(2008/03) March 2008

isabellali: yes i got the small bear - so cute! can squeak! im actually quite blur about FM, so since i hv similac and nan2 now, i'll prob try them both for baby next time

aly: no, both tins not opened yet! cos baby still tbf, prob will start one feed of FM when he's 6 mths.... dun want to delay FM too long also, cos i heard of some cases where babies get so used to BM that they reject FM! wahh like that how? gotta keep feeding BM? heeheee i also dunno lah, will check with my paeds first to see what she says
is yr baby tbf too? you got frozen ebm to standby? once yr frozen supply builds up less to worry

isabella, even the bao skin also had added seasoning (shld be sugar) into it leh.

shirley, love the photo! can u please email me the pic?

aly
opps..No form class.. no CCA.

FL
dun worry abt the timetable... jus start with rice cereal... finish yr one pack then decide. For me i am very strict on wat my kids eat unilt the age of 2.5-3. Even now i still bring home cook food out for her meals...

To me.. i prefer my child eat bland food initally. cos watever after tat is consider delicious to them. i am nt very adventurous abt food. prefer to gv them as tasteless as possible esp when young.. anyway my gal is not fussy abt food. In fact she eats everything nw. Anyway most healthy food r tasteless anyway. hahaha

For me i am giving plain rice cereal. Will finish one pack of plain rice cereal before deciding wither to add any puree. heehee... remember key word here is bland... hahaha... think my children nt so fortunate as others... but hor.. my gal (real life eg la) turns out she dun eat sweets and soft drinks... so i guess i achieve my aim!

Thanks mummies for saying i am cute. all babies r cute la. But i think one thing Andrae definitely take over me is his complexion. he is consider very fair comparing to his jie jie

Hv not been in the thread for a week. Hv been so tired cos my boy keeps waking up every 1-1.5 hrs for the past one week! Put him to bed at 8.30pm, wakes up 9pm, 10pm, 11pm, 12am, etc,etc till 8am in the morning.

I really dun know wht's wrong with him.

sorry to intrude. i am from the feb thread.

abc's mummy,
u r on full load right? read that u broke down. do u find it very hard to cope? i am on full-time teaching load too. find myself very inefficient these days. no time to prepare lessons etc. even my HOD commented on my deteriorating performance. sigh... r we expected to perform very well not long after our ML? aren't we supposed to be given a chance to learn to cope haiz... sorry for venting my frustrations here...

isabellali: good morning! wahhh you sound so chirpy ;p

jerejoy: hi hi! poor girl - you must be exhausted!!! *sayang* was yr boy too over-simulated in the day? did he nap well in the day? i find that when my boy naps well in the day he tends to be more rested and sleeps well at night... otherwise, maybe yr caffeine intake for the day was high?

jus found that amazon got sell oso.

abc, u ordering exersuacer agn for the rest of the mommies? if yes, can tong bang?

i got a pass dn exersaucer, but the toys are missing.

alethea&belle, agapebaby,

He has 2 naps in the day time. One in the morning and one in the afternoon. Abt 1 hr plus each. He started his one hr waking up since last Thurs. He will wake up after 0.5 to 1 hr after I rock him to sleep. I notice that he will wake up when he's sleeping on his back afte an hr or so. I tried to shift him to his side but he will still turn back.

I put on pillow to block him from turning back, he also cries. Sometimes, I can pat him and he will go back to sleep but will wake up in half an hr or one hr. Sometimes, he wants milk. It's hard to catch wht he wants.

Haiz! Haiz! I'm gg to die from lack of sleep and depression soon.

Hihi isabellali, Melissa and #2 & abc's mummy,

Thank you so much for the advices!!!

Ya, I think I am too KS lah…totally agree with abc, as bland as possible. The grandchildren over at my MIL side always have 麦芽糖 & ice cream (at nite somemore!) and my FIL always feed them fatty meat. When I was pregnant last year, I saw my Fil feeding one of the kids with three pieces of fats… I was shocked and he can somemore tell me next time he will feed my gal with these too. Wow kau… I will never allow that!

Luckily she is overloaded with 3 grandchildren if not my hb (old brain) sure insist MIL to look after our baby. Phew~

jerejoy
aiyo.. then today u must rest well when ur boy is sleepng le..

