(2008/03) March 2008

bbpink,

How much do u give yr boy for the ebm? Wht is the amt that they shld be drinking now? I will try for a couple of days more to express out.. If it's still so bad, I will hv no choice but to feed fm... Haiz!..

jerejoy

150ml, sometimes he finish all , sometimes he waste..the amt is thru trial and error

i would love not to waste, but if we give lesser and to top up after tat, the waiting makes him cranky and he refuses the top up

recently i met a mum who deliver in march..she said her supply is dipping as well..

if others factors remain unchanged, i guess it is just Mother Nature

I tried drinking 2 litres of water within 6 hrs ..but STIll low supply.
hehe, if i have time , i will probably drink a lot of papaya fish soup
and if less fussy, i will drink my oatmeal..and eat fenugreek

i din lor..so mine is due to a variety of factors..i guess i din try hard enough :p

bbpink,

Thanks for yr info. Guess I'm not giving him enough. Oops! ;p
Only managed to pump out 100 ml to 125 ml most of the time. Will try again and see how... Sometimes we really hv no choice....

jerejoy,
hang in there! be strong!!!
i was in same situation as u a few weeks ago but my bb was waking up because he wanted to suck his pacifier!!

i have a friend whose bb (born in march as well) can sleep from 10pm to 8am kind!!!! damn envious lor! then i realised his bb has really good sleep habits, so decided to help my bb develop good sleep habits as well. but my friend is the opposite of me, he wishes his bb will wake up in between to feed, but the bb just doesnt! hahah! PD told him it's ok as long as bb's getting enough during the day and gaining wt (his bb is a chubby baby btw!).

read from books that babies have sleep cycles and will wake up every 1-2 hours or so, just like adults. we adults will usually wake up few times a night (maybe to fluff the pillow, pull the blanket, hug the bolster etc etc.) but we usually will not remember because we have learnt the ability to return to sleep ourselves.

for bbs that are "helped" to sleep eg. rocking, feeding, giving pacifier, these bbs don't know how to sleep on their own and hence when they wake up at night after 1 sleep cycle, they will cry out and expect the same help like they've always received.

i followed some of the tips from the gentle no-cry sleep solution book and gradually tried to help my bb break his bad sleep habits. from needing to be carried + pacifier ---> putting down in cot, patting with pacifier ----> to now only patting in cot (sometimes meltdown then give pacifier), my bb slowly learnt how to sleep independently. he used to wake up every 1.5-2 hours....to wake up every 3-4 hours....for the past few days, he's able to sleep from about 9pm to 5am....i hope it's because the sleep training is working and he's learnt how to self-soothe...and not just because he is baby "heng" haha!

the "training" process is slow and requires a lot of patience....but it's worth it in my opinion!

shaz17,

Thanks! Can I know wht is the title and author of the book? Maybe I can train my bb on that too. Think I hv to solve my supply issue as well...

oh yah, 150ml is for a 8.2kg baby

FL
i have a simple table to share

6-8 months - nestle creals/ heinz rice cereals for noon and 5 pm
8-9 months - still rice creals, and add a little bit of additional new pureed food ( one kind every week to watch for allergies)
Week 1 - sweet potato
Week 2 - apples
Week 3 - egg yolk
Week 4 - banana
Week 5 - carrots

9 months onward - spinach, pureed fish or meat for lunch or dinner, fruits for teabreak, maybe sweet potato or nestle cereals for breakfast
After 1 year with teeth, can introduce bread

I didn't have time to go through all those postings but just a few quick ones that caught my attention.

Bfg
Ok, I don't mean to brag but I'm such a pro now :p Having nursed for continuous 5 years, stopped for a year and start nursing again. Do not be dishearten if your supply dip. For me, I just make an extra effort to squeeze in another session. It's just me, I'm just paranoid that my bb has to drink nothing but bm. But then again, having such an attitude is very tiring for the mother. I woke up every 3 hourly to pump in the middle of the night (dd1's time, not enough milk so need to pump diligently, ds2's time, too much milk, needs to express to relieve).

