Venue: vivo city
Time: 1.30pm
Meeting place (TBC)

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. happygal29

2. kate - 1 bundle of 3 x 80s and 1 bundle 6x30s (paid) + 1 bundle 3 x 80s
3. YT - 5 bundle of 3 x 80s (paid)
4. babypink - 2 bundle 3 x 80s and 1 bundle 6 x 30s (paid)
5. ling yee - 5 bundle 3 x 80s (paid)
<strike>7. Clover - 1 bundle 3 x 80s and 1 bundle 6 x 30s (paid)
9. Babe_Dude - 2 bundle 3 x 80s and 2 bundles 6 x 30s (paid)
11. Pearl - 3 bundle of 3 x 80s (paid) </strike>
12. adeline - 2 bundle 3x80s and 2 bundle 6x30s (paid)
14. Liyun - 1 carton (8 bundle) (paid) + 2 bundle

Actually this is what i do when i feed my 1 month girl everyday. I will latch her on one side for as long as she like (abt 10-20mins), then I will bottle feed her 80ml of EBM. Sometimes she finish, sometime she doesn't. I pump every alternative feed. At night, I will still latch her, but feed her 120ml EBM (also sometimes finish, sometime don't). Am I feeding my baby right?

I actually tried to totally latch her, without bottle feeding EBM, but most of the time she will only drink 1 side, and end up wanting to drink every 1.5 hour. Also my pumping supply got hay-wire that day too, very little milk.

So is it still a good idea to latch her fully when outside?

sgblingff:

Ya, I realise the same problem, I can kind of "control" my supply when at home as I can make sure I pump regularly, even after I pump at home, I will latch him after that to "create" supplies. But once I go out, (latching outside), the supply timing goes hay wire, I leak at funny timings, he will wana feed (everytime falling asleep @ 1 side) almost every 1.5hrs.

sgblingff and liyun
tat y i latch fully. 1.5h to 2h is normal. the more u latch the more the milk supply comes in. My boy oso latch 1 breast so i tandem the other breast.. all my EBM is to keep so tat when i go out my helper can feed him with ebm

BABY SKIN PRODUCT
i'm looking for 'SKII' equivalent for my baby's face! anyone has using something for their baby's skin? my baby's skin is always peeling around her eyes.

PD prescribed PHYSIOGEL for her body and it works wonder no more peeling! But physiogel cannot be applied near the eyes! headache ah! I don't think it warrants a visit to PD just to get cream for her face.

sgblingff, how old is your baby? mmh, your baby seems to feed large quantity - compared to mine.

sheryl
try california baby calendula cream or d one tat kareen recommend , klorane brand. u can gt fr guardian under avene section .

Sheryl,

My bb's face was peeling too and my PD recommends Vaseline (Pure Petroleum). Since then, I hv been using it all over my bb's body and on his whole face. It works wonder for him. He has very dry skin and moreover the weather in USA is very dry. I tried lots of brand and even J&amp;J oil doesn't work for him.

Sheryl,
Wow... your hubby is a very dedicated daddy

jerejoy,
Glad that the tips are useful
Calm and patient mama will have clam and patient baby. Over time, you will be able to pick up the cues of your baby accurately. I will try to figure out the needs of the baby once she starts stirring
Sometimes, when I am in the toilet, no choice... Will end up with a yelling baby. Baby will usually stir, make some noise for a while. If nobody tend to her or her needs not satisfied, she will start yelling... When I say yelling here is crying very out loud.

can i chk wif u ladies...i give birth on 16/03 n understand that bb already had his 1 Hep jab during his stay in hospital. I understand the 2nd Hep jab shld be a month later but my PD has fixed the next appt on 28 Apr (1mth plus). will it be too late for the 2nd Hep jab

sheryl,
that's a good article. thanks for sharing. that's what my mom practised and she passed her knowledge to me. i only take ang moh style with a pinch of salt. b'cos i believe asians have our own unique style in bringing up baby. i don't want to raise a very westernized bb liao.

still see some mommies having problem with supply? if you're confident and believe in your own body, it shouldn't be a problem. i still fully latch and didn't even bother to pump unless i have to go out and can't bring baby along. and if i pump, i can get 5oz after latching from both breasts but then i'll stop else i'm encouraging oversupply liao. also, my Tricia is already 7 weeks so she drinks more. here's my super sucker, thriving on mommy's milk alone. and i'm sure many would think she looks like boiboi b'cos she's wearing blue.. haizz..

