(2008/03) March 2008

clover: isit? i haven't check. i'm gonna goggle for his clinic addy. i'll call them. thks.

pancake: ya. he can cry n drink at the same time.. nobody seems to be able to comfort him when he's crying.. cause i'm also in pain, so i get more irritable when he cries.
plus my mil keep saying because my milk too thin, so he need to drink more often..
i think i wan go crazy liao.

Pet
kat seen dr tan.. take cab every visit.. as long as u want him to recover.. there is nothing call FAR! our kids health is definitely more impt. Total i already spent $1k for kat's medical bill but worth it cause she recovered. Long waiting hours.. i trouble myself to take half day here and there, go aunty hse fetch her, bring her see doc, send her to aunty hse then back to my own hse.. i hardly rest.. i am tired yes but i see her recover it's worth it. And pls.. suction is for his own good. want him to recover? go for it.. i did it too and luckily i did it.. though it hurts to see him undergo that but think that it's for his own good. if he dun undergo suction, *touch wood* what if something mroe severe happen???? think of the best for ur kids and not for urself.. Far is not an excuse.. His health is way more impt then it.

thanks for abc for introducing Dr tan thats y kat could recover within 1 week! total she has been unwell for a month.

And.. Dr tan did tell me before some babies might get whooping cough easily.. which is quite serious..
So if he is coughing, flu and vomit for so long, pls bring him asap. Kat has the same symptom. Vomit, diarrhea, cough, flu and low grade fever on and off. Detected that it's RSV.. and i blame myself for dragging for 3 weeks then see doc. made her suffer so long cause she had very thick mucus and very block nose. RSV causes that.

piggy mummy
let him latch and take colic drop. Dentinox i think! it's very useful! hehehee.. we all understand hw stressful it is.. u will get over this stage soon! There are lots of SAHM here and they are total breast feeding.. you can do it.

adeline: i noe.. bad excuse.. cause i also kenna scolding frm hb for spending so much on ryan's medi bill. also 1 reason y i keep procrastinating. i juz called. i think they still lunching. will call again after 2pm. i also spent close to $1k already..

btw, is there any particular reason y my boy cries immed upon waking up? *still closing eyes*

pet, forgot to add that i think his nite clinic at HV is once a week. check with the asst hor.

piggy mum, i am also a sahm n i also cook lunch for myself most days. if u r tired, can try ordering in once in a while. i prefer to latch on my DS coz i dun need to wash n sterilise. till now, his latching is not that great n one side will still hurt a bit. jia you!!!

piggy mum,
I wd be taking care of my bb when i am in kl. Thinking of getting slow cooker, blender to make food. slow cooker so need to watch really as it would dry up so fast. For lunch, i am going to do mainly soupy stuff for lunch. Morning just dump the things i want to eat into the slow cooker and eat by lunch. No need to watch, then can handle bb/ Housework prob become secondary except the areas where my ger sleep. Dun stress urself too much k

abc mummy : Huh must refrain from eating so many food? U mean cannot drink milk ah? I tot drink fresh milk will produce more bm hahaaaa...(my mindset actuali)
Adeline : ya lor mi too now take longer time to get what i wanted. Usually i take ard 15mins only, now must ard 20-30mins lor...some more hand squeeze will get more, dunno is something wrong with the motor..
Piggy mummy : Dun give up okie? EBM is the same as latching on, cos as long as is bm i think is very good liao..Somemore u are SAHM, i know is not easy to be one...

Pet
Dr tan is in on monday night (if i am not wrong). It is jus opposite henry park pri sch. FOR THE SAKE OF YR SON, i will give u his number. Kinderclinic at holland 64653050. Kinderclinic at Mt A 64785925. Adeline says is RIGHT. What is FAR? U rather save on cab than to bring yr son to see a good doctor and get well.. and isnt u contradictiong yrself? U say u heartpain for him and yet u cant bear to bring him to see doctor. Btw i am not sure if u drive or maybe it could be yr sense of direction.. but Mt A is not far from holland. It is not as though asking u to go CHANGI!

Phelgm suction. U rather he pain once and feel better or continue to feel uncomfortable? 长痛不如短痛. I really duno what u really are thinking. For once u say u pity him and heartpain him. But then again i feel u r not doing anything and even say phelg suction is uncomfy and painful for him and ask u to bring him to see a good dr u wan to delay and say that Mt A is Far...

If tat the case FYI Adeline spend a BOMB on Dr Tan.. almost $1K. Also if he is still coughing n phelgm a good PD would hv suggested neubiliser already. The fact is that he/she didnt. What is the point of keep taking medicine when condition dun improve?

