(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

regarding the sarong, my nieces sleep in sarong. all need to rock in order to sleep. if not, they will wake up and can't sleep.
during afternoon nap, they sleep in sarong totally. at night, must rock until fall asleep already then transfer to bed. very troublesome.

on the other hand, my another sis don't let her kids sleep in sarong. at a start, very difficult for them to sleep. after some time, when get use to it, very easy to take care.

same goes for the pacifier too. so i will opt out for sarong and pacifier.

pinkie,
i wonder if anyone will resist from rocking the sarong when the bb is inside. since we were born with this habit, no matter what, we will definitely subconsciously rock it. however, no need to worry about the rocking part, because there are some electrical rocker device that can help to do the rocking. just that you got to bring sarong, stand, rocker, etc wherever you want to go.

apple
i lagi jiat lak. i remembered when i was young. i was 'looking after' a baby sleeping in sarong at a neighbour's house. as the baby was sleeping and i was afraid that the rocking motion will wake bb up, i actually put a stool at the bottom of the sarong, hoping it will stop it from rocking. then bb knocked onto the stool and cried so loud. i was scared stiff then :p

haha so funny. Yah i think if the baby is used to rocking, you must rock then the baby will sleep. Thats what happen to my sis.

My sis din cry leh. maybe the knock was not too hard hee hee. And if the baby is used to the same person rocking, change another person rock also will cry...

pinkie, ok, thanks. I didn't use one for my first one, doubt will use one now... prefer to train the baby to sleep themselves from the start in a proper bed.

sarong vs cot
i think what matters most is that you are comfortable with your choice

finally managed to find a confinement lady who is available during my period.

her charges are
- 1st to 9th day of CNY = $2700
- 10th to 15th day of CNY = $2300
- after CNY = $2000

she asking for deposit, but can anyone advise me what the norm is? $100??

also, i guess all these are based on good faith one right? no black and white one hor?

u gals look 4 CLs mostly S'poreans or Malaysians? I knw that they r quite ex.. I managed 2 get 1 indonesian chinese (recommended by my hubby's SIL, she jz finished her confinement).. The price is almost half of wat u gals mentioned..

oh solly, i mean if start date
- 1st to 9th day of CNY = $2700 for one month
- 10th to 15th day of CNY = $2300 for one month
- after CNY = $2000 for one month

garfield
those rates supposed to be pro-rated is it? not sure abt norm for deposit but $100 should be ok if your CL doesn't mind. if she's trustable, can just base on good faith loh.

Cherly, hw u knw bb's movements? I encountered short pains but i dunno if they r my bb's movements anot.. Very blur leh..

esther
baby movements shouldn't cause any pain as far as i know. bb's movements start off with soft knocks at the lower tummy. as bb grows bigger, the knocks/stretching, etc get more obvious and you can see your tummy 'moving/vibrating' at times.

cheryl
me too like didn't feel much movements today leh. think i only felt it this morning on the way to my mum's place.

esther

the movement i felt like is soft kick on my tummy, but sometime i can feel something moves inside, not soft kick, but like it move, i think it shd be bb movement

hi esther,
half price sounds like a very good deal!

too bad, all those recommended to me are from malaysia and none from indonesia leh. and i wouldn't pick someone not recommended. so no choice lor =P

i was prepared to pay $3k+ (read somewhere in the thread that some CLs ask for as much as that) so pleasantly surprised that this one only $2.7K lor.

Stephie, Cherly.. oh thanks 4 the explanation on bb's movements.. I try 2 observe more thoroughly.. Hee...

Garfield, ya, very gd deal indeed.. Somemore my hubby's SIL say the CL is reali "xi xin" in taking care of her bb..

Ya i ever heard got 1 charge as high as $3.2K! My jaws almost dropped...

garfield, i think the contact i gave u quoted me $2600 for other aunties and herself is 2700, deposit she asked for is $500 leh.

hi tongtong,
this CL is not the same as the one you recommended cos i couldn't get hold of her. so my hubby's colleague recommended us somebody.

she asking for $300 deposit.

i guess should be trustworthy, but just wondering if need to clarify scope of duties, take down particulars like i/c etc? don't want her to feel like i don't trust her, but on the other hand heard of horror stories in the forum also.

if i pay the deposit and for some reason she is not able to make it, is it common practice for the deposit to be forfeited or can we get it back?

garfield, the common practice is the CL will get a replacement for you, if not i think the deposit will be returned back to you ba..

dor, bout the fridge to go, will see if there is enough interest i can call them later this year. i have already actually but it's PINK! haha but if a lot of people want i don't mind doing up a BP, since i'm so free in bed

hmm... think i'm still getting the sarong, since i'll be getting a cot from someone

btw, does anyone have a "prep list" for like what to buy and prepare etc.?

Got my check up this evening. So, gynae confirmed its a bb BOY! Thats mean i can start shopping for my 'son' lor... ;)

Mums & Babes have rental service on hospital grade pumps for all mummies interested. They are the ones providing the hospital with their pumps. Hospital don't rent out theirs but there's contact numbers on the hospital pump for you to contact them.

