(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

sunny
ic! means i need to get them?
btw, milk bottles - how come there're glass bottles? won't it be fragile for bb??

erm.. isetan sale always veri packed..
so gotta find those "tai tai" who go in the morning/afternoon... and i went isetan scotts on sat - it seems stocks running low...

stepie
can pm me the doc? me access the email very frequently. TIA.

the recycling part was taught by my confinement lady. of course, need to spend time to wash, too lah. hehe..
another thing that you can save $$ is to buy cotton wool, then tear it into pieces. then, when you wanna wash bb's butt, prepare some warm water and soak the cotton wool in the water and squeeze excessive water then clean bb's butt. i find that it's cleaner than using the wet tissue. 'cos normally after using wet tissue, bb's butt still a bit sticky...

pinkie
if you wanna save some hassle in washing dirty nappy, better use liner on top of the cloth nappy.

i nvr use glass bottle before. 'cos i scare i or bb break it... 'cos you know sometime middle of the night got to wake up, and it's so tiring..... sometimes movement/action can be clumsy.

Thanks for the tip!
yes i will go buy a stool tonight... dun dare to play play liao..

sit on floor legs crossed/folded (like school children) is ok right?

Hi girls, this is the website for the fridge to go http://www.fridge-to-go.com/

for diaper rash, the advice i got from my godma who is a PD was to make sure you wash the baby bum every diaper change, whether pee or poo. First few month, use cotton balls soaked in boiled water then when the baby is bigger, can bring the baby to the sink to wash bum (use lukewarm water and baby lactacyd) Make sure you wipe their privates dry with a soft cloth because it is the moisture that can cause the rashes.

Bottles, glass bottles are more durable and no worries about the bottles changing colour due to too much sterilizing, but may break so may be more expensive over time. Plastic bottles are cheaper and less likely to break and a lot lighter to carry around. just have to be careful when sterilizing coz they can warp and change colour if exposed to too much heat.

Hi Patsy, may I know what is the website price for the fridge? I am interested... cos i dont have a cooler bag yet.

Ladies... so envy, my baby gender is not confirmed yet heee, cos always cross leg when i go to the gynae.

esther
you can buy nappies from departmental store, baby section. places like robinson, john little, kiddy palace and kidsmall should have.

sunny
can't send attachment via PM leh. you PM me your email address ok?

yup, i also learnt about using cotton to wipe bb's bum instead. initially bought those cotton wool and tear into small pieces. very siong. in the end i just buy those facial cotton. more convenient and price wise don't think it's more expensive. agree that it's cleaner to use cotton wool. so only when outside then i use wipes.

Tips on milk bottles from pigeon's webby...

Nursing bottles are of three types: 120ml, 200ml and 240ml. You can choose the one suitable for you, but the bottle corresponding to the nursing amount for one time is recommended. They are made of glass or plastic. A glass bottle can be kept clean easily, but can sometimes break. It is heavy and, therefore, good for nursing at home. A plastic bottle rarely breaks and it light. Therefore, it is convenient to use when a baby begins to suck by himself or on an outing. However, it is easily scratched and dirtied. It is convenient to properly use 3-4 glass bottles and 2-3 plastic bottles.

Stephie, thanks 4 the info, will go search 4 the cloth nappy..

Patsy, pls kp me in the loop 4 the fridge to go bp, i jz browse thru the webbie, there'r quite a no.. so which one 2 choose? & hw much does it cost 2 own 1?

hi winnie, they don't have the prices on the website, think have to call them

stephie, i read somewhere first month (where we dont go out anyway) don't use wipes coz baby's skin still too sensitive. What i did was i got my maid (who has a cert in caregiving and worked in hossie before) to make those balls like in the hospital, coz easier to handle and cheaper!!

patsy
initially i also made those balls but too time consuming liao so i take the easy way out and bought the facial cotton type. keke. now i will use cotton at home. last time didn't know and only used wipes :p

pinkie
emailed to you. thanks for the info but the contest ended liao.

pinkie
it's okie.

for the cotton, you can go to those medical hall to buy the whole bundle of cotton wool (it's rolled up and looks like a small bolster). then you unroll and tear/cut a small piece and roll in it btw your palms to make into a ball. last time my sis-in-law's maid did that for her. that's how i got to learn abt using cotton for baby's bum. when i tried doing, it's so leceh and i didn't even finish rolling that buddle of cotton i bought :p

Stephie
haha.. i think cotton pads or balls will do bah :p

btw, i looked thru the list... have a few Qs

1. why we need handkerchief ah? wipe saliva?
2. what is Woodward's Grip water?
3. what is cord spirit?

just a quick question:

is it necessary to stock up on all the baby related supplies or wait till confinement lady to come in and buy as and when needed?

i'm getting a headache planning what is need to have and what is nice to have....=(

