(2008/03) March 2008

any one know y bb hip up ah? Shawn tend to hip up quite often.. I try givin him some water.. But he refuse to take water.. So i jus let him latch on n drink milk to stop the hip up.. M i doin the rite thing ah?

How to prevent bb from pee or poo when changin diaper ah? I kana his pee n poo few time while changin le.. Even my bedsheet n his cot bedsheet oso kana.. Now i got a bit kan cheong when come to change him le..

congrats to all mummies who have popped too!

kea,
tmc have the undies tat blueskies mention having in MtA. so buy the kotex loop pad is better.

my stitch below oso sore and feel pain.. but i try not to take pain killer..

dreamlife & clover,
imagine i was still wondering when my bb will come out on the 18th.. and still deciding if i shld start my leave on 18th too..so my bb decided to decide for me and come out on 19th.. hee..

haha.. i gave the wrong contact nos to alien, thus i have not received the mat yet.. :p

cladi, keep his parts covered. prepare the wipes n new diaper b4 removing his old diaper.
my boy uses 3pcs. so i'll put 3pcs opened up beside changing mat. n stretch his new diaper for easy put on.
n u gotta be fast.. hehs. catch his timing. my boy poos after feeds. so i let him poo first then i change. i dun wake him up 2 change as they tend to release pee n poo during comfy slp time.

redtea: i think we all have instinct on when our bb will pop... usually +- 1/2days...

aly: common.. tats y i'll put the cotton diaper on towel below his butt. to prevent accidents. then cover balance towel over his P.

dreamlife: not yet... not ur instinct spoilt.

Wah. Hate the stupid tummy wrap leh. The strings are tied so tight, cutting into my tighs.
sort of regret getting the post-natal massage.

bb pee can prevent by cover him la.. But how abt poo? How to prevent.. After bf he will poo plus wind.. Then must wait til he poo after feedin then can change ah?
Then put him to slp?

Do u all change their diaper once u know got poo? Or wait til they cry for change?

Pet,
Could it be eczema?

Kea,
I finished up the whole pack of maternity pads provided by hosp but not enough. I did bring one pack of Kotex Maxi and used up most of it.

Cladi,
I kena the poo too. It was when I was lifting her legs up, her butt in the air and it went "POOO!!" and the stool flew out like rocket! Had it all over my body, thigh and bedsheet! I had to change and scrub my bedsheet in the middle of the night!! So now, when I change her, I'll have a spare nappy on standby, covering my body, just in case.

For my son, I change immediately because he has sensitive backside, once left the poo for a few mins, his backside will turn very red.

With my NB, if I hear her poo, I will wait for a while, about 5 mins or so before I change her.

some time i hear him pooooo.. Then he didn cry to change.. So i jus leave it til he cry.. He can pee til the diaper bcome heavy yet he still didn cry to change.. Normal?

Clover,

Thanks! Really feel so happy.

Petrina,

My baby's weight is 5lb 12 oz. Sorry, I dun know how to convert in terms of kg...Thank you so much for updating.

cladi, after feeds sure poo. wait till poo finish then change. so b4 feed change. then will be safe le. so far i nv kenna.
i used to change after each poo, now bi wait. 2 poos then change once. pee, depends. they not uncomfy, they wun cry.
for me 2 feeds i'll change once. standard for me.

jerejoy, no prob. i'll convert for u.

my feedin time a bit messy le.. He can feed 15 min now.. Then half an hr later cry for next feed le..

Jus now at 12.30pm i give him 60ml ebm.. Somehow he still not enough.. Keep makin noise.. Wana latch on.. Til now he still latchin on me.. I c his stomach so big le.. Wana stop him.. But he keep makin noise ah..

abc
his jaundice today came down to 13
so probably can go home tomorrow...wah u must have been so worried to hear your boy's jaundice at 19! I was worried cos the PD there kept saying 17.3 is v. high and over 20 can cause brain damage :p...but i know too that the phototherapy is highly effective treatment so that was the comforting part

bb's name is Thomas but in US, they like to use nick names like mikey for michael, teddy for theodore and tommy/tom is a common nick name for thomas so we've been calling him baby tommy for months liao

congrats redtea, jerejoy and chewwy!

