(2008/03) March 2008

Mummies...baby went for 6in1 today, scream till the clinic collaspe...haha...maybe before jab he was cranky.
Any mummies took 6in1 with rotavirus? have actually book the rota but doc says cant take them together....ask me to take rota with the next jab 5in1.

Adeline Loo, can i knw wat sling u using to carry baby?

hi hubby precious,
i think is good that you let him sleep in yaolan...cos their head is still soft so the headshape can be adjusted if they sleep in yaolan...my 1st one initially the head abit long...but after sleeping inside yaolan for sometimes, he is ok liao...just a reference for you...

blue skies,
your bb really cute...very chubby and cheerful bb... =)

Next week gathering

Date: 21 May (wed)
Time: 1pm (baby swimming @ hbf) , 2pm (gathering)
Venue: gathering at Pacific coffee (vivo)
1. abcdisney n bb
2. petrina & bb (finally can go out)
3. Babe Dude (Meet 2pm @ Pacific Coffee)

today just brought my bb for her vaccinations. she took 3 kinds all in a day too. pneumococcal 1st dose, rotavirus 1st dose and 5-in-1 1st dose.
the charges are 170$ for pneumococcal, 100$ for rotavirus and 120$ for 5-in-1.

she is sleeping now alrdy. think she is very tired. just now evening was cranky. mummy is tired too.

keeping my fingers cross hoping she don have fever. i fed her paracetamol just in case. haha.

she now weighs 7.1kg, ht 64cm at 3mths !!!

weird leh...the gp say 6in1=6 virus into the body...if together with rota=7virus...alot liao
so ask me wait for the next 5in1 then drink rota...

dreymin, i went to the lady gp u went...u took 6in1 with rota together?

for those who order babymallonline .. i've jus placed order toy. crystal , one of yr rattle is oss. I think is item 4. d bear one.

twinklestar/abc/pet/shirley/blueskies
thanks for your comments about the various lunch jars. think i will make a trip down to the dept store soon to compare. the thermos capacity is smaller & much lighter than the BP Zojirushi. the Zojirushi weighs 700g, while thermos only 230g. the plus pount is it has compartments, so if bring soup, this will be an option. tiger aso is another good option. dilemma!

blueskies,
your boy is so adorable & chubby

babypink,
2 pairs of hands so can cut and cook faster!

vonn,
nope, he juz got the 6-in-1 coz we wanted to wait a while for the pneumococcal jabs till he is older coz now low risk, not in infantcare or exposed to older kids at home. next week he is gg for the 5-in-1 so i will ask dr low when is a gd time for the rotavirus jab. did dr low helped your baby do the measurements? how much did she charge you for the jabs? she mentioned will increase price for new batch, early this mth was: 6-in-1 $92, 5-in-1 $80, pneumococcal $160, rotavirus $100

dreymin as far as i know we don't get leave in lieu. maternity leave covers everything holiday, mc, hospital leave.

blueskies, ur boy is a cute little 'giant'!!! so big!

anyway, anyone has good recommendation of PD near bishan/toapayoh/tmc/mta? I go to kinderclinic, and really dislike their rude staff, and their facilities - got nursing room, but no diaper changing room. Oso the PD kept saying my gal is too young for any medicine!!!

My gal (8 wks) has fever, and PD says too young for medicine. The other time, she has rashes, and there is no prescription or lotion... today i was really pissed, and demanded medication.

Is it normal that PD doesn't give medication to infant under 3 mths?

sheryl,
it's true. my baby just survived a 38.6C fever without medication. but she's very cranky. always wanting to be carried. tried to force feed her BM too so that it could give her all the immunity she needed to fight any infection that may be attacking her body. thank goodness, by night time her fever went down considerably. i bathed her at night to bring down her temp. it worked. she slept through again and by next morning, it's another normal day for her.

blueskies,
omg your boy is sooooo chubby and handsome!!! i wanna bite!! can i? can i?? haha.

melody, kate, abc and aly,
thanks for all the reply. nxt time i put back fridge will not be so heartache. hee...

tdy alone at home w bb for whole day. lucky bb very kuai tdy.. hope tmr he will be kuai kuai oso. hee.. but then hor, i let him cry to sleep once. :p

Liyun : I went to Mum & Babe where i bought the Medela swing. Didnt know that it got sell the breastshield & the hose. Bcos i suspect is the hose part so the suction not there so water get into the hose le...Im Melody, changed my nickname ..

Sheryl
yes it's true that PD wont prescribe medication for young kids below 3 mths.. if GP, they seldom prescribe for below 1 year.. Cause scared medi too strong for them.

HB precious
baby's head shape depends on how u let them sleep one. I presonally prefer letting them sleep sarong so that their head will be round and nice..

Gathering
i will cfm again whether attending or not. Pretty tired out by recent events..

hubby's precious,

my 6-in-1 is about 100 from healthway clinic.

dreymin

ML cant get public holiday as leave in lieu. Checked with boss whom have checked with lawyer about this.