Food
I have no say over the type of food my aunty feed my girl and since she looks after me when I am a baby as well as all my niece, nephew.. since already 30 years of nanny exp, i trust that she knows what my kids need best..
She cooks for them lah.. never use msg, soya sauce or salt.. but when bring them out, will feed them things like mash potato (not even 1 year old but already know how to eat) So i just let her be lor..

jerejoy,
get him a jumperoo and let him jump till tired and knock out. hee..

Philips Carnival sale is here again on 23-24 Aug, from 9.30am to 6pm

Adeline,

ya, i will sleep whenever he naps but he always wakes up crying. I don't know why. but he will stop crying when I pick him up.

Redtea,

Bought him the jumperoo. He doesn't stay in there for more than 15 mins. Sigh!

Paging for Clover
Yes, i just reached KL a few days ago. Manz so busy and tired. U coming to kl this week. Pm me ur contact and ur details. Im sure u got ur lodging babe since today is like thurs. If not, let me know. I pm u my msia hp and spore number. Maybe we can meet up with our bb and hb for makan or yaking or shopping!

jerejoy
so chiam! im sure u must be exhausted!!!

the commonest cause of frequent night wakings is hunger.
i try to make him as comfortable as possible 1st: ie bedtime routine, make sure his nose not stuffy, room not too hot or cold, pyjamas not restricting his night movements, diaper is dry etc.
Then before sleeping i feed him as much as i can, feed until boobs all squashed out and emptied. Even if he wakes up within the 1st 2 hours of bedtime i assume he didn't get enough at bedtime feed, and i feed again till my boobs emptied again. Surprisingly this will let him sleep better.
No matter what sleep training method u use, it will take time to train and not all methods will work for all babies.
And i believe if baby cries, there's a reason. I would hate to use the CIO method and i would not recommend it. Try Elizabeth Pantley's book the No Cry Sleep Solution. Non-CIO methods will take a longer time, and usually the nights get worse during the training period before it becomes better.

adeline
i think a cup a day is acceptable. I also have regular caffine, but at most a cup a day. my boy doesn't seem to be affected by this one cup.
btw, tea has more caffine than coffee!

<font size="+2">Synchronised Breastfeeding Event</font>
Anyone else is interested in the breastfeeding even at Suntec next Sat 23rd August?!!
Please add your name to the list and PM me your nick+real name and phone no k? tks!!!

Details
Breastfeeding. Is it for me?
Date: 23 Aug 2008 Saturday
Time: 2.30-4pm (Synchronised Breastfeeding starts at 4pm)
Venue: Suntec City Convention
Cost: Free! With Free goodie bag worth $50 provided!

More details: Mary/Shan 62588816

There will also be talks and Q&amp;A sessions, including:
1. Help! I don't have enough milk! Overcoming common problems in breastfeeding. By Sister Kang, Lactation Consultant, Mt Alvernia.
2. Working and Breastfeeding: Is it possible? By Mrs Wong Boh Boi, Senior Parent Craft/ Lactation Consultant
3. The Role of the father in Breastfeeding. By Mr Edwin Choy, Centre of Fathering.

Organised by:
aLife, Anmun, mCYS, Centre of Fathering and Singapore Planned Parenthood Association.

Interested mommies:
1. abc
2. belle mommy
3. Adeline Sia*
4. Kate Chow
5. Petrina Goh
6. Angeline*
7. Clover
8. Lingyee*
9. Aly
10. Petrina wys
11. Babypink

* I will need your nick/name/hp no to help u sign up, pls PM me your details! =)
Anyone else interested in participating just add your name to the list and pm me ur details, tks! Pls support breastfeeding! spread the word to all mommies! partial BF also welcome! =)

Redtea,

I tried once on the CIO method. He cried 45 mins non stop till he vomitted. then another half an hr after I carried him. Heart pain.. Dun dare to try it again... Maybe I will if I really can't take it anymore..

Pancake,

v exhausted. Nearly broke into tears last night.. I really feel I'm a failure.. Thanks for yr advice. Will try feeding him lots n lots before letting him sleep.

