(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bbkgal,stephie..

me taking anmum right now...initially i drank dumex mamil which was quite yucky the first time i drank it, but then i chill it so that it taste better...and it did...after a while though, got used to the taste and i start drinking it hot.

then i switched to anmum (vanilla), personally i like dumex mamil vanilla better...anmum taste more yucky...recently i switch again to anmum (chocolate) which is quite yummy ! hehehe...ever since then i didn't even bother drinking the vanilla one....

u know in indon (where i came from), there are lots of variety of milk for preg women...got strawberry flavour, mocha etc...but here seems like mostly vanilla...and very few choices...is it because that women here drink normal milk, those fresh milk type ? actually i dunno the difference...

re sleeping position
have beent rying to sleep sideways for a while now...but somehow by the time i wake up i am already lying flat ! hahaha...seems like my body unconsciously like lying flat better...

personally prefer popping calcium pills to drinking the anmum mamil type of drink =P so trying to avoid if possible!

btw, anyone has experience with v-infection before? my discharge is yellowish and a bit stinko. wondering if it'll just going away on its own or need medication.

morning ladies,

do you dream as often as before pregie? for me b4 pregie, i seldom dreams....but now almost all nights. i also tends to wake up in the middle of the night twice...

went tom and stefanie, hands very itchy (want to start buying baby garments). Stop by my hubby...gals, when should we start buying clothes? is it too early if to buy now (4.5mths)? there are mnay mothers asked me not to buy too much cos the baby grow very fast.

doppler
i got one gadget called prenatal heart listener $60. but till now i still can not recognise which sound is the bb's heartbeat. i read the manual bb's heartbeat can be heard from 5th month onwards. maybe the one i bought is not as good. but i can hear drum-like sound. maybe it is cause by the movement of the bb. already 4.5 mths but can not feel baby movement and only get to see the ultrasound every 3 weeks. so it is good to know that the baby is at least moving inside (feel real)... other than can hear the sound of the bb, you can also talk and play music to the bb. however, will wait try talk and play later maybe in 5th mths

garfield
ohh ok..think its better u check it out.
im recovering frm a nasty one from 3 weeks ago.
my gynae inserted some meds and gave me antibiotics.then after the test results came, she called me back...i had some 3 specimen there..eeiii...then put meds again...2 nights ago i just inserted one on by own..now much better...
she said its normal during preg coz of all the moisture and scretions...but she did say can come back again and during delivery might need a jab to ensure baby not infected.

sometimes we think its normal..but when visit the gynae she will say otherwise...think they noe better and just want to double triple sure

thanks purple

=( *SULK*

i just went to gynae on tue leh for my diarrhea. so reluctant to go back again....wondering whether normal GP can or not

cheryl, hb bought in the guardian at mt. e. at first i also had a hard time figuring out which was the baby's heartbeat but after a lot of practise i found the one that sounds like horses galloping. Can also hear the "whish" sound of the blood going into the placenta... and when the baby moves it sounds like waves!!!!

garfield, go and check with your gyne... yellowish discharge with smell could be a yeast infection, better safe than sorry and have it checked!

to those mums drinking maternal milk, just be careful coz the sugar content of these is very high. if you're taking multivits, may not be any reason to take specialized milk and just drink fresh milk instead.

garfield
what are the sympton of V-infection? i also have those discharge which turn yellow after a while. i told my gynae he said it is ok as long as not brown or pink. but everytime i visit the gynae, he will ask me to urinate on a strip. not sure if that strip is to test on the v-infection? do you feel itchy?

ronroo
brown or pink is signs of spotting. its normal for women to have discharge that is abit yellow or white. but once it turns thick and causes itch then most prob its yeast infection.
and usually if u have yeast infection, u will feel pain during intercourse.

garfield, why dun u call kkh hotline... i think they have a hotline whereby is answered by nurses... tell them abt yr discharges see what they say...

blueginger, blueginger, where are u???

cheryl, not sure leh... if you want i'm going to mt e tomorrow can get for you... and you can pick up from my place?

ronroo, the strip is to test for glucose, protein, blood, ph and something else in the urine. i spend so much time in my gyne clinic i kpo ask what's this and what's that liao :D

cheryl
the strip consists of 2 small square papers. one maybe is for glucose but not sure the other...i know there is one turn from yellow color to purple color is to test for dehydration (i used it when i was admitted to KK due to dehydration). Will check with gynae during the next visit.

i tried to post my message this morning,but dunno why cant lei..tried again!

As for supplement, can i stop taking folic acid after 3 months? thinking of taking multi-vitamin, which brand is good har?

i also having sleeping problems, turn left & right thruout the nite..i read from the book should not sleep on the back.

is Clarin's oil really good? Is it very oily? I'm worried end up make my tummy very itchy. I am realised some darker tone on my armpits and left side of neck..very sad
any method to prevent to reduce the darker tone? Help!!!

milk
starting i drank mamil. but then each time feel want to vomit after drinking. MIL asked me not to drink. i stopped. but then i start again now but this time i add the milk powder in milo....so far so good.

hi patsy, purple, dorothy,
ya i think i will go and check it out. but will call the KKH nurses hotline first lor. dun feel like "exposing" myself again if i can help it cos now adays no more V-scan mah *hee hee*

hi ronroo,
i think V-infection symptoms include yellowish/greenish discharge, foul smell, itch etc.

patsy u stay where?? if u stay very far from me, den i can go mt e myself liao. haha... orchard is not very far from me. haha

till nw i still dun dare to drink the ammun mamil mama... it really make me feel like puke.. shd have bought chocolate favour instead of vanilla... put milo in oso dun taste ok leh... haiz
lucky i bought small tin

patsy, thanks for tip on sugar content. will bear in mind.

i'm oso afraid to buy a tin and then wasted cos i really hate formula milk. if only they sell sample packs.....