If you feel that your supply is taking a dip and you're simply too tired to continue, it's OK to supplement with formula. For me, I'll rather be the one to suffer. Go with your heart and you'll feel better.

babypink,
my bb is 5.5 month, only 6.5kg and drinks 150ml 3-4 hourly leh hehehee

my supply dipped yesterday b'cos AUNTIE CAME!!! aarrgghh. so now my fertility rate is officially high, must be extra careful this time, no more oops- pregnancy. today i pump got 2oz lesser as well. no amount of food i take in helps so before i become fat, i better control and let nature take its course. told my mom to feed bb as normal, but smaller feeds like 120ml every 3 hours while i try to finish my work early and rush home fast to latch her on. hahaha.

actually now i think Tricia is ready for solids already. one time i was eating melted cheese off my bread, i gave a teeny-weenie bit to her and she's sooo ready to gulp them all. she's been watching me eat with interest for a long time oredi. my mom say i siao hold back for so long for what but i dun care lah. i'm her mommy what! hahaaa

To add on, my gf swears by giving plain water in the middle of the night. She says after a few nights, the bb will find it not worthwhile waking up to drink plain water and will sleep through the night.

abc,
good for u, can spend more time wif ur 2 kids. wish i can go part-time too. but i guess i am not willing to suffer the pay cut

jerejoy
you can find that book from amazon too. i have that as well. but i haven read. lol !

guess you can find many such books in amazon! some more it's so convenient for you to buy!

there is this book - wonder weeks is great too. but i forgot the author though.

melissa

mine just turns 5 months today and seem to be drinking lesser than urs..

i guess Kyzac's size is due to genes..both his parents are never slim in thair lives..maybe once when i was born :p

Reena,
I heard about that. But like you, rather than wake up and give nutrition-less plain water, i rather give BM. I have the same attitude as you, die die oso must give BM. I suffer extra never mind, we don't breastfeed forever. I think got one more March mommy who's a die-hard breastfeeder as well. Can't remember who. kekekee.

babypink,
i think it's normal for them to drink lesser as they grow up right. due to playing more. once they take solids, even worse lor keke. but i dun plan to stop pumping. will go ahead as time permits.

Pumping
aiya.. my pumping also same lah.. my monster is drinking 7oz every 3 - 4 hrs.. and i pump only 4oz every 4 hr.. how to catch up?? but i stil got spare milk lah.. my aunty still tell me.. kathlyn drink not enuff.. want more.. increasing to 8 oz liao.. i feel like giving up liao lor..

melissa
if i din remember wrongly, abc also

adeline
since hav enuff, dun give up

i enjoy my days with Kyzac..can breastfeed fr breasts totally..only at office and at events tat is not possible, cos not enough from expressing..my own frozen ones finish less than a month after i start work..

haha..still remember abc looking at my freezer and saying so little a week b4 my ML ends

hehe..i will just continue until last drip lor, just bot a new packet of sterilizing tablets fr Mothercare, better use it up :p

today, i heard something that made me very angry.
last wed, i went off to pump milk for 15 mins. i haven't pumped for 6 hours. which means my breasts were very full. i was late for 15 mins for a sharing session. den my boss made it an issue. she asked my supervisor to talk to me and tell me not to be late in the future. she saw me that day after pumping milk and she even smiled to me and said, "doing motherly duty ah?" now she turned around and criticized me behind my back. someone mentioned to her that i probably had to do it then cos my time was very packed that whole day. then she did not accept the explanation. very not understanding boss! angry! with this type of boss, no wonder more n more mummies r becoming SAHM

sigh* aly, really emphathize with u

sometimes one of my colleagues also made jokes tat makes me very paiseh..lately someone bot bottles of milk and put in fridge ..he said things like dun drink my milk by mistake

at 1st i see the humour..3rd time today i dun find it funny leh

aly
poor you. it must be v. stressful for FTWM to pump during work hours...kudos to all that persevere!

actually these days i only manage about 3 hours sleep not because of baby but cos i have insomnia after i wake up at night for feeding :p really sucks...so many times i lay there awake from one feeding to the next *haiz*

skin problems
bb tommy used to have nice baby skin but now his cheeks and legs are rough! the PD just brushed it off saying it's mild and to just put moisturiser...he said it could be eczema but he said it casually so i dun know if it is or not...it is not itchy and his cheeks are a bit bumpy and a little red but his legs just look like dry skin...it has improved with moisturizer but i wonder can i do more for him??

my dotter going 6mths tis fri, nw growing her 3rd tooth.
oso keen waking up at night.
so tiring cos got to wake up at 5am the nxt day.

