(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

patsy
sabie is a sweetie

cheryl
i can bring the camera too as standby. i carry it with me everyday :p

hi ladies..
epidural..i also hope not to use it. i dream of a fast chop2 delivery. all of life my treshold of experiencing pain very low, i really cant imagine how later. i dun want to imagine all rosy2..skali dun turn out tt way..how??
do any of u have any negative or scary tots??...i always kena scolded when i ask hb the 'wat if's qns'..

Thanks KateChow.

blueginger, hahaaa... u are right... both of us too talkative liao... luckily our hb not with us, else they sure cannot tahan one... :p Btw, I thk we should have another shopping outing to cover suntec area lah...

Garfield9, isn't c-section scarier and more painful after that? I plan to go for natural without epidural... but if I genna induced one... then dunno liao... coz I heard induce very painful... but i really don't want epidural... Honestly, I admired those ppl that go for c-section with epidural instead of GA leh... I find it scarier than natural birth...

Poor thing lah... conference calls every night... but at least just this week... you can join us in our next shopping outing mah...

I didn't buy any lah... saw a skirt but "M" is tight and "L" is too big... guess maybe I just buy online lor...

Outing,
too bad can't join u gals on the 1st outing... got knitting class that day... I can imagine that you gals will be the noisier group in the restuarant...
hopefully, I can join you gals in the 2nd outing lah...

Patsy, your girl is sooooo cute and sweet!

pinkle, I started bird's nest since 13 weeks too... but I take it once every 2 weeks... I can't stand the original bird's nest smell but cannot add pao sheng in.. coz heard that we cannot take pao sheng now, so my mom added some red dates in it... taste much nicer... so now always looking forward to my bird's-nest-day. :p

wow... seems like everyone is on labour topics today!!!

i wan natural this time round, hopefully w/o any painkiller... had c-section with GA n also tried epi... so i was telling my boy that even he like his jie jie overdue i also wont induce(waste time!!)but again last min hard to say...but if i have to c-section this time, will go for epi so that hubby can go it n see...

bird's nest
me taking the hockhua one... one teaspoon a day n one at night...

hey girls.. stop talking about your shopping trips, making me sooooooooooooooooooo jealous!! haha

yah, my girl was so cute and loving and sweet... i miss her so much everyday. specially when i talk to the mummies from teh Oct 2005 and hear what their babies are doing now.... going to school, talking etc. Sorry to blabber on here, have been really depressed about missing her recently think it's becuase her birthday is coming soon. Plus all the pregnancy hormones i guess... sorry sorry, this thread must be for happy and positive thoughts only!!!!!

patsy
dun apologize..life is not a bed of roses, sometimes we come across torns..but then again, new roses bloom..
(hope im making sense..hehe)
im a firm believer of talking your heart out rather than keeping it all inside.

hi ladies...

patsy, dun feel sad.. now you have another baby on the way
yes like purplecurlz, i also believe in letting your thoughts out rather than keeping them inside.

want to ask you about low lying placenta... is it ok to squat and wash clothes? i dun run around much or climb stairs (only 2-3 times a day cos my office on 3rd floor and no lift) but i do feel 'xiong' when i squat down on bathroom floor to do my laundry 3-4 times a week. my bathroom/toilet room configurations dun allow us to do our laundry otherwise. some clothes can't use the washing machine...

yun, i was eating sashimi/sushi dinners average once weekly and orh-lua ($5+$3orh!!) every week, plus the raw oysters on three occassions since i found out i am preggie until last week, when i tasted a bad orh lei..

my gyane says it's ok to eat sashimi (his quote: then in Japan the women how?) as long as it's prepared under hygenic conditions. i guess the problem here is how are we (consumers) going to know if the sashimi (or all raw food for that matter) is prepared under hygenic conditions? hmmm..so i also delimma now. i think i will skip the or-lua (after my bad experience last week) but dunno what will happen when i step into a Jap restaurant, esp with hb who likes raw food too. i abit no-will-power type, hehe..

