(2008/03) March 2008

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">HAPPY 6 MONTHS ANDRAE!!!!!</font></font>

Although he in hosp but still need to wish him ma hehee..
Anyway he has been dianogsed with RSV as well. RSV is horrible! imagine he gotten everything together?
Must be suffering.. Poor boy.

Hope he recover soon!

jeangal
i am not sure if he could take the last hep B tgt with the rest at 5mths. you check with your pd ? but mine was taken at 6mth for the last hep B jab.

Crystal, ok thx. Wil check w him this sat. Thx.

adeline what is RSV?? goodness.. poor bb.. hope he recover well..

jerejoy.. steady leh..so fast making 2nd one.. i super phobia with my first.. guess gotta wait another 4 more yrs for the next.. perhaps dun even intend to have 2nd one.. hb wans.. ask him go find mistress loh.. hahahaha kidding lah..

babe dude
respiratory syntial virus.
will keep having thick thick mucus and lots of phelgm. if adult get it's already feeling horrible cause kim passed to whole family so i understand. imagine my hubby got bad headache after getting the virus till his face white and need to go hosp for injection..
That time pd tell us, when baby get it, they are feeling much worse also. haiz.. poor baby lor.. yes.. somemore with bronchitis together..

happymummy,
not true for me. i took 3 years to finally successfully conceive my #1, and #2 was conceived merely months without even trying. i have girlfriends who run into "accidents" like this as well. i guess the odds will always be 50%. my gynae oso say it's so easy to get pregnant again after #1. so this time, i will be ultra careful, especially since my menses just came.

jerejoy,
your chances of conceiving again is 50% liao.

6 months is quite a major milestone yeah. they will learn so many new things especially first solid food!

Happy 6 months Andrae!

Adeline : Oh dear..Sounds serious ..Hope Andrae gets well soon..
But how does bb get infected with it? It seems like recently there is a lot of "new" virus which i dunno...

jerejoy,

my boy also 19th march!!! i see calendar salah hahaa...thought wednesday then is 19th
oh wow...our sons "tong nian tong yue tong ri sheng"! hahahah! which hospital did you deliver at? what time was your boy born?

i started tristan on rice cereal yesterday. seems that his tongue-thrust reflex is already gone so he's taking in most of the cereal and not pushing it out! it was damn fun for both him and us...after a few mouthfuls, he was kicking kicking kicking like damn excited hahaha! his expression when he took his first mouthful is priceless! hb managed to video it down and we're still laughing at it!

shaz17 : oh u reminded me...i shld have video down my gal's first feed also..hmmm..She aso very excited lei.. kekeee...

babe_dude
Ya his face is itcy and he keep using his hands to rub it…oso got rashes on his face plus red red. Btw, If ur breastfeeding her, u need to “jie gou” oso, u cant eat diary products…such as cheese and milk. For me if I drink tea with milk, his face rashes will come back immediately.

Pneumoccocal vaccine
I only gave ds2 (3yo) this jab and he literally can't walk for 2 days! Those were the days when he's really guai, won't run away the house and create havoc. I'm still thinking if I should give dd3 since she's still so young. Suffer also can't tell :-(

Rotarix
DD3's first dose was at 21 weeks and she's really late for it (recommended is below 14 weeks). Needs 4 weeks interval for next dose. Brought her to GP 2 days ago at 25 weeks but he's very against giving rotarix. He says the vaccine is still very new in the market so advise not to give 2nd dose. I've also called up GSK to check, it's ok not to give 2nd dose, but of course, the child will not be 100% protected against this virus.

babe_dude,
Oh gosh.. got alleric reaction towards cow's milk? Then big headache..

Adeline/ABC,
Oh.. another RSV case.. very traumatising for the parents too :-(

shaz17,
eh luckily you posted your experience! i oso want to take a video of Tricia and her first solid feed! kekekee. good idea!!!

Happymummy
i got pregnant v. fast both times so i don't think it's true....but i guess age makes a difference...think the older u get or your hb gets, it could be more difficult than when u were younger

HappyMummy,
My bb also kena RSV at 3 months old. It's actually a very common virus. If adults get it, we get a mild cough/runny nose/fever. But for young babies, because their body has no immunity, that's why they suffer. Both my elder kids were sick, then passed the virus to dd3 and she was admitted to kkh. When I spent the days there with her, I got the virus too.

Happy mummy
he is 6 mths le..

Reena
i know hw it feels. cause my elder got it, pass to younger and younger pass to me then i pass to hb. hubby was quite serious cause gotta go hosp for injection due to severe headache. for me is fever low grade on and off, bad mucus and sore throat ..
for babies it's much worse.. both took 1 mth to recover..

hm.. so many posting.. system's extra well wishes for BB ANDRAE.

ABC:take care of urself too. sad to hear Andrae's down with 2 viruses..

simp:voted

babyheng:actually tot of buying the sling. but Felicia was already 9kg+ during last healthcheck..so think my shoulder may not tahan her wt leh.. actually i got bring her out alone if u consider going downstairs playground.. but wanna try bringing her out alone furthur coz felt i m not independent enuff when handling Felicia.. but nevermind next time i try again when she's slightly older!

Jabs,
aiyo... i m a blur mummy... dinno that pnuemococal n rotavirus can take so young. Mus quickly take for my son liao. Tnx mummy!

babe_dude,

I realised that I love kids so much after hving my boy. So wanted to try for one more. Somemore, coming 30 this yr. Old liao. Hv to try fast cos I'm worried I might nt conceive so easily. Hubby also pestering for one more too. Since he's so supportive n willing to help me take care, I'm ok to try again.

