(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

cherly,
isit? your gyane actually say can eat sashimi? I read books also say cannot eat raw food? Well anyway, just be careful lah.

I been eating watermelon also, but a bit at a time and not everyday.

haha i think we can come to a conclusion that all pregnant woman like to complain abt their tummy and weight gain and all husbands must be feeling confused as to why can't we understand that its right to have tummy and weight gain when we are pregnant. hee

Yun,
I m taking durian in my 4th mths. Now i m 20 weeks. My gynae did said durian is good to baby too,coz its very rich of vitamin, then can hv a 'fei fei pah pah' BB. But hv to rem, not to take too much, coz durian is very heaty. once a week should be fine. Yun, i dun think its safe to take sashimi leh...

Tongtong,
I eat banana very often now. Just cant resist it ;)

Stephie,
My hb said that to me also, he said it is good to hv weight gain now, otherwise will sure scared him!! And even not happy if i shop too much on pregnancy clothing. Coz he says its a waste..will not wear them after deliver. Well, i had gain about 4.5kg now, still wearing those top that i wear b4 pregnant, only the pants cant fit. So far not very obvious on my bump..alreday 5 mths+ 1 week now

hi ladies...

wow...everyone seem to talking abt wat fruits can n canot eat...tot fruits r supp to be good for us.
hmm..but the only fruit i havent eaten is pineapple...coz my gynae mentioned it..and i noe frm long time. as for durians, not a fan so i have no prob avoiding it.
bananas--have been taking them, supp to help when you are having cramps.
now tt im in my 5mth, i started drinking fresh young coconut juice. it suposed to good for bb scalp, so tt wont be dry.

tummy size: today i realise my tummy suddenly more rounder..hmm...always catch me by surprise the changes in my tummy..

purple

i tot coconut can only be taken during 3rd tri? ard the time u going to pop??

tongtong

i dun drink green tea ever since i preg. but whenever i go sakae i will drink hot green tea... shd be fine ba, since not too often

purple

tongtong

i dun drink green tea ever since i preg. but whenever i go sakae i will drink hot green tea... shd be fine ba, since not too often

I dun like to eat durians and its smell...
unless if later stage my bb is too small then i will try eating durians...

As for fruits, i usually eat payaya but after when my mama say cant too much cos will cause bb jaudice, then i try to eat lesser.
Ya banana small can eat but not the delmonte type.

Anyone started using scratch marks cream liao?

purple

tongtong

purple

tongtong

cheryl
im not sure, my mum told me to drink it only after 5mths coz half way thru preg. too early no point, too late will be too late...hehe..
i duno whther has any medical proof or not...but tts the only 'supertistious' act she ask me to do...hehe...am so lucky not subjected to the rest..

purple

tongtong

cheryl
im not sure, my mum told me to drink it only after 5mths coz half way thru preg. too early no point, too late will be too late...hehe..
i duno whther has any medical proof or not...but tts the only 'supertistious' act she ask me to do...hehe...am so lucky not subjected to the rest..

purple

tongtong

tongtong
usually i drink hot water when at sakae. ya, heard somewhere too much green tea no good for us. can't remember the reason.

casa
hope your rashes is better now. me too still wearing my normal clothings. so far, no one gave up sits to me. probably they think i'm fat with a big tummy :p

i jokingly told my hubby must jian fei liao cos now so heavy. then he kan chiong and said how can!

purple
i heard that coconut is cooling and usually the advice is to drink during 3rd trimester when you are near to your EDD.

oh can start drinking coconut juice now? i think for the chinese it's too cooling for current stage but can drink at 3rd trimester.

basically all these 'pantang'' not really pantang la...just want us to eat everything in moderation
maybe long2 time ago, in some village one mtb ate too much untill she cannot lose the weight or used up the family's supplies..hehe..
imagine if i were sandwich btw chinese and malay aunty...wow i think canot tahan what they will say...this canot that canot..hahah
moderation is the key for us i guess, take every advice with a pinch of salt and a million $$

basically all these 'pantang'' not really pantang la...just want us to eat everything in moderation
maybe long2 time ago, in some village one mtb ate too much untill she cannot lose the weight or used up the family's supplies..hehe..
imagine if i were sandwich btw chinese and malay aunty...wow i think canot tahan what they will say...this canot that canot..hahah
moderation is the key for us i guess, take every advice with a pinch of salt and a million $$

actually hor...all these theories about what fruits can eat what cannot eat, makes me blur.