Hi Dorothy,

can you update the list thanks!!, here are my details:

EDD: 21/02/08
Baby: #1
Gynae: Dr S Isdale
Hospital: JPHC
ADD: Perth/Bedok

Anyway, seems like quite a few of us are having problem with Palmers stretch mark cream!

Sigh, I still got 1.5bottles at home.

happybee
i got dark colour tone at my arm pit last pregnancy. it went away few mths after i gv birth. it's due to the hormone. i think can't do much about it.

re: milk
i didn't take any pregnancy FM. 'cos i really hate the taste of the milk powder. i took the normal milk powder called Enercal 'cos it tastes more like fresh milk... more acceptable to my taste buds.

Dor- yea when i took the pills i felt nauseaus too! i will only eat them before i sleep. ANyway i dont know why these days my nauseas seem to be back, slight one, but luckily can still eat.

casa, did you get any moisturise from your gynae? i got one from gynae and apparently it's very useful for the rashes, stretchmark or itchiness.

tute- are you indonesian chinese? you migrated here to SG ah?

cheryl, am based in joo seng rd, near aljunied/macpherson area.

bkkgal, i have some sample packs here actually, you want? can't remember which one tho.. have to get hb to bring in to the room tonight

Thanks patsy but no need lah. How to get it from you leh? too troublesome. Are you stuck in your bedroom all day? Poor thing. Thankfully there's internet to keep you company...

bkkgal, yah...can only walk to the loo, worse is must lay down, cannot sit up too long!! i mail to you lah... just asked maid to bring her, it's a mamil sample, i mail to you if you want.

Haha, thanks Dorothy. I'm not good at knitting and my knitting needles are at my mum's place. But where are you all meeting up? Maybe I'll pop by and say hi.

actually i think i saw somewhere in the forum saying about palmers cocoa butter stretchmark cream, which alot of pple use liao, felt the itchiness...

just came back from lunch. realized one of my colleagues has same birthday as me!!

had peking duck. $28 only for one duck. cheap cheap and very sedap!! =)

hey theres alot of negative reaction to using palmers cream. wonder whether i shd try the one that i bgt. I tot its supposed to me good..maybe it works well with angmoh skin and weather..hehe

i read somewhere that some pple may be sensitive to cocoa butter which is main ingredient. maybe you do a patch test first.

palmers cocoa butter stretchmark cream
really huh... but me ok leh...

garfield, haha... i had mos burger...heehee... tried the cham chowder soup... nice nice...yo... u called kkh hotline already?

knitting
kitsune, dun know yet leh(where to meet)...i dun know anything one(knitting) leh....

i used to love eating clam chowder at soup spoon... now not anymore... too bad now dun feel like eating...think of seafood really brought down my appetite :p

tong,
me indonesian with a tiny splash of chinese blood from mum side. hubby is indon chinese. but both of us has been here for a long time...me since uni and hubby since sec 3 :p

patsy,
thanks for the tip ! maybe that's why if i drink milk i won't feel hungry very often...3 times meal is enough for me without snacks...i drink the milk 2 a day, in the morning and afternoon. but if i don't drink milk then i'll feel hungry normally late morning and afternoon...so end up munching more food...

re: palmers
yeah, seems like lotsa people has negative reaction towards it...dor, maybe you're not as sensitive as other people...but do be careful, i read one lady didn't feel itchy initially but after a couple of months using it then she felt it...

garfield
where did you have the peking duck. $28 is cheap.

last time i also heard pple saying that some may be sensitive to cocoa butter. but i didn't bother then and used the palmer stretch mark cream. was ok initially and rashes only appeared some time later. as i didn't know the cream caused that, i continued to apply and the rashes became worse.

V infection
I heard that drinking yakult (or other types of yoghurt drink) helps in preventing infection. Not sure how true but no harm trying if you are ok with drinking yakult

Milk
I tried enfamama and anmum before. both chocolate flavour. preferred the taste of anmum. feels that it's smoother, like hot chocolate. can be drank cold too. taste nice also.

i'm currently drinking anmum choco flavour, yummy yummy... haven't tried other brands before. if we drink milk everyday, can we forgo the multivit? cos the tablets really yucky....

tute
i think i'm like the case of the lady you read. i didn't have any itch/rash when i started to use palmer. it was after quite some time (can't remember the period) that the rash started to developed. hence, i didn't thot of palmer as the 'culprit' and continued using until my situation got worse. now dare not try liao.

hey stephie...cheap right? it's at asia grand restaurant (odeon towers first floor, opp raffles hotel and next to bras basah). food there generally pretty good. loooooove the CNY loh hei too!!

i stopped yakult for a while, used to be drinking it everyday but not for about a week. i will resume and monitor.