<font color="ff0000">Re:low supply</font>
my bm also dropping drastically.. today one of the session only yields 2oz after 3hrs.. my freezer no space so never keep any frozen ebm. now have to pump extra sessions at nite to make it up for day consumption.. fil telling me felicia now 5oz not enuff sometimes he give 5.5 to 6oz..hopefully can last until 6mths b4 i supplement some fm..

<font color="ff0000">Re:work pressure</font>
my efficiency @ work also dropping ever since come back from ml.. work is piling up but i cannot finish n meet dateline with the pumping n no OT. struggling.. n all hb can say is "a job is juz a job. dun need to stress" of coz lah he is not the one facing the mgt.. sometimes find it so tough being a FTWM.
1638676.gif
currently no one comment on mi going for pump session but i feel so bad 4 going off for session even when i cannot finish work..

today argue with hb over felicia's safety in car. he refuses to belt up the infant seat to car. say place in n cramp using seats ok liao.. he afraid my pil sit at the back feel uncomfy sharing seat belt with felicia.. say i over-worry. so FED UP with him. 不怕一万只怕万一mah!He THINKS i M paranoid!! So angry with him. now sees him my blood also boils!!
1638677.gif
find myself getting pretty impatient with him ever since we have Felicia. like cannot see eye 2 eye..also dunno why. sorry for venting my frustration here. but i really veri pissed off n somemore still muz act normal with him in front of pil.

boon,
you poor thing. for my case, it takes a second baby for us to come into senses that we should belt both up. but how? imagine putting 2 infant car seats in the mpv. dunno how liao. in the end, only belt up my terror two wherelse for Tricia, i carry her in my BabyBjorn. we used to ferry a lot of pple in our mpv but now since we installed two infant car seat, some assholes are saying we're selfish purposely finding reasons not to "tompang" them. i heck care lah. those pple got pay my car loan? my road tax? no rite? so shuddup and siam lah. not happy go take taxi or mrt.

as for work pressure, no doubt, very stressful trying to finish a tight deadline and pumping at the same time. sometimes i didnt pump for 6 solid hours so i have to make it up at nights. my colleagues never say anything too but i feel like they're not speaking it loud yet. anyway i feel very happy to know that my boss oso have a 6-mth old girl so he kinda understand why i have to pump. anyway if my supply is dropping i find weekend full latching helps to restore the amount.

happygal,
woah 3 teeth. are you still latching her?

forgot to mention for mommy who still TBF, make sure u have enough sleep as well or else supply will be affected. no wonder our dear jerejoy is having trouble keeping up with her little milk monster. for her case then can make it up with short naps in the noon. (FTWM) dun have this luxury.. boohooo..

Let me share my bfg experiences and I hope mummies here will be motivated because I've BTDT, so can you.

dd1
My supply was miserable, can only get 3 - 4oz of ebm. I pump diligently every 3 hourly just to make sure I have enough for her. Even during weekends, I pump so I can freeze as stash. As I was doing a regional job, I had to travel. Lucky thing was, after I returned from maternity leave, there's a change in region and I'm in charge of Msia. I have to visit Msia every other month for exhibitions, press launches, roadshows and seminars. To cut cost, we travel by coach. I had to pump and dump as I can't possibly bring my ebm back (I can if I want to but that means I'll have to bring a really big luggage to store my cooler bag and ice bricks). During this period, dd took the frozen stash.

ds2
Supply was abundant and I need to pump to relieve engorgement. I try not to pump so much in the office but still can't tahan, needs to pump 4x in office. Fortunately, we have a proper nursing room in the office and I'm able to bring my laptop there to do my work while expressing. However, the country I'm handling has changed again and I'm in charge of Singapore. I do need to go out for site visits/meetings at least twice a week and for every trip, I need to lug my pump, milk bottle and cooler bag. In addition, my boss is not too understanding (he's married but no kids). I get phone calls on Sat mornings from my boss and he'll expect me to go down on site to make sure issues are resolved. Many-a-times, if I can't get help (DH was also travelling then), I have to lug my kids with me to "work". Often, these issues can be resolved with a few phone calls but my boss wants me to go down personally to solve problems.

dd3
I'm glad I'm a sahm now and there's no need to worry about pumping.

hi melissa, ya, I am still tbf now. but supply dipping also. Initally after 5 to 6 hrs, can get about 8oz...now only about 5 to 7 oz.... =( my bkup supply in freezer getting lesser and lesser cos my dear rayne drinking about 6 oz every 3 to 4 hrly. Midnight, I still latch...but I realise nowsaday she dun really like to latch...will make those puking sound at times...so sad...