pop into maternity exchange at marina yesterday. they have a buy, package rental and individual rental system. i tried on a denim 3/4 jeans, the fit is very nice but hb said i look like ah lian..

anyways, the 3/4 jeans cost $200+ to buy (!!! so expensive hor, but it's a US brand) $50 to rent for 4 weeks-must pay full price initially then they will refund when we bring back the clothes.

they also have some packages which roughly works out to be $30++ per item rental for 4 weeks.

didn't have time to look through all cos hb was in rush..the selection wasn't big but seems promising.

piglettail
how many mths are u in? during my 2-4 mths, gynae noted placenta looks low but she said its normal. and true enuff last sat visit, my placenta moved up coz i guess bb growing.
if u really have to wash clothes by hand, instead of squating, try sitting down (folding ur legs in) at least u are straining urself.
i take the stairs at work too...sometimes multiple trips.

guess ur gynae is right abt sashimi. alot of the medical adv mention 'avoid' not 'cannot eat'

piglettail

my office no lift oso ah.. 3rd floor oso.. 1 day sometime can walk up n down a few times. but shd be ok lah... exercise ma. easier birth next time

piglettail, preferably you don't squat, because that puts pressure on the cervix... squatting was one of the birthing positions in the olden days!! actually if you have low lying placenta not good to be climbing also! but as long as you don't feel any cramping or spotting, shoudl be ok but just be careful and climb slowly!

purple: yah.. most of the time the placenta will go up. unluckily mine is growing into the cervix so no chance it will go up

just got a mailer from sakae sushi that they deliver.. wonder if safe to order sushi for delivery?? now craving for it

cherly, be careful pls!

Patsy, so sorry to hear that...sabie's a pretty girl. dun be sad ok? look forward to new life growing in you. i'll be praying for good health for all mommies and babies. God bless.

my mil also said to add pao shen but i juz hate the taste of bird's nest... quite a torture to have to swallow a bowl last nite

do you guys usually double-boil? or use the slow cooker? or juz stick to the concentrates bottle?

Patsy ,
so sori to heard abt sabie..
Be Happy okie...

Me also having low placenta, but gynae it might move up later on, so not to worry too much...

me just had a scan 2 days ago and doc say my baby 90% is a boy...i feel like a very bad mother coz at that time i felt very dissapointed....until all my sis and my mom in law told me that i shouldn't be dissapointed, important thing is that baby is healthy...i mean i know that but i just can't help it...so i'm feeling a bit envious towards those mothers having a baby girl...been practicing saying my daughter now to say my son a bit weird
but anyways, i'm just rambling here...i don't want to feel down, otherwise i'm scared my baby will feel unwanted in a way....

patsy,

it's ok to share...almost cry when i read your reply. you've gotta be strong for the little one inside you. your sabie seems like a very happy gal, am sure that she had made your family very happy...take care

dor,

me thinking of signing up with whatever yoga too but just trying to figure out now if the place is near mrt or not. if near, then i don't mind but if it's quite far i may wanna go for the one at tanglin instead.

hi, mtbs,

heard tat u gals start taking birdnest liao.. is it 2 early 2 start? i heard tat preferably 2 start on our 7, 8 mths onwards..

i heard frm my sil tat her gf ate birdnest frm 4 mths onwards till give birth, bb come out got asthma.. aso cause phelgm..

my dad wan 2 brew me birdnest, i kept stopping him...

i'm nt sure if it's reali true or jz depends on individual...

patsy
*hugs*

re: birdnest
i also heard that it will cause asthma. but i think just stick to the rule loh, 'take everything in moderation'.

re: epidural
i hope that i don't need epi this time round, too. saw the video clip during the antenatal class last time, very scary. i think my fear overcome the pain last round. haha....

