(2008/03) March 2008

thanks liyun and crystal..

crystal
remember i told u i was interested to switch my baby from NAN 1HA to Similac? I've successfully switched over recently..I called the Abbott Nutrition Hotline to enquire.. So far my boy still poo everyday, when he was on NAN 1 HA, his poo was green color, the Nestle ppl say its the common color.. but now his poo color is yellowish, just like when breastfeeding, see already more pleasant than compared to green, happy i made the switch.. i hope he'll benefit from Similac..

liyun,
i also suspect its colic that is causing him to cry after drinking milk.. probably his tummy is not feeling well..

any fast solution to relieve wind in his tummy? should i give gripewater or ridwind? anyone giving ur baby gripewater? may i know how much gripewater u dilute in how much plain water?

Next Week Gathering
Date:29 May (Thurs)
Time: 2pm
Venue: Lobby E, #14-35 Compass Heights, SengKang (Next to Seng Kang MRT/Interchange)
Agenda: Potluck cum swimming (swiming in evening, optional of course)

Interested:
1. Ivy and bb (HOST)(Curry Chicken)?
2. abcdisney n bb (fruits)
3. adeline n hb n KIMBERLY n baby!
4. Ling yee n bb (fried mee siam again!!)This time round shd i make it more spicy???
5. crystal n bb (pizzahut delivery)
6. adeline loo n bb (cakes)
7. clover n bb (golden pillow chicken)
8. Yu Tong, bb n maid ( Potatoe n Apple Salad )
9. babypink & bb (cookies)
10.Kate, bb n hb( spring rolls)
11. twinklestars n bb (chicken pie or finger food from OCK) - TBC
12. dreamlife n 2 gals (babypink want a lift?)

Can call Ivy at 94369220 if required.

Next Week Gathering
Venue: Lobby E, #14-35 Compass Heights, SengKang (Next to Seng Kang MRT/Interchange)

Interested:
1. Ivy and bb (HOST)(Drinks)
4. Ling yee n bb (fried mee siam again!!)This time round shd i make it more spicy???
9. babypink & bb (cookies)
12. dreamlife n 2 gals (babypink want a lift?)

hubby's precious,
try to increase yr baby feed by 10ml each time instd of straight by 30ml.
Previously no vomitting right? I guess its due to the sudden change of teat size, especially when they are very hungry for milk and suck very fast, will tends to vomit. This happen to my baby as well the past 2 days.....go slow with the feeding, tilt the bottle slightly lower.
Hope it helps...

vonn,
previously no vomitting.. only once.. i have not change the size of the teat for my baby.. increase the feed by 10ml meaning add more water but not powder? cuz my baby is on FM, add additional 60ml is adding one scoop of powder.. i added 30ml so is half a scoop..

hubby's precious & crystal,
your bb is really drinking alot leh. My bb is coming 3 months and is 5.6kg but is drinking 90ml. Previously, I used to give 120ml but he regurgitate alot. When he was in hospital due to a knocked on his head, the PD calculated for me and told me to reduce it to 90ml for every 2 hours feed. You might wanna check with your PD cos I know there is a formula they use to calculate.

hubby's precious...oic..maybe jus a note, if u gonna change the teats, go slow on the feed.
I'm using Friso, 1 scope = 30ml of water
this is wat i do...
If i'm making 130ml = 4 full scopes and 1 /4 of the 5th scope, this is wat i have been doing...

as for the colic, i'm using infacol (can buy from watson/guardian)...this is wat the PD taught me..hee
after dripping it into milk, there wont be any bubbles in the milk

yu tong,
my PD knows that my baby is drinking 120ml cuz i just brought him for his 6-in-1 jab last week.. he said ok.. but he drinks every like 2.5hrs to 3hrs..

i don't know how they calculate but cuz my baby drinks Similac now, the Abbott Nutrition Hotline consultant advised me that its 30ml to each 1kg of baby's weight.. i don't think it applies to all babies cuz i think drinking is really up to individual..

don't worry how much your baby is drinking now as long as he is putting on weight each month ba.. my boy is going 10 weeks old on tuesday, he weighed 5.9kg last week..

