(2008/03) March 2008

Ling Yee,

U mean the mummy of 3 bf her eldest and youngest for a few years each? Wow.. So she bf her eldest until she delivered her 2nd child and bf her 2nd child until her 3rd? Non- stop bf??? I salute to her....

Mummyboy.. yes.. till now she is still BF.. she told me since the birth of her eldest son, she has not stopped on BF... inspiring!

yes I hv frens who still bfing their 3 yr old kid. tat's y I wan bf andrae as long as I can. tat's y I say my target for nw is at least 2 yrs! they inspired me.. tat's oso d reason y I wan close shop. so I can bf andrae as long as I can...

watched d news on plain water. news says bb below 6mth shld nt b given plain water. jus fm or bm can already. too much water cause poisoning. for fm when u prepare fm, cannot add water in excess. oso for abv 6mth when constipation or hot weather , jus gv small amt of water. when I saw d news I was smiling. hahaha hahaha .. why? cause my in laws r wif me n they always nag I didn't gv him water! I told my hb I shld hv recorded this down man so any old folks ask y I din gv water i'll jus play for them to watch. anyway.. hahaha I so hapoy abt d news n it stop their nag! hahaha so bad of me, right?

hiccup
I gv bm. tat's d fastest to cure hiccups!

my bb is drinking max 100ml only. gv 4oz, 120ml but nvr finish

An infant has been admitted to Children's Hospital , suffering from water intoxication, a potentially fatal condition caused by giving a baby too much water.

Doctors warned that babies under the age of 6 months old should not be given plain water. Water intoxication happens when a baby's body takes in more water than he or she can process.
"What can happen is they actually develop a dilutional affect. The water actually dilutes the amount of salt in their blood stream, and it can lead to seizures," said Dr.

Infants up to 6 months old should only be given breast milk or formula. Babies 6 months old to 1 year old, in addition to breast milk or formula, may have 4 to 6 ounces of juice and up to 8 ounces of water a day. Do not give infants water if they have gastrointestinal problems

"It is especially dangerous if the baby is having vomiting or diarrhea. In that setting, you would want to give Pedialite because Pedialite has salt and has sugar in it," doctor said.
The symptoms of water intoxication can be subtle. They can include a change in your baby's behavior, including extreme fatigue or vomiting.
If you use the kind of formula that has to be mixed with tap water, that is OK, but extra water is not.

abc

high 5 ..me fr S pre-preg to M after 1st kid and now L after kyzac..

just bought some new L size clothing..sigh*

Lingyee

lucky gal
ur mum's genes is slim mah

mummyboy/gal
i am not sure how many feeds, my guess is 6-7 feeds? currently i still latch on most of the time and only starting to bottlefeed him on and off.

hb prec,
yes during that time when he was colicky i gave everyday for about 1 week plus. just before a feed, i will drip into his mouth. i tasted it before, not too bad quite sweet
u can tap your baby's stomach and see if a lot of gas. i aso rubbed ru yi you on his tummy after shower.

babypink
i hv moved 2 size up for my bottom and 1 size up for my top. i think my genes is the fat kind lor! all my pre-preg exercise all gone to waste liao.

abc
haha! yes shld tape down and replay for every older folk who ask if we gv our babies water!

rgd BF
i hope i can persevere to BF till at least one year! waking up for his night feed is really quite siong.

Diapers, tried samples of drypers...leak 2x

gotta change middle of the night...

oh mine...the water part, after reading this...any of you gals goin continue feeding baby water? Old ppl tends to say musssstttt feed water....
ABC,
lucky yr inlaws saw this...hope my nanny and parents saw it too.
Can i knw where you extract the info, wanna print it out..

Mummies, anyone with babies that put the hands into the mouth and make very loud vomitting sound?
My boy tends to put his fist instd of fingers and then choke and make very loud vomitting sound...

diapers
think each bb's body shape is different, dats why some diapers work for one bb but not another...anyway pet pet always leak, even pampers will leak...drypers never leak but cutting is so tight around the thighs...going to try mamy poko and NTUC brand next

Water
don't remember ever feeding Chelsea water in her first year! maybe i remember wrongly but really see no purpose in water....and some ppl say bb might reject water if never used to it but chelsea now drinks water like a fish...so no worries

one time my parents fed bb tommy water in between feeds but i told them not to do so....sometimes u must scare old ppl by saying the doctor said so even if you never discuss this wif the doctor yet hehehe...tats my little trick ;)

Ling Yee
your whole family must really have skinny genes...i've always been v. bak bak and v. tam chia (ie greedy) kekeke so v. hard to lose weight
.....only good thing is i don't have to go work in an office so don't have to buy a whole new set of working clothes....can just lounge around in t-shirts and shorts :p....i'm getting more and more auntie i think

BF
used to take more than an hour! *faintz* so glad that it has reduced to sometimes 15 minutes! cannot believe it still but v. happy...i can see myself doing this for quite a few more mths yet

I guess being #2, I kInd of gotten use to waking up @ night. in fact I still wake up to tandem pump. ifact I feel weird if he dun wake up for feed n definitely my breast nt gona take it.

abt water, I jus tell them ' bm contain 85% of water.' they jus shut up. nw wif d news I gt more reason to say no nd gv water.

