(2008/03) March 2008

wow... got baby crawling contest... sure lose one leh.... =P its been super duper long since I last posted!!! so busy with work.....

Adeline Sia:
ur gals ok?

Hahah Liyun
Now in spore for bb' jab next wk

Got a shock out of my life yesterday nite and this morning!

My bb crawl out of his walker despite the fact that he is stepping on his toes on the floor nicely. According to my hubby, he crawl out like 'Zhen Zi' and landed on the playmat. Surprisingly, he can do it. He din cry or should signs of pain and continue to play.
This morning when he woke up at 5am after his milk, my hubby said that his two hands are hanging outside his baby cot. I was washing his milk bottle in the kitchen so for the two incidents i din see.
Gosh! Any mummies has this issues before? Suggestions?
I m thinking of all of us sleeping on mattress on the floor so that he will not be able to crawl out of it. My baby cot cannot put it down to lower level so m thinking of alternative.
Wanna get those safety gates when sleeping on the floor so that he cannot crawl out of the bedroom.

Good morning!!!

Am on MC today... My whole family down with cough and runny nose.. Me sore throat and fever.. Only hubby still well...

last night I tried to lure my boy into crawling with a toy... I placed a toy in front of him... Using the carrot and stick method, make him crawl... He tried to be on his 4s, but too bad, his leg cant seem to be able to support his weight... Tried a few times den stop when he started screaming and shouting...

Guess will use this method to make him learn hw to crawl more often.. If nt he dun wanna learn.. Always want my maid to carry him... Keep on carrying, he will learn nothing...

isabellali, my boy gets attracted with our remote control or my hp or my laptop more than a toy.. hehe...
when on our bed, he can breaststroke frm one end of the bed to the other end where i am typing in the forum "to help me type".. hehe

isabellali, exact same method..
on fours, then head forward flat on bed.. then both hands move forward, on fours again, then head forward flat on bed.. cycle repeats..
same as breaststroke in water...
then when he reach my laptop, he'll use his spare hands to help me type lor..

YT,
we got a toddler bed cushion 4sided for my DS. cos the bb cot is too small for him now. we got it from chuan choon at outram for $140. you can see something similar at AMK HUB NTUC. but that one mattress is very thin. so my DS sleep on the floor and will not be afraid even if he crawl out of the bed.

anyone knw if there's a nursing room at harbor front? where is it located and can locked anot?

hope every bb-ies, mommies and daddies get well soon. very heartachesto see bb sick. the recent milk powder scare really make me very sad to see alot of bb-ies suffering.

Liyun,
I also continue to drop hair and i feel my hair is thin erghhh

Crawling & Flipping
So many bb attempting to crawl and alreadi pass the stage of flipping. Mine only started to flip from tummy to back onli 1 wk1 ago at 5m wk 2 haiz. Wonder when she wd be more adventurous to do a complete flip and start learning to wiggle ard.

Yomeishu / skin medication
Mummies, if it ok to take yomeishu though still bf? Also my hand eczema is returning and if i apply my old lotion b4 preggy is it ok? Think i forgot if can take then.

Frustration w bb
Think i cannt take my bb' constant cries at times when what i do dun seem to appease her. In the end, i go insane i would shake her and ask her what she wants or simply do e crazy stunts. Think i still can suffer post-natal blues. Should i just put her on the bed and let her cry when i am frustrated? Any hotline that i can call for help at times? Any mummies like me. All of u seem to be very nice and patient. Think i am e impatient mummy at times when i cannt stand it

Gathering
Ya think we need a gathering for the mummies.I have not seen Liyun and many mummies yet. Any holidays coming up that we could have a gathering at home?

Simp
Dun think like that... Your baby just 6 mths only, there is still a chance that u might get post natal blues... Being a mother doesn't mean u gotta be a super woman..

Last time when I just gave birth to my 1st baby, I also like that.. Everytime smack his thigh when he keep on crying.. Slowly, I tell myself that I cannot every time beat him.. SO sometimes, I would put him down on bed let him cry, den I hide in the toilet and cry... After a while, I will come out and carry him..

But like that very dangerous.. Cos when baby cry, U dunno if he will choke on jhis saliva or not.. So slowly, I keep telling myself gotta be patient.. Dun beat him and stuff.. Plus my frenx see me like that, sometimes she will come up and help me... Gradually the situation improve...

Maybe you can try talking to hubby and work out something.. See if your mum or your mil can help you to pass this period of time??

simp, it happens.. at times. u r a sahm? ur baby is still young..

isabellali, i saw one of ur post somewhere in smh forum.. i also like u, very scared to have #2. scared tat also turn out to be a boy.. so i very sianz when my mom tell me the same thing as ur mil say to u..

yt, i using playpen for ryan also.. juz lowered it down recently. but cannot pat him to slp as it's too low. only use as temporary prison while i do my things...

today's United Sq gathering onz?? only 3mummies?

Heard jus adeline that Kim has hfmd. Sigh.. hope kim get well soon.

Pet
i think kathy will be there. I will be there too. U still wan meet?

rem i mentioned that my son coughs oni at nite n day time he is ok..juz brought him to PD yesternite and PD said his bronchitis jus started up...got alot of mucus and she used a tube to suck them up...so poor thing..

thus ladies, if ur bb has a slight cough bring him to c doc as a precaution...dun be like me..i have dragged it for a few days cos tot is only a slight cough and it happens oni at nite, hoping that he will recover by itself...