episiotomy,
the internet says it takes about 10-14 days for the stiches to be dissolved so all the pains and sore should minimize or disappear by then. i started feeling comfortable around that time too. then again i had two stiches - one is episiotomy over existing episiotomy scar from first delivery, the other is from natural tear. i remember my first heal pretty quick and was not that sore, i was able to move about like i never delivered, without painkillers. but this second one, had to take the painkillers when the pain kicks in. i survived on laurier extra soft without wings pad and topical spray! must change the pad everytime u go toilet else the moisture can cause the stitch to heal even slower.

jerejoy,
congrats for natural birth without epi! yours is fast!

kell,
wait till u see how fast the tummy wrap slims down your tummy and you won't regret you did it.

cladi,
sounds like ur bb wants to suck for comfort. if my bb wants to suck for comfort and she just had her full feed, i simply pat her to sleep and she'll sleep. sometimes she fuss b'cos she got overstimulated and needs help to get back to sleep. otherwise she should be able to sleep on her own.

jaundice,
i heard the the more mature the baby is, the less chances of getting jaundice. i think this may not be true. my first girl has the same blood type as me, O type and she was almost retained b'cos her jaundice level is almost high. however, since her result is borderline, i get to bring her home. she's born at 38 weeks, weighing 3.2kg. my 2nd one, is blood type B, follow daddy and b'cos of this, PD warned me that her jaundice might take longer to go away but at that time, her level of jaundice is not high, hence she's able to go home with me. within a few days, with no sun, it was rainy season, her jaundice went off by itself for 3 days only! and she's born at 37 weeks weighing 3.1kg. so for my story, the jaundice doesn't have to do with how mature the baby is when she's born.

blocked tear duct,
anyone has this on their newborn already? my MIL said to apply breast milk to their eye when this happened. my PD said no, just clean it with cooled boiled water and massage her nose to help clear the blocked tear duct. i tried my MIL's method but it doesn't seem to work. has anyone tried it and does it actually worked? i googled and some even claimed that it worked within a few hours you can see results! i find that unbelievable.

i am from Feb.
would like to order from babycenter by today. need to meet USD 150 for 15% discount.
exchange rate adjustable with what credit card used.

USD 80 more to go..

A) Medela membrane (USD 4.56)
http://store.babycenter.com/product...embranes+for+medela+breast+pumps.do?asc=false
(1) xiaoyun
(2) xiaoyun

(B) LeapFrog Discovery Ball (USD 10.20)
http://store.babycenter.com/product...nd/g+-+l/leapfrog/discovery+ball.do?asc=false
(1) xiaoyun
(2) xiaoyun
(3) emoments
(4) tute
(5) qoosan
(6) Jacelyn (Jan)

anyone still want to join?
anyone interested in other items also can include here.
if not, i got to cancel liao le..

<font color="aa00aa">xiao yun,

when is the closing date? like to order the below for 2pkts n how's the charges? [email protected]

Pampers Preemie Swaddlers Diapers - for Babies up to 6 lbs - 20 Diapers</font>

defgal,
diapers are very bulky. do u think it's worth after include CGW shipping to buy from US?

btw, hope to order it tomorrow morning.

<font color="aa00aa">xiao yun,
not v sure abt the shipping charges, can u advise? asking 2 of my friends to join can i let u know the ans before tue? thanks.</font>

defgal,
the CGW charges is USD 4 per 1 kg (volumetric charge or real weight whichever is higher)
volumetric charges will be calculated like this:
Volumetric weight of the box calcuated by: (cm3) /6000 = Kg

not sure how much will it be. but if you would like to join, probably be prepared to bear higher shipping charge to be fair to others with less bulky orders.

btw, do u have the link for the diaper?

i chnge my bb's diaper when he wakes up from sleep, but not immediately. wil wait like 10mins. recently, cos of my sore nipples, i din latch him on that often. will express every 3hrs, but sad to say, my supply drop alot. last time after bb latch, i stil can pump 4oz of milk. nw, without latch, oso 4oz only.

btw, mummies out there, hw much ebm u al gv for 5,6 wks bb? i smetimes gv 4oz, smetimes gv 5oz. is it too much or little?

abc mummy,
really alot ah? but she can finished leh. n 3hrs later, she wil wake up for nxt feed. if i let her latch, wil b 20min each side. i try to feed her every 3hrs. thk even nw nipples sore,i wil stil latch her at mid of nite, if nt, wait til i warm ebm, she screaming liao.

