(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi ladies...

regarding BFing, my initial plan is to BF totally while on ML (8-10weeks). but when i return to work, im not so sure how i can go abt pumping at work leh.

cos my direct contact colleagues are two men (my boss and peer), i don't think they will be comfortable with the idea of me pumping milk every few hrs? also where can i store the expressed milk until i bring home? putting it in the common fridge is a no-no.

so, working backward, if i don't intend to BF after ML, it means that i can only total BF for 1 month during confinement and then 2nd month i'll have to start training bb to use formula milk right. so effectively i will only BF 1 month plus. not sure if worth to invest in a breast pump in this case?

when i return to work, i will like to BF bb when i get home and weekends, but dunno if can 'train' breast to only produce milk at these times... is it a 'everytime-got-milk or non-at-all' situation?

stephie, good idea hor to train/tone bicep/tricep.

piglettail, u might want to get those cooler bag or mini fridge to store yr milk in the office....

piglettail

i heard can, but from starting must do it this way.... den ur breast will only produce milk during the period u wan. i think is like that

piglettail
i you have good supply, will be a waste not to bf for as long as you can. i only pumped once when i'm in the office. of cos, the breasts were super engorged cos the interval was like 7-8 hours, sometimes i delayed till 9-10 hours before pumping :p. you can start to train bb to use formula milk in tandem with breastmilk. for e.g., you can feed bb formula milk for night feed so that bb is exposed to both formula and breast milk.

i think can be done if you just want to bf bb after work and during weekends (some of my frens only latch on at night). but in order to do so, you need to constantly bf bb so that they are used to the idea of latching on. for my girl, she didn't want to latch on anymore after i went back to work for a while cos sometimes i can't managed to rush home in time to feed her so as time passed by, she doesn't watch to latch anymore. so i just express out and feed her thru bottle loh.

piglettail
why cannot store milk in your company's fridge? can wrap up before storing. shouldn't be a problem right? then when transporting home, i'll put in cooler bag with ice pack.

dorothy
keke...yi ju liang de. don't need to go gym :p

re stroller
went to mothercare and kiddy palace. i tried to carry the prams....and couldn't even lift with both hands!! imagine i have to carry baby in one arm and manouver the pram in another...=(

so to me weight is probably key consideration since cannot guarantee that i will be out with someone.

anyone has recommendations for LIGHT prams?

Thanks skk, dorothy & Esther. I'll heed your advise and go downstair when they move it in and set it up lor... I didn't dare to ask my mom... coz she will just tell me cannot and that's it... then I'll be in a diff position liao...

dorothy, actually I agreed with blueginger leh... it's better to buy breastpump after delivery... coz dunno got milk or not... and I heard that some hospitals got rent out breastpump one... so rent one and try out before getting one...

Xiao Yun, you can confirm the model you want first and ask your hb to buy after delivery. That's what I intend to do as well... Honestly, I rather buy one that I know I'll be using than buy at a cheaper price but dunno will I use it or not in the future... btw, last time I saw the Medala breastpump is so much cheaper in KKH then in Robinson after 20% discount leh... so maybe can check out there too?

Btw, I'm thinking that during bf, we will need to eat more fish to generate more milk, so when we are pregnant, do we need to eat anything to make sure we got more milk after delivery?

stephie

not very nice leh.. my office got 1 trainer put her bm in the freezer part, only take back once a week. some of the colleagues duno wat is it... lol... but i think i will do that oso, but bring home everyday lah

garfield,
if you want light prams, should be either combi or capella. those european one is extremely heavy. i can easily carry the combi one without much effort.
combi or capella can use up till 3 yrs while european one till 4 yrs.

snowbelle,
good idea if hospital got rent breastpump. does anyone knows if Raffles Hospital do provide this service?
$600 is not small amount, really don't wish to waste my money on that. but i do wish to bf as long as i can.

i lazy to go KKH to just look for the pumps leh. anyone going there soon, can help me check out how much they selling the medela PIS?

hey gals - good morning!

isetan sale coming up this thur - sun... i think bb stuff abt 20% off

btw, anyone getting sarong for bb to sleep?
i'm not realli keen on cot/playpen... any comments?

cheryl
oh, i brought my milk back everyday. agree not so nice if we leave it in the fridge for a week. also, i don't want to risk my milk being contaminated while in the fridge. you know sometimes people will open up and see out of curiosity :p

pinkie
i feel that cot/playpen is better for bb to sleep in. using sarong will result in bb so used to the rocking motion that without one they simply can't sleep. then when you bring bb out on holiday, etc, must bring along sarong else bb can't sleep.

garfield
for light pram, combi is the brand. mine is a lucky baby one given by my bro/sis-in-law. quite heavy so i never bring it out on my own.

snowbelle/blueginger
if you will be renting a pump while deciding whether to buy one, then i think it's fine. else if you wait til supply is established before geting one, you may become frustrated cos breast is engorged and you can't get the milk out asap. of cos if you have already selected the pump you want and someone can get it for you as soon as you need it, then shouldn't be that bad. that was the reason why i got a cheap manual pump first.