patsy dear...feel free to share your thoughts and feelings here. it's very painful for a parent to lose her child, but as purple and piglettail say - you have been blessed with another new life to look forward to.

i can understand your pain cos my brother passed away at the age of 24 more than 10 years ago. saw my parents heartbroken for many years, especially my dad took a very long time to recover from it.

anyone considering buying organic cotton baby clothes or using organic products for baby? found this shop called by the sea that sells them (retailing at dempsey road and raffles hospital).

my hubby is a bit paranoid these days. he says insecticides and pesticides very bad for babies as they are very susceptible to neuro toxins. the side effects include hyperactivity, short attention span, affects the brain development as well.

i'm thinking if there are a few of us who are keen can try to do bulk order and get better prices cos can be quite expensive.

garfield, yes... am interested... any link?

my mum will be going to taiwan next month said that she will get some organic pillow for bb...

hi purple,
ya lor organic stuff not exactly cheap, that's why trying to organize bulk purchase for better prices.

i'll try to hunt around for alternative sources meanwhile. if you gals find any please post here = )

warning hor...these are scientific papers so can be a bit technical =P

bottomline is that chlorpyrifos - a chemical banned in US, is widely used in many other countries (including Singapore by pest control). this chemical has adverse effects on infants and children.

Article 1: CHLORPYRIFOS: HOW CHILDREN ARE EXPOSED TO PESTICIDES FROM MULTIPLE SOURCES http://www.nrdc.org/health/kids/ocar/chap5b.asp

Article 2: EXPOSURES TO THE INSECTICIDE CHLORPYRIFOS IN PREGNANCY ADVERSELY AFFECT CHILD DEVELOPMENT http://www.world-wire.com/news/0612040001.html

Article 3: DEVELOPMENTAL EFFECTS OF CHLORPYRIFOS EXTEND BEYOND NEUROTOXICITY http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/picrender.fcgi?artid=1241826&blobtype=pdf

warning hor...these are scientific papers so can be a bit technical =P

bottomline is that chlorpyrifos - a chemical banned in US, is widely used in many other countries (including Singapore by pest control). this chemical has adverse effects on infants and children.

Article 1: CHLORPYRIFOS: HOW CHILDREN ARE EXPOSED TO PESTICIDES FROM MULTIPLE SOURCES http://www.nrdc.org/health/kids/ocar/chap5b.asp

Article 2: EXPOSURES TO THE INSECTICIDE CHLORPYRIFOS IN PREGNANCY ADVERSELY AFFECT CHILD DEVELOPMENT http://www.world-wire.com/news/0612040001.html

Article 3: DEVELOPMENTAL EFFECTS OF CHLORPYRIFOS EXTEND BEYOND NEUROTOXICITY http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/picrender.fcgi?artid=1241826&blobtype=pdf

my mom told me not to eat too much stingray... du3 (poison)... i try to abstain lor... better to be safe than sorry :p

aiyah...tt 'poison' in stingray...my dad also said tt, he seldom eat stringray. but many ppl have been eating for a looonnngg time wat...im sure its not as bad as the fubu fish.hehe..
yup..i also eat prawn and sotong

my take on organic stuff...
i think it's good to let BB be exposed to the things that we use... otherwise when they grow up, prob hard to adjust to the "normal" stuff... and more susceptible to germs/diseases?

hey faten...
i heard they inject lotsa hormones to plump the chickens so better dun take too much too

i dun realli like chickens after i got pregz anyway so good for me

faten, ok lah... juz be "natural"

maybe can mix a bit of organic foods in BB's diet lor...
i plan to let BB eat organic/coarse rice etc. when he start solids

faten,
yeah, my fren say kampung chicken safe... but i dunno where to get... anyway i juz eat a bit only so not too bad

always crave for KFC tho... hahah

faten,
hahaha... my hb hates fastfood so i always have to force him to eat wif me :p
me also 1st BB so also veri lost - which is why i'm here anyway

ur 1st too? when EDD?