Angeline,
Yup. 2x pumps last for 4 sessions. I'm surprised at myself too b'cos my experience with 1st child is never like this. But I guess it's a combination of having a small feeder *and* good supply, that's why I appear very lucky. Somehow my supply is very good with 2nd child. Else I can barely produce enough with 3 sessions with first child. Just like every pregnancy is different, breastfeeding oso different. Now I know that everything can be different after every pregnancy, including post-natal weight loss. Kekeke. 1st child I lost more than I gained, 2nd child I lost a little less than what I gained.
Lee Hong,
My bb feeds anywhere from 2.5oz-4oz. It varies. But average is around 90ml, that's around 3oz yeah. I noticed that she feeds the most in the morning, that's why my milk supply is the highest. So 1x pump I get up to 9oz liao. But average is 7-8.5oz. Lee Hong, your girl is really a big feeder, almost like a 1yr old child liao. I think I've mentioned before that I started with 3x pump in the office, and my total yield is 12oz. However, when I started seeing jealous faces (most of my colleagues are child-less and already sore b'cos I get to enjoy maternity leave), I cut down to only 2 sessions and I find that I still get 12oz total. In good days, I could get up to 14oz. So imagine, my girl takes in 3oz each feed and she feeds 3x in my absence, I still get remainder to bring forward. Still got frozen EBM in the freezer too which is taking up too much space my mom is complaining nowhere to put her fish and meat. LOL.
I store my EBM in 2 bit bottles in my FTG. At home, I transfer to 2 small Avent bottles and milk bags.
Lee Hong,
forgot to mention, I'm the kind who die-die oso dowan to give FM to my bb so I tell my body that I have enough for all the BM she needs. and since i've already mastered the art of breastfeeding since my 1st child, I find BF and pumping a lot easier this time around. and mind you i still *hate* pumping!
jerejoy,
Yes i'm using Avent Isis manual pump. A seasoned one too. No problem with the white valve, it doesn't pop like everyone mentioned before. I also have Ameda Lactaline but since my experience with Isis is excellent, I stayed put with it. The petal makes emptying the breast a breeze. I used First Few Years milk storage bags. A bit ex but b'cos that's the only thing I could find in Kiddy Palace at that time hehehe. You can store your BM anywhere u like lah. It's your choice.
abc,
last two days ago i fed bb with April frozen EBM keke. so far so good no bad reaction to it and it doesn't have any "sour" smell to it. but i'm not going to risk it again. anyway that was dated 28 Apr.
unique,
if you have excess FBM you can still use it for feeding. When bb is 5 months, can mix with rice cereal for bb to start solids. Actually 6 months should start solid but since our babies are bigger sized nowadays, it's safe to start earlier.
aly,
your bb seems to feed a lot! 110ml every 2-3 hours woah. my bb's feeding interval is 3-4 hours and she takes in 90ml average. does your bb regurgitate regularly after feeding? if so u might be overfeeding her? what's her birthweight and most recent weight?
mommies with low supply,
other than fenugreek, try oats. coincidentally i took the instant oat cereal drink but that's b'cos my mom bought wrongly and told me to finish it else she'll throw that away. i happened to read from Kellymom that oat may help.
http://www.kellymom.com/bf/supply/oatmeal.html