(2008/03) March 2008

wah.. all so early today.. i whole nite also cannot slp... walked in n out bedroom to toilet..
Leg in pain... slept in a sitting position instead n crossed my legs. while slping, i was waking up every few mins to massage my legs..

abc: get my hb to cradle my back? hehe, fat chance.. he already snoring away while i was in pain..
yup. my joints n ligaments r very loose now. therefore causing pain in ever slight movements.

papaya soup
i already started drinking. abt 2wks once.

still very sick. throat not cooperative.. pain in swallowing now.

babe dude
my maid is the same as yours lor. damn "clever" and super irritating. NEVER will let her touch or carry my bb or come close to my bb let alone making milk for my bb. NO WAY !!!!
hee but anyway i want to bf. so also NO touching of those EBM in the fridge. and i am going to put all the EBM in the bar fridge in my room!

crystal: hey, i also told hb tat i wanna get a bar fridge for my EBM... but he say may not be cold enuff leh. so i still considering other options...
any advice on cheap n small fridge?

Kell/Petrina,

Thanks for yr info. Will start drinking too. Hopefully will hv breastmilk to feed my boy. ;)

Any advise on wht type of confinement food to eat if I will like to breastfeed. It seems that there's lot of ginger/wine in confinement food but we are nt suppose to eat those if we want to breastfeed. Anyone has list of recipes of confinement food suitable for breastfeeding? Thanks in advance!

Morning all mummies,

I need some help! I've had some stretch marks appearing on my breasts despite applying the stretch mark cream for quite some time! OMG!

I'm very concerned about it. Please please please help me. Anyone facing this problem right now? Is there any cure to lighten it or prevent it better? Please let me know!

Petrina,

I brew Lo Han guo drink if my throat is irritated. It seems to work v well. Brew the lo han guo n rock sugar for at least half n hr to 45mins. Then before u turn off the fire, add some chrysanthemum into the drink.

If nt, add some chrysanthemum, wolfberries, melon sugar in a pot. Boil hot water n pour it in. Drink it after 15 mins. Over in States, can't find chinese medication stores so hv to brew myself. It works for me. Hope it helps u too.

Postnatal Massage (By Cost)

<table border=1><tr><td>Description</TD><TD> Cost </TD><TD>Session Length</TD><TD>Contact</TD><TD> Price/Hour </TD></TR><TR><TD>10 Sessions Indon Lady</TD><TD> $500.00 </TD><TD>1.5hr / 90 min</TD><TD>KateChow (katechow) </TD><TD> $33.33 </TD></TR><TR><TD>7 Days Postnatal Package</TD><TD> $490.00 </TD><TD>2 hr / 120 min</TD><TD>Liyun (pinniet) </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>7 Sessions Jamu Wrap</TD><TD> $450.00 </TD><TD>1.5hr / 90 min</TD><TD>Adeline | Princess Kim &amp; Kath (madeleine) </TD><TD> $42.86 </TD></TR><TR><TD>7 Sessions Chinese Lady</TD><TD> $400.00 </TD><TD>1+ hr</TD><TD>Kell (closetdoor) </TD><TD> $57.14 </TD></TR><TR><TD>7 Sessions </TD><TD> $320.00 </TD><TD>?</TD><TD>abc (abcdisney) </TD><TD> $46/day </TD></TR><TR><TD>Postnatal Massage</TD><TD> $50.00 </TD><TD>1+ hr</TD><TD>clover (julyclover) </TD><TD> $50/day</td></tr></table>

thks jerejoy... will go n buy.. keke.. lazy to boil myself.

babedude: u ok mah? ur maid so blur. u got scold her or not...
today still gg out mah? i sore throat n flu still. but if wan walk is fine.

faith
i hv stretch marks on my breasts too during my 1st preggie &amp; now. there's nothing much we can do lah just contd to apply those stretch mark cream lor. cant really tighten but maybe will lessen those marks.
infact i hv alot of stretch mark around my hips from my 1st pregnancy, hv been applying oil this time &amp; it seems to improve alittle, at least the marks hv became silver &amp; not red liao.

Oops! I think i hv lost the link to the google blog which one of the mummies has created. Can anyone of u who has the link paste it on the forum? Sorry for the trouble! I'm looking for the recipe of the papaya n fish soup. Thanks!