I like to share that I'm currently using Pampers Baby Dry, bought it at $9.25 for S & M size, 46pieces for S and 42 pieces for M size. Checked and its more expensive than Drypers but cheaper than Nepia. It's really good and affordable. I used it for day and night and it never leak unless not worn properly.

And Crystal, maybe you can try this pizza company, Pizza De France, www.pizzadefrance.com they serve really nice pizzas and lotsa toppings. Price even more reasonable.

Regarding abt diapers,

I like to use Pampers Swaddlers. Packaging is in yellow color. It's very good and can last for hours without leaking. Not sure if it's sold in Spore. If it is, do give it a try.

I don't agree giving bb water too. My hubby's frd gave his bb water in the night time to keep his bb full. He did it as he wanted his bb to learn to sleep through the night and let his bb learns that it's no point to wake up for milk since his parents will not be giving him. They even use the cry it out system to get their bb to sleep thru the night. He recommended his method to us!

Personally, I find that it's absurd!!!! How can they do such thing for the ease for themselves!! I pity their bb. It's good to follow our own instinct. I would rather wake up to give him milk then let bb cry since I hv gotten used to waking up already. Like abc mentioned, my breasts will get engorged too.

well, I use the cry it out system if he's crying for nothing (just wana carry etc), BUT if baby is hungry they feed water, sounds abit way too much. Its like someone trying to go on diet (drink water and don eat).... *sign* They better pray nothing goes wrong with the baby's health

i agree wif liyun.
i'm ok wif the cry it out method as long as i know what the cry is for....definitely if bb is hungry, must feed bb but when sometimes they say bb is waking up at night cos it's a habit but if he doesn't really need the calories, then can slowly try to change his feeding times....like Chelsea used to wake up at night to feed too but as soon as the doctor told us that she doesn't need that night time feeding and that she should be sleeping thru the night (she was ard 5 mths old), we stopped feeding her at night and i think she cried one night and the next, she never woke up at night again! And Chelsea has always been off the charts for height and head size ard 70th percentile for weight so she was growing just fine

feeding water
luckily i m a lazy mom? haha, i very very seldom feed my boy water... only during colic days when i mix ridwind wif water to feed him.

cry out method
ya.. i also heard my frens say... proudly say their bb slp through the nite when their bb is only 1mth old!

weaning BM
my PD told me tat by the time a bb turns 1yr old, the nutrients in our BM is not enuff for them already. they need more nutrients tat's stated in FM as their system is more or less settled after 6mths of semi-solids... so if BFing after bb turns 1yr, it's not necessary already.

introducing solids
http://kellymom.com/nutrition/solids/index.html

bb's weight
my boy is approaching the 7kg mark @ 2.5mths... i finally bot my ergo @ metro @ $151.30

Eversince the news.. i am abit apprehensive abt feeding my bb with water.. my mum and in laws..always ask me to feed water.. they fed water to bb when i am not ard.. but bb always dun like..hahhaha .. well, it certainly depends on her mood.. sometimes when i feed her..she is ok.. but a few sips of water shld be fine, Annabel Karmel's book also indicated, a few sips of water is ok.. of coz.. not spoonfuls of water..

If feed water..must make sure it has been boiled.. cannot feed mineral water.. thats what AK wrote.

When i just delivered, the nurse in MT A told me to feed bb some water as my breast milk had not increase. sigh...i agreed and allowed them to feed. My MIL, maid and aunty keep asking me to give some plan water after every feeds, lucky i nv listen to them.

Next Week Gathering
Date:29 May (Thurs)
Time: 2pm
Venue: Lobby E, #14-35 Compass Heights, SengKang (Next to Seng Kang MRT/Interchange)
Agenda: Potluck cum swimming (swiming in evening, optional of course)

Interested:
1. Ivy and bb (HOST)(Drinks)
2. abcdisney n bb (fruits)
3. adeline n hb n KIMBERLY n baby!
4. Ling yee n bb (fried mee siam again!!)This time round shd i make it more spicy???
5. crystal n bb (pizzahut delivery)
6. adeline loo n bb (cakes)
7. clover n bb (golden pillow chicken)
8. Yu Tong, bb n maid ( Potatoe n Apple Salad )
9. babypink & bb (french toast)
10.Kate, bb n hb( spring rolls)
11. twinklestars n bb (chicken pie or finger food from OCK) - TBC
12. dreamlife n 2 gals (babypink thanks you for offering a lift
13. shirley n lele n zac zac n helper (drinks)

dreymin
all along i noe my genes are the fat kind..well..but was lazy to do exercise to counteract :p
my pal was very disciplined and did exercise 20 minutes per day on her bike 2 months after delivery, it works..
i did try but my legs ache so much
well..just have to find flattering clothes to hide watever the excess

adelineL
high* 5
me also tam chia =p
last time can go for weekly buffets without gaining wt..sigh* age makes a difference to metablolism

Liyun
u let bb cry it out?...hw did u manage?...i m a mother to 3 and i have never used it for bb below 15 mths....no heart....always worried that she is not plain crying...but ends up she is....

