(2008/03) March 2008

Pet/Shirley,
Yes, aim at nostrils, then suck and run to spit into toilet bowl! kekeke

boon,
Alot of pple envious of me but my dh always comment in Hokkien "jia leow bee".

reena: ooh. abit yucky rite.. anyway, the gadget is working fine.. hehe, he seems better already..

jia liao bee.. i wish i like u lor... maybe because u burn super lots calories in a day.. imagine ur workload!! faintz...

bbpink: junction 8 too far for me.. cause 14 sept evening i have wedding dinner to attend..
20sept is fine wif me.. 21sept i have another wedding dinner to attend..
this yr i have 9 dinners.. wahhh... pocket burn big hole liao...

Petrina , reena:
My gal was down with flu over the wkend. She had problem breathing so i ask the doc if we could "suck" out the mucus. We were strongly advise against it, cos' it may injure the internal of the nose. *i see her in so much agony i also feel painful *

abc, happy BD!!

my parents r out shopping wif my babe again!! I hope she wont become shopping queen in future.

clover.. i chk n let u know?

diaper tape to your baby's skin?
well, the trick is to remove it very very quickly, as if doing waxing!!! so that it wont be painful at all since they have no hair there.. haha. typically if u r careful, diaper tape won't stick to ur bb skin. and tape won't cause any redness.. i think it's the removing part that causing it.

petrina, i skip wedding dinners.. not attending any if it's wkend.. cos i'm full time wkend mum. haha.. part-time wkday mum..hahahha..

but still got to give ang bow. i heard nowadays the standard rate for ang bow is adjusted again, is it true?? $80 for wedding dinner at hotel is below standard?

melissa/abc

i have tried to give cereal but she is still doing the tough thrusting reflexes so i think she is not really ready. i am more reluctant to give cereal in bottles cos i am afraid that next time she will reject spoon feeding.

Happymummy

i am using pampers active for night. hmm so far can tahan lei. not sure if it is not good cos so far *touch wood* she has no diaper rash. didnt want to disturb her sleep so didnt change her diaper.

Babypink,
Mine is Yellow - Compliance. Details,details, details...

Diapers
I think I will win already lah....at one time I had like 16 bags of diapers stocked up. My hubby arrange it like bricks....when friends come I paisey.. oh well. So now maximum I have is 10 bags.
I like Pampers Dry - thin and absorbent. But some packs QC not good can see beads of gel on baby's skin. Use it for night and going out. Will buy a lot when there is offer.
Pampers comfort - same problem with Drypers. My babies thigh and tummy will have redness.
Pampers Active - I think it has Aloe Vera lining? And my girl quite sensitive to it. But Pampers Dry also have it...dunno lah.
MamyPoko - dunno how come the urine and stool can leak! And it's expensive!
PetPet - I like. Keep babies dry but doesn't last very long.
Huggies - expensive and nice to use. But expensive. But nice to use. But expensive!
Pureen - I hate it. Thick and ugly. Hahahaha!
I want to try house brand but I am scared waste money if I don't like it.

Sucking out mucus
I agree with Reena using direct mouth to nostril suction is the best. But make sure baby open mouth when you are sucking. Before my babies were born, I had to do that to my niece and nephew cos their mother find it too yucky and gross. It felt like sucking out the Chu-chu (snail). Nice...

Brendon is having cough plus phelgm, today brought him to c PD at United Sq, cost me $130 plus with only 2 cough syrup...
no antibiotic given, if this weekend still not recover must go back again...

1704494.jpg

Taken during first feed for the boys, 3rd feed for the girl. I find that she is more ready to eat than the boys. And now, the easiest to feed. With the boys...have to fight first.

Thru trial and error, I found that it is more effective feeding them individually than feeding them together. A lot of jealousy and tantrum going on when feed together.

Am giving them Healthy Times Brown Rice Cereal. My girl seem to like it.

kate, not necc must give antibiotics mah. if not chronic cough, pd won't give. hope he recover soon.

lefthander, can really tell yr compliance nature in yr posts. heh.

pureen diapers- can the pureen diapers absorb pee, poo well?

pampers dry- the packaging indicates its made in japan leh, so surprise to know the quality isof diff std. my hubb said its for the indian market coz of the indian bb on the package!

haizzz today is not a good day. I hv a bad headache n also vomitted. made me wonder whether I m preg which is equivalent to striking lottery... v low chance! haizzz!

