(2008/03) March 2008

Pamper Comfort,
yar... maybe i dunno how to wear properly but M seems too small. Anyway, anyone wans it let me know. I offering $10 per pack.

Abc's mummy : thanks for your compliments aso
...sometimes when she stare at mi is quite scary lor...

abc
my boy also standing- but not for fun. He always wants to stand to look around and enjoy the higher view! Even when getting into the bathtub!!! *faint*

hi little princess! welcome. =)

GATHERING:
my mom wants to cater a hi-tea for the gathering... any suggestions for caterer? or do you girls prefer potluck?

pancake

slightly better now ..sometimes he sleeps from 10pm to midnite..only a terror fr midnite to 3am

hopefully the midnite to 3am can improves to be happy sleeping baby ...haha

=================================
Gathering

either options i m fine

pancake
i amok. Let us knw the cost we split ok?

bb standing
i jus ask PD abt bb standing. They say it is actually gd for leg muscle. So clover, dun hv to worry liao. heehee... Another way to improve hand muscle is to hold thm up from the hand instead of arm. Tat to train neck muscle too.

yt if yr bb can still wear newborn or goon S should be ok for M. :)

bbpink,

u still going for massage? I want to also.. waiting to come back.. the one at parkway parade nx to isetan is pretty gd. I used to go there for massage. really can slim down without exercising. dun know the store still ard or nt...

bbpink,

Me too! I love pink color too. My hubby knows that I'm a pink freak and bought a keyboard protector for my laptop in pink color. Hehe!

Hi Littleprincesses ,

Welcome! My sis in law also has 3 kids. Nt easy to handle but she loves kids so much that she wants to hv another one again.

Anyone delivered in TMC? Today I looked at bb health booklet, it indicate G6PD ‘PRESENT’.
Any mummies have the same result for this?
Present, baby need special care?

pancake, i think catering is a welcome change. i find myself running out of ideas of wat to bring. btw, are u opening yr house or are we going to a function room? i will like to bring my bb to swim on that day.

abc, good to know. tks for asking the pd.
now i wan him to flip!

jerejoy, when u r back, can pass u the contact for my massage lady. appro $80/hr a session but she's very effective. she has this amazing technique of extracting water from the tummy area. after the first session, the tummy area will be reduced. i recommended her to abc and babe_dude. they both tried her too and are pleased with the result.

pancake,
the famous notion has always been that bottles are likely to make bb sleep through the night. my bb is latched directly every night and she sleeps through. u must be proud that ur bb prefers u better than the bottle. both my kids don't like bottles but if they're hungry, they'll take to it anyway. usually first day of working week, bb will struggle with the artificial nipple. luckily she never rejects it. she just takes longer to finish.

think my bb flipped already. i only notice when i lay her down on my bed, she slept at her side. now cannot leave her unattended at all.

anyone know Kiddy Palace storewide discount is until when huh?

So much posting.. cant go thru all..

yday brought kat to Pd and spent a bomb of almost $600.
she went for suction.. brought the phelgm for lab test and on neuberlizer (dunno hw to spell) and i'm sick last night for running about.. today MC.. then tml took leave to bring kat for review..

anyone wanan get avent spare parts? the valves, let down cushion? i have a set for sale @ $20..
can contact me @ 98553317.. wont be checking forum regularly..

Adeline K,
Wow so ex!!! My bb oso still got phlegm but has decreased over time. I've decided that if she didn't get well by one week (that's this thursday), I will bring her see PD again. My neighbourhood PD also very keen on using the nebulizer but her rate doesn't cost that much leh. B'cos I've been there for my first girl as well. At most $200+ only.

Melissa
cause we sent her phelgm for lab test to see if it's whooping cough.. the test alone is about $300..
+ the suction everything..
about 3 tests.. to check the bateria.. whooping cough and dunno what..
her cough and phelgm already 3 weeks.. and the PD say as kat is pre-vaccine.. so there are chances that she is being hit by a type of virus which often attack pre-vaccine babies..
i've no chance to bring her to take the vaccines because she has been sick for so long..
i seriously pray nothing serious.. the pd did mention that have to cure early if not later damage lungs.. however, gotta wait for the results 1st and see if it's normal cough or what..