1363350.jpg

unique,
not too late at all. i'll be sending my bb for her 2nd hep B jab in polyclinic tomorrow and get her the 6-in-1 package. see if can deduct from CDA account or not. hmmm...

unique
u r getting the 6 in 1 package thus yr PD arrange for jab at 6 weeks. If u go at 1mth it will only b 5 in 1 jab. FYI my boy is born on 18 feb and havent had his first jab after disharge from hospital. Will be doing it tmr on his 2nd mth.

Melissa
for me is bo pian. LC say i am insensitive to letdown thus hv to stimulate to get the milk. Right now after 2 hr of feeding and bb didnt latch , tat is he is taking ebm while i pump, i can get only 80ml - 100ml. But this is an acheievement le. Last time only can get 40ml. After latch i can get one more letdown of prob another 40ml milk? roughly 1 oz... hoping to achieve more...

Melissa
yes i did. Now i get more letdowns... i read a book it jus says some nipple cannot get use to pump.. thus hv to keep stimulating for nipple to get use to pumps

i have been enjoying reading the posts but lazy posting them, haha! my DS is born 28 feb, hope to know more mummies.

jenifur, DS shares the same name as your boi boi, aso called josiah

lyn, i aso started on Glenn Doman, we got 2nd hand kits from DH's colleague. is it true can only start graphics and not words?

btw my GP in bishan quoted me $660 for 6-in-1 not including consulation, exp or not?

i hv been on TBF, so far have not tried to pump out. i am already exhausted from feeding every 3hrs, he weighs a hefty 5.4kg when we went for check up last week, when he was 5 wks old.

how do you pump and get excess when feeding him 100% latch on?

<font color="aa00aa">melissa,
what is CDA account?

dreymin,
exp! the healthway GP near my hse quoted me $306 for 6 in 1 exclusive consulation.</font>

I hven been postin here since my delivery.... how is everyone doin? Think most of u are already off confinement while I m still stuck at home. I cant join all the gatherin in April lei :p

Juz upload my Baby Shannon photo

1363576.jpg

hi fion mummy,

sorry should be PD, not GP :p
i aso thot it is expensive coz polyclinic is around $320+.

probably check with my GP if he does baby jabs, thanks for giving me the idea.

abcdisney,

wah ur pd v far for me but gd price! anyone gg to a pd near bishan, toa payoh can recommend? i am seriously contemplating gg to polyclinic but dread the waiting time

dreymin,
Your baby is almost 2 months old. You check his eyesight if he can see properly. If can, you can start words cards. Last time, I go to GDbaby for assessment. Basically, you test by using your finger to put in front of baby, move left and right see if he can follow. If can, then you can start words already. Different babies develop at different pace, so it's dependent on babies. Generally, it's 3 months.

unique,
It's not too late.

dreymin

as long as book appt , no need to q. The number to book is 63553000 for poly

u r given the time to go and u r given priority q number after u register ;)

unique

not at all

abc

agree with kais tat the mickey one is very cute !
good buy indeed

ur side there have frequent pasar malam hor ..remmeber u mention abt this once too..

it has been more than a year since a pasar malam happen ard my block ..

Melissa

Tricia is chubby indeed
is she an eurasion ?

just curious, r u &amp; ur hb chinese ?

Sheryl

tat is a very encouraging article
i believe in this cos i remember reading tat we must not ignore a bb's cries..they are too young to throw a tantrum yet ..crying means some needs are not met

blue_skies

agree tat he is a handsome boi

Dor

sweet baby , chubby too
How many days old is Shannon ?

