(2008/03) March 2008

I feed my number 1 with pao sheng. after the jab she was just sluggish.

my number 2 thought going for hep b jab so didnt give her anything. in the end went to doc for 6-in-1, luckily she only just sluggish and abit hot but no fever. she just sleeps the whole day after the jab. God Bless

i also use forehead reader... + omron ear therometer...
kiasu mummy...

I am taking my baby for 5 in 1 in a few more weeks. Hope she'll be fine...

Will Pneumoccocal or Rotavirus vaccine cause fever?

Me using Braun Ear Thermometer.

Esther:
I wanted to go Polyclinic too. But GP says one of the medi is taken orally one. Means the bottle of medi, using dropper, is shared by all the babies...

So if gng polyclinics, then have to take 4 jabs + 1 dropper.

GP buy the 5-in-1 or 6-in-1 vaccine thus, its 1 jab only. Faster waiting time too. But need to pay lah. I am working, no leave, and dun wanna bring bb to polyclinics on Sats.

sheryl/dreamlife/pancake/jenifur
thanks for the info on ML, i am dreading to go back to work now! wish to it prolong as much as possible

sheryl
i went once each to dr oh meng choo at bishan street 24 and dr koey at TMC. i prefer dr oh but she has left the clinic. dr koey does not share much info, u hv to keep probing him. now i go to my previous GP at for baby's vaccinations and will prob continue to bring him for consultation.

cai yu tong
i used a small indent pillow to prop his head coz i realised the head rests out in the mkt does not fit his safety seat.

sherly/babydude/melissa
glad the temp went down

clover
i got a braun ear thermometer from a recent BP at $84, collecting this sun.

abc
thanks for the recommendation for Calpol, i wl buy some and keep first. DS gg for his 2nd jab end of this mth.

cherish
how about trying to put your baby sideway? it helped for mine. aso i sandwich him with 2 bolsters and a pillow, so he feels more secure.

RE: forehead thermometer

where did you girls gotten yours from ? i intend to get one cuz bb keep wriggling when i placed thermometer in her ear, so think get this forehead one for easier temperature taking in the future.

I thought baby still too young to use ear thermometer? The nurses at KKH told me to take temp using normal thermometer under baby's armpit 3 times and see the average.

pet, u use 2 types of thermomether, any diff in the temp? which one more accurate?

last week when I brought bb to church, the nursery helper took his temp using ear thermomether n my boy struggled. I might hv to get both the ear n forehead type for alex!

babe_dude where to get the forehead one??

dreymin, seems like good deal. too bad I missed the bp.

cherish, is the cot too warm for yr girl? u can check bb's back for sweat.

kais, I m not sure abt that, but is yr babies cooperative? mine will struggle, then I hv to take his temp pinning his hand down while his father burp him to distract him. lol!

My ear thermometer is a Braun, bought some time back during SARS period. Can also be used for babies. I can take readings only when my boy is having his milk - then he won't be moving coz he'll be concentrating on drinking his milk :p

Cherish,
When you put your baby in the yao lan, do u pat your baby's buttocks gently or stroke her back up and down thru the cloth? Sometimes rockings the yao lan alone is not enough. And when your baby closes her eyes, don't stop rocking immediately. Gently rock the yao lan, but don't need to pat or stroke. Continue rocking the yao lan for another 5 mins or so and when you finally stop swinging the yao lan, don't leave her side immediately. Hang around to see if she still opens her eyes. If she does and she doesn't see anyone, she may cry. Leave her side only when she's in deep sleep. For my case, if my boy is in deep sleep, when the yao lan stops moving, he won't wake up within the next 5 mins. When he's in deep sleep, he usually sleeps for the next half hour to one hr without waking up, but he may move or stretch occasionally.

later i will bring my bb for rotavirus $95 and Pneumoccocal jab $155 at healthway clinic in toapayoh central, all price before GST n no consultant fee...i think it's cheap

Wah Crystal..ur bb more big size than mine!! My bb yest weigh @ 6.97kg. I ask doc she overweight or not.. doc say no.. then doc also say continue to feed on demand but must make sure min 2 hrs interval.. hahaha.. bo bian.. so now, i am officially off bb every 2 hrs for private time!! SHIOK!

Mummies : im thinking if i shld get a Medela electric plus..I have Medela swing liao le, but i think it takes more time..If using dual breast pump will reduce the time of expressing...Any comments?

clover: e ear tep usually lower. ard 36.1-6 deg.. esp when he is moving. forehead temp averages abt 36.6 deg. using infrared red rays. i press on his head. cannot take while feeding as temp will go up by abit during or after feeds.

temp shld only be taken when bb is at rest.

i got my forehead thermometer frm robinsons - safety 1st brand.

i slinged my bb in kangaroo position n iron my hb's clothes... 1st time. haha, he fell aslp in sling. but i put him down, he woke up.
i'm waiting for e day he can be piggy backed.

Petrina : Medela mini electric is only one side ah? But is the suction good? That means ard how much u are able to express out? Cos when i use Medela swing, i can only express ard 120ml ard 1hr lei, that is v slow compared to me using Avent manual pump, i can get ard 140-160ml ard 20-30mins...

i went kiddy palace just now to get the thermometer. i bought the one that could be used for ear and forehead thermometer. cost me 95$ aftr discount. warranty 1yr.

melody: not fantastic... i prefer hand squeeze... but definately faster than ur swing... ard 20mins already 100ml... but i also massage n pump at the same time. so maybe tat's y it's faster...