clover,

i know, just feel tat a bit ex as it's without antibiotic and only 2 cough syrup...but as long as brendon recover asap, 130 still worth it. hehehehe, ur hubby vr funny leh...indian baby jokes..

i feel vr heart pain everytime heard Brendon coughing....mood vr down

<font color="ff0000">HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO abc!!!!!</font>
So pai sei I so late, super long time no check forum liao. Super out of touch liao! Heng... before 12 midnight.

m letting go of my Avent Manual Pump, Medela Mini Electric Pump n Ameda Dual Pump ( stil got 6 months waranty ). Anyone interested PM me. Tnx.

clover,
wah you're trying izzit? kekekee

katechow,
about the huggies thread, i saw it before but i learnt that stocks are out already. wonder where else to get cheaper huggies. both my girls using huggies. it's expensive but good.

lefty,
i still can't tell which one is girl and which is boy(s) in your picture hehehe.

shirley,
no worries lah i'm sure lele can learn how to feed herself naturally. my 1st girl learnt how to drink from a straw and how to use the spoon to feed by herself all on her own time. every baby will have their own milestones and they'll get there naturally. the problem arises when mommies started comparing too much and became kiasu, hence always worry if their babies can do this and that at their supposed timeline. or i'm the only lax mom here. oh i think Reena is oso very relaxed. kekeke.

cough and cold,
Tricia just recovered from cough and cold with a fair bit of runny nose quite recently without any medications. she was cranky for several nights but my only remedy is BM and lots of faith. looks like it's working. i don't have to spend a bomb on PD's visit. she got well by herself. it's true what the more experienced mommies said, BF babies are generally healthier.

Clover,
"Compliance" is a nicer term to use. Usually I describe myself as "Anal". Hehee...

Melissa,
Because all also no hair and I didn't pierce girl's ears...am contemplating to pierce her ears but this age I fear she will scratch it. What you think?

Today I let her wear her spanking new pink heels and went to my mum's place. Along the way a chinese auntie smiled at us and was amused by her heels. Touching the heels, she said "waahh...nice ah!" and I said "hehe..yah, cute hor?" and then she said," this your brother?" and I just look at her with a blank face and she continued, "this one girl or boy?" and I said "girl..my daughter.." and I walk on. Then I wonder: Why in the world would ANY MOTHER want to let their baby boy wear PINK HEELS????

Lefty,
Nice shot! The last time I saw them at IMM, they were still so "tiny". Now all grown up already.

Melissa,
Talking about me ah? Yah.. come to think of it, I'm also a very lax mom (I'm definitely guilty of that). Maybe because I've got so many nieces and nephews, and I learn all the "good and bad" parenting styles fm sis/bro/sil. So I always tell myself, good one I follow, no good I make sure I don't do it.

As far as bb's milestones are concern, I'm one really bochap mom. Take for eg when dd1 was taken care by my sis, I NEVER call her in the day to ask her abt my bb. She'll be the one calling me to update this and that, and I rem telling her to stop calling me for such trival matters :p

DH was away the past few nights and my mil is very kind to come over at night to sleep with the 2 elder kids, she was afraid I can't handle 3. We were chitchatting and she told me when she was taking care of my niece, my sil will call home daily to check on them, ie what time were they fed, nap, pass motion etc... MIL also commented both SIL and I total extreme cases kekeke For me, I feel that you must have trusted that person in order for you to entrust your bb in his/her care. That being the case, why call to check? And even if you call, what can you do? And since you can't do much, why call?

Also, dd1 is in K1 now. Everyday, I'll ask if she has homework/spelling and if yes, she has to do it after lunch. If she chooses to play/nap/draw or do anything else except school work, I'll only remind once. If she decides to ignore me again, I'll just leave her alone. She has to ans to the teacher why she didn't do her homework or get zero for her spelling. I feel that she must learn cause and effect. My mil says I'm very mean. Oh well.. that's just me lah :p

lefty,
lol.. been there done that and i still get the same thing from blur people. the pink and the blue is the only indication of bb's gender! how can pple still ask?? beats me man. i dunno why. on earrings, dun lah i think she's too young to have one. i know some would do it much earlier when bb is pretty much sleeping (newborn stage) but now that the bb is becoming active, better not. dun want to run a risk of infection too. just keep her in pink with a ribbon on her head. that's very sweet already.