Ling Yee
so envy...
i still have 4 more kg to go...however the bone structure seems to expand too....i wonder can i still go back to pre preg...

crying out
hahaha I m used to bb cry esp in d car! sometimes no choice. abt waking up @ night using water, I heard ppl use water method too. for me I had been waking up @ night for night feed for arielene till she's 2.5yr old. it's a habit. so smtimes if u dun wan bb to wake for night feed, plain water really wrks.

petrina
I think u can change pd le if he really say tat. no matter wat bm still d best. wat fm has r added vitamins which we can easily gt fr any pharmacy. if fm is better than y fm companies r following d ingredient in bm? hahaha . I thimk wat he meant is when bb is below 12mth, his main source of food is milk. but when bb reaches 1yr, his main source of food r solids. Tat doesn't mean he doesn't nd milk anymore but nt as much as last tm.

feeding water at night
it's gina ford's recommendation in the contented little baby.
However there are certain criteria before feeding water:
1. baby over 6weeks old, thriving and weighing more than 10lbs
2. baby gets all FULL FEEDS in the day (so your baby has all the calories he needs already)
3. habitual wakers (ie not waking up due to hunger) as abc pointed out.
4. its a sip of water, not a feed of water. and also if the baby doesn't settle down with the water, give him a feed! the method doesn't aim to starve him!

abc: maybe i misinterpreted bah... cause b4 hearing wat she say, i also strive to bf 3yrs. then she told me this.. so i tot 1yr can stop le...

bbpink: i think i enjoy this preg n the benefits tat came along wif it... i lose weight easier post-preg. plus good skin & the twin peaks n of course my son.
only thing i hate abt this preg is my stretchmarks... i can only blame my laziness during preg.

PancakeChia,

I tried the methods recommended by Gina Ford in that book except the feeding water part. It doesn't work for my bb. Guess it's v individual.

Cry it out

No heart to let bb cry it out. Only when he's in the car seat. But luckily he only cry for less than 5 mins.

Ling Yee,

U are so slim. Don't look like u r pregnant b4. Envy envy! Still hv 4 kg more to go. It's so hard to lose those fats! Faint!

Petrina,

So lucky of u too!

abc/jerejoy
when i first read gina ford i also didn't like her methods, so went round researching for other methods.
U read the baby whisperer by tracy hogg? EASY scheduling, much more flexible. More structured than on demand parenting for mommies who need order in their lives.
Unfortunately my baby is a touchy baby, the type who does better with a routine.
Anyway while observing my baby before implementing any schedule, i realised that he does the gina ford routine! So now i do a flexible gina ford crossed with EASY style for him and he's quite cheerful with it. =)

jerejoy: i happy cause i pre preg very fat de... even my hb very niao on my figure also say i look better than pre preg. but his demands went higher.. haha. he saw ling yee n say i muz be slim like her..
i almost faintz... now trying very hard to reach tat target...

Hi Kate and 3-in-a pod
I saw your recommendation on Aunty Lee as Confinement lady. How good is she? Can give a rough overview? What is expected from a CL if i engage one?
Will she help to take care of bb when bb cries in the middle of the night?
Is she Pro-Breastfeeding?
She do housework like sweeping, mopping, and toilet washing too?
Any advice is much appreciated

abc,

Regarding abt Gina Ford's method, I agree with u too. Now the book is left on the shelf to collect dust. ;p

PancakeChia,

I hv not read on that book. Will search for that book. Thanks! It's gd that yr bb can stick to a routine. Mine have not. But luckily he is able to sleep abt 10 plus in the night time most of the time and wakes up for milk in 3-4 hrs time. Can u share yr flexible Gina ford method?

Maybe I'm lazy. I can't wake up 7am in the morning. Hee! It's too early for me. I give him milk abt that time and both of us will go back to sleep again. hee!

Petrina,

Ling Yee set a high std for us. Hehe! Don't think I can ever reach her std. Used to be a size 0-2. But now I can only squeeze in size 2 and I really mean Squeeze in....Wonder how u gals can manage to slim down to pre preg size and even slimmer than b4. So lucky of u.

Used to like big boobs. But now find that big boobs give me headache to buy clothings. Can fit in size S but the boobs part will be too tight. Fit in size M, boobs part will be just now but the rest will be loose. Haiz!