Thanks ladies for yr listening 'ears'. Need to vent out, if nt I will go crazy soon.

bx
yes it is hard to cope esp when i hv 2 kids and i have a super demanding boss. So next yr i am goign on 3/4 load

jerejoy
he may be undergoing a growth spurt. U got to calm down ok cos bf bb r very sensitive to our emotions. :) Jia you!

clover/jerejoy
my boy has also not been sleeping well . since last week waking up every 2 hr or less. Initally is he woke up cos hunger i guess. Thus i started feeding him solid. Since tues he develop a cough. That makes it worse in his slp at night. yesterday develop mild fever.. super cranky. dun wan drink milk cos sore throat or phelgm... i had to express... anyway wish me luck... gona rush deadines too.

Pampers comfort vs pampers active
i still prefer pampers confort! Pampers active doesnt last thru the night for Andrae... Anyone still has pampers comfort L to let go?

abc, my boy wakes up every 3-4 hrs for feed. perhaps his appetite has increased, but i will still continue bf him till 6mths, then start him on some solid. 1.5mths to go~

he will complain v loudly if i put him down on bed, cot or playmat. he wants to be carried n view things. a carrier helps somewhat but carry long time also tiring. plus i sprained my back lightly. i stood on one leg while he's in the carrier. so silly of me! he's 7.35kg this monday.

jerejoy: *pat pat* good that you're venting out here. all of us are in it together and we'll support you emotionally. just try to catch more naps in the day and im sure you'll ride out this storm. Hang in there!

pancake/adeline: im v strict on my caffeine intake - my sister didn't really control her caffeine intake and i think her boy's really active because of that. but i still allow myself one can of diet coke these days - i cannot NOT drink my diet coke!!

starting solids
i know a lot of mommies are excited about their babies starting solids, but im feeling v bittersweet about it. Like my baby's growing up so fast! he's eating now! soon he doesn't just need to rely on my BM anymore! i just think of how he now still depends on me to feed him but soon he's going to wean himself off, i feel kinda sad
any mommmies feel the same?

clover
i think 3-4 hr feed is normal ley. My boy normal days is wake up 3-4 hrly but yesterday i think sick plus exhaustion he din really wake up. But i cannot tahan my breast so pull him up to fed him

abc, there was a period he only wakes up once for feed during nite time leh. after recovering from his cough, his night pattern changed. now if he wakes up for the 3rd time, i let my hubb take care coz i m too tired from the disrupted sleep n i must sleep.

Clover, abc, agapebaby,

Thanks for yr encouragements! abc, u are right. I really hv to calm my emotions. I'm pretty short tempered and hv simmer down cos of my boy. Maybe it's the lack of sleep that is driving me up the walls. It's hard on you too esp when yr boy falls sleep and u still hv to work. All of us hv our difficult times. Glad that we are all ard in this thread to support one another. If not, I really dun know wht to do... Thank you sooooo much ladies!

Clover,

My hubby is v bz at work recently but he will be on leave nx week to clear his leaves. Hopefully he can help me in the daytime. But my boy is a superglue. He cries non stop till I carry him. His daddy feels so upset sometimes. Haha!

agapebaby,

I know how u feel. I'm sort of happy and sad. Happy that he can start solid (maybe he can sleep longer) but sad that he doesn't need so much of my bm anymore. Time pass so fast. Our babies are gg to be 6 months soon. I really hope he can revert back to waking up 3-4 hrs rather than now.. Dun know when this will end.... Hanging on there..

Jerejoy,

Jiayou! It must be real tough on you. I know what it's like cos my babies wake up at diff hours which equates to almost every hour or 2 for me. Good days I get 3hours. But at least mine is diff baby so I am not so frustrated but if it is the same baby I get frustrated easily also. So press on! Remember to eat well also so you can cope better during this stressful period. My coping mechanism quite bad - I will eat Kit Kat or cake or cookie or drink Coke when I get frustrated. But then I realise I do not vent frustration on baby after that, hehehee...

This too shall pass...

i kinda miss the smallness of my baby when he was new born. now when i see nb on the street, i will take extra peeks or even talk to the mother. haha!

lefty,

Wow! I really admire u! 3 hrs of sleep thru the day and every day. It's very tough on u too.

Melissa, Clover,

Thanks for yr encouragement. Will persevere!