The first stage of whooping cough is known as the catarrhal stage. In the catarrhal stage, which typically lasts from one to two weeks, an infected person has symptoms characteristic of an upper respiratory infection, including

* runny nose,
* sneezing,
* low-grade fever, or a
* mild, occasional cough, similar to the common cold.

The cough gradually becomes more severe, and after one to two weeks, the second stage begins. It is during the second stage (the paroxysmal stage) that the diagnosis of whooping cough usually is suspected. The second stage is characterized by

* Bursts (paroxysms) of coughing, or numerous rapid coughs, are apparently due to difficulty expelling thick mucus from the airways in the lungs. Bursts of coughing increase in frequency during the first one to two weeks, remain constant for two to three weeks, and then gradually begin to decrease in frequency.
* At the end of the bursts of rapid coughs, a long inspiratory effort (breathing in) is usually accompanied by a characteristic high-pitched "whoop."
* During an attack, the individual may become cyanotic (turn blue) from lack of oxygen.
* Children and young infants appear especially ill and distressed.
* Vomiting (referred to by doctors as posttussive vomiting) and exhaustion commonly follow the episodes of coughing.
* The person usually appears normal between episodes.
* Paroxysmal attacks occur more frequently at night, with an average of 15-24 attacks per 24 hours.
* The paroxysmal stage usually lasts from one to six weeks but may persist for up to 10 weeks.
* Infants under 6 months of age may not have the strength to have a whoop, but they do have paroxysms of coughing.

complications of whooping cough (pertussis)

The most common complication and the cause of most pertussis-related deaths is secondary bacterial pneumonia. (Secondary bacterial pneumonia is bacterial pneumonia that follows another infection of the lung, be it viral or bacterial. Secondary pneumonia is caused by a different virus or bacterium than the original infection.) Young infants are at highest risk for whooping cough and also for pertussis-associated complications, including secondary pneumonia. Data from 2001-2003 indicate that secondary pneumonia occurred among 4.9% of all reported pertussis cases.

Pertussis can cause serious illness and even death in young children; 13 children died from the infection in 2003. From 2004-2005, 66 deaths due to whooping cough were reported to the CDC, and 56 of these were children under 3 months of age. Most of the pertussis-related deaths have occurred in children who have not been vaccinated or who are too young to have received the vaccine.

Other possible complications of pertussis include seizures, encephalopathy (abnormal function of the brain due to decreased oxygen delivery to the brain), reactive airway disease (asthma), dehydration, and malnutrition.

Kat is having the above symptoms... 1stly flu, cough.. after that gotten worse.. now at night keep coughing..

<font color="ff0000">Little Princesses/ piggy_mummy:
Welcomee welcome!!! after staying awhile u might find our forum super noisy! Join us for outings when u can!</font>

Babies latching:
For me... sometimes my boy KICK a big fuss... I also don noe why. But if u stay at home, try the lie down method to latch, that one usually works well for me if I cant get him to latch carrying.

Pampers:
My mum naggin me to buy a pack of M size drypers for her cos now using L size, she says it leaks... BUT I never encounter leh! I think..ahahhah...the diaper hate her or something =P

<font color="0000ff">pancake: I am fine with catering, kekeke don need to carry things... can we swim?

jerejoy:
That massage place u are talking about, IF i am not mistaken got a lady name Sally, she's SUPER good, I don have chance to book her cos she's always fully booked! Now I call somebody else for housecall massage instead cos its far for me to go, I stay at west side</font>

clover,
Thanks! I want! I want! Get from u the no when I come back. The massage here sucks! Too gentle n no effect.