Patsy,
I'm interested in BP for Fridge to go if there's one. Any links or info on this item?

hi casa,
congrats on a baby boy!

if i intend to BF all the way, do i still need to invest in a pump? or just buy bottles and milk powder etc for standby in case no milk supply?

also, i am intending to have BB wear cloth nappies ( esp in the beginning) at home instead of diapers as i am worried abt bb getting rashes. good idea?

seems like a lot of feb mums are having boys rather than the predicted girls.

Fairfield, i think cloth nappies is more "airy" than the plastic ones. My mum also asked me let the baby wear cloth nappies at home to avoid getting rashes. But its troublesome lah cos you will have to wash them.

pinkie
the list by kitsune is very comprehensive. i have a list too. PM me if you are interested cos i can't PM you.

fairfield
will be good to have a pump even if you bf direct cos sometimes bb can't empty your breast and you can pump out and store the milk for future use. Or bb not hungry yet and your breast is engorged, can pump out as well.

i used cloth nappies for my girl as my mum wanted so. only used diaper at night. she don't mind the washing wor. don't know if it's more airy than diaper.

patsy, heehee... no liao... will appreciate if u can help to do bp mah.... cos it is also not a easy job leh...

keep coming up with bp... cos i love bp....

stephie, good leh... to use cloth nappies.... if i got my maid by then i will use also... better for bb's skin....

casa, congrats... me updated already

hows yr rash?

kitsune
tks!! your list looks very comprehensive!
now i need to sift thru to finalize my own list

casa
congratz on your prince!

stephie
tks for offering - lemme checkout kitsune's one first

re nappies...
i think i'll try to use cloth during the day when i'm on maternity...
den see how after i go back to work...
call me traditional, but i think cloth nappies betta for bb's skin

erm... think there's something called nappy liner... what's that for ah?

btw, anyone knows what comes with the mt e delivery package? i know mt a gives the baby bath tub... i think mt e dun give anything much... but juz wanna find out if anyone has any idea so i can prep/buy

Thks ladies,

My rashes is recovering now...less itchy & pain. But there is still scar there... doc said it needs some time to heal...

morning all mummies!

isetan sales for avent product

ISIS breast pump, 125 ml bottle x2, 260ml feeding bottles x3, VIA breastmilk Cts 10 x 180 ml & Magic Cup 260ml

Usual 156.3, now $99

issit cheap??

I also prefer cloth nappies to diaper. But can wash until siao... for the first 2 months.

I wanna buy milk bottles. Which ottle you think is better, Glass or plastic?

Anybody isetan members?

pinkie
nappy liner is for you to put on the cloth nappy so that the bb's poo will stay on the liner. easier for you to wash the cloth nappy. when bb poo, you can just throw away the liner. last time, we recycled the liner if it's just urine on it.

sunny
sure. can let me have your email address? PM me if you prefer so.

blueginger
yah, washing the nappies no joke. luckily last time hubby did most of the washing. :p

glass bottles better but plastic more practical. if glass bottles, drop means break.

tongtong
the avent deal looks quite good. think taka baby fair has got that too but price wise > $100? can't remember liao cos i wasn't looking at buying pump so didn't really take note. maybe can check out how much the individual items cost if you have the time. also, depends on whether you really need those items that come with the pump.

pinkie
nappy liners is to be used on top of the cloth nappies. if bb poos, easier to wash nappies cos most of the poo will be on the liner which you can just discard. without the liner, the nappy will be stained and sometimes can be quite difficult to wash it clean.

happy mooncake festival.

wan to eat ice cream mooncake, but too late le..
swensen 1 not appetitizing....

now waiting for ice-cream cake...

sunny
last time i was so silly. didn't know can recycle if it's just urine. always throw away until later when i heard a fren saying so :p

since topic is on diaper, want to ask is it okie to wash nappy in washing machine... if BB do big time business...then maybe need to handwash that portion.

My MIL said actually dun need to be too clean for BB, just make sure it not full of residue can liao...dun need to use too much soap also one, BB can have reaction to detergent also.

kellie
if you are okie with washing nappy in the washing machine, by all means go ahead. so far we always handwash nappies cos hubby don't like the idea of 'dirtying' the washing machine with soiled nappies :p

don't feel comfortable letting bb use again if nappy is not washed properly. if use bb detergent, then it's okie mah.

kellie, i tink nt advisable 2 wash in washing m/c cos the detergent might be harsh?

my sil uses the detergent specially 4 washing bb stuff..

i aso intend 2 let my bb use cloth nappy. though "ma fan", i tink it's worth the risk of letting bb get rashes...

btw, where 2 buy the cloth nappy?

morning ladies!

happy mooncake festival

kellie,my MIL said she will wash all bb clothes and nappy etc, etc, in washing machine...since she's been taking care of children (my SIL's two kids during birth-1yr), i think if she says ok, should be ok?

ladies, does any of you know if kneeling down is considered an 'ok' position for low lying placenta? i have since switched to kneeling down on bathroom floor to do my laundry rather than squatting down.

tong, the avent deal quite good leh... cos i know that the (125 ml bottle x2, 260ml feeding bottles x3) will cost $30plus or more....

do we need to be a member to get it at this price?

if yes, any isetan member here? can tompang? cos member got another 3% off...

kellie, i also dun like the idea of throwing soiled nappies into washing machine....

hey piglettail, dun kneel dwn la.. i dunno if it's ok anot.. but u can get a stool instead.. i intend 2 get 1 2. Cant reali squat nowadays..