boon,
me same as u. have a huge quarrel with my DH tody. but not becos of seat belt. it's more of a taking care of my DS at nite. i wan him to take up duty like cleanup DS b4 last feed and bedtime.. and he said that he's doing tons of things already and refused to do wat i request. i so fedup and tell him to go home to his mom and be his mom mommy boy.. and he got fired up and do his dangerous stunt agn.. DRIVE FAST FAST! damn sian of this act liao.. wanna tell him"u wanna die, u let me get dn the car first."
have not been talking to him and will not be sleeping in bed with him tonite. i give up liao.. forever like tat. sometime when he in the wrong, i will nv hear the word "sorry" from him.. jus pretend things din happen and smile smile to me and tot that i can forget abt it..

i dunno why this is happening.. ever since my DS is born. our relationship turn worst. somemore i oso quite fedup with my IL. always come to our pl w/o notice. jus use the keys given by my DH and come as they wan. step into our bedrm as they wan. they nv knw wat is call privacy. i tell my hubby. but he nv will tell his parents abt wat i wan call "privacy". SIGH~

bb pink

i think u r in the rite, i ever seen a news in Malaysia, there was a car accident, all the adults in the car were dead left a bb who r safe, thank's to bb safety car sit.

milk supply

sometimes up sometimes down, i have my supply down when i recovered from fever, melissa is rite, not enought sleep also will effect supply. My maid said must eat full full then supply will increase, tats true also. eat, sleep, rest and latch...i feel like a pig...hehehhehe

redtea,

ai yo, vr dangerous leh...my hub did the same thing last time. i think must control, if want to quarrel better off the car.

Went to the Taka Baby fair yesterday. Quite a lot of baby necessaties and toys.

abc
which site did u order the exersaucers from? I would like to take a look. Thanks.

kate,
me very stupid one la, wanna choose this kind of situation to start a quarrel. nxt time will zipped b4 a quarrel start. then will not hai zhi ji and other road users.

couple quarrel
I had my fair share of quarrels with my hubb since bb was born. a couple of times I was so angry with him tt I want to walk out on him. the stress n tiredness of taking care of nb ate into both of us. at the same time I can be frus with my hubby coz as a man, he doesn't hv the maternal instinct unlike us women n naturally not v detailed too. all these adds up... now my hubb helps out more after he realised how much I hv done for the bb n him n of coz brainwashing helps to play a role. ;)

aly, yr boss let down women's name. as a woman, its v insensitive of her to pass such comments.

Jerejoy,
Hope that you are more relaxed now. Jus take it easy ok? Think that its all worth it at the end of the day for your boy.

On the other hand, you might wanna observe and see if he is not comfy. My boy was cranky day n nite for a week about one n half months ago. Then he turn out to be he was coming down wif a flu n cough. Hope your boy will be ok though.

NB vs 5mths plus,
really miss the small cuddling bb on my hand when he is a NB.... But then again, my boy is equally cute now too!
Jus to share wif you guys...

1639349.jpg
One day old

Verus

1639350.jpg
5mth plus

RedTay,
ohhh.... you better dun anger your hb when in the car. You life &amp; YOUR BB life is previous hor!
Like Clover says, man needs brainwash. My hubby is one good example of papa's n mama's boy. Dunno how to help up at all initially. I find that sa jiao works better than head on confrontation. :p

Saluate to FTWM!!! Its really not easy esp you are breastfeeding as well. Yup! Its abc who die die wanna breastfeed her boy to 2 yrs old.

Oh, btw, let's all send our best wishes to abc cos her son is hospitalised. Not sure why but she returned my msg jus now n tell me tat her son is in hospital.

Andrea WILL BE FINE OK, abc!

Andrae is hospitalized because fever hovering between 37.5 and 39. After taking med, wouldnt come down. Alot phelgm, cough, flu, sore throat. Pd diagnosed that he is borderline between pneunomia and brochitis..
But his fever now ok already and abc in hosp accompanying him so questions to abc she might not reply now.

she also very stress bah.. Anyway think andrae recovering soon!

clover and yu tong,
can teach me hoe to wash his brain anot.. i jus wan him to do a simple duty and he like thinking i m pushing responsiblity to him. he always think that he work and drive 1hr home is tiring. but i have to work too. and i have to do tons of things w/o asking(automode). but i always have to tell him this and tat have not been done. etc. when he have time he would rather sit at the sofa and watch tv. and i was like either doing laundry or cleaning here and there. oh, and he always used the execuse of i cannot cook still wan him to do so many things. piangz..

abc,
hope ur son have a speedy recovery.