Liyun,

Yes, u r right. She's gd and her teacher is v gd as well. I forgot the lady's name. I think it's Anne. A malay old lady. Always get bruises after massage but I feel really gd. Ya, they r always fully booked. Think I will try out clover's recommendation when I'm back.

happymummy- tough being mother of 3? u bet...but the joy of watching them grow out weight all the tears &amp; frustration. Always busy with kids activities,this week hv to rush their school hol projects. have been 'nua' these couple of weeks...

thanx for the reply,my boy only prefer 1 breast, emm it doesnt matter left or right breast, he doesnt like to change breast..i tried lying down too, aiyo, mattress wet..do we need to pay if we visit LC t tmc?

pancake, abc &amp; liyun - thanks...for the warm welcome
feel so at home liao..keke

liyun- outing, yes will join if time allows. but 5 july can't coz my 'lau ta' (no.1) is having a mini piano concert organise by the music school.

littleprincess,
I am also keen on the bumper mat but i scared difficult to keep away and price really not cheap. Am thinking to buy when bb starts to crawl and move ard. One of e apri mummies frequent korea and i ask her to check when she flys there. See if she has better lobang for apr mummies kekeke. Worst come to worst i may just settle with the normal mat as they r easier to keep away than having to fold/roll compared to bumper mat. The normal mat are kept using stacking them. Price i think like 1/10 of the bumper mat. I went to check out the mat in mini toon, they have diff pricing for diff size but i think they carry mainly parklon and not LG really.

pancake
catering i would say my experience with chillipadi was good. chillipadi.com.sg. i hope i can make it to ur place on 5th. Not sure wat time my sch function ends? would love to bring my 3 gals to ur place. they've never gone out tog to the home gatherings before.

bbpink
i know of a super experienced maid who also fulfills ur criteria but her monthly salary is $500.

adeline
you take care. and i'm sure Kat is in good hands under Dr Tan.

wow.... piano concert?
I really looking forward to the day my boy can show me some of his "skills"... Now, wait til he flips first. kekeke

littleprincess
ur DH likes kids?...my case is diff, hubby doesnt want anymore....

so ur lau da is due for her primary 1 registration...

Adeline
Hoped Kat recovered soon...the description sounds scary....

littleprincesses,

I salute to my sis in law too. Her elder gal is 8 yrs, 2nd child is 6 yrs and her 3rd child is 1 yr plus. Somemore, she's taking care of them on her own! Really pei fu her.

Adeline,

Hope yr gal recover soon. U take care too.

Adeline K,
I'm so sorry for Kat! Hope she heals well and FAST too! praying for you!

liyun,
sometimes it's not about the diaper size but how it's being used. my mom always put on Tricia's diapers loosely! i dunno why! when i put it on her, it's never loose and never leaked! think ur mom put it on quite loosely lah.

Hi Adeline

I do share your concern about your baby cuz my daughter had the same issue too. It all started with a cough and ended with thick mucus and phlegm both in her nose and chest. Twice my daughter choked on her own milk as she found it very difficult to digest. And everytime she vomits, it is all sticky and thick. Even her poop had phlegm!

I had to bring her 3 times to a phyiotherapist for the mucus to be suction out from both her nose and chest. Even the therapist commented that the mucus and phlegm are indeed very thick.

It was one of the most painful process I have had to experience. The suction is so uncomfortable that my daughter looks at me with tearing eyes and I get this feeling that she is asking me, why I put her through this. Both my spouse and I teared. And the ordeal, the poor gal is so tired that she goes to sleep immediately.

She was also not able to sleep comfortably as her nose gets blocked with mucus and she has difficulty breathing. Poor gal, will twist and turn in her sleep and use her hands to rub her nose continuously. And when it doesnt help, she will start crying.

I even had to buy the aspirator and every night try to suck out her mucus from her nose. And if you intend to buy the aspirator, please do not purchase the one where you have to use your hand. Buy the one where one end can be placed inside the baby's nose and the other end parents use to suck out.

My daughter was also on nebulizer for almost 3 weeks and use it 3 times daily.

Some things I can share with you are :

1) buy vicks for baby (cherry flavour) and apply on the chest and back twice a day - mornings and evenings

2) dont make your baby lie straight. Elevate her sleeping position

3) dont bring her to places with extreme temperature - either too hot or too cold

4) during this period, please off the aircon

5) make sure your baby is sleeping in a very airy place

6) when you bring your baby to PD, one of you remain outside with the baby. Try not to bring baby into the clinic unless its for weighing or seeing the PD. If need to wait, better to wait outside. Cuz, as your baby immunity is now low and if there are any other kids in the clinic who are sick, it may impact your baby

Everyday I am praying that my daughter does not have to go through this ever again. Its just way too painful. And these days if my daughter coughs once in a while, my spouse eyes and mine lit up immediately!