Anyway sorry for being so harsh but it is a FACT. I am saying cos i feel SORRY for yr son for having to suffer for so long where his mother can actually find a faster help for him.

Abc,
Happy to hear that pikkolo has arrived. Hmm let me see if i can try to pick up on sat/sun. Let u know again

Mummies : Is it too early to start solid food at 4mths ? Cos my mum wanna give my gal porridge lei..Is it ok a not ah?

Breastfeeding & Hunger
Yes, i must snack in the afternoon, b4 and after dinner. I ate instant noodle, biscuits, milo, cakes whatever is available, i eat. Now still left 8kg more to go. Down w 2 kg liao from 10 hee. Hmm i wonder whether i will be getting back y re-preggy days wt, maybe not. But nevermind lah, i alreadi have the ost beautiful thing in my life, besides my parents and hb

adeline...my son is too helpful and delay my pumping session and nearly spill my liquid gold..my mil can get heart attack ..lol

piggy..i think u give him ebm so u can rest..

my bb din suckle well at 1st..make me so tired..after i give ebm,things get better

Piggymum
if u can y dun u latch on. Dun nd to express.

Ecezma
yes hv to refrain from all these cos u duno what the child is allergy to. Once his ecezma clear up i will then slowly start eating those food and monitor. Another faster way is to go for skin scrap test.

venus
hahahahaa initially i still thinking 'wow! good that ur son can help' but think it's otherwise.. we all have helpful kids!

Petrina
haiz.. then ur hb is not concern about the kid at all if he scold u about medical bill. my hb so stingy and niao one.. but when comes to kat bill yes he stress but for kat's well being, it's the priority. but anyway.. the choice is urs.. we can only tell u how we feel. ultimately, u're his mom. u decide the best for him.

Pet
u spend $1k already n still u dun wan to switch PD? then i think u may jus hv to continue spending another $1k lor. Cos he doesnt get well.

U r insurance adviser u shld knw what to save wat to spend. I think it is very unwise of yr hb for scolding u abt the bill. This is something u shldnt save on. U rather save on $ for his health than to spend n get him recover? Havent u heard health is wealth?

Distance far? I think from holland one straight rd down is Mt A. So tat is not an excuse. I travel from woodlands to Mt A n Adeline travel from SK to Mt A. Our cab fare is definitely more than yours.

Anyway the choice is yours.

ENOUGH SAID!

petrina
how can your hb scold you for ryan's medical bills. sometimes this kind of things cannot save one. and i think the longer you drag, the higher the medical bills are incurred cuz uses different kinds of medication and equipments at different stages? might as well spend once and for all, though the bill might come up to be a huge amt, but better than keep dragging resulting to incur more.

suction is painful and terrible for the parents and the baby but it's only short term. but it can help to relieve his discomfort and gets better gradually instead being cranky everyday.

hope you choose the best solution for ryan.

piggymum,

Don't feel discouraged. U can do it! I was alone on my own when my bb was only 6 weeks old and my hubby had to go for some exercises for 2 weeks and my mum went back to Spore. I was alone in States with my bb and my dog . Had to cook my own meal, feed my dog and bb. Suffered from depression for the 1st 2 days and told myself to get out of it for the sake of my bb.

Keep telling yrself u can do it and I feel as mothers, our mental power are very strong. As for now, I enjoy doing all these chores and I take everything in my strike. Being a SAHM is not easy but its worthwhile being able to see every milestone of our bb. Jia you!

Brought my boy to see PD today. His right outer ear always has some dry scalps and I wet the cotton bud and clean it. Think I was too hard and there was blood stain on the cotton bud. Poor boy! He was crying due to the pain caused by me! My heart sank and called my hubby to come home to bring him to see the PD immediately.

PD checked and there's no infection. Feel so guilty and sad to cause pain to my boy.

abc
ur son very cute

aly
poor u ! hope u reover fast..the kind of flu with nose dripping endlessly is the worst.

venus
hehe, i used to be flower leg too ..haha, but now getting lazy and love to laze at home if i m not working

Pet
hope Ryan recover soon..1 plus month is rather long

Adeline/ Melissa
High* 5..i think now our elder kids are at the itchy hands stage

<font color="0000ff">Visit to PD</font>
after visiting the PD, there is nothing wrong with Kyzac not sleeping from midnite to 3 am
but the mum got a lecture fr the PD :p
to share the lecture..since i kena 60 plus bucks , so may as well share with ladies encountering the same prob..like that more worth =p it goes like this..