Evenflo Exersaucer
The models selling @ Taka are Mega Farmyard @ $199 (which will be out in today's newspaper ad) and Triple Fun @ $349.

I'm currently talking to Evenflo to organise a spree but as this shipment is coming directly from USA, I'm not sure how long it'll take. Probably 3 - 4 weeks on order submission. And not forgetting, the MOQ given to me is 30 sets! Don't know if I can achieve this qty but I hope can. Else, I'll just buy from Taka since the fair is until 24 Aug. I still have 1 week to consolidate orders.

Discount structure is based on Suggested Retail Price. I do not know how much is the SRP in Singapore. Take for eg the Farmyard, $199 is the discounted price, not SRP. I'm not sure how much savings we'll have if we get it from Evenflo directly. But do check out the posting at OVERSEAS SPREE for updates. I'll periodically update here if time permits.

RedTea
i am like ur hubby hahaha.. sit and watch tv... and my hubby does all the other job.. from cooking to household chore. i just latch, feed and play with them.. hehee.. (Recently)
When i on maternity, i do everything myself lah.. but since i come back work, he does everything cause he say i very tired.. so he do more things liao..

Not trying to portrait a good house husband lah.. but sometimes seeing u ladies, i will feel guilty..

Adeline,
I think you younger, more prettier and more "manja" that's why hubby will give in to you easily bah! Not like me, old hag! Hahaha. But then again, my hubby is one of the best in the world too. He has gone through 5 miscarriages prior and has become the best daddy in the world. He's very supportive and very attentive to my girls. Maybe b'cos he really cannot bear to see me hurting so much and yet trying to put up a brave front for him. This is my light at the end of the tunnel lor.

Reena,
thanks for sharing your TBF experience with us. i'm so glad i don't have to travel but i did have to pump and throw once due to breast abscess. however i notice that our MS will differ according to baby yeah. i oso find that i have more MS for second baby compared to first. how i wish i can become SAHM for the third baby like you. then can learn to bake bread as well hahaa.

abc,
speedy recovery wishes for your Andrae!!!

yutong,
awww babies do grow very fast yeah.

redtea,
your IL is really super insensitive. it's already very rude to barge into pple's house like that, they even barge into your bedroom, haizz. i hate that to happen to me too. did u talk to ur hubby about it? if u dowan them to go into your room, u have to put bb outside. that's why i spread mattress outside my room or move my bb's bassinet outside the room, so they won't kaypoh into my messy room bah!

redtea: me same. in ur shoes.. only diff, we stay together. so MIL tend to invite *relatives* over to stay during wkends.. always kenna 1day notice.
recently, MIL's elder sis quarrel with her daughter. so hb's aunt will be staying with us until god knows when...
then uncle coming ltr today.. cause he n his wife gg through divorce soon. so come over to *su ku*...
faintz..

melissa: sometimes cannot de.. if baby is always outside, i wun have chance to feed him in peace. *my case*
+ my rm have aircon. living room dun. everytime after mil carry him, she'll return a super sticky n cranky boy to me...

Baby tension
hb told me.. ever since my boy is born, we've been quarrelling every other day..
either with my MIL, or with him.
MIL regarding baby caring methods
Hb regarding coaxing baby - whose turn..

I dun have the luxury of asking hb to wake up to cuddle ryan. simple reason given to me is that he has to work the next day and i don't.
this reason is the only reason stopping me frm kicking him off the bed when ryan cries.
i have immed response to ryan's cries as i can't afford to wake my hb up.
happy hb = happy wife..

abc: hope andrae recovers soon and can go home. take care n dun stress urself.

I also attend to kath and kim immediately after they kick a fuss ma..
Cause my hubby do so many things.. night time i will do my part lor.. so it's like he day.. i night.. when he nt ard during weekends.. simple.. I DIE LOR...
Then when he come back from work.. he will yell 'WHY THINGS ALL OVER''.. and start packing.. bo bian liao hahahahahah..

Melissa
Young yes.. manja yes.. pretty??????????? NO NO NO!
My hubby say i super aunty liao .. fine.. aunty aunty lor.. through this few years lah.. bo bian.. our daddy is the best liao hor.. hahahaha..