if he cant drink 120ml then i think it's safer to keep it at 90ml now first.. if he drinks every 2hr, i think its as good as drinking 120ml cuz maybe if he can drink 120ml, the interval has to be longer.. i think crystal's bb girl is drinking more..hehe..

your boy drinking FM or BM? if is FM, which FM is he drinking?

by the way any one knows which brand bottle is BPA-free except B-free?? i thinking of getting them.. currently i have pigeon glass bottles and a few avent ones.. understand that avent bottles are not BPA-free..

vonn,
i see.. haha.. i think it's quite hard to measure 1/4 scoop.. =P

i have both infacol and ridwind at home.. not sure if can give everyday?

by the way none of you give your baby gripewater?

hubby's precious,
My #1 was on avent bottles too, leak non-stop. Later we changed to a smaller size teat, then no more leaking leow. The teat hole was too big for her then.

bellebeins
BBs are still too young for rice cereal now. At least 4 months old but I'll wait till 6 months.

bbpink,
I'm interested in the seminar but it states no child under 12 yrs of age :-(

agar agar can liao...hee
eh...3x a day and 6 hourly...maybe u can give alternate days/twice a day.
Gripe water...i do give but seldom, u can follow the instructions on the box..

Yu tong...my boy coming 3mths drinks 120ml...yr case similar to my frend's and she brought bb to PD...PD says as long bb is gaining weight it shld be fine...she describe her bb as a mini-cooper...haha...slow but powerful!!

reena,
the smallest size teat for avent bottle is the newborn teat right? which smaller size teat you got? or you change the brand of the bottle?

vonn,
your boy going 3mths, can he support his head a little on his own already? what is his weight now? =P

Weaning from the breast..
Hey breastfeeding mummies..when do u intend to wean ur bb?? and what kind of food u intend to introduce to ur bb???

any book recommendation ??

my bb is currently 3mths +, my in laws said wean when she turns 4mths..but i went other online resources, they mentioned 6 mths for BFing bbs! hmm.. mixed feelings abt weaning.. 2nd time mum can advise??

Thankzz

babe_dude
From KKH's website
http://www.kkh.com.sg/PatientHealthLibrary/ChildrensHealth/FoodnNutrition/Weaning.htm
Weaning refers to the period during which an infant gradually becomes accustomed to food other than milk. There is no right age when your baby should be weaned. However, you can tell when your baby is ready for weaning when he:

• Shows signs of hunger before his usual feed time
• Dribbles and puts things in his mouth
• Can sit up with support
• Shows an interest in your food

It is generally agreed by experts that from 6 months on, a baby would need something more substantial than just milk. However, infants who exhibit poor growth or iron deficiency anaemia may be weaned earlier, between 4 to 6 months, as advised by their doctor or dietitian. Weaning too early, e.g. at 2-3 months, could result in digestive disorders and there is also a higher risk of setting off a food allergy. On the other hand, if the baby is weaned too late, he may not get adequate nutrition and this may lead to growth retardation.

babe_dude

personally,i dun introduce b4 6 months. i think 6 months onwards is good enough

early introduction of food b4 6 months, maybe except for heinz rice cereals which stated 4 months upwards, other food may cause allergies

they have a lifetime ahead to taste all kind of food, that 2 months delay till 6th month wun make a difference and will be better i feel

Hi dreamlife

yes , will appreciate it
thanks for offering me a lift

Next Week Gathering

Interested:
1. Ivy and bb (HOST)(Drinks)
9. babypink & bb (french toast)
12. dreamlife n 2 gals (babypink thanks you for offering a lift

Yutong

just as i was about to send my cheque, was asked to attend a working event that day

now waiting for my colleague to see whether he can swop with me b4 i send in the cheque to abbott

Reena

hehe, if i can go..i will summarize for u all

heya.. something for u mummies to consider, i am goin for SCB since i have an existing account there! :

Oh, baby! There's more icing on your bonus cake
OCBC and Stanchart double interest rates as they woo parents

(SINGAPORE) OCBC Bank and Standard Chartered Bank have intensified their fight to capture the baby bonus accounts to pretty amazing levels.

Both banks yesterday offered to double their interest rates for these accounts, to a lofty 2 per cent at least, even before the Aug 1 debut.

