(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

garfield,
i think only got to start monitoring bb movements from 28th wk onwards. at the beginning, its normal not to feel movements everyday lah, but since 18+ wks, i feel it everyday liao.

21 wks only 5mths mah.. bb can survive liao?

went off to attend a talk after lunch yesterday. wow. so many postings for me to catch up now.

faten
'tai shen' to the chinese is a god. supposedly a god to protect the pregnant woman.

piglettail
my gynae also never asked if i wanna do detailed scan. when i went for my last visit to do the triple test, he just told me 4 weeks later will have my detailed scan. the scan will be done at another clinic at mt A. he don't have that machine to do. last time i think i paid about $100 for the detailed scan.

for the scan photos, my gynae will print one for me during every visit. it's included in the package. i wish he prints more like tute's gynae. keke...

for sore nipples, i think the nipple cream will help too. did you read the instruction? else apply some baby lotion?

baby movements
abt 2 days ago i can feel strong movement of my baby. previously can only feel soft knocks on my lower tummy. that day while heading home, i felt bb's movements again and placed my hand on my tummy. then i felt bb knocking hard on my tummy. hehe... the feeling is amazing

yun
hope your ms will be gone soon. i also heard pple saying that having ms means boby is producing enough hormones to keep the baby going strong. do try to think positive and keep yourself occupied. last time when I was having my girl, my hubby was working on shift hence sometimes will have to spend my time at home during weekend. as there's nothing much for me to do so i was basically seating around, do some reading and usually my ms was worst on weekends. my vomiting also happened on weekends only. my gynae commented that i was too 'eng' and hence kept thinking about the ms and made things worse loh. whereas during weekend when i'm working. my ms wasn't so bad and i didn't vomit at all. hence, i choose to believe that theory.

Good morning, Stephie. You up so early today too? I'm working today. :p

Last night, hubby and I were trying to finalise names again. We were trying out the sounds of the different names when BB kicked. First time, I wasn't sure but she kicked 2nd time. Told hubby, let's try calling her RaeAnne and see if she responds. Hubby put hand on tummy and called out the name. She kicked. We weren't sure, he called her again and she kicked again more forcefully this time. Even Hubby was quite surprised and happy that she responded. Looks like we will stick with RaeAnne after all. Afterwards, we got greedy and started calling her Chinese name and Dialect name to see if she will kick again but she didn't. Maybe, she tired or impatient liao. Haha, if any MTBs are desperate too, can try it and see if your BB responds to suggested name.

Thanks to all of you for the information and tips on detailed scan and nipple soreness

Detailed Scan
Esther, i think we are having the same gynae? i can't recall properly...Dr. KW Lee? yes when i called up again the nurses also mentioned wait for triple test results first then see how. guess they were too busy and i was too KS. hehe.

Nipple Soreness
my nipples hurt/is sore/sensitive from the 'contact' or 'compression' to my bra. unless i wear a bra where the bra cup is so big that my nipples don't 'touch' anything at all..but this is not possible for most bras especially strapless... yes, i will check out both nipple cream and nipple shield when i next go out. now already quite sore, can't imagine when i have to start breast feeding ah... hmmm..

Hi Piglettail,

Yes, we having the same gynae
So u hv done ur triple test? I gonna do it next Sat..

MTBs,
Regarding abt the sore nipples/sensitivity, errr... Seems like i dun hv leh. I oni feel my breasts r fuller, a tiny little pain oni..

And since last wk, i've been feeling short pains almost everyday... I wonder if they r my bb's kicks...

Hi Pinkie,

Me 2, heard tat pple say 2nd trim is the best time 2 do most shopping cos by 3rd trim, we'll be 2 tired 2 do any shopping... Well, i'm nt sure.. I ask my hb, he said wait till end Dec then do the necessary shopping.. I'm like "huh? so late ah?" Guess men & women r different.. Hee..

As 4 which brand (breast pump) 2 buy, i aso blur blur, i knw there's manual & electric.. Electric shd be easier rite? But my gf say it would be noisier..