PS: I think I am the only one who gave birth to a scrawny kid :p i was kind of shock when I 1st saw kyzac, he got really twiggy legs ( thin like twigs)

b4 i deliver, saw so many cute chubby babies, and somemore I deliver him at full term..was expecting more chubbiness

dreymin,
our babies DOB is quite close. my daughter's born on 26 feb. your PD charges is very exp. as for my excess milk, i think i have a problem with oversupply! I usually breastfeed on demand and these few weeks, her schedule seems haywire. I get engorged at different times of the day. Once i woke up at 5am feeling so engorged even though her last feed is 2am and another night, her last feed was 12 midnite, next feed was 6am and I did not engorge! So I always have to prepare my pump nearby. Maybe she's still going through a growth spurt. That's why I tried not to pump. Or maybe b'cos I drink too much Milo. I'm such a huge Milo fan.

babypink,
hehee my hubby is of mixed blood and Tricia follows hubby a lot. that's what my MIL said when she sees her. the thing is, she looks so different from my 1st girl and yet everyone told me that my 1st girl looked like my hubby too. So that frustrates me! how can two girls with different looks looks exactly the same as daddy? then me leh? *sob sob* don't worry about kyzac being scrawny lah. most babies will bloom to chubbiness at 2mths old and above. i think they're most chubby at 4-5 months. then again it depends on mommy's milk content, high fat or low fat. haha.

fion mummy,
cda account is only available to 2nd time mommy and above. it's part of baby bonus package. was told that it can be used to pay for immunizations, authorised medical centres/institutions and preschool education.

dor,
how old is shannon, she's so chubby!

diet,
tried to maintain my weight by cutting down on rice and tried having it once a day but today i went out to NTUC to buy diapers without taking dinner and i came back almost getting a gastric! so i quickly have my rice dinner and the uneasiness went away. my mom scolded me and reminded me that i'm breastfeeding so shouldn't diet that way. anyway i gained 1kg hee hee.

<font color="aa00aa">melissa,
oh i see! i tot 1st child also hv this previllage. hmm...

dreymin,
no problem.

abc,
wah....ur PD charges cheap leh.

think i will bring my bb go polyclinic for MMR jab n for the 6 in 1 will go healthway GP.
maybe can consider SGH, the package cheap also.

like to ask is go for 6 in 1 1st or MMR 1st n also booster jab polyclinic has also FOC?</font>

dreymin
I go to toapayoh clinic for my girls' jabs. I usu register by 8am so tt i dont have to wait long. Mostly done by 9am.

lyn,
yes he can follow a moving object now, can even smile when it is smtg that he likes e.g. a toy. do you know if GS has a introductory course for parents to attend? i heard from DH's colleague whom we got the kits from that it is good to attend the class.

babypink/kais,
thanks for the info, will call and make an appt. prob go AMK coz TP now got ERP gantry!

babypink,
dun worry about BB's growth. i aso same like you, very worried when BB was not eating coz milk has not kicked in yet and he shrunk. everyone (nurses, CL, mum) were telling me not to go TBF coz BB suffers and sure very small one. glad i stick to my belief, now he is a thriving BB, weighed 5.4kg at 5wks old. my MIL called him 小牛 yest

melissa,
DS's edd was 4 march so i am always in a limbo which group to join, feb or mar? glad to see feb mummies here

i tempted to drink a lot of milo but i afraid heaty leh, i am the kind will get sore throat after eating more than 2 cubes of chocolates.

i aso same like you, feed on demand. but if it stretches too long, wl wake him to feed. i wont get engorged unless more than 6hrs. last nite was haywire for me, now still sleepy. he woke at 130am so i fed him. then he fell asleep aft feedg one side only and could not be aroused. i decided to pump coz very hard and i aso want to know the yield. maybe the pumping woke him up, started crying and woke everyone up, and this continued till 430am

mummies, i got 2 quick qns.
pumping: how much can you get after pumping on one side? mine was 90ml yesterday.
jabs: what else is recommended besides 6-in-1? what is MMR? my clinic basically told me go for $660 or $1400 package! will call them again to get more info.