stephie, thanks for your advise! no i cant put in co. fridge cos it's those small 1 door fridge shared by 7 people, so it's super cramped. and the other big boss always like to buy things like ham, tuna, sliced cucumber etc n put in fridge for long long time (1-2 months), now the fridge permanently got those 'ham smell'. doesn't feel very hygenic to store the BM inside hor..

regarding feeding BM thru bottle and latching on, hmmm, i'll like to latch on for first two months but think i can't always be around when i return to work. so having expressed BM via bottle is better than nothing...at least bb is still getting the nutrients from BM.

hope can train bb to be not a fussy bb and can take either breast,bottle,formula or BM, whatever's offered at that time.

speaking of fridge, think i also need to get a small 'one-door' fridge for my house.. cos now staying with in-laws, fridge is also super cramped and MIL is the type who puts raw meat uncovered next to cut fruits uncovered in fridge. fridge also permanently got a smell. think it'll be difficult to 'over haul' her fridge habits so easier way out to buy a seperate fridge?

wah, BFing is like a very expensive affair for me now (must buy new fridge, breast pump) and in the end also must use some formula also (so also must buy milk powder, bottles, sterilizer). ladies, can i have your opinion on my situation, should i perhaps opt for formula feeding all the way instead?

Hi piglettail, thanks... actually i dunno how else to rest.. .all i do is stay in bed!! have emailed my boss that i can't go to the office anymore till i deliver, he hasn't replied. But i still work from home, hope he's ok with it! For BM, you can get a Fridge to go, which will stay frozen for up to 8 hours, no need to use office fridge if you're worried about sanitation.

Garfield, capella and aprica and combi are quite light, think Graco has one citi light also.. just be careful when you put baby coz i thought with the light stroller the support wasn't as good and if the baby is a bit big size it became hard to maneouver

Xiao Yun , the PIS is the most effecient and most quiet one, dunno bout the medela dual, coz last time i used 2 single pumps! works also but not as good in getting the milk out i thought. I tried the dual pump of a friend and within 10 mins i got almost almost 2 full 8 oz bottles!!

dor, I agree with you, i started expressing as soon as I woke up the next day coz couldn't latch sabie as she had to go for surgery. Then i kept all the colostrum (first milk to come out and very good to improve the immunity of the baby against infection) for her and pass to the ICU when she was able to take milk already. I BF her for 1 year, though after 6 months it was sometimes partial with FM coz when I travelled the BM not enough.

to increase BM drink lots of fish soup with unripe papaya, drink more water, latch/express at regular intervals to maintain supply. For me I was quite lucky the first few months I could express up to 2 L in one day
hb and sister called me a cow.

piglettail

my office fridge oso 1 door type.. small small de... oso got ppl put their bm inside leh.. worst it is share by more den 10 ppl

piglettail,

BF is not the same as EBM. Some people just directly latch on and if the supply is enough, don't need to supplement with formula. In this case, you actually save some.
if you are opting for EBM, you still need to get bottle, storage bag, sterilizer, breastpump and fridge (for your case). thinking about the benefit the breast milk that can provide, i think is all worth it.

btw, i am a pro-natural person.

sarong as in those that are used to put baby to sleep at home or those used to carry the baby around while shopping.

At home type.
Not advisable. Not doubt baby is easier to take care. But when you bring them to other ppl's place or go shopping where you cannot have the sarong, baby might not be able to sleep well. If they are trained to sleep on bed, no problem to let them sleep anywhere. Hence, I'll prefer a cot/ playpen.

patsy, thanks!
the Fridge To Go sounds like a good idea, i think i can most probably use it for both at home at work for the few months i intend to BF.

i hope to BF for about up to 6 months, then bb will start to take solids and milk rite?

hahah..now i say and say as if i confirm i will have ample milk supply.. hopefully i will have.

piglettail, fyi... fm also veri ex...

but i think as a mother, if i can i will wan to give my bb the best... breast milk... in fact, if i am so productive like patsy, i will give some to my gal to drink too...

a pump is good to have cos if we direct latch on... if bb in the mid of the night wan milk... then mummy cant sleep... but if we pump out then can ask someone else to feed...

cheryl, do u know how much a avent manual pump cost?

hi ladies...

having trouble posting again...

BFing and EBM
my mum told me that with BFing from the breast, the problem is we can't gauge how much the baby has drunk. with bottle at least can tell whether bb has enough and can keep track..

also just in case i got sore nipples/cracked nipples etc.. now and i'm only still pregnant already quite sore, havent even started BFing yet!

i hope to be able to BF as much as i can, but also know my schedule don't allow to BF all the time. EBM still can manage (i think...)