Petrina,

U are most welcome! Those drinks sold at the Chinese medication shops are gd as well. Convenient too!

Hope u will get well soon.

bellebeins: i also haven't get the nick nacks... only get standard items.. some basic necessities i haven't buy yet lor.. gan jiong.. yes.. i almost every wkend go out wif hb get some nick nacks. but nv managed to finish buying...
i also haven't plan where to put my cot.. confirmed put in my rm. but dunno where only. still need to put side table to contain diapers, hot water flask, cream, powder etc... wah.. think already i headache liao.

faith: stick to the cream is good. or use olive oil. will not disappear. cause logic same. if grow too fast then will have marks. apply everyday also no use de...

kais,unique and cheryl
i had PUPPS with my #1 too....damn itchy and unbearable and gynae basically said no help till baby was born but that was like 3 mths away! *faintz*....lucky for me, someone referred me to go for acupuncture and take chinese medicine (dunno what type) and within a week, the bumps and itch went down by 50% and within 3/4 weeks, I was fully cured!! That was in the US so cannot recommend a place here but why not check out TMC and see if a sinseh can help and maybe do acupuncture??

Alternatively, my friend who also complained of PUPPS said Aveeno moisturiser really helped her....not sure Singapore got anot though.

Petrina
Just went to gynae yesterday and got info on baby's weight so can please update. Thanks!
28week/1.627kg@28weeks/ gain 10.5kg

Last mth I only gained 0.5kg! woohoo!! hahaha, considering previous mth I gained 2.6kg, I was deliriously happy hehehehe.....must be staying at home looking after sick kid the whole time and no time to go out and eat though :p

btw, gynae said my bb's abdomen is off the charts for growth whereas the legs are within range! say I must still monitor diet and next week have to do test for gestational diabetes....hope baby doesn't grow too big....

petrina
can post chart too so I can see if my bb is really consider big for 28 weeks?? Thanks

Petrina,

I still doing my room at hubby's place... waiting for new bed &amp; cupboard to come in...

haiz... somemore thinking of painting the room...dont know if got time to move the things back to his place anot...sianz...

every weekend, my mil will ask mi to buy this &amp; that...wah piang eh...

my mum forbids me from having any renovation work done during pregnancy :p i wanted to install dimmer lights in the room so that at night wake up, don't have to turn on such bright lights but my mum said i better not be there when electrician is there.....so inconvenient.....maybe i should buy a lamp instead....any place sells nice lamps huh??

i think old folks also say painting will cause bb to be born with pigmentation on the face or sth silly like that hahaha

<font color="0000ff">hi adeline,
i think it is ask the preggy lady not to be around during any work, as it will be noisy and dusty which is not good.... then it pass down... slowly... with all the added story it be come can not lor...</font>

Girls,

anybody got any confidement food recipes??...although my MIL is doing for mi my confindement...want to give her more recipes...just in case she cook the same kind of food...

Hi Adeline,
Try Ikea, should be cheap and good.

Massage Lady:
We have to be naked for the postnatal massage? Like paiseh...

Baby Digi Thermometer:
Any brand of digi thermometer to recommend? Saw price range around $50 for Pigeon and Therumo bb thermometer.

AdelineL: ok. posting in awhile. next posting will be done on next fri hor...

bellebeins: i bot a $15 book on recipes.. preg n confinement use.. bilingual. very useful wif pics.

kell: i bot Omron @ $59 frm SGH pharmacy. small ear thermometer.

Adeline,
agree with bellebeins, get a night light. it has become my best friend and useful for breastfeeding my baby. can't live without it. you can also get it at NTUC or major supermarket or DIY store.