The fear is embedded now...and my poor daughter went through all this at only 2 months

Now she is better but ocassionally, phlegm will sprut out and this will send shivers done our spine.

Take care of yourself and will say a prayer for your precious little one

Pancake
hehe..i read those pages u put the green tag :p
improvement is now he starts terrorizing at midnite instaed of 10pm
so the duration to 3 am is faster

jerejoy
nah..no more massage liao..no time after resuming work..haiz
hehe, tahnks
regrd Kyzac sleeping, i hope so..if not, me and hb will end up looking like his grandparents..lack of sleep really have the aging effect..haiz

Adeline
geez! whopping cough sounds really bad..hope Kat is fine and the tests shows that everything is ok

====

<font color="0000ff">so now it is

July - Bouna Vista (host is Pancake)
Aug - Sengkang (host is Shirley)
Sep - YCK (host is Lyn)
Oct - Bedok (host is Jerejoy)</font>

hehe, this is the 1st time i am attending gatherings that are already planned 4 months in advance

clover: is yr massage lady really good? chinese or malay? does she do housecalls or must go to a shop? is it the usually malay massage where will end up rather oily? sorry so many qtns, hehee cos i may be interested. good to rub some fats away!

jerejoy/liyun: is this massage shop in the east? aiyah cos i stay in the west.

btw does anyone have an osim uzap? is it good? noticed now they have a uzap mini for arms thighs and calves. dunno whether good or not. feel like buying, hopefully can reduce my thunder arms and thighs!

simp/lilprincess: yeah ive heard a lot abt the LG/parklon mats, told my husband how much one costs and he told me don't be stupid to go buy, so exp. But if it's good i may just quietly buy first! hehee

simp / agapebaby - heard the price will increase soon...hubby not too keen as well. i thot the lg/parklon mat can be folded to compact size?
may juz go to mini toon n take a look. drool...

angeline - dh likes to play with the kids lah..he doesn't hv to look after them mah so of course to him is fun.

jereyoy- ya salute yr sis in law. no maid? i faint if no maid...

melissa- may no.1's name is also tricia!! ;)

welcome to all the new mummies
i sometimes only scan real quick so hope i don't miss out on anything directed to me

bbpink
i'll ask my brother where he bought the table set...i don't quite remember where he said he got it....but he's away in US right now so got to catch him on msn

agape
i don't think BF really help me lose weight...maybe cos i ate too much to matter anyway hehehe

pigguymummy
yes abc is right....i saw LC cos my bb rejected breast at 3 weeks so sister kang from MT A taught me the correct way to latch and to "force" bb to suckle correctly....v. stressful though cos he would cry and cry....to tell the truth, in the end i kind of just let him suck however he likes and happy to say that the tears are a thing of the past and he is latching on....though just these past 2 days he's been really pulling on my left breast....like PULLING...anyone experienced this huh?? dunno why he does that...

anyway pigguymummy
see if a LC can help u...sister kang is v. good and helpful

pampers comfort
yah maybe M is too small for bb tommy

melissa
i also prefer direct latching as opposed to bottle- saves me the time and hassles of expressing, storing and warming up milk. The only problem is that in middle of the night he always falls asleep VERY DEEPLY after feeding on one side and can't be aroused to complete feeding-i can even strip him, change his diaper and clean backside wif ice cold water and he dun giv a hoot. so i bottle feed him coz its faster and he gets enough to get his proper night's sleep instead of waking up every 1-2hrly.
Right now he sleeps between 7-8pm, wakes up between 12-2am for 1 feed and if he's had enough, he can sleep to abt 7am. If not he wakes up every 1-2hrly after the midnight feed.

My boy also started flipping when he was 11wks. I was also very worried initially about him falling. But he stopped flipping after a week (PD says quite common for babies to lose interest, and its normal) and now i less kan cheong.

<font color="ff0000">MUMMIES!! Anyone knows anyone who is willing to take in "stray" breed dogs? They are few days old puppies, IF nobody respond by today, they will be put to sleep tomorrow. I think some of you might have receive SMS by now... Please forward out... The contact person is: Callynfen 96810914 **super dog lover cannot care such sad news one**</font>