Fei,
blocked tear duct is when your baby started having sticky eyes. just like how we develop sore eyes but eyes will still retain normal color but baby's eyes are always teary. for my 1st girl, it went away with time but at the meantime, so poor thing always see her wake up with crusty eyes.

wait till some mommies complain about cradle caps.. lol. so many conditions newborns will be having when they're born in this world.

happygal29,
it sounds like a lot but since it's EBM, it's perfectly alright. you can never overfeed with EBM at most baby will poo more or spit out more. but don't overfeed if you're giving FM though.

LC told me if i going back work have to start bottlefeed him now. Tried jus now.. but he willing to take in only 60ml. Well my mil feed him, i express.. for 5 - 10min (he is crying cos mil "force" him to finish and i tot he not enuff so stop after a while) i only get 40ml for both breast... For those using ameda pump, how often u pump? jus let it run? my fren told me at least 15-20min... even no drops oso let it run until 15-20min is up. Experience mummies, is it?

abc,
i used ameda pump at work last time. yes at most never exceed 30 mins. 15-20 mins is ideal. try to drink hot water before you pump. it *might* increase your yield a bit.

both are good. used avent isis at home while i used ameda lactaline at work. i have two b'cos i'm too lazy to bring the same pump to and fro all the time. so i kept one in the office and one at home, since office is already like a 2nd home to me!

yoz...
So chiam, I cant seem to find much chance to log on nowadays, still trying my best to stablise my baby's feeding timing so I can get myself ready for work. Expressing milk for him to drink at night nowadays.

<font color="0000ff">pumps:
I am currenly using a 2nd hand Avent Manual pump, its quite powerful BUT gives me sore nipple... painful but sometimes I am just too lazy to wait (electric pump is slower &amp; gentle)...</font>

Petrina,

Thanks for yr help to convert.

Adeline L,Melissa,

Cladi,

Me too. My baby latches on me all the night. Esp from 2am - 8am. Really feel so tired. But he sleeps so much in the afternoon. Wanted to pump out my milk but worry that my supply may drop if I pump it out.

abc mummy,
i m using avent manual pump. it is quite gd, but liyun is right. u may have sore nipples if u use incorrectly.
me oso gg bk to wrk on 25apr, hence i alernate bet latch n bottlefeed. mreover, have sore nipples, so painful.
wanna ask mummies out there do ur bb have white spots inside their mouth? mine have leh. i thk mayb thrush. do u al thk nd to c PD or it wil resolve by itself?

happygal: hehs, i also told hb, by the time EBM is ready, he alreay siren the hse down liao.

i'm dreading e day i start to pump EBM for him. i'm happy latching on demand. my bio clock is fixed liao. even b4 he crys for milk, i'm already up. i cant slp more than 2hrs straight. kenna trained by my boy liao.
during feeding, he'll latch max 1hr. depends on his mood, i'll slp throughout this hr..

hi abc....

Pearl here...

When will the carslon wipes arriving..? my stock running low... Please PM me can.. can I didnt follow the thread very often...

hi babes

back from my gynae check..still 1cm dilated...if by thurs , me no deliver, will be gg for induce on friday @ 38wks..coz don want to keep waiting...hee

i read abt all those induction, long labour, more pain, induction failed, i v scare liao....shld i jus be more xin ku and hold bb till he wan come out...?? haiz..anyone go thru induce before? can advise me...

abc

coz doc c me so xin ku becoz i m quite petite then gt infection, keep eating antibotics....he say if cant wait, induce lo.....haiz..wil induce coz any danger?

Kea
i induced my first born...
then was 2cdm dilated...
i break water bag at 9am..and give birth at 1pm...some people end up csection..some dun...
so dun worry...

abc
dr ong good?

Mummy Norman!!

can advise me more on induce process??? y did u induced? @ how many weeks? is it v v painful? sry to ask so much......me if induce on friday, is 38wks.... me now is 1cm dilated..coz say my zi gong jing is v small........wonder wads tt??.....

Kea
I induced cos i buay tahan been preggie....at 37...is ok to ask....zi gong jing small?...got to ask doc.....my sil e-csection...cos doc says she open 10cm liao....the bone still narrow...so bb cannot cme out...so u got to ask what is it?....dun wan pain for nothing....

i put pills in the nite before to soften n open cervix and kick start labour......then regualar tolerable contractions...at morn, 9am...break water bag..and on drip....then 1 pm give birth...oni after water bag burst and on drip then labour very fast...