(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

ya loh... my fren say me y so pantang dun wan go our fren's bb full mth, it not i dun wan.. but i scare my bb pantang ma, i dun wan anything to happen to my bb leh... of cos i knw if it mine it will be mine... but prevention is better den cure....

patsy, ya hor... forgotten that u cant go out... aiya, leave with it first... cos me also need to redo my skirting of my wall... need to change sofa n bed... i gg to push everything to jan... or maybe while i in the hospital... then hubby proceed..

cheryl, when i had my gal, i dun believe all these...(my mother kept nagging then)... until my miscarriage... i blamed myself for acting smart... recently, was talking to hubby abt gg hospital to visit someone.. n i mentioned abt that pregnancy(i name my miscarriaged child-nicole cos it happened during the nicoll highway incident)my hubby was angry with me... n warned me to discuss everything with him before proceeding....

i think abt pantang we also have do it in moderation..hehe..
later we will get stressed thinking can do this or canot.
cheryl
i think those u mentioned, non preg period also cannot do coz can be quite risky...skali got small needle or fingernail fall on bed how...
for malays, future brides not allowed to go to weddings when its nearing their own dates...scared kena evil eye..

Blueginger, Star70, Patsy, purple and garfield,
Thanks alot for ur support, i hope i can just accept and sail through my pregnancy...
So i always sayang my tummy and tell my bb to be good to mummy and let mummy eat more so tat u grow to be a chubby and healthy bb...

Hi bkkgal and purple,
since i preganant and when i had better apptetie,
i crave for whipped potatoe and popcorn chicken.
and salty food as well.
Last nite still kana stop my mother not eat so salty..
but i try to drink a lot of water, hope to "wash out" the salt.HAHA

yun
i also do alot of 'washing out' too...hahaha
what to do right...we want to eat la..
actually now its the best time to ask for this and that..hehehe...
we have this believe not good turn preggie women down. my mum and aunts usually will call and ask...'u want anything???' hehehe

pantang..
as a muslim, i usually take all those pantang with a pinch of salt, dun really follow la..coz i see my mum also never 'train' me on such things.

my hb tries to stop me from eating too much. he's afraid he'll have to deal with my weight woes later. haha. i heard that in 3rd trim we won't be able to eat so much even if we want cos the stomach space is being squished by the womb. some more during 1st trim, i was merlion all the way...just making up for lost time! hehe. wat is the acceptable weight gain ? is it 0.5 kg a week or more?

tongtong,

me really wanted a baby girl...try not to feel dissapointed and happy but somehow still feel that way...until i was a bit speechless when my doc said even more confidently that she's about 99% sure am carrying a boy...

but now i try to think all the positive side... but jokingly told hb dun want second one...in case turns out to be another boy!

anyway, been reading stories about miscariage and d/s so just hope that my baby is healthy. waiting anxiously for my blood test now.

bkkgal,
my collegue keep telling me to eat more, cos i too skinny liao...
i just manage to be my normal weight before pregnancy..abt 43kg onli.
cos for the 1st 14 weeks, me also merlion all the way and lost abt 4kg,
although now still a bit merlion, but try to eat more.
cos the nurse say too skinny no good, bb not getting enough nutrients then got to admitted again for drip..

bbkgal

my hb oso worries abt my weight, will remind me dun eat too much wait too fat leh... but no choice dun tell me hungry dun eat meh....

i do alot of washing out also... yesterday eat red ruby, got coconut milk ma, and drink 1-2 mouthful of sugar cane, in the end scare, drink almost 1 bottle of mineral water...

Hello mummies...
my EDD is 18 Feb 2008, anyone same as mine??? :), this is my 2nd baby and it is a boy. My eldest is a girl, she is 2 years old.

hey bkkgal,
dun worry about weight. i've already put on +6kg at about 18.5weeks. my weekly weight gain so far has been about 0.5kg since 2nd tri started.

i think it's baby growing cos i dun eat also can gain weight one hahaha....

tute, the whatever yoga is near outram mrt station..
i think for the tanglin one the nearest mrt is orchard... so i think whatever should be more conv...
let me know if u interested to go cos me, snow, blueginger will be signing up in oct...

cherly,

try nt 2 tk 2 much mineral water.. my sil told me it's nt gd 4 mtbs & bbs.... best 2 drink is normal boiled water.. she even suggest tat i shd bring a small water btl along whenever gg out.. tis was wat she did when she preggy wif my 2 nephews...

salty food
hahah..yes i also lurrve salty food!! esp instant noddles, then i will drink up all the soup, hehhe.. ba ku teh soup also. n potatoe chips, KFC...u name all the salty stuff, i sure love it.

i heard about high cholestrol from high salt intake, but really cant tahan lei. ask me to eat bland things now i really wanna vomit..

justc called my dr, wanted to find out more about the detailed scan. but nurse said it's not compulsory lei... isn't it? a bit confused cos during my next appt in a month's time i will be 22 weeks then if im doing the scan, i'll like to do the scan together on same day and not having to go down another day.

any comments on what's the 'standard procedure'?

hi ladies..

i am having sore nipples now, think must be due contact/abrasion with my bra. what can i do to make it better? i saw the shops selling nipple cream, but i presume this is for cracked nipples?

i thought i saw a 'nipple shield'--looks like a teat to me, will this help?

esther

i dun alway drink mineral water. only yesterday... i think i will try to bring a water bottle ard to whereever i go...

detail scan is not compulsory ah?

hmm...
i tot detailed scan is kinda compulsory..
at TMC its called fetal assesment scan/unit
when i went, the radiographer measured everything on the bb..counted all the fingers and toes, hands and legs. checked all the organs are fine, checked for cleft lip, check the spine and of course for gender.

piglettail,
Nipple shield can help, but usually use on breastfeeding mum who usually have swollen nipples which cause great pains.