Me: my son has been awake and crying since birth, used to be from 10pm to 3am..now midnite to 3am..sometimes nothing we do seem to stop this..can it be UTI
<font color="0000ff">PD: what makes you say it is UTI</font>
Me: my friend said her son cried very hard and was discovered to have UTI..so i was thinking maybe my son has it
<font color="0000ff">PD: if ur son has it, he will be crying during the daytime also</font>
Me:hmm..then why he cried for so long, and sometimes cuddling, feeding him etc etc all dun work
<font color="0000ff">PD:some babies will grow out of this in 3 months, some longer, just be patient with him</font>
Me: But i have been patient for 3 plus months already
<font color="0000ff">PD: You need to be patient with ur son for a lifetime!for example: if he wants a cuddle , just go ahead and do so, watever the timing..next time u want to cuddle him, he may not want it also..</font>
Me *blushing*

adeline...u know the toddler pattern...wanted to be helpful..sometimes he will help me get didi's diaper which i must thank him for...

little things he did will prove to be helpful in long run..else dun help next time..worse

adeline
okok i miss you too and all of you !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

abc
soon i will bring her to find you since hb would be there most of the times. currently busy packing up the house!

abc,

Thanks for yr advice. I was using wet cotton bud all these while, no wonder, he was always in pain. Think the dirt is too 'hard', so I always hv to use extra strength. din know that it makes his ear bleed. Heart super pain when I saw the blood. Nearly want to cry out.

abc,
wow you so stern. scared liao! kekee.

petrina,
sometimes hubby don't always agree with me but i follow my maternal instinct and act on my own. i'm often right in the end. so some things cannot be compromised. we're more connected to our own babies then they are.

my Tricia just recovered from flu after 1.5 weeks. she has phlegm and mucus coming out of her nose, coughs a lot and cranky at nights. she didn't feed well too due to blocked nose. but i visited the PD early at the first sign of mucus coming out of her nose and i was lucky that she didnt' have bronchitis. i was told to elevate her sleeping position so i propped in big pillows in her sleeping bassinet. she's well now and has sleep through the night once again and feeding normally. it's important that we visit the PD earlier, not just for medicines but their advises as well.

babypink,
babies when sick are extra clingy rite?? my Tricia still wants me to carry her to sleep unlike when she's well. like my terror daughter, if babies are getting well, they will be extra clingy so i just follow their cue and sacrifice my time a bit. i know that when they get well, i can make up for the tiredness that i had bore. now that she's well i happy oredi lor.

Melissa
hahaha occupational hazard. No la.. cos her son has been sick for so long and yet still procrisinating. feel sorry for her son who has to suffer for so long lor.

My son been hving cough, flu last week too. Becos of tat i hv to delay his 2nd jab. Bring him to PD at once n even hv a dose of neubiliser. For my son , durin the period he is unwell, i feel so heartpain i hv to force medicine down his throat and nose. Thus i understand how a child feels lor.Now he has recovered but PD says hv to wait for a week after recovering then can go for jab.

jerejoy, same thing happ to my boy. i think coz we sleep in AC during night and makes his skin dry. it must be even drier in AZ. now i check his ear everyday, wash more carefully during his bath. if there's tough wax (if there's such a thing haha) i use j&amp;j baby oil. i alternate apply moisturising cream (little goat's canus brand) or the california baby calendula cream after his bath works for me!

pet, its not easy living on single income but bb's health is v impt. they are so young, and cant tell us how uncomfy they feel, so they can only cry lor. if bb is healthy n comfy, it makes our life as sahm easier. hope ryan gets well soon.

simp, forgot whether i told u in the forum. i will be making a road trip to kl/ipoh ard sep. will come n find u! pls bring me to good makan place! hahaha!

abc,
orrr my Tricia is due for jab tomorrow, should i reschedule? i feel that she's not 100% well yet, maybe 90% only kekeke. as for medicine, when she has to feed i will put on my stone cold heart to force feed her. b'cos i want to teach her that if you're sick, taking medicine is the only way to get well. i'm not teaching my daughters to be squeamish about medicine. so no sympathy is coming from me! hahahaaaa!

melissa
can understand ur position. My office here i m the 1st and only one to pump..
i tried to take 15 minutes..to empty breasts partially

Unique
yupz, very risky
bf as a contraceptive i heard is not true..getting pregnant accidentally now when our bb is only 3-4 months is no joke man =p

BF for working mums
Liyun, industrial estate must be tougher to pump, not like in office
I guess has to use the toilet liao.