I realised my boy wants to be carried everytime he cries. I put him to bed at 9.30pm, woke up at 10pm. gave him milk, went back to sleep at 10.15pm. Then cries at 10.30pm, carried him and he went back to sleep, woke up again at 10.45pm, carried him again. Then woke up again at 11pm. I think he just want to be carried. Any mummy facing the same situation? Wht shld I do? Will this continue on for months? I'm counting how many times he's waking up. Till this moment, it's 4 times. More to come....

clover: yah! i miss the babyness of my boy! i saw him sleeping in his cot yesterday and was thinking he used to be so tiny in the cot! ;p oh yeah nowadays i also look at other babies and go "oooh so tiny so cute!"

i just saw bb tommy's new teeth this morning!! yes they do grow up so fast!! boo hoo, me too miss my small little baby but i know they get to be more and more fun the older they get
these days chelsea can play hide-n-seek and card games etc...look forward to the day when we go shopping together and get our nails done hahaha

ahaa we have the first baby teeth reported in the March board!!!

congrats Adeline Loo!! Hahahaa..

i'm not waiting. the teeth can take its time. still latching... LOL.

AdelineK,
Hahaha u and me see the same thing everyday. One baby, one giant. LOL. cute rite!

melissa
me too also have one giant what...chelsea is now 16kg! :p and bb tommy in his 4 mth check up is 7.6kg and 68cm....only gained about 700g last mth...dun know why his growth slowed down but PD said 900g is the average so 700g is still not too bad

Adeline,

yr boy is in a gd size.. My boy at his 4th month check up only 7kg and 63 cm. As he has not been sleeping well, his weight after 2 weeks later only 7.1kg... Even my milk supply has dropped. Tried pumping just now and there's only a pathetic 80 ml... Faint!

isabellali
no lah, he's quite a happy baby, usually smiling and loves to play....he does get upset with his toys though! give him teething toys or put him in his walker and he tries to bite the toys there frustrates him sooo much even on those he manages to put in his mouth :p sometimes i put him in his playpen with no toys except his blankies and he's so much calmer....so also dun know to give him toys or not???

jerejoy
bb tommy starts off being a big baby mah but to see if a baby is healthy, usually look at the weight gain and not just total weight so he's a bit slower than average in term of weight gain

his appetite has picked up these past 2 days though so we shall see...now drinking about 150ml every 3-4 hours

previously i was totally latching and not pumping at all but i just recently weaned him cos i need to take regular medicine that is not BF friendly
it's reallly saaaad though and i really miss BF and i think he does too cos even now, he still search for my breast and likes to snooze with his head tucked between my breast and my shoulder...but he has no problem taking bottles too

Adeline L,

It's a no choice thingy. Don't be too sad. Most imptly yr boy and u are healthy. I told my hubby abt my low supply and he asked me to supply with FM. So pissed off... Already v sad and still rubbing salt into my wound.

agapebaby
hehe, ur weakness also ?
sometimes even after dinner at suntec, i still dabao the cheesy m for supper

Jerejoy
For Kyzac, it is hunger tat keeps him awake. I used to feed him from breasts at nite. Now the last feeds at 10 plus pm or 11 plus pm, we used a lot of expressed milk ( compliments of pancake) or formula. he can sleep at least 5 hrs

hehe, my life has changed since then..i believe urs will also..good luck !

AdelineL
it is always my dream to go shopping with my gal, holding her hands..
actually at 2 years old, can achieve tat liao
hehe..just tat after walking too much, she will look for a place to sit, &amp; refuses to get up..haha
dun be sad abt weaning off, no choice mah

jerejoy

hehe, my hb has been saying tat since 2006..i was very pissed as well; but unfortuantely, he is right

i tried my best to TBF and my supply is not possible but i take comfort that i try to breastfeed him whenever i m physically around ..cos wat i expressed in office is not enough even for 1 feed

i comfort myself tat it is the best of all worlds, can get nutrients from BM, FM and both hb and me can sleep longer as well

of cos if i have a lot of BM to TBF tat will be the best, if not, changing my mentality helps too :p

bbpink,

Thanks! Maybe u are right. I tried giving ebm today and he seems to be sleeping slightly longer. He last woke up at 11am. Now still sleeping (it's 12.30am) at my side now... But I seem to hv a low supply recently. Maybe that's the reason why he's so fussy at night...Still trying to find the real cause.

Pancake,

Hpw do u keep yr supply up? So envy....The most that I can pump out last time is 150 ml. When do u pump out yr milk? After feed or b4 feed? I pump out only once in the night time. Maybe not the right time when I'm tired and the supply is lowest in the night time?