OCBC Bank said it will now pay 2.05 per cent interest on children development accounts (CDA) if parents sign up between Aug 1 and Sept 30, 2008.

This comprises a rate of one per cent per annum and a bonus rate of 1.05 per cent per annum.

Just last month, OCBC Bank had offered to pay a 0.8 per cent interest rate for a new CDA or one per cent if parents opt to save at least $50 a month. It also offered 1.5 per cent for a minimum fixed deposit of $6,000 of 12-month tenure.

Stanchart yesterday said all CDA accounts will be paid 2 per cent interest rate, up from 0.78 per cent. And for the first 100 parents who sign up, the bank is throwing in a free Nintendo Wii, worth about $600.

In terms of insurance cover, Stanchart is giving a $50 daily hospitalisation cash benefit due to hand, foot and mouth disease. And it will give parents $200 back for the first $1,000 spent on a free credit card which comes with the CDA.

The latest enticements from the two banks will be included in a package which will be sent to parents by the government this month to inform them that their existing CDA with DBS Bank will be transferred after July 31. All parents have to do is tick the new bank they want to manage their CDA.

In March, the government announced that OCBC and Stanchart had emerged successful bidders to manage the baby bonus scheme, estimated to be worth some $400 million, with effect from Aug 1.

They take over from DBS Bank, which offers a rate of 0.25 per cent on the CDA.

Started by the government in 2001 to encourage couples to have children, the baby bonus scheme has two components: an outright cash gift and matching contributions to the CDA.

For the third and fourth child, the total bonus from the government can go up to a maximum of $18,000.

In July 2007, there were 107,000 CDAs with $375 million in them, the government disclosed. On average, 35,000 to 45,000 babies are born each year.

Co-funding from the government into the CDA - which can only be used to pay for medical expenses, childcare and school fees - stops after six years.

baby pink, aly..

thanks for the info.. i also might introduce solids fully by 6months..but from maybe 5th month onwards..will slowly wean her bit by bit..

babe dude
i think not necessary to wean so early. depends on baby's reaction.. i wean kim at only bout 7 or 8 mths.. just see ur kids developement and follow.. thats what i did..

babe_dude
i am NOT going to wean my bb even though he reaches 6 mth or on solid. For the first 12 mth, milk is still the main food for th bb. Btw wean doesnt mean introducing sorry. The term weaning means stopping bfing exactly.

I would be interoducing solid to bb at 5 mth in July before i go back to work. Start with one scoop of cereal a day for a week then slowly increase.

For 6-8 mth it is one solid a day. 8 to 12 mth is 2 solid a day. But of cos it is up to individual and bb's apetite. There is NO HURRY to start on solid... best is after 6 mth to avoid allergy as tat is the time bb's internal organs r more develop. Regarding porridge, prob start at 11 or 12 mth bah...

For cereal i recommend best earth's organic rice cereal. U can get from any organic shops. IN fact i would try to gv as much organic food in the first yr as possible.

wean = stop bfing.
give solid = introducing solid.

Thus if u can try not to wean bb off esp on bm. If really wan to wean off milk only do so after 1 yr

sorry MIA for a while... has been busy this week running errands & enjoying whatever precious time i hv with DS before gg back to work next week. had to go back to office on thu to fix laptop much as i dread gg back earlier, hianz!

abc,
the portabolenbaby spree still on?

diapers
i use petpet or huggies or dryers (whatever is on offer!) in day and pampers at nite. i aso hv the same problem with the poopoo coming up from the back for the huggies, perhaps M size is too small liao. aso saw the discount for pampers at guardian, gotta grab some later. my fav is of coz pampers (but so exp!), next is petpet.

jenifur
hey how are you? my josiah drinks ard 120ml, i just started him on EMB coz gg to work soon. i just asked my LC, she said between 90-120ml should be enuff for a 3mth old.