So any suggestions, MTBs? Thanks..

Hi Esther
My case opposite, my hb gan cheong to buy stuff liao... juz now nearly wanna buy a bb cot...
i'm kinda still like waiting for people to "give" :p

me also quite blur about breast pumps... wanna find out more in case sale comes up, can buy 1st mah

I've also started looking for baby stuffs.
Thinking to get a steriliser, breast pump, stroller and playpen.

Contemplating to get the Medela PIS electric breast pump. I think is quite expensive ($600??).

Do you all have already surveyed on the stroller and playpen? What's the market price to get a reasonable sturdy one?

Heard from John Little sales person, their babyfair probably coming next month. Let's look out on that.

hi girls...

re: breast pump, personally i liked the medela electric, i got a single one as a gift when i delivered my eldest, then went to buy another single (which looked really funny when you pump!!) for this one, i will go and get the PIS for sure, especially since i BF my babies till 1 yr plus... it is so much more efficient in expressing milk, especially if you have a lot of milk like I do. Also not so wasteful coz with a single pump, once you have let down, the other breast will leak milk also wasting milk, though you can get a breast shield lah.. just my 2 cents worth. If you don't plan to BF for a long time then a single pump should be ok, though the manual one takes a lot of energy!

you can go to baby hypermart and baby kingdom in kaki bukit for strollers/cots/play pens, etc. or wait for Robinson's to go on sales..

hope this helps!

hi girls, i too think i will invest in a good breast pump... but my only concern is what is i got no milk...

sorry to sound gross.. i was using a pigeon one(a gift) then i got so tired that i just used my hands to squeeze out my milk... wonder should i just let this fellow latch on without going thr a pump...

baby hypermart/baby kingdom
ya, this is a good place to look see... if anyone gg can jio me cos i live veri veri nearby...

esther
i think we can start our shopping when we are in mid to end 2nd tri... i think dec maybe a bit too tiring fo me... plus u got to fight with the fetival crowd. things like strollers n pram can wait loh.. cos at least during confinement u wont bring bb out...

yen, congrats!!

cheryl, i was told avent pump is good too!!!

bb clothes
i was browsing the bb clothes at the bulk purchase.. boy's clothes not much variety!!

i think if we got a few ppl interested in their stuff.. may be able to go for bulk purchase...

isetan that time having sales... i read that like gg to have private sales soon

Pinkie,
In a way, i'm considered lucky ba.. So far my SIL alreadi gave me 1 full bag of bb's clothes plus my hb's friends all r willing 2 "give" us most of the items... Even sterilizer... The other day i was telling my hb excitedly "hey we can go & shop 4 sterilizer & pump" He told me dun need 2 get sterilizer cos his fren will be giving us.. I was like "huh... then we got nothing 2 shop, so boring..." Then he looked @ me, his expresssion was like "hey we can save quite abit hor" I told him ok ok... Keke...

Patsy,
Hw much is Meadela electri pump? I tink electri pump is easier as in reducing time in pumping.. My colleague used 2 spend 20mins in pumping in toilet using the manual one.. I was like huh so long... I guess if wan 2 continue 2 bf our bbs after ML, electric pump would be a better choice isnt it?

Cherly,
My colleague jz bought the avent manual pump...

Dor,
The playpen is such a cutie!!!

Ya, festive season, so many pple, i hate 2 shop in crowds... Even nw i aso seldom go shopping, find it a hassle 2 squeeze thru alot of pple...

taka baby fair is good but that time still within the first tri... so i din go...i tink will have loh... last time, when seiyu still around... they also have those 20% storewide... i liked to stocked up during those timing...

but now another mall came along... so i dun know plus nowadays i prefer to shop online... my friend just told me that avent milk bottles increased price already

Esther, u veri fortunate to have friends n sil to give u stuff... aiya, just take n use... long run save $$$...

for me, i gave up everything cos my gap too big... but i still have a few vacuum bags of bb clothes... so for home clothes, i got no prob... cos our delivery around cny... so will get some clothes for bb to wear to mil place to collect ang bao!!

medela pump
i think few hundred dollars... their range veri wide... see until blur liao...

avent manual pump
Esther, do get the reviews of the avent pumps n post here...

festive season
ya, imagine with our tummy to move around....