cos i look at caucasians (they eat everything leh, all kinds of fruits) also no problem =P

i heard bananas are good cos they help with cramps and help with bloating due to the high potassium content. in western countries they only have the del monte type of bananas leh...so should be ok right?

garfield
true loh. ang eat del monte type of banana. in fact, i think the pple in western countries just eat what they want. that's why i say my gynae is 'ang moh' type.

maybe caucasian's body structure different from chinese? because their figure is bigger and stronger since they eat a lot of beef i think. they might not experience the cooling effect from the fruit? hehe

caucasian dun even need to do confinement after giving birth. NV heard my friend here pain there aches. Not like asian.

SMall Banana ok for us. Apples suited everyone. Durian too much, baby will grow bigger. And you might get too heaty. pineapple after 3 mth can eat one piece or two. Not too much.

tong tong,
ya maybe their diet different from ours.

for me, i just go to fruit stall everyday and rotate. papaya, apple, watermelon, honeydew, pear, orange, jackfruit, guava, banana, plum, grapes, mango....so many to choose from!!

so my own personal garfield theory is that eat all fruits in moderation should be ok lor. so many types of fruit sold in my canteen....rotate everyday means in one month at most eat any type of fruit twice only.

snowbelle,

From bishan interchange, u can take bus no 56 or 410(green colour plate only) dun take the white colour plate. drop at 2nd bus stop just in front of a pesbyterian church. the RC just next to the church.

ya, angmos dun abstain from any kinds of food when preggie, but they do avoid sashimi and alcohol, as far as i can see.

but then again, angmos also grow up to have a lot of allergies and health problems like asthma leh, so mabbe the asian way of avoiding certain foods has its benefits to a certain extent?

as for aches and pains, they get backaches too, but not becos they dun have things like confinement etc, but becos they used epidural. Hmm, still thinking if i shd try for au naturale at childbirth.

Garfield,
Hahaha... Just have time to shop at marine Sq. By the time, we reached suntec, most of the shops closed. We dun even have time to rest, but the most hardworking is our mouth. Talk non-stop. =)

hey fairfield....me also contemplating going without epidural. but i'm more cowardly - am thinking of doing C-section via GA. hahahahaha..........

sounds like you gals had a good time yesterday *SULK* me on conference calls EVERY NIGHT this week. so super sian. disrupt my night life (not that it's very happening, but after dinner must rush back home lor).

did you gals buy anything in the end??

I bought a bermuda from maternity House. Wanna to buy one tee-shirt, but no color of my liking. We actually eyeing on a few spring maternity blouses. They have nice design there. But... We can only window shopping cos it is over their operating hours. Hope other shoppers won't think we are bulgar. Kekekek =P

Can I imagine how it would be like for our 1st outing. Me and snowbelle alone have so much to talk abt til we forget abt our shopping.

U every night conference calls... Sian liao!!!NVM lah. Next week dun have. ok..

I oso wanna try natural birth. My MIL & mother warned me not to take epidural. Have side-effect aftermath.

yes, my mum ask me dun take epi. buy must provided i can take the pain loh.. haha...

btw can some1 bring camera to the outing?? i only got camera phone leh.. den hb camera is so damn big... grr...

finally the forum is back up.. i couldn't get into the thread yesterday!

blueginger, will give you a pic of sabie next time you come over.

show the rest of the girls my eldest...

976420.jpg

ya blue ginger, i oso eying spring maternity tops. for bottoms, i not really investing and relying only on a few pairs =P

my job pai mia...me satu orang out here in singapore and rest of team + boss in US. so if lucky only 2 calls in a week, else will be like this week - every night.

patsy....yes sabie is really very cute. how old was she when you took this photo?

patsy,
sabie's a darling!!

ya, i hope to do natural without epidural too, cos i dun heal fast with wounds, so hb very worried if i do c-section. hopefully bb wun be too big for natural delivery.

hey mtbs!
have you gals started bird's nest?
some say it's good for BB's complexion but others say BB might have too much phelgm... any comments?

hi pinkle,
i started at week13. but without pao sheng i dun like. got raw egg yolk smell quite gross. so haven't taken anymore since =P