(2008/03) March 2008

anchorvale community club

i stay very near the new community club but have not used the facilities before ..keke...the swimming pool is outdoor i think with water slides... it's nearer to jalan kayu side..

Agapebaby
I'm feeding him Heinz rice cereal. Read somewhere that we need to intro each food at a time so we know which food they are allergic to/prefer. Bought Heinz pear and apple as well. Will try giving him once he learns to take in a bit thicker mixture. So far so good

Shaz
Nice pics. There's something btw animals and babies ah...i hv frens who hv dogs and cats and they tell the nicest stories of their pets and their babies. It's as if the animals like them so much and know they are babies. Cute huh?

I stopped BF during my 4 mths + as my boy started playing. I really suck at pumping and nothing comes out. Should hv invested in automatic pump.*regret* But when I pinch there is still milk. Even till now after 1 mth plus. Any suggestions what I can do? Is it harmful if we leave the milk in the breasts?

<font color="aa00aa">Liyun:</font> ahboon = mummy lah. so now u noe y i m so sad on the flabby tummy...

actually had massage too..manage to purge the water in tummy n thigh n arms. did slim down <font color="ff0000">THEN</font>. but think when i was desperate to boost supply, i ate <font color="ff0000">TOO muchy</font>.. everything came back again.. think is the binding that helps to curb tummy. no binding = big tummy again

<font color="aa00aa">babyheng:</font> welcome!
kao_welcome.gif
i like tristan with penguin photo. veri cute. tristan is boy or gal huh? sorry veri suagu.

N i like your dog!

<font color="aa00aa">Re:milk ss</font>
my supply also dropping.. drop from 5oz to ~3-4oz. onli morning session get the most ~6-7oz coz din pump at nite.. will probably eat more fenugreek to boost supply again.

reaching 6th mth milestone in ~2weeks time!!
but i hope to last 1yr if possible. but work is getting more n more demanding..so also dunno if can last..

bubble

it's at anchorvale road..the most prominent landmark is sengkang methodist church which is across the street...ermmm...it's in the vicinity of nan chiau pri sch (but not that near) hope it helps!

weight :

i still have 6 kg to lose ... sigh... it still a long way... guess i had put on too much weight during my 1st pregnacy though i have lost all my pregnancy weight (14kg) for my 2nd pregnancy.. even today i still wearing maternity bottom... i cant wear my old clothes.... sigh sigh guess i almost wanted to give up hope of getting back the old weight...

hi ladies, u may want to consider to buy this book- healthy sleep habits, happy child by dr.weissbluth ... very good book, i still reading

i m still TBF, but demand is getting more than supply now.
i really can't find time to pump and still finish my marking.
I have to bring my work into the changing room to pump and mark at the same time.
so the letdown is nt so gd too. thinking of work instead of my baby. i think once my gal reaches 24 weeks this saturday, i will supplement with formula.
I got a call from similac that day, now waiting for similac to send me a free sample tin. (for 6mths n abv)

Hi abcmummy

I have made the transfer of $106.43 to you via UOB for the jumperoo that Belle's mum ordered from you on my behalf. The transaction no is 100001053430657. Thanks for your help!

abc,
u wanna tbf until all the way ah? then solids ley? i'm not going to pressure myself to tbf all the way to 2 yrs old. but i will continue to latch whenever possible. will introduce rice cereal at 6 months and BM all the way. i wonder if there's anyone who totally BM till 2 yrs with absolutely no solids. is there such person? can't imagine the amount of milk mommy has to carry!

yasmin,
haha u sound like a walking fridge. wanna keep it in? wanna express it out? lol. just dun think about it lah. u wanna wean, just forget about the BM. yes u will still have milk if u press, but of course, if u try to express, u will get a pathetic amount. for me it takes like 2-3 months for the milk to completely go away. dun blame it on the pumping lah. automatic pumping doesn't make that much difference. i had both, but i prefer the manual one now. been using it faithfully for 1 yr plus already.

aly,
how u get the similac sample tin? i already received Dumex Mamil Gold and Enfapro. dunno how to contact Similac. how u get yours? my terror two is on Similac all the way. now Gain IQ oredi. Next year can upgrade to Gain IQ Kids (cheaper hehe). whoa time really flies.