Crawling,
sometime its better than bb learn how to crawl not so early. Guess wat, yesterday I was wif him at the playmat. He crawl to the sofa, support himself using the sofa and stand up! Gosh! I very headache ah! Not only he knows how to crawl, crawl out his walker n cot, now he is learning how to stand! I dun dare to imagine but I think I can 'see' myself running after him to stop him from touching things. Oh no!!!

RedTay,
thanks for your advice. Will check out NTUC.

Simp,
I used to have the problem as well esp when I was having a maid cos I think the maid frustrate me more than my bb. Now I am the maid. I m more happy at home. Hahahhaha! But if that happens to me, I would smack him a few times and tell him to co-operate. If he continues, I would leave him alone at times to cry for a while but staying beside him. But will carry him up and pacify him again shortly. N when he cools down and things are ok. I would tell him wat he does that anger mummy then would practise time out. My boy definitely knows that I m not happy with him and try to smile at me. But I ignore him but stil by side lor. Dunno whether this works or not but this is wat I had done lor.
But I suggest you bring your bb out to walk walk or change of envt, I think it helps. Plus, try not to be alone too long wif bb. You need a break somehow too lor. Mus take care hor.

i dun mind.. wan meet earlier? cause i'm definately gg out.. i need to go ofc to do my paperwork.. so i can meet anytime after 2pm till 6pm..

aiyo, poor kim...

unique,
ur son always cough at nite or jus once in blue moon. i got heard my son cough in his sleep too, but not every nite. hope he's alrite.

coughing
u can hear wat kind of cough when the bb is coughing. Yes cough is not a small matter. seriously i rather my son has a fever than a cough *touchwood*. Fever recover within 3 days but cough meed abt 3 weeks to recover. My son was diagonise as serious bronchitis only 1 day after he start coughing. Thus it is really bad. But i suggest for those whose bb is coughing, stop cereal for the time being. Give lots of bm and for those who gv fm, use water to dilute the milk. Instead of cereal, give lots of veg/fruits (remember to warm it up).

YT
yes tat y i rather my son show no sign of crawling as yet. i am not looking forward to him teething, crawling, walking. hahaha bad mummy...

Simp

hehe, i agree we need a gathering for the mummies

as for ur qn on <font color="0000ff"> Any holidays coming up that we could have a gathering at home?</font>

I am ready to open my hse on 5 October 2008, sunday
any takers ornot ?

talking abt crying baby, Simp, jia you ! being a SAHM is really tough ..

even Kyzac's SAHGM - Stay At Home Grandma cannot tahan liao

she said Kyzac is one of the noisiest bb ever, so noisy tat the neighbour pop over to see wat's wrong wth him..

he cries pitifully without a human arm..meaning constant carrying

how is everyone so far.... so nice to see your bb start crawl... mine don know when will start... now just discover her flip skill can bring her to place where she want to go... especially she love to flip to her kor kor.. .but then the kor kor don like to play with her.... so funny....

Hi,happy mummy and Isabella.
Thanks for welcome me,cos i just purchase new laptop.the photo not update yet.may i know which date is your baby birth?
To Poshies,
my one donno crawl yet,but she can sit in the walker and walk everywer she likes.

my bb only know how to crawl backwards...hehehehe, he also like the keyboard of my laptop,pull my hair, nose and he ever pinched my nipple..ouch!!!

YT,
That's why Tricia is the only one sleeping on the mattress on the floor. Since she can crawl, she can sometimes wake up early and when i woke up, she's no longer at the mattress! She's like outside our room already! LOL. Better keep them on the floor lah. She's also trying to stand by crawling her way up pillows and stuff to the bed sides! Just like your boi boi le!

isabellali,
do you think that weight and size of baby has anything to do with their motor skills? Tricia is a small baby. She's almost 7 months and only weighs 6.7kg. She's quick and nevertheless, she's crawled for like a week before she learns to sit.

Simp,
you poor thing. maybe bb cry b'cos she feel guilty for making u upset with her? i always believed that babies are very much in touch with our emotions. if we're angry, happy or sad, they can detect it lor. that's why a mother's love is crucial to their growth. i support your desire to get help. try http://www.alife.org.sg/en_index.php They're pro-family and Dr Peter Chew, the founder is an avid supporter of breastfeeding. That's why i remember him hehe.

babypink,
I used to have a cousin who cries a lot as a baby, really A LOT! So timid, cannot see strangers, sure cry like siao. Even if my aunt need to go to the toilet, must bring him along else he cry non-stop. Some more my aunt was a SAHM. But 20 years forward, my cousin has become a handsome and confident man liao! And very filial too! Really pleased at how things turned out after so many years.

poshies,
Tricia's jie jie oso dunno how to play with her so most of the time she plays by herself however Tricia likes to watch her jie jie play and always laugh even though her jie jie does nothing! Hahaha. She's always staring at her jie jie lor. I guess with time, they will learn to play with each other. Everyone needs a good playmate right?

chua,
welcome! post your bb photo and talk about anything lor.