330 and $630 without subsidy...

Would shicida kindergarten allow them to blend into pri sch education?

abc,

wow! that's expensive leh.. The principal said there's a prestige school trying to link up with Shichida and using their method to teach in their pri school but she didn't disclose the school name. She said it's gg to aid them a lot when they go to pri, sec n even Uni. I'm pretty impressed by them cos they showed quite a few cases. Hmm, but it's quite x... Anyway, still hv time to decide. I'm gg to try out their shichida method first b4 commiting to their kindergarten.

jerejoy
it is their company of cos they say no prob. Same thing montesori sch oso say their method will allow them to blend into pri, sec or even higher education. But is tehre any proof? In fact like montesori it might not help when they go into singapore sch because in our sch system it is still very desk bound (though the giv try to change a lot). Kids who are trained to speak up were often ask to keep quiet in class.. in that case they might feel demoralise. I do admit in one way or another (perhaps better memory) might help them in sch.. but how abt academic wise... skill is skill u still nd to knw the content...

sorry occupational hazard..but still i'm a sec sch teacher. maybe those teaching pri sch may voice out? jus my opinion only...

FYI in singapore education we are still following the Multiple Intelligence method...

abc, yes.. spore schs still very strict in following syllabus.. not too keen in "talkative" kids..
so if they express their views, they may be labelled as creating trouble to some teachers who are more ridged. perhaps not all teachers though.

a fren of mine told me tat shicida is more for memory.. glenn doman is also memory. not so much of speed reading as wat they claim..

so i gave up thinking abt all these other teaching methods le. will do more traditional reading and guiding at home.. b4 preschool.

Actually, I haven even started looking at courses. I wanna try BB on trial classes. But I also dunno what's there around Bt Batok/Bt Gombak/Clementi etc area.

I saw a shop in Sunset Way that looks like a Toddlers Playground. But have to find out more. :p