Melissa
katechow was jus sayig her maid did tat. hahhaa... yea i had introduce rice cereal to him le. but only once a day. Will still gv him solids and bm la. Tat wat i mean. i am not the kind who would not introduce solid but jus to tbf. He will nt hv enough nutrition lor. BB below 1 yr depends on milk.. yes tat their main food. Above 1 yr it depends on solids already.

abc,
what?? u mean katechow's maid tbf with no solids all the way?? i must've missed that post! how did the kid grow up? ok or not? i have the same opinion as you. after 1 yr old depends on solid to get their nutrients already.

The N0-Cry Sleep Solution lady has a website http://www.pantley.com/elizabeth/
also recommended by one of the mums in the twins/triplets forumboard. From what's in the website is good enough to brainwash me.... must change my expectations rather than must change/train baby. Heheheee...

hehe
even their expressions look alike! but think didi's eyes bigger

3/4 load
i feel that taking on part time quite bo-hua, at least in my sch cos the workload does not always correspond to the decrease in pay...
i'm thinking of npl as my baby kept on falling sick in infant care and not keen to get a nanny...sigh... i'm in a fix...

abc,
the nose and mouth looks alike. so cute.

sigh~ my poor friend give birth to her gal premature at 26wks+. can i give her my bm? goimg to visit her tmr.

red tea, yr bm constitution is not suitable for the premature bb... NB needs colostrum and bm after 3mths has less antibodies which young babies need... correct me if i m wrong.

redtea,
hope your friend's bb is well. better let her give her own bm b'cos it has special immunities for her own baby. your BM is suitable for march bb leh. that's the magic of BM, it's custom-made for our own bb.

abc,
what am i looking at ah? the 2nd set looks similar liao.

thanks. clover and Melissa, that wat i think too. then i will contribute my electric pump to her. and will give her alot of tips to boost her supply up. it's so heartache to see a bb with tubes..

melissa

u r looking at sister arielene and her didi Andrae :p

abc

2nd one is so alike, esp the mouth ! 1st set Andrae's eyes are bigger

redtea

geez, 26 plus week is so early, how's the poor baby doing ?

belle_mommy

high* 5..but ur case is better, at least u lose all wt gain fr 2nd birth..i din
i conceive #2 when #1 is 9 months old but excess 6 kg din go away even 9 months after #1

1st child, i have excess 6 kg left all the way, i m now 8 kg heavier than my pre pregnancy wt

melissa: Me too!!! still tbf and my boy's going to be 6 mths in 3 week's time! im very proud of myself because i very nearly gave up bfing in the first week. I was crying everyday because of the engorgement and painful nipples - first time mom so i totally didn't know what to expect and what to do. Went to the gynae's to ask for the pill to stop bfing. Luckily my gynae talked to me and told me to really think thru it before i decide. So i think i've come a long way... from wanting to stop bfing in the 1st week to now bfing tll 6 mths and counting!!! *pat on my back* hehee

By the way for those who have issues about milk supply, i've been taking this supplement from vitakids called more milk plus. there's fenugreek in it as well and it does boost my supply. Can try!

abc: kudos for you wanting to bf till 2 years! and yr two kids look very alike leh! the expressions in the 2nd pic exactly the same!!

melissa: oh btw i also got a sample tine from similac already. a lady called me and then v efficient, within 2 days the sample tin was delivered to my house. maybe you can just call abbott directly and im sure they'll be more than happy to send you a sample tin

teaching:
oh for the teachers here, im doing 1/2 now, so it's half load half pay but i find that the work hrs and esp the marking is not equitable with the half pay that im getting - so twinklestars, im with you on that. but perhaps it's different for different schs.

abc

the second pix is very alike. so cute...

re: menses and supply
my supply has picked up... yahhhoooo hmmm same time as menses ending, last night the amt has decreased so i assume the menses is coming to an end.

agapebaby

jia you. *high 5* but lately with the decreasd supply and pressure at work thinking to stop... finally told my parents about my plan to stop end up got scolded.... haiz now will be bfing not coz of my bb but coz of my parents. :p hahah ok admitted just needed that extra push la.

Babypink

but i still overweight 6kg till today.. think i better started jogging. been stopped jogging for 2 weeks cos i was sick in fact i still coughing now... hee hee (my hb said it an excuse...)

agapebaby : how big the sample tine from similac ? can i have the no to call ? thks

Thanks everyone for the comments! Yes Andrae has bigger eyes. Later if i hv the time i will post up mummy and daddy bb photos too. Then u all hv a better guage!

More milk plus
I am taking goats rue rather than more milk plus. I got it from luckyvitamins which is almost $10 cheaper than from vitakids.

Jasmine
No menses yet ley. Good for u tat yr supply increase.

I woke up at 4am today... *yawn* My boy is unwell again! Coughin very badly...

3/4 load
twinklestar, apagebaby: for my sch 3.4 means no FT, no EEA, 4 day week. I am still requesting to take lower sec so half day for me. Really cannot take it anymore esp last 2 weeks. Broke down in school. Hahaha... apagebaby: 1/2 load.. wow... guess i am reallya dmirable (hahaha buay paiseh) tbf and now full load! Aly u too right? Jia you!

<font size="+2">Chicken pox vaccine requires booster shot, says CDC</font>

Fri, Aug 8, 2008 (HealthDay News) — When the vaccine against chicken pox was introduced in the United States in 1995, medical experts hoped it would be a one-shot deal, with a single injection about the time of a child's first birthday giving lifelong immunity.

Now, experts are learning that's not so. They've found that the protection from a single immunization fades over time, and that a booster shot is needed if you want your child to have the best chance at lifelong protection from chicken pox.

The experts reached that conclusion after examining 10 years of data and the effects of the vaccine on more than 11,000 people who got the shot between 1995 and 2004. Of those individuals, 9.5 percent, or 1,080, experienced so-called "breakthrough disease," researchers reported last year in the New England Journal of Medicine.

"The breakthrough was mild," said Dr. Robert Frenck Jr., a professor of pediatrics at Cincinnati Children's Hospital and a member of the American Academy of Pediatrics' committee on infectious diseases.

Chicken pox, which is caused by an infection by the varicella-zoster virus, typically starts as a rash on the face that spreads. The rash begins as red bumps that become blisters. Often a child can get hundreds of blisters, which crust over and fall off the body in a week or two.

The children who suffered "breakthrough" chicken pox typically got fewer lesions, Frenck said, perhaps 20 to 50. Still, schools and day-care centers would not welcome them back until the sores had dried or crusted, because the disease can spread easily from person to person.

Based on those findings, experts from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and elsewhere are now recommending that a second booster shot be given to children between 4 and 6 years of age.

There is some leeway in that schedule, said Dr. Anne Gershon, a professor of pediatrics at Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, in New York City.

"The booster can be given if [it has been] at least four weeks after the first dose," said Gershon, who is also president-elect of the Infectious Diseases Society of America. Or, it can be given years later, if necessary, she said.

According to the CDC, all children aged 12 months through 12 years old should have two doses of the vaccine. The first dose can be given at 12 to 15 months of age, and the second at 4 to 6 years. Older children, 13 and up, who haven't had the disease in childhood, can be given two doses four to eight weeks apart.

Some adults should consider the vaccine. Ask your health-care provider if you fall into that recommended group, which includes people who have never had the disease.

No vaccine is perfect, experts said.

In 2006, a combination vaccine that included not only chicken pox but measles, mumps, and rubella was licensed, cutting down on the number of shots needed. But that combination vaccine is not currently available in the United States, said Nalini Saligram, a spokeswoman for Merck &amp; Co., which makes it. But it is expected to be back in supply by 2009.

<font size="+2">Recalled: Fisher-Price pots and pans toy sets</font>

Fisher-Price has announced a recall of about 15,000 Learning Pots &amp; Pans toys in cooperation with the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC).

Missing screws in the blue toy pan can cause the clear plastic cover to come loose and release small balls, presenting a choking hazard to young children. Fisher-Price has received five reports of the plastic covers detaching and releasing the small balls. No injuries have been reported.

The recalled toy sets come with stackable pots and pans, a lid, and shape-sorting blocks. The toys have light and sound features that operate on three AA batteries. The model number G6685 is located on the bottom of the blue pan.

<font size="+2">Morning ladies! Wanted to ask again if anyone else is interested in the breastfeeding even at Suntec next Sat 23rd August?!! </font>

Please add your name to the list and PM me your nick+real name and phone no k? tks!!!

Details
Breastfeeding. Is it for me?
Date: 23 Aug 2008 Saturday
Time: 2.30-4pm (Synchronised Breastfeeding starts at 4pm)
Venue: Suntec City Convention
Cost: Free! With Free goodie bag worth $50 provided!

More details: Mary/Shan 62588816

There will also be talks and Q&amp;A sessions, including:
1. Help! I don't have enough milk! Overcoming common problems in breastfeeding. By Sister Kang, Lactation Consultant, Mt Alvernia.
2. Working and Breastfeeding: Is it possible? By Mrs Wong Boh Boi, Senior Parent Craft/ Lactation Consultant
3. The Role of the father in Breastfeeding. By Mr Edwin Choy, Centre of Fathering.

Organised by:
aLife, Anmun, mCYS, Centre of Fathering and Singapore Planned Parenthood Association.

Interested mommies:
1. abc
2. belle mommy
3. Adeline Sia
4. Kate Chow
5. Petrina Goh
6. Angeline
7. Clover
8. Lingyee
9. Aly
10. Petrina wys

Baby Rhys went for his follow up last evening. All is well, except that he's still quite phlegmy. DR prescribe some medicine for him. My baby have been refusing milk since 2 mths old.. Till now it's like more than 2 mths.. I'm thinking of switching milk powder to see if he wants it or not.. Recently, Abbott send me a can of 400g Similac, maybe I should let him try and see if he wants it or not.. MIL kept saying that it's alright if he doesn't wanna drink milk as he always finish up his bowl of cereal.. So it's like quite filling for him, that's why he doesn't wanna drink milk. But I'm just afraid that he will nt be getting enough nutrition if he continue rejectin milk.. Haiz~ Me so headache..

My 2 eldest also make me worry so much.. They are like so thin suddenly.. Think I gotta go get a bottle of Pediasure for them.. Many Drs said that pediasure can increase the weight of the kids.. Haiz~ Really headache..

<font color="0000ff">Yasmin</font> Yeahhh!
My dog is quite a boisterous and playful dog and will jump up and down incessantly. But with the baby, he's just so gentle and will just sit there licking the baby's feet as if he knows that the baby is fragile. Very very surprised, because prior to my pregnancy, everyone was worried that the dog cannot accept the baby etc. etc. Finally proved them wrong! The other day when a stranger wanted to touch my bb downstairs, the dog even stood in front of us with his fur all standing, guarding us like his prized possessions! Amazing.

<font color="0000ff">Boon</font> Thanks! I love those pictures too - the expressions all damn cartoon! Tristan is a boy and i like my dog too heheh!

<font color="0000ff">Lefthander77</font> Yeah, that book is really quite good! Even the website is pretty informative. It doesn't just offer you training methods, but tells you that patience is needed and different babies develop differently. Some babies readily accept training, but others simply aren't ready - we just have to accept it and try again later! So yes, we have to change or expectations because a "sleep problem" isn't a problem to the baby, but the parent!!! Haha! Her methods aim to gradually break bad habits in babies, which is what i like because i don't really want to do anything radical to the bb. My bb has done pretty well under the guidance of the book so i highly recommend this for any sleep-deprived parent! hehe!

Previously mention shipping for earth best oatmeal cereal is $1.50. Pls note that it is USD$1.50 x 1.45 = SGD$2.20 and the Happybellies is USD$3.20 x 1.45 = SGD$4.70. Please transfer to my posb savings 126491018.

So far i only have isabella's transfer. Isabella pls top up the balance. Don't worry it is still cheaper than buyig from singapore.

.6 pack convenient pack oatmeal. 3oz per box. Great for traveling.
http://www.amazon.com/Earths-Best-Oatmeal-Cereal-3-Ounce/dp/B000ER1EMC/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&amp;s=grocery&amp;qid=1216565457&amp;sr=1-3

Per box is USD$2.43 = SGD$3.50( Excl. shipping frm us to sg)
1. abcdisney (paid)
2. abcdisney (paid)
4. isabella (paid)
5.isabella (paid)
6. clover (paid)
7. clover (paid)
8. simp (paid)
9. Ivy (paid)
11. crystal (paid)
12. YT (paid)
13. adeline (paid)
14. shirley zac zac (paid)

4. HAPPYBELLIES oatmeal Cereal, Organic, Contains DHA and Probiotics, 7-Ounce Canisters
http://www.amazon.com/HAPPYBELLIES-Oatmeal-Contains-Probiotics-Containers/dp/B000YSS7EO/ref=pd_bxgy_gro_img_b

Per can is USD$4.19 = SGD$6( Excl. shipping frm us to sg)
1. abcdisney
2. kathy (paid)
3.ivy (paid)
4. crystal (paid)
5. summerdaze (paid)
6. adeline (paid)

Collection at admiralty
1. crystal (1HB, 1 EB)

collection at bishan
1. clover (2 EB)
2. kathy (1 HB) - paid
3. YT (1 EB)