Date: 21 May (wed)
Time: 1pm (baby swimming @ hbf) , 2pm (gathering)
Venue: gathering at Pacific coffee (vivo)
1. abcdisney n bb
2. petrina & bb (finally can go out)
3. Babe Dude (Meet 2pm @ Pacific Coffee)
4. dreamlife (Meet 1pm for shopping at mothercare and see cute baby swimming.)

anyone has suggestions about transporting pump bottles without it being dirtied? I brought it out yesterday whole day but no time to expressed till 8 hours later but realised that the bottles are stil wet. Hope its alrite to stil use it though it has been wet for so long.

My boy always slant his head when he sleeps on rocker chair and bb car seat. Is it ok? Will it cause any harm to the bones development around his neck? M tinking of using head rest on the bb car seat and rocker chair.

I have been late for all my appts lately. Terrible! Very disorganised! Trying very hard to get back my life! Apologies to those who felt that I been slacking. :p

Fever after jabs..
Soo xin tong.. bb developed mild fever at nite after the 2 jabs and 1 oral intake. Fed her med liao and hopefully she be ok. Was cranky in the evening but still smile and play with me...but come nite time ard 4am, i touch her..all hot! Measure temp at ard 37.3. haizz cannot sleep liao.. have to monitor her. Hope she be ok..

Crystal, ur bb develop fever??

babedude
my bb also had fever after his immunisation (also took everything like yours). His fever started the day after the jabs and was gone by the following day. I used cold wet towels to put on his forehead and also fed him plain water and barley water.

sheryl
not all PDs will give medicine to infants. I know quite a lot don't even recommend panadol for babies less than 3mths old and its like the safest drug around already.

maternity leave
yea, i also checked. 12 wks ML is consecutive days, and includes all weekdays and weekends and public holidays with no off in lieu.

clover

wish i was there too :p too bad Kelicia has a fever that day

Lyn

i think i have a lot of qns abt flashcards, think i better PM u

Aly

i blue a blue marker..should be ok bah

Playtex milkbag

can we soak it in boiling water to warm..hb been doing that..dun noe like tat ok ?

Measured her just now.. back to 36.8! Luckily.. i gave her half dose of the med.. dun dare to give full dose.. will continue to monitor her though..

Guess more and more mummies be taking their bb for vacination! Be prepared and geared up k.. thermometer!! :)

Thnx bb pink and Pancake chia..

babe dude
my bb no fever. but i feel she abit hot lei, but thermometer shows 36.8. PD tells me that 38 degreeC then consider gt fever. but can see she like uncomfortable last night. keep kicking in her sleep. this morning she is okay but still with the tired look.

kate
went to singapore baby and child clinic at mountA.

Fever after vaccination
Was very busy the last 2 days coz my boy came down with fever. Temperature fluctuated between 38.1 to 38.4 and he was quite sluggish. It finally subsided yesterday evening and he's moving and kicking again! Luckily he was still greedy and drinking milk every 3 hrs (except drinking a bit slower)...

Sleep for 8 weeks old baby
My boy sleeps about total of 14-16hrs in a 24hr period. He wakes up for feed every 3-4hrs and we keep him awake for about 1-1.5hrs each time during the day for each milk session + play afterwards. He can't last for more than 1.5hrs otherwise he becomes very cranky. For night time feeds, he is half asleep when drinking milk so he is put back to sleep once he's had his milk and burped.

6-in-1 jab
I paid $150 per dose of 6-in-1 at Kinder Clinic at Mt Alvernia.

Pacifier
My boy wants his pacifier sometimes when he is halfway into sleeping. Funny thing is, after a while, he spits it out once he's tired of sucking on it. He doesn't need it all the time when he sleeps. Mostly during the daytime naps. Night time he's too sleepy to want the pacifier.

Unique,
You said sometimes your baby doesn't finish the milk, is it because the milk flow is too slow? Eg. teats are sticky (if you use latex teats), or teat hole is stuck? Because at one time, my boy didn't finish his milk at night and after I changed to a slightly larger hole, he finished all his milk. He takes about 15-20 mins to drink 150ml formula milk. If he has to suck too long, he becomes tired and will stop drinking.

Yao Lan
My boy sleeps in yao lan is cannot sleep without it. I find that he sleeps longer in the yao lan than in the cot. Maybe because yao lan is cooler, especially the back, since he's sleeping on cloth rather than mattress.

Melissa n babe_dude, glad ur bb's fever has come down. Mine has come down too.... but I actually give her a dose of med. n oso cooler plaster on her forehead all day.

PD said if fever doesn't go above 38, donm't have to give med. But her fever was kept climbing from 37.2, all the way to 37.8..i'm so worried, so i just give her the med. no pt waiting. At first, PD said may nid to admit her to hospital for fever for this age. *heart break*

Since mine did nt hv any jab, PD thinks she's waiting off some infection, and did a urine test. It's hard to get a urine for a baby ok!!! once poo the urine is considered contaminated. Now waiting for lab test result, i really pray nothing is wrong, cos PD said might nid to admit her to hospital just to administer antibiotics using IV method *heart break*...

sheryl.. ai yoh.. hope ur bb ok..
U never bring her out right?? so where will the infection comes? better take note of cleaniness when handling ur bb loh.. like wash hands when carry.. extra care when feeding etc..