Dor,
Yeah, last wk i jz wen 2 mothercare 2 c roughly hw much is bb cot and stroller.. So expensive!! My jaws almost dropped! Keke..

Regards to Avent pump reviews, tat would hv 2 wait till Dec then can knw.. Cos my colleague oni giving birth on late Nov.. Keke... I'll ask my SIL if she knw anyting abt Avent pump anot...

Medela pump, so ex ah.. Avent aso hv electri one, any1 used tat b4? Can share the reviews?

Oh btw, is it Avent milk bottles r more popular among mothers and bbs? Seems like many r getting Avent ones 4 their bbs..

esther,
dun know leh... cos my gal's time i only used avent... i was attached by pigeon designs.. but my friend said not buy... so most prob... i will use back avent....

haha... that's why yr hbby gave u that look!!ya, bb's stuff is so expensive.. i think i will get a maclaren stroller... now looking for sponsor...aiming at my brother n 2 brother-in-law... my hubby say i siao....

dor: you gonna let your boy sleep in the playpen? I did that for Sabie in the beginning but noticed that there was not a lot of back support. Just be conscious of that... yah lor, dressing up boys quite boring! had so much fun playing dress up with Sabie, but hb said at least now can dress up in football jersey

Esther, depends on which model you get... wait for the sales. My gf said the Ameda pump also quite good...

just went to gyne again yesterday coz i bled badly early morning.... gyne now made the decision i won't be able to go back to work until after I deliver. seems i know have severe placenta previa.... faint leh! hope i can tahan!

I heard that during pregnancy, the furniture in the house cannot be shifted, including chairs... and we cannot buy and move new furniture in as well... but does those standing towel rack consider as a furniture? I need to get one and put it in the guest room coz my bil is coming to stay with us for a month or 2...

I've heard some stories that shifting furniture lead to mc... honestly, I don't feel comfortable but he really needs it... Thanks!

I'm a mother from the Sept thread..
Would like to sell off my Medela Double Breast Pump for S$230.

As the pump was a gift from my friend in USA, the transformer was changed so that it is compatible for use in Singapore. It is a very good pump as recommended by many hospitals and worked really well. I had used it for a week plus but due to low milk supply, I've decided to stop.

Anyone who's interested, please kindly email me at [email protected] or call me directly at 94899008. Pump to be collected at Bt. Batok.
982530.jpg

Snowbelle,
Yap heard of elderly mention before that its better not to shift, but if it is really unavoidable, then make sure u aren't at home when the shifting is going on. But u need not have to worry much. My friend did a mini renovation of her home i.e. converting her study room into her bb room when she was about 6mth but she went to stay in her parent home when the reno was gojng on. She had juz gave born to a pair of healtly twin last month.... so its up to indiviual lor.... Think for ur case it should be fine lor as long as u r not at home. Anyway we do get new stuffs like baby cod which is also a furniture?

Juz my point of view....

Dor, yeah i agree wif Patsy, tis morning i was telling my hb abt the playpen tat u intended 2 buy (2-in-1), i told him it's a gd idea 2 hv tis playpen, then i tink tink... is it safe anot....

Patsy, i go and check out the Ameda pump.

Is it becos of ur placenta 2 low? Dun walk or stand 2 much.. i heard frm my gf tat her 2 gfs gotta bedrest 4 2mths.. U better tk gd care of urself ya..

Piglettail, dun worry, u'll be fine...