Garfield
i try to get the big items (either buy or inherit)... then smaller items i wait till 3rd tri i think.

dun think i'll stock up things like wet wipes or diapers for now cos i still dunno how the usage will be like...

where u gals getting your bb clothes from?
my mom say muz buy those buttons ones (instead of rompers) cos easier to change...
where have nice cheap ones?

pinkie
1) Yup. Need lots of handkerchief during the first few months cos bb drools, regurgitate milk, etc.
2) If i remember correctly, it's to relieve baby when they have 'wind' in their stomach
3) used for wiping the umbilical cord of bb after bath until the stump drops off. must keep that area dry to prevent infection.

garfield
certain things need to get in advance then during confinement won't be so 'pek chek', eg. bb clothings (including mittens), diaper/nappy, baby bath, baby detergent (for clothes and bottles), steriliser, cot, nappy rash cream. things like stroller, car seat can get later cos we don't usually bring bb out during the first few months.

hi ladies...

hopefully im not too sua-ku, i found this website quite entertaining:

www.baby-gaga.com

the cartoons never fails to tickle me

i still have not bought any bb stuff yet, still waiting to 'inherit'. only bought a toy for bb while shopping last week.

i think i will opt for those button front tops cos i also dislike pulling t-shirts/tops over my own head..

piglettail
me same as you... hoping to inherit as many items as i can :p

btw where will u be getting the button front tops? got any brands nice?

ya lor stephie...i stare at the list dunno where to start =P so i shall take your advice - buy the stuff that definitely will need during first month (at home?)

mum and MIL can always help run out to buy if i need anything urgently.

pinkie,

keke..i havent 'shop' yet, been quite tired and lazy to go shopping... the button front idea was just a thot based on my own dislikes.

i think don't have to buy too many cos usually we will receive clothes as gifts during the first month celebration? perhaps just buy enough to last for 5 days, since first month we wun be gg out and can ask CL/helper to wash?

not sure, maybe when i start shopping, i'll start going 'mad' and can't stop buying... keke.
will keep you posted when i come across button front bb clothes

another thing which you may end up not using is the breastfeeding pillow. i didn't get one and is still fine breastfeeding my girl. my frens who bought ended up not using, either give away or sell off.

Baby clothes
I bought some clothings during John little warehouse sale at Expo previously. Only $1 per pc and the material is not bad.

Piglettail
you not sua ku lah. i never seen that website before either.

yes, usually will receive clothings for bb during 1st mth celebration. try to get bigger size instead of those 0-3 mths so that bb can wear for a longer period. Blue Navy is quite a good brand. material very soft and is quite stretchable. can get from FOS (but they only have rompers i think which you are not interested in).

kitsune
i think can buy alcohol swap instead. hospital will provide some but still need to get more cos what they give is not enough.

piglettail
me also lazy... haha
lemme know when u find nice button front clothes

dor
thanks! will check out kiddy palace

cuclainne, same! me i didn't buy, but my mum!!

i think if you intend to wash the baby clothes daily, no need to buy a lot. mittens and booties you won't need after the 3rd/4th month, but they do get dirty coz baby will sometimes suck on them

i think the last time i was able to get some button front shirts from metro, dunno if still have

instead of handkerchief, i used burping pads, but i dunno if they are sold here in singapore, my mum bought for me in manila.

Hi, I bought my button front BB clothes from John Little but BHG (old Seiyu) also has. Prices are ok especially during the sale. Look out for the brand Jingle, it was recommended by my cousin because it's small enough for new borns but don't buy too many in case your BB outgrows them.

Feb-08 mummies first outing
date: 27/9/07 thursday
time: 6.45pm
venue: sakae funan

1. cheryl
2. dorothy
3. tongtong
4. Piglettail
5. blueginger
6. stephie
7. moi_dar
8. eliaw
9. garfield
10. hweiz
11. yun (baby_yun)

645pm dorothy ok ma???

moi_dar, eliaw & hweiz, u all cfm going rite??? can give me ur hp...

My bump getting heavier this few days, think the bb is growing very fast in my 2nd trimester. Get tired easily & really have difficulty to bend down my body... whoew....

I start to talk to my bb last night, wondering he hear me or not ;)

casa

is like that... although din feel tummy grow bigger. bt can feel heavier. n i cant even bend to shave there.... i m shaving by feeling...zzz

Hi Cheryl,

Ya, i agreed with you. Feeling like carrying a watermelon.. Hard to bend down to wear pant every time after bathed.

thanks stephie for explaining abt the milk bottles.

nappy liner is also made of cloth? so the bb poo wun seep thru to the nappy?

also, do we have to bathe the bb at the initial stage, or just use warm water to wipe down?

for 2nd-time mums, what are the things u will do differently now ah? just wondering.