Blue Skies,
My bb also latch when she had fever yest. Then her mouth feels warm when she latched.. you feel that??? kinda weird right.. hahahaa .. my bb fever yest nite was ard 37.3-5, me being kiasu abit, fed her med.. but half dose only..

My sis say, better to feed bb when home from jab.. to prevent the fever.. now that i know my bb have tendency to fever after jab, will do it next round loh...

ya, we all practise hygenie n cleaniless... but so if it's really infection, probably it's her poo spread upwards in the diaper.

my bb oso drinks as per normal n just abit more fussy.

babe_dude u din feed anything like barley waater prior to jab?

babe dude
yeah my mom tells me to give med aftr jabs when reach home to prevent fever too. i did that. gave her 1.5ml as the dosage for the paracetamol.

though thermometer shows okay but i still feek her warm warm de. dunno is it i paranoid or what lor. haha.

crystal, my bb also.. thermometer shows ok liao but still feel warm... but she still play as per normal..so shld be ok bah.. i also gave her 1.25ml coz one dosage is 2.5ml per doc.

Sheryl, nah.. i never feed barley water leh.. but i drink chrysanthemum tea and fed her with my milk.. shld be ok right?? hahahahah

ladies, how do u all take bb's temp n wat do u use??

I read in the paper that there's a court case in us of charges of using mercury as preservatives in vaccinations esp in mump, rubella and measles that resulted autism in children. so I can't help but o feel we need to be careful about introducing vaccinations to our child.

FYI whether bb developed fever depends on d kind of thermometer u use. For ear thermometer , fever only when temp is 38.5. slight fever @ 38. For fever jus gt over counter panadol. My favorite is 'Calpol'. dun hv to bring to c dr unless fever prolong more than 72h. so far arielene fever always subside within 72h n then there is once her fever is 39-41.5 degree even after second day . but miraculously subside by d 3rd day!

Anyway bb still young, there is no medication for them. Jus gt iver counter panadol n monitor situation bah..

adeline
take care! Anyway Next wk only 1 gathering

Can anyone advise on the rotavirus jab? Is it one jab only or a few jabs cos wanna to bring my gal for this jab ..N can it be after the 3mths jab one?

happymummy

rotavirus comes in 2 doses, both taken orally. can start to give at 3mths alrdy. my girl just had hers yest. she is 3mths yest fyi. next dose would be at 5th month. you can refer to the health booklet.

babe dude
i fed barley, nxt time then i try chrysanthemum. keke. yah she also plays like normal but crying was abit more yest. but quite a bit of kicking in her sleep last nite.

clover
i using ear thermometer to chck the temp.

blue skies n crystal, I m using the pigeon rubber tip thermomether n take the temp at the arm pit. my mil says its not so accurate. wondering if I shld buy a ear thermomether instead. wat brand do u all use n abt how much?

Clover.. i use forehead reader.. to measure the temp

crystal
no need try chrysanthemum lah.. apparently no use, since my bb feverish..hahahaha

hi mummies, how to make bb sleep in cot?

we used to carry bb and after she sleep, we will put her sleep in cot, but recently she dun want to sleep in cot, only want to be carry.. once we put her down, she will cry badly.. for this, she can be awake for more than 10hrs in the day time.. is she over pampered?
We try to leave her alone in the cot, she will cry badly, yaolan dun help too.. yesterday, she was awake from 7am to 1am, and 9am she is awakw and refused to sleep without carry.

<font face="Book Antiqua"><font size="+1"><font color="0000ff"><u>Pigeon Baby Wipes with soothing Chamomile(3-in-1)</u>
1. Jenifur - 4 packs; S$32.80
2. yutong - 2 packs; S$16.40
3. aly - 5 packs; S$41.00
4. isabellali - 5 packs; S$41.00

Total = 16 packs

<u>Pigeon Hand and Mouth Wipes 20shts (Twin Pack)</u>
1. Jenifur - 2 pack; S$5.40
2. isabellali - 4 packs; S$10.00

Total = 6 packs </font>

<font color="ff0000">Wipes will be delivered to me on Sat. Please kindly transfer your payment to POSB Savings 194-73291-0 (Amt above is inclusive of GST)</font></font></font>

<font face="Book Antiqua"><font color="0000ff">Today is my 3rd day back in office &amp; I super missed my babies!!! Every morning jus dun feel like leaving e house esp if Josiah is awake.

I want to be a SAHM
</font></font>

sheryl

hope ur baby is fine...dun worry..although babies look fragile think they are actually quite tough...btw, which pd u seeing at kinderclinic (mt a right?)

I went to isetan sale to buy the tiger thermos and food warmer at 8.30 this morning... Only $50, which I tot is a bargain.

Haha. But I reached office at 9.45am. My office just opp isetan. Duhz.