Feb-08 mummies first outing
date: 27/9/07 thursday
time: 6.30pm - 6.45pm
venue: sakae funan

1. cheryl
2. dorothy
3. tongtong
4. Piglettail
5. blueginger
6. stephie
7. moi_dar
8. eliaw
9. garfield
10. hweiz
11. yun (baby_yun)

re: breastpump + BF
i bought a 2nd hand medela PIS from a mummy in this forum. serve me well. I managed to BF my gal for 18 mths. I think if we want to BF our baby, we got to have determination. To me, getting info from BF book is very useful. it really helps a lot.

stephie
but i juz put him in sarong, and dun rock lor...
my mom keep telling me cot no good leh..head will go outta shape... sigh

pinkie
won't lah. just try to let bb sleep on different side of the head instead of constantly sleeping on one. lots of bb sleep in cot but don't think their heads had gone outta shape. sleeping in the sarong also restricts bb's movements leh. also, i think nite time you won't be putting bb in sarong bah?

dorothy
previously when i bought my avent manual pump, it was $61 (then john little was having sale so i used the $10 voucher and got the pump at $51). but that was about 2-3 years ago. i only know that the price for pigeon sterilizer did not increase, not sure about avent pump.

piglettail
ya, infant fm very ex. i was counting and teased hubby that i helped him to say lots of $ by bfdg our girl. i would have continued to bf till as long as i could if not for the fact that i had to take medication when my girl was 11mths plus. sob sob.

for your case, the fridge-to-go seems to be a good solution for you. as for home use, depending on how much milk you have, you may need a bigger fridge if you have lots of bm to store.

oh dor.. sorry, BP on fridge to go if the demand is good.

pinkie, what i don't like with the sarong is that it has very bad back support (none at all) and the kids might grow up with bad posture. to prevent head from getting out of shape, i just switched sabie from sleeping from one end of the cot to the other every night, had no problems.

hi all...

one of those bloated days, so had chai po egg and plain porridge for lunch.

patsy,how much is the usual price for the fridge to go?

yes agree that BF and BM is best for baby..but also must do some $$ budgeting and take into consideration practical issues.

i think it'll be cheaper if BFing totally or FM totally.. if do a bit of both then have to invest in equipment for both...double the $$!

sarong
both hb and i grew up on sarong, his head is flat while mine is quite round. we concluded in our case there's no co-relation to shape of head and sarong, so most likely will let bb sleep in cot.

patsy, keep me in the loop if there is a bp on fridge...TIA

pinkie, i think u may wan to take into consideration that everywhere bb goes need a sarong cos w/o sarong... they veri difficult to sleep...also veri dangerous cos bb tends to fall down from sarong(when they are bigger)

Stephie
i've seen my cousin's flat lor... veri obvious so i scared lor...

if i get sarong, i wun get cot/playpen... juz let BB sleep in sarong liao :|

pinkie, u say isetan got sales, is it private sales (4 members & guests oni)? i wen 2 its webbie 2 check, it stated 4 members & guests leh... and it's on 27th Sept. Din say till sun..

so can any1 confirm? thanks alot!

sorry, me ignorant about this flat head thingy.

apart from not being so nice (when bald), are there any other negative effects?

i was thinking if it's only a matter of looks, baby's flat head will not be obvious if the hair grows longer over time? =P

dor
me thinking if bb bigger den sleep bed...
i'm juz bothered abt the 1st 6mths... when head still veri soft...

my mom say me and my siblings all sleep sarong have no problem napping at my grann's place... hmm... so many differing opinions

sarong has its gd pts 2.. when we put our little ones inside, they will feel secure as in some1 is holding them.. but when they knw hw 2 climb out frm the sarong.. we need 2 put mattress below jz in case..

one downside is wat some mtbs mention lor.. may hv difficulty sleeping in other places if no sarong..

some mums like 2 rock their bbs 2 sleep when carrying them rite.. better nt, cos 1 gf of mine had difficulty in handling her gal 2 sleep.. her maid had the habit of rocking her 2 sleep, so when my gf jz carry her 2 let her sleep, she made noise, must walk and rock!

Esther
Thu is for members + guests; Fri - Sun will open to public. but try to get frens who are members cos members get abt 5% more on some brands and another 5% isetan card discount...

but thu sure super crowded ;)

Garfield
My cousin's son... cos his daddy high forehead, and boys cut short hair - his head looks super long lor...
even girls... if head shape not nice, quite limited hairstyles i think...
oh well - maybe i worry too much :p

think me and my two sis slept in sarongs. Last time when my sis was small, i always rock her to sleep, i sometimes will rock too hard and hit the ground, haha so must really put mattress below.

I am quite lethargic today. Hubby is overseas over the weekend and I will be home alone today. Feel like going to airport to "welcome" him home tomorrow but i dunno if i still have leave yet.

Esther
me not planning to rock - and putting a mattress below just in case...
when he can crawl, i think upgrade to bed liao...

btw, anyone knows where to get the sarong stand? i saw one somewhere, not veri stable

talk abt climbing out from sarong.. my nephew (15mths) doesnt sleep in sarong.. he can actually climb out frm his baby cot!! and even playpen!!

tink must reali kp an eye on them 24hrs..

just curious, for those babies who sleep in sarong, will they have a hard time transitioning to a bed when bigger? must rock and dance to sleep?

dor
thanks - know roughly how much one set cost?

Patsy
my take is - as long as u dun rock the sarong, it's almost equal to no rock