Abc, cun go outing today.. gonna wait for new tv to comes later in the afternoon. gg to stay home till hubby comes back coz mum went golfing today.

melissa,

i aso tempted to diet but my body just won't listen to me and keep eating! i reckon coz we are breastfeeding so body needs more energy. i am just a month away from back to work and none of my pre-preggie clothes fit. very depressing coz i still wearing maternity or nursing wear

dreymin,
Maybe you would like to check is $660 a package for all the 6-in-1 jabs.
The class is only for people who bought the sets from them. That's why last time I buy first hand from them. We gotta provide them name and receipt number when booking for the class.

Wow! $1400 package for injections! That's super duper expensive! Even my PD also not expensive. Faintz... Does that include the rotavirus, pneumococcal, chicken pox, etc?

When I am engorged, I pumped one side 120-150ml, and the other side 50ml. My twins, each one suck one side. One drink less than the other. That's why a big difference in amount. But this week no more pumping lor... cos no oversupply already.

melissa,
I feel that pumping will cause engorgement. You must have enough rest and food, that's why got so much milk
Envy envy... I had engorgement and oversupply even for my twins last two weeks. Now, no more oversupply cos I gotta start doing housework and look after the twins on my own, and also cook for myself.

hahaha... Quite sad when both gals look like your hubby... My boy looks exactly like my hubby, and now my 2 gals look like my boy! So I might get 3 kids all looking like my hubby!

dreymin, melissa

thanks for the encouragement

actually, was only shocked when i see him for the 1st time, cos i really see so many cute chubby babies from this thread..

so i guess the higher my expection, the more the disappointment :p

dreymin..wow, 5.4 at 5 weeks is a very good wt !

hehe, i m not worried anbt kyzac's wt after birth..everyday my meals intake which contributes to his milk content is a very nutritious balanced diet, minus the craving of junk food i had when i was having him

as for dieting, i think no junk food is good enough
heard if we diet, milk will bec toxic..

so most impt is a balanced intake, without junk stuff liket tibits etc

btw, dreymin, mine is one side 10ml, one side 80ml..every 3 hrs

MMR is a comuplsory jab ..6 in one also..

u can consider optional jabs like an oral vaccine Rotaivirus, jabs like Hep A and chicken pox vaccination too

The optional jab is up to parents to decide
personally, i intend to let Kyzac take all..

Q: Why do babies jerk and twitch?

A: Primarily because newborns have more synapses, or connections, in their nervous system than adults, which makes them more sensitive to their environment, says Romi Webster, a pediatrician at Children's Hospital Boston. This is why your newborn startles and twitches so easily at a sudden movement or loud sound. Young babies also have increased tone in their flexor muscles — if you extend your baby's leg, for example, it will likely jerk back into a bent position. This heightened muscle tone decreases over the first nine months of life, at the same time that motor coordination improves, allowing your baby smoother movements as he grows. Keep an eye out for startling that continues much beyond 4 to 6 weeks, says Webster, or excessive twitching that can't be stopped by putting your hand on the shaking limb. In those cases, it's advisable to take your baby to a doctor to rule out a problem needing medical attention.

Melissa and BBpink, ya, I was looking on how to handle fussy baby when I found that article about mother's responses to baby cries. Now I know why my hubby and I responded differently. LOL. I should not be too upset with my hubby since he doesn't have the hormone changes linked up to our baby (I wish he has, so he can BF our baby - not me!!! HAHAHA)

BLOCKED DUCT
I super sianz.. got one big lump on my breast for 2-3 days. Tried nursing there more often, hot water bottle, massage - even arm exercise! Still there! Anyone got experience of clearing blocked duct?

Melissa and dreymin - what do u mean by feeding timing go haywire - eh, what's the regular timing? Wah piang, I think my baby's timing is super haywire then - drinks every hr in the evening!!

hi babypink,

injection

we can take the pneumococcal jab b4 the 5 in 1 jab?any side effects?for the oral vaccine Rotaivirus,which mth we can take??

Mini Gathering (Let's have 2 next week)

Date: 21 April (Mon)
venue: Good wood park lobby

Interested:
1. Abcdisney n bb
2. aly n bb n maid

=================================================

Date:23 April (Wed)
Venue: vivo city
Meeting place (TBC)