Melissa,

50% huh... Hope my menses come soon. Hehe!

Shaz17,

So 'qiao' hor..Must meet up someday to see our boys k. My boy is born in States. He's born at 4.52pm US time. i wanted to start him on cereal too but my milk supply a bit low recently so wanted him to suckle more and therefore put off the plan first. Must be a fun moment to watch them eat.

Adeline L,

Ya, i agree with u. Age does matters. Both of us 30 this yr. If we wait for a few yrs more, I will be at high risk when pregnant.

Yu tong,

I think the 1st dose of rotavirus must take before 6 months? That is what i heard.

My baby turn 5 months yesterday. Only about 7kg+ also.

I had hope tt ML will be ard 6mths, then I shall go n find a job. our govt is still being cautious n place more importance on economy . dun think 16 wks of ML will boost the birth rate.

Mummyboy : Serious?? I just from colleagues this morning. Really wasted, nv mind work hard for the next one lor..hee

Yup happymum, confirmed 16 weeks.

Ya ya clover!! hope it wil increase further. I heard of other countries with 9 months maternity leave. Can't remember where. haha

Yay maternity leave extended to 16 weeks! Wasted liao!!!! Should've waited longer (like I have the option) haha. But since I'm not stopping at two, this is very good news for me! Childcare leave oso extended izzit?

But I'm going to make my single/divorced-without- children colleagues more green eyed liao. And 80% of our dept is like that. *faint*

jerejoy,
i remember feeling exactly the same like you! can't wait to have another b'cos i miss the newborn days and i love children so much, and hubby is very supportive AND i was reaching 30 at that time so i was dying to have my menses come early!! Luckily after menses it's one shit one kill! So jiayou on your TTC effort! Hope auntie will visit you soon and you get pg again! Baby bonus will be better this time around!

Yup, child care extended to 6 days.

Maternity leave: Four months, up by one month.
Infant-care leave: One week of unpaid leave a year, until child turns two.
Child-care leave: Extended to six days a year, for child younger than seven.
Baby bonus: Bigger cash grant for new mums.
Every child matters: Tax relief and child-care subsidy for fifth child.
Child-care boost: More centres to be built. More subsidy for centres.

Jerejoy and Shaz,
my boy oso turn 5mth tdy. Happy 5Mth to ur boys too!

Jerejoy,
so fast start no2 ttc liao ah. me oso not young lor, 32 nxt wks. but i will start ttc only after DEc. cos me aiming for a yr end bb. hopefully can strike b4 April09. let's Jia You together.

re: ML
hee.. i wish can convert to cash if i don't use the extra 4wks.. $$$$

mummyboy,
aiyah like this for pple like us, can only benefit from extended maternity leave and child care leave lor. bigger baby bonus only for new mums. we become seasoned moms oredi. haizzz..

RedTea,
Hehehe me want a 2010 baby. Hopefully 2 yrs gap from Tricia. Hopefully can come out by 1 Jan haha. Means TTC next year lor.

Happymummy,
yes and no. some pple straightaway become pregnant before auntie comes b'cos they ovulate first then hubby shoot once strike oredi. but sometimes u shoot no kill, then auntie come lor. auntie comes mean u will ovulate mah. now i stock up on the rubbers liao hahaa. i dowan to get pg this year!

melissa,
wah! 1st jan10, like tat u have to strike within mar-apr09. then everyday talk to bb must come out on 1st Jan, maybe can work. hee..

oh wow! so many bb's turn 5 mths today, and all boys some more!

Happy 5 mths to Redtea and Jerejoy's boys!! What are you bb's names (sorry i missed out on earlier posts if you have mentioned before). My boy's name is Tristan

Jerejoy - Tristan was born at 351pm...if we ignore the difference in timing because of location...our boys are born 1 hour and 1 min apart...wahahha!

redtea,
hahaa thanks for calculating for me!!! a bit hard for me b'cos i got looong cycles. 37-days cycle niaaaaaa!!! means some months no eggs! haha

shaz,
my boy is born at 7:34pm, so he's afew hrs younger than ur Tristan. My boy's name is Eugene.

melissa,
sometime pre-plan is not tat easy.. accident better. it's like a surprise present.

jerejoy..

u one lucky woman!! it is hard to find a nice hb who is willing to share the load with u!! u can ask ard the forum.. many mummies will agree with me! hahahaha ... if i were u..i will have more too! :p good luck manzz...

hey mummies....something to share here (for those who are planning for 2nd one) that my gynae also reminded me of:

1. there is research to suggest that waiting between eighteen and twenty three months after the birth of the last child seems to be beneficial to the health of the youngest according to a study in the New England Journal Of Medicine.

2. Women who conceive less than 18 months or greater than 23 months after a previous delivery (vaginal or cesarean) seem to be at increased risk for delivering a preterm or a low birth weight infant. Conceiving less than 6 months or greater than 50 months after a previous delivery appears to increase the risk for both fetal and early neonatal death

3. this time period allows the mothers body to replenish the nutrients lost through pregnancy and recover from the stress.

4. babies conceived less than six months after the birth of the last are more likely to be born prematurely or suffer with low birth weight. babies conceived more than ten years after their closest sibling double the risk of preterm birth.

5. children build relationships particularly well with parents and siblings under the age of one and when over four. Under one, babies havn’t developed a sense of their own status, whilst those over four have had plenty of time to enjoy attention from their parents already.

(Taken from: http://www.obfocus.com/questions/qanda44.htm and
http://www.babydiscovery.co.uk/having-another-baby.asp)