Deatil scan is not compulsory. If you want, can choose it. For us, I think it is safer to check n know your baby's condition.

Cheryl,
yalor... I'm counting down to it too. Long long.
Guess pregnancy is about all the long waiting.

blueginger

my gynae nvr ask if i wanna go for detail scan anot. only tell me to go.. lol
yes. i oso waiting for my next appt. i miss bb... lol...

cheryl
ya lah...better at least u feel satisfied.
if ur gynae can provide such a scan then no need la i guess.
tat day, i actually say bb playing with bb tongue's and covering with hands...so cute...then bb will show us the tongue..hehe..very cheeky..

i think detailed scan is compulsory cos this is a benchmark to see whether the vital organ of a bb is formed....

hi ladies..

thanks for the information on the detailed scan! yar lor, i also thought it's compulsory all along. anyway i want to do lah, provided it does not cost the sky and moon!how much is it?

also each time when i go for my check up, i will have to pay additional for my scan photos. the scan itself is included in the package but the photos are not. hence im wondering if other MTB also have the same situation as me. if so, can we request not to print out the scan photos? i want to see but like quite 'wasteful' as these pictures will fade with time...

piglettail

i think TMC charge detail scan abt 100+

and my gynae do give me the print out of my bb... i tot it is included in the package???

blueginger
no i didnt do the OSCAR test.
one - chances for me quite low, im 25y.o
two - oscar test need to do when by 2-3 mths rite, for us muslim, we consider d feotus a living 'person' coz got heartbeat and cannot proceed with any termination unless preg is life threatening to mother.

but during my FA, the radiograher said everything okay.

piglettail
i did mine at TMC.
price is abt slightly after $100.
but if u are First born incentive mbr, enjoy 10%

my gynae package (TMC) includes the scan polaroid pics.
no extra charge.

blueginger,

no i didn't do the oscar test, so far i have only done the triple test, which is a blood test, correct?

everytime when i go for check up, the doctor will scan lor...this is the 'standard procedure' ?

purple

i did the oscar test. nt becos i wan.. actually i go do NT scan only.. who knw my nt scan fail... den have to do oscar.. and i m only 26 leh.. zzz

hhmmm...just saw all your replies after i have posted. am a bit confused now.

my dr's clinic is at gleneagles, hence i suppose if i do go for detailed scan it will be gleneagles too right? can't do in his clinic?

at our stage of pregnancy, is it normal to feel baby's movements and then nothing for many days after that?

reason i'm asking is my colleagues tell me that in 3rd tri must monitor and count baby's movements every day. it's a way to detect if baby is healthy in between the gynae visits.

my friend's baby still birth 7 months while still inside the womb due to suffocation by the umbilical cord *sob sob* apparently, some pple say that these may be detected early if you notice a gradual decline in baby's movements.

piglettail
if ur dr's clinic is at gleneagles, then the scan will be done there as well, most prob at gleneagle's radiology dept.
i doubt dr's clinic has the equipment but u can check.
another reason it takes a while, slightly longer than normal scan. then if ur bb likes to move, the radiographer will have to take a few readings to be more accurate

garfield
ya, i read tt from 6mths (i think) if bb movement under certain number, have to infrm gynae..cld be sign bb in distress.

i did a DS test plus blood test during my 11th weeks, is that call a OSCAR Test?
tat can see very clearly, i could c my bb fingers and thigh as well.
suppose to measure the nose bone for DS but my bb hand cover its face so cant measure
Then measure the NTD onli.
But the blood test shows low risk and during my next visit to my gynae i told him abt tat bb cover the face then he scan the nose bone and show tat is normal..
Then i was more relief. Tat DS Test cost me abt $320.00.
My detailed scan is due in 3 weeks time, had not check with the cost yet.

nt scan is to measure the nuchal fold at the neck loh....it is include in the oscar ma...

garfield.. same.. sometime can feel movement,sometime no movement

oh btw gals... i didn't do the OSCAR.
asked my gynae and he said he did a detailed scan and i juz did a triple test and that will suffice... hmm....

faten
actually i'm juz wondering... even if bb in distress, now only 2nd tri - what can the gynae do? deliver the bb??

garfield,

i think it's normal for now to only feel it once in a while, maybe when the baby punch or kick ? my dr say maybe in another month then we'll probably be able to feel the movement better. anyways, try to think positively..

dorothy,

yeah, i will let you know if i decided to sign up

piggletail,

my package never explicitly say that they will print photos for me, but my dr. always print lots of pics for me to keep. last scan, she was v funny, keep printing coz not satisfied that she can't capture my baby's face front view until she printed like around 6 picture :p

cherly,

detailed scan is nt compulsory.. according 2 my gynae, he will assess the blood test results. if the results r normal, my gynae will nt ask u go 4 unnecessary tests... tis is wat i gathered info frm another mum in my gynae topic..

i even check wif my gynae's nurse, she aso told me gotta wait till the blood test results then decide...

but jz as other mtbs, i tink i would prefer 2 tk the detailed scan as i wan 2 mk sure my bb is developing well and ok..

re distressed baby...i watched discovery channel and they say that these days, babies delivered at 24 weeks have very good chance of surviving.

for those delivered at 21 weeks, they have moderate/low chance. but still got hope

anything before that is almost no chance.

21 weeks = 6 months, so late 2nd tri onwards delivering a distressed baby has some chance of survival