Hb prec,
i use ridwind, but stopped after he didnt hv colic anymore. i aso hv an extra bottle of infancol sitting at home

weaning
read an article, WHO's advice is not until 6 months old so the baby's digestive system is developed.

ok.. noted..weaning is to stop bf completely..

hmmm.. wondering if i shld do that.. but anyway, shld be introducing some solid to her by 5th month.. bit by bit gradually.. like wat ABC said.. went borders, bought 2 books on feeding the bb..
1) Feeding your baby & toddler
2) Top 100 Baby Purees

Both books by Annabel Karmel.. highly recommended by my US friend.. she was also the one who introduced me to the baby whisper ... :p

BB now coming to 4th month in another few more wks...so gotta get prepared for her solid..since i am a SAHM.. def be DIYing the food she takes.. unless is cereal lah.. otherwise..hb will think i am lazy at home.. cho bo woman!! hahaha ...

hubby precious,
My mum will feed keira every morning half tea spoon of gripe water (fei zai shui) den feed her water after that. I realised after mummy been feeding her that, i dun nid to rub ru yi you on my ger's tummy.. i din feed her rid wind too.. My ger will have milk leaks from her bottle is due to her being full and juz wanna play with the teat. I am using avent as well, initally tot nuk teat closest to mummy's nipple, went to buy NUK wide neck and normal bottle but she rejects both NUK.. in the end she likes avent in which i have bought long time ago before she's borned....!! hee...

Babe-dude, i read mind ur your body and it states that it is being to start solids when bb is six months old. I met a mummy of 3 at the airport and she has kids age 6,4 and 3.. she is still BF the youngest one!! can u believe it? her middle child was bf 13 mths and she told me there is a difference in their health.. saying the eldest.. n youngest being bf the longest..very healthy compared to the middle one...im inspired!!

my baby is drinking 90 to 120ml of bm.. my mum feels is too little...but i tink if bb tink is enuff den is fine.. dun wanna worry abt how much she drinks as long as i can see her growth.

Ivy's house gathering-- how? wan the mee siam to be more spicy ??

GREAT SINGAPORE SALE
I went shopping today and bought a BCBG evening gown for my brother's wedding!! I am soooo happy that i am still wearing size 0... juz now wore to let hubby see.. he says is like tailored made..!! HAPPY with my purchase!

So many things on sale... sooo many people.. for takashimaya, additional 10% off using taka card till tomorrow only!

Diapers- i use goon during the day... soft, i like and plus is cheap! I dun like drypers.. very painful for my bb's thighs.. very rough material.. and it leaks! I love mamy poko and i use it for night.. can last thru the night!

lingyee
I find goon doesn't hold urine for long. always hv to change very regularly as compared to pampers comfort.

Gd for u ley.. nw I from M become L size.. gt to wait for bone to go back.. tat's d price to pay for hving 2 kids! weight left 4kg but size.. sigh...

mee siam? spicy spicy!

ivy's gathering
r we letting d bb play water? if so I nd to bring swim diaper

thanks ling yee..
my boy sometimes can drink properly from avent teat, sometimes cant.. sigh.. i hate to see so much milk leakages so i think i'll give him pigeon teats..

anyway avent bottles are not BPA free.. thinking of switching to pigeon cuz i heard someone mentioned Pigeon has BPA-free bottles? anyone can advise? thanks..

TAKASHIMAYA SALE
i wanted to go today but my friend told me it's quite crowded.. in the end didnt go cuz dont want bring my bb to too crowded place.. tomorrow is the last day, don't know should go anot.. if never go, like missing out great deals.. =P

Ling Yee
my boy also drinking 120ml now every 3hrs interval.. he's turning 10weeks old next tuesday.. i also think its enough.. maybe when he turns 3months or so then increase to either 150ml or 180ml ba.. can check with PD during monthly jab.. but don't worry, PD usually will say as long as bb is full and growing, the amount doesnt matter as each baby's intake is different..

abc, shall make it more spicy for the mee siam.. im drooling aledi! yummy! size wise.. i tink wil go back one, my mum had 3 kids, she is sharing clothing with me and sis! of coz some she cun wear la!

Hubby's precious, is it the teat hole too big? thats y it leaks? Oh.. very crowded, but coz i only went to the shops i wanna go to, was not that bad. Kate spade, coach.. both nid to queue so i din go! Pigeon breastpads cost 8bucks per box after discount! good deal!

Anyone feeding bb with water? Just now saw some news highlight on channel 8 that according to UK, bb less than 6months should not be drinking water. Wanted to watch but missed it.