(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

winne, dun be stressful... me too have lots of outbreak
me going facial on sat....

Hi piglettail,
So sorry to hear that. Take it easy ok, try to have an open talk with him & tell him your feeling. Arange a right time & right mood. Thats how i 'settle' with my hb when we hv any disagreement .... it works!
You musn't think on the negative side ok. Take good care ya! ;)

I didnt