Snowbelle, I can understand ur worries.. I stayed away frm home, wen out wif gf the whole day when my hb was shifting our furniture 2 my dad's place last mth.. I was aso abit worried. Kept telling myself and bb in my heart tat we cannot be "pan tang", must be healthy etc...

patsy, u take care hor... rest well...

i saw the mattress that came with the playpen.. do agree that there is no proper back support so i will be getting a mattress to put in the playpen.. i think should be ok cos after he is about 3-4mths(when he can flip over) i wont let him sleep in the playpen already.. most prob just a mattress on the floor so that my gal can also play with him...
so the playpen is just to house him for a while...

bluewind, i last saw it at parkway isetan 2 mths ago...

Hi MTBs,

Sorry to interrupt this thread..

I have surplus of:-
1) New Born Size Nepia
2) Small Size Drypers

I bought the above in May/June 07. My bb born in July 07.

Also have preluv My Brest Friend Pillow. Used once only.

Pls PM me if you are interested.

hi ladies...

patsy, take good care okie? rest well..

esther, thanks

i spoke with a new mum briefly last week and she said must buy electric pump...cos she's having difficulty pumping and spends 1.5h each time expressing milk. so imagine if using electric pump...

Patsy,

since you are also interested in the Medela PIS, may I know what's the difference between normal Medela electric dual pump and PIS? The price difference is almost double.
Not sure if it's reasonable for me to invest $600 for the PIS or not. For me, I want a pump that can pump out milk fast and without much pain.

Re: Playpen and Stroller
Went Baby's Hyperstore and Kingdom yesterday.
I think the playpen i saw at Kiddy Palace is nicer. Most probably Hyperstore & Kingdom do not have much space to display all the playpens available.
About the stroller, i might get the Capella one. It came with small carseat. Weights about 4-5 kg. It's made in Korea. About $150 can get a decent one.

If I am not wrong, McClaren is european brand one is it?

Breastfeeding pump.
I would suggest buying the pump after the baby was borned, as you might not have enough milk supply or you might not be comfortable with breastfeeding as well.

xiaoyun, the $150 is capella brand one huh? for that price can the stroller with carseat? where?

bluegin, i think should be before u give birth leh... so that u can bring to hospital to let the nurse help to correct u if we use it wrongly... my opinion lah....

dor,

if i heard correctly it's $138, should be promotional price. yes. capella stroller with carseat. The carseat is very small one. as i don't own a car, so don't need to have a proper carseat. just in case needed when taking private car (family member's or friend's).
You can check it out at the Baby's Kingdom. The sales person very friendly.

bluegin,
I'm afraid i won't have time to go out to buy once bb is born. and probably will be cheaper during baby fair.

cheryl,
i do feel that anyone should have milk. just need more perserverance in the first 3 weeks. that's why need to find one that is less painful and can pump out more milk so that can tahan through the first 3 weeks.

kitsune
my girl and hubby were still sleeping when i woke up on sat. so quickly took the opportunity to surf the net. as soon as i finished posting, my girl woke up and was looking for me. haha... that's an interesting way to test out if bb likes the name. next time i shall try.

Breast Pump
I used Avent Manaul Pump and likes it a lot. I also heard of pple saying electric ones are better, save time, etc. But i bought the avent one first cos dunno if i can bf long enuf/hv enuf supply. When i started to use, didn't fix it properly so thot it's useless. then my gf lend me her medela single electric pump. my gf was wondering how come my avent one didn't work cos her fren who used that said it's good. then realised i didn't fix the valve properly hence suction is not there. once i've fixed the 'problem', i've no issue with the avent pump. having tried both the medela and avent pump, i don't find there's much difference between the two in terms of amount of milk pumped and time taken. of cos if it's a dual pump, time taken will be shorter bah.

i used my avent pump for 11 mths plus and never thot of getting an electric one. i don't find it tiring though like what most pple said. at most on 2 ocassions i felt the 'tireness', other times perfectly ok with me. haha...i even thought of manual pumping as a form of exercise for the bicep/tricep. keke. i like the manual one cos it's not as noisy as the medela electric single (heard that double one is not so noisy). also, no power point is needed so very convenient when i pumped at work.