Reena,
coincidentally, our parenting style has many similarities except for your first DD style hahaa. i do call home to ask b'cos i miss her so badly. but i understand that you were very busy at work while mine is still mostly desk-bound. so i still can afford to think about DD all the time.

anyway i think its healthy for march group to have a mixture of lax and strict parenting style. ultimately we all learn which is best and make parenting an enjoyable one!

Lefty,
My gf's 2 girls both got their ears pierced at 2.5 months, at GP's clinic. I wanted to bring mine there last month but was discouraged by all I spoke to. Can't go against them so wait lor. But personally, I feel it's better to pierce when they are younger cos don't have to worry about them scratching or diet (ie no seafood, no swimming, etc...)

Talking about looking like boy, my dd1, at 6 months old still look very boyish. My sis (caregiver) dressed her up in a PINK DRESS and brought her to the void deck for a stroll. A lady came along and spoke to my sister. Then she asked THE question, "boy or girl". My sister was fuming! "Why on earth would I dress a boy up like a girl?! !@#$%^&amp;*"

Melissa,
Strangely, I don't miss dd1 at all when I'm at work, regardless of free or busy. Feeling guilty now :p Guess my maternal instinct wasn't that strong yet.

In parenting, there is no right or wrong method, be it lax or strict. I always feel that each parent (or at least most) will definitely want the best for their kid and whatever they do, their priority will be on the kids. To quote an eg, my priority may not be your priority and what I do may seem "mean/wicked" to others. But as long as my conscious is clear, I know I'm doing what I feel is best for them and my family, I don't bother what pple say. But of course, we do listen to comments from other parents on their parenting style and see if we adapt/modify to suit our needs.

Melissa

wah, u can tahan ur bb cranky for so many days, few days ago Brendon has cough lio and cranky but no phlegm so i thought cause of teething then today i heard his coughing getting more serious n super cranky...so scare he got bronchities so quickly brought him to PD. PD also ask me to bf him as much as possible. i fully bf him, he also asked me to make the cereal more liquid, add more milk...

melissa: maybe because i snack alot? so my boy end up sick? he having running nose. then i brought him to PD for his puemo jab. PD say 37.2deg fever wif flu can jab.
so i blur blur jab him. he nv cry. but last night end up wif fever n cough with little phlegm. flu also not recovered..
i was super night duty.. i fed him panadol. but he vomited some out. his fever still hovering between 37.3deg-38.1deg. shld i wait?
i cold sponging him. let him slp on cold gel pillow. but his head still very hot.
i stop cereal for today. bf him lots. but he not drinking well due to block nose.

i very worried..

sheryl: i also dun wan go wedding dinner this sat liao.. cause my DS still fever now. but how? i was thinking my fren already arranged seats.. how much angpow shld i give? if i dun go?

kate
tat is becauce it is the first consulatation to the PD that is y it is ex. I am one who dun liek the use of antibiotic. Thus i am happy with Dr ong as he is the kind who dun anyhow gv antibiotic. Usu review is cheaper.

Pet
block nose better to bring him see Dr. But 38.1 degree is not consider fever.

Tahan bb crankiness
Think i am immune liao. But seriously 2nd time parents got use to bb crankiness easier. It is a matter of time to get use to theirfuss or crankiness and it is something we must learn. If not i can foresee spouiling of child cos if cannot tahan we tend to give in to them all the time. Guess i train myself during my gal's Terrible 2 stage bah. hahaha...

kate/Pet
hope yr bb get well soon.

Petrina,
Yeah it could be. If you still fully bf, better watch your diet. I have been drinking milk to make sure that my BM is nutritious for baby. Then again I love milk lah. I took full cream milk (can't take fresh milk else diarrhea) best thing is, I don't put on weight and I still have enough BM for bb. By the way, shouldn't give bb any jabs if he has fever. Usually the jabs contain a small amount of virus to trigger the body to fight against the foreign invasion. If bb is sick, means his immunity is low, so giving the jab during that period can be considered cruel. I always give plenty of BM if bb is sick, not those freezer stored one, but fresh BM (direct latching best). Our body knows when bb is sick and will provide more antibodies for bb lor. I think 38.1 degrees is still not so bad and usually for young children, they tend to get hotter at night but come morning, they will be ok again. If not so high, I give panadol in 6-hrly period. Else if over 38.5 it's 4-hourly. Meanwhile BF as much as you can. And remember, the key is persistence and lots of TLC. The power of love can really make one feel healthier! Hope Ryan get well soon!

thks abc/melissa...
i also feel tat below 38deg not fever.. aiyah, my hb made me super ganjiong... when he made a huge fuss, then i started to worry for ryan lor..
so end up i cold sponge his head whole night.. then he eh eh whole night, i bf him...