<table border=1><tr><td>NickName</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>BB's Wt</TD><TD>Mummy's Wt Gain </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystal</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2000g @ 31wks</TD><TD>12kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Liewb</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>508g @ 21wks</TD><TD>8.5kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happyface</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>1919g @ 31wks</TD><TD>10kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Abcdisney</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>1800g @ 28wks</TD><TD>8.5kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Liyun</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2033g @ 31wks</TD><TD>14kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Alynn</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2035g @ 32wks</TD><TD>9kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Katechow</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>1800g @ 32 wks</TD><TD>7kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Melody</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>1440g @ 30wks</TD><TD>12kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dreamlife</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>1100g @ 29wks</TD><TD>9kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babypink</TD><TD>30</TD><TD></TD><TD>11kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Blue_skies</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>1700g @ 28wks</TD><TD>12kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cladi</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>1649g @ 30wks</TD><TD>12kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bellebeins</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>1300g @ 30wks</TD><TD>11kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Melissa</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>1400 @ 30wks</TD><TD>5kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kell</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>1000g+ @ 30wks</TD><TD>8kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Reena</TD><TD>30</TD><TD></TD><TD>6kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummyboy</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>1300g @ 30wks</TD><TD>8kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babyfion</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1050g @ 29wks</TD><TD>14kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adeline</TD><TD>29</TD><TD></TD><TD>8kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Norman_mum</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1000g @ 29wks</TD><TD>13kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clover</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1020g @ 27wks</TD><TD>8kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Petrina</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1287g @ 29wks</TD><TD>8kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lingyee</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1277g @ 27wks</TD><TD>4kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shalom</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1200g @ 29wks</TD><TD>15kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>AdelineLoo</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1627g @ 28wks</TD><TD>10.5kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>jeangal</TD><TD>28</TD><TD></TD><TD>11kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kais - Triplets</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1000g @ 27wks</TD><TD>18kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Venus</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>776g @ 24wks</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Simp</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>824g @ 25wks</TD><TD>13.4kg</td></tr></table>

Adeline,

Ya bugis junction..U knw the little stalls they have along the shops... i saw one stall selling nice nite lamps..just plug in only

Thanks Girls,

I was thinking of buying the recipe book...but then again thinking my MIL would also have some recipes of her own liao...save $$ abit here and there...print from net instead..hehe

Jerejoy
If you don't subscribe to the old wives tales, it should be ok, unless your child's paediatrician advise otherwise. My SIL who is a strong advocate of breasftfeeding was advised by her son's paediatrician to not take milk as it affects him. Guess it's a case by case basis.

Kais,

Thanks for yr advice. Attended the breastfeeding lessons in States. We were told nt to drink wine when we breastfeed. But in the confinement food, wine is one of the ingredients.

As I'm 1st time mummy, in a complete loss of wht to do even though my mum will be coming over. She's one who dun support breastfeeding, so I hv to find the info myself. Worried that the ingredients in the confinement food will affect my baby when I breastfeed. Headache n in a complete loss! Guess I'm too gan jiong liao.

jerejoy
some confinement food ingredients does contain wine but all will be lost during cooking. so personally i think its ok to take.

jerejoy
In the States they have wonderful support groups for BF. You should join one so that you have the BF-ing mommies rallying around you. It can get very stressful in the beginning esp for us first time mothers. Furthermore, your mom is not a BF supporter, you'll get additional stress when milk supply is low in the beginning.

I intend to sign up with La Leche League of Singapore after i give birth. Also, i have a pro-BF sil to rah rah me on the side...

Kais,

U are absolutely right! Think I will sign up for it as it's free. But it's the distance that is a hindrance. If nt, I will hv to get a lactation consultant to come over to my house.

Praying hard that I will hv enough milk to breastfeed.

i am also pro BF-ing

during my first child my mum keep asking me if baby is well fed cos she keeps crying everyother hr. which is normal for BF babies. so one fine day i prove to her by feeding baby one side pumping on the other side (dont recommend manual pump for this action). then she see what comes out of the breast. she is happy. no more questions or doubts from her ever since. now she is pro BF-ing also cos my daughter is rarely sick.

Dreamlife,

What is the brand of the breast pump that u bought? Do u think I shld get a breast pump first or wait till I deliver? Cos nt sure if I will hv breastmilk...

Baby Avenue Super sale
Saw their ad on ST page 2 today. For those who are still buying baby things, i heard Baby Avenue is a good place to check it out.

520 Balestier Road #01-02 Leong On Building
tel no 62536678
11am-9pm

jerejoy
you will DEFINITELY have milk..
I know two brands are highly recommended - Ameda (cheaper but works as well) &amp; Medela (good but expensive). And it's cheaper to buy Breastpump back in the States. Many ladies in Singapore organise spree to purchase BP from the States.