HappyMummy:
Not sure about the Medela swing, but me using the mini electric, express around 80-90ml within 15-20mins, but very noisy... ya, its 1 side.

Petrina : Oh? actuali i was thinking is it the motor fault so the suction is not there..but the motor have to go all th e way to the main office to let them see, if got any prob, they will repair for u..Hand squeeze u mean manual pump ah?
Liyun : Waoo...that fast..

Yest nite till now..bb eversince jab, drinks at long interval.. if never wake her up, she dun drink and can sleep continuous.. i stayed at my mum's place...forgotten to bring pump.. lingyee advised me to use hand to squeeze! It really do wonder! But of coz, very wasted..coz i squeezed the milk to the tap! :-( haizz.. although did use some to apply on pimples..

But the more u squeeze, the more milk u have..and the more u need to squeeze..wah lau.. never ending story leh.. bb faster wake up and drink can......

melody: hand squeeze is our hands. human pump.
massage n kneading dough... if u have stressball, u knead it. ard same method.

babedude: use 1 hand hold bottle, 1 hand squeeze. very easy n fast.

bb finally sleep, think she cried too much until very tired.

blueskies, bb dun seems to like yaolan, but will try again, dun think my mum able to carry bb to sleep esp she is getting heavier now.. yesterday carry until arm very suan le..

*envy* u all have so much ss! how to increase ss? my ss still very low, less than 80ml per pump.. I have been pumping every 4-5hr even at night, using PIS org, pump for 20min per session.

Petrina : Hahaa...sometimes i did this aso..when i havent reach my "target" i will hand squeeze lor, it does have some milk leaking out..i was thinking of buying the Medela mini electric plus is cos is dual, so will save some time..n is not wasted..cos sometimes when i express one side, the other side ios leaked..so wasted man...

kow! yesterday i said my bb very kuai. tdy he's like monster. crying to be carried. after every feed don't wanna sleep. me even don't have time to eat lunch. sigh~ as i typing this, he's crying away.. cannot tahan liao.. jus leave him in his cot and crying. argh....

cherish, massage then pump. as per what Petrina said. must massage quite hard wor. push towards the nipple.

I dun have much ss too. Cos cannot adhere to 3 hrs pumping. Pump morning lunch and dinner time.

twinklestar, thanks. ya, was at kinderclinic, dr lee.. actually, all the docs in kinder uses the normal sars thermometer under armpit, they say more accurate - but i had already bought braun ear thermometer which cost $100++ so exp!!

babe_dude, haha, ya nv ending story.. yday so i go to the toilet to hand express out into the toiletbowl..

pet/babe_dude, tks! i never came across the forehead thermomether. keep thinking its the cooling patch for the forehead. haha.

babe_dude, u used to feed alandria every 2 hrs issit?

hand expressing,
isn't it tiring? how long does it take to really empty the breast? i tried once for like 20 mins i give up b'cos my fingers feel sore but i didn't really gauge how much i produced b'cos i was engorged at that time when bb slept through the night so i express directly to the sink! hehe. is there a video somewhere that shows how hand expressing is done? i wonder if i'm doing it correctly. i love my Avent Isis very much. the best pump i ever had. can clear my breast well.

happy mummy
If you're gonna BF longterm i suggest u invest in Medela PIS. I'm using one and it really is good. It's dual pump and on average i can get 200ml-300ml for a 15min session.

Blocked Ducts
I learnt my lesson the hard way. I did not massage & squeeze my breasts during pump and after a few weeks of accumulation, i got Blocked Ducts!!
it was my worst few days ever from Sunday till today. My right breasts hurt like crazy and milk supply dropped to 50ml.. I was so upset and stressed. After much massaging and hotwater bottle kneading, now it seems ok already. (Pray that it's cleared once and for all).

Happy Mummy

* Massage Breasts
Massaging helps release milk from the back of the breast. And that increases the total amount of milk you can express. There are several different ways to massage your breasts. The key is to find the way that works best for you.

Fingertips
Start at the back of your breast. Press down lightly with two fingertips. Make small circular motions. Move toward the areola, until you've massaged your entire breast.
Warm washcloth
Soak a washcloth in warm water. Wring out any excess. Then, starting at the back of your breast, press down firmly with the washcloth. Work your way forward to the areola.
Diamond hands
Support your breast with both hands. Have your thumbs at the top, above your nipple, and your fingers below. Squeeze your breast gently as you slide your hands toward your nipple.
Parallel hands
Place one hand above and one below your breast. Slide your hands toward your nipple. As you slide your hands forward, rotate them. Repeat this until you've covered your entire breast.

kell: not sure.. cause the mei tai looks more comfy than ergo/beco leh... i saw the price in USD. cheaper than beco.

i went metro on tuesday, ergo carrier is sold @ $189.
Beco is sold # $220 on SG exclusive distributor.

so i dunno leh...

Mummies. KidzLoft warehouse having sale. From today till 25th may. open Mon-Sat, 11am to 5pm. 154, Tagore Lane. Bumbo seats @ $49.90, Don say I never jio... =P

liyun i wan go.. when.. u sms me la.

Pet
buy ergo when metro hv 20%. only $142.

Kais
hope my tips of clearing yr block ducts helps. Hope it gets better now. Actually i oso dun massage or squeeze ley.. so dun think it is becos of tat that y block ducts right?

Kais:
Thanks! Very useful info!

Pet:
I would be getting the Ergo. Easier to get. Just go to Metro. Lol.

Liyun:
I went Kidzloft warehse le. They like alys got offers. They have Safety First stuff there! But Tagore Lane, very the far.