abc, i brought him to PD for jab yesterday. already seen doc. pd say lungs clear so no worries. gave zrytec *anti histamines*. no antibiotics also. i dun like to use it also.

melissa, i eat lots biscuits.. tats usually my breakfast. snacking for me dun mean chips. i try to restrain myself frm eating anything inbetween meals.. i stop my fresh milk cause tat time ryan have rashes. so PD ask me stop cow milk to test for allergy.. occasionally when i rem, i'll drink lactation milk.. hehs..

i noe recently weather is bad. so i drown myself in crysanthem and barley water.. *home-made*
i dunno wat else i can do to help ryan..

petrina,
with time they'll get better lor, no need to worry yourself so much. you got allergy to cow's milk? if you like to nibble, those digestive biscuits is good lor. a snack can always be healthy if u know how to choose the right food. besides, i think it's better to have 6 small meals than 3 large meals. so far i think you've done your best as a mom already lor, now just let nature take its own course.

you're a SAHM izzit? envy liao! hahaa..

FTWM,
Have you had your extra 4 days child care leave credited into your leave system? Mine have already lei! So happy! Hahahaa.

Reading thru the thread, seems like a lot of babies are not feeling well, do take care, ya..

Have been busy learning on my new PT-job. It's hard but it's fun.. OK, not fun when the Dr give me a black black face when I did something wrong.. But when u know how to get things done, guess the satisfaction is enough to keep you going..

Have little time with my kids, especially Rhys. He was mostly asleep when I reach home from work. Haiz~ Feel so guilty..

Mummies, have any of you thought of how u are going to celebrate ur baby's first birthday?? I'm already planning on it. Was thinking of having a chalet @ Aloha. Order a cake from Ecreative and BBQ. Lolx~ Me and hubby even had a guestlist drawn up.. Lolx~ We can't wait for our baby to turn 1yo..

Melissa, so good.
I stil thot they may pro-rate. I haf nt gotten mine yet. I hope to get mine too. kekeke ;p

Isabellali, its ok. U r workg so tt u can provide more to ur bb. Mayb weekend u can spend more time w him. Tts y I always look forward to weekends.

Not yet. Wa u r fast. Mine stil got 6mths. Mayb mine wil b a small celebratns.

isabellali: i'll do small celebration niah. cause my family quite against big event.. my mom say, baby so small, wun noe wat is gg on. it's the adults tat enjoy the party.. lolx

so we'll have chalet stay, dinner n cake for internal family only.. hb, ryan, me, my parents n brother, hb's mom n brother. like tat can enjoy n relax more.. dun have to worry abt guestlist etc..

petrina,
i dun dare bathe bb in cool water, scared she shock, usually lukewarm water with light clothing afterwards. 6 months baby still got wrap-up meh? kekeke.

cloudme,
wah yours is the worst case how come only 1 day? mine doesn't seem pro-rated. they just simply put there 4 days. the only thing they pro-rate is annual leave.

isabellali,
i'm surprised you're still enthusiastic about celebrating bb's 1st year after 3 kids kekeke. i'll probably do a small one within the family. just buy a small cake. most probably my terror two will enjoy the cake lor kekekeke.

pet, 37 deg ok wah. no more fever liao.

mel, aiyah I m definitely not trying to get preg. tot will try when bb alex is 18mths. want my kids to hv 2 yrs gap the least. now my hubb already finds one child is busy enough for him. my bro n me are 360 days apart n my mom took care of us with no help from my dad. imagine that!

abc, thks.

melissa: haha, enthusiastic after 3kids... i think i'll try to be fair. so in order not to be any less happy, i'll maintain a low standard.. haha
maybe abc meant the wrap as in blanky..

abc
will give you the $$ for the taggies spree this sunday when i go over to admiralty and collect other things from you ok.

1st bdae party
will open a party at my OWN house. emphasize on 'OWN' cuz i think this house mean alot to me. too much in laws problems. sighs!

celebrating bb's bday
hubb n I will buy a small cake to celebrate bb's 6mths end this mth. we hv the cake n he'll have his first taste of cereal!

oh ya, clover, i forgot to post abt ur vomiting..
i also, giddy abit, nausea.. bloated tummy.. but luckily i wasn't fertile.. i definitely dun wan a #2 now!
but i was wondering if anyone here having similar symptoms as me? i've been having it for abt 2mths now..