Happymummy
i think can always try to latch on again
no harm trying
hehe..i prefer that to pumping

Jerejoy
hehe..i oso gain another kg ..same smae..mine is close to singapore midnite, urs is singapore morning ?
happy that there is no infection for Jervis
nevermind..we all learn lah..dun feel bad

Yutong
fruits for snacks ?
hehe i m eating 3 apples 2 oranges for fruit intake in Additional to my main 3 meals and otehr sinful snacks :p
sometimes eat half a watermelon too
i love to eat everything..haha
Oh yah, Post cereals the strawberry one very nice..can be bought from supermkts..

belle_mummy:
My baby if got wind in stomach tend to drink less milk as well... SO abit hard to judge. My mum got a "granny" formula to try (if anyone of u wana try, I've tried. it works for me)... If your baby had wind, hard to poo poo (those 2 days no poo poo), try this: Walk into the kitchen, take that bottle of sesame oil, and use that instead of ru yi you but do mix it with a little bit of baby powder. Don ask me "why" cos... from granny pass down one. Its a Last resort thingy.

chewwy:
They did ask but by then I already knew they seriously considering me. NOT that I am that good etc, its that cos I was intro by a friend of the boss, and that I happen to meet the "requirement" the boss is looking for. The only thing I don meet is that I am not from their industrial. So have to relearn, retrain...

BF-ing:
The industry I am going to is HEAVY. mainly surrounded by males, in dirty workshops... I already check out the toilet, which is like 1 small cubical share by afew ladies. Stuck inside for long periods doesnt seem nice. Also, need to learn so much from bottom, It doesnt reflect good at a new job as well. I can consider to wean cos at least, I touch the min 6 months of BF-ing I give myself. Plus, I took private studies... *DIE, overload myself* hahaha

Hungry:
I'm ALWAYS hungry

thank you mummy for the reply.. i feel better now, i will try my best..i hope i can do partial EBM and latching..hai...my boy impatient n always cry when latching and his hand n leg kick very hard during latching, see liao also heart pain..

EBM n frozen milk

now i only give my boy drink the milk which i express the day b4, think of giving away the frozen milk, coz heard that frozen nt as good as fresh milk. i bot medela pump, it state that milk inside fridge can last foe 7 days, but heard fr some mummy only 2 days, which is true?

Melissa
my girl is turning 4 mths and she have not had her 1st dose of jab yet as she was unwell! though she's better and recovering, PD asked me to bring her go jab only next week wor..

piggy mummy
i read that milk in fridge can be kept up to 8 days as well. but anyway i freeze all cause i scared not good lor.. drinking frozen EBM is better then drinking FM i suppose.. anyway my girl is drinking FM at night.. but i still latch her fully on weekends...

Bbpink,
The senior Pd very funny, i laughed when i read ur post kekeke.

Liyun,
Yes sesame oil works. My mum said she learnt from taiwan show. Put a drop on ur hand and rub clockwise on bb's stomach/navel surrounding area if bb got constipation. The next day can poo. Think i want to try on myself. Any mummy here finds that u r having constipation or only poo a few days once. last time i poo every day including preggy days. Now very bad, i poo like once every 2 and 3 days nia. There is another methd, steam sweet potato in the morning and mix with fresh milk with ice or w/o ice and drink in the morning, it aids to clean the digestive system, constipation, detox and maintain a slim figure. Yesterday i ate sweet potato soup dessert my mum made, today, can poo. Learn from the channel 8 hot mama show on mon or something like dat. If not usually if i take too spicy stuff, it will act as laxative for me and bb. Last resort lah. I have not try prune juice yet but dun know ok anot for bb. Now i still take in as much water as i can. If u have gd formula, let me know.

Clover,
Is it u r coming to KL/Ipoh in sep, w bb also? Ok let me know. I am coming back end sep for a concert and stay for a week as i have a friend's wedding to attend also. So am not ard in kl from 25 sep onwards. Early or mid sep, i am ard kekeke.

Wow.. One day never read forum, so many postings liao. Today is my 1st day back at work. So tiring. Pump 3 times in office just now. Was rushing like mad because cannot disappear for too long..

My boy recently keep moving his mouth like biting like that. Is it teething?? But he only 3 months...

Simp/Liyun
can't help smiling at ur posts abt sesame oil
if it works, no harm trying indeed

sweet potato is nice..but with milk i dun noe :p i love the japanese sweet potato..can be bot in mkts or supermarkets..very yummy

another alternative snack, yutong

mummyboy
3 months is possible..mine is salivating and keep puting eyes inside mouth
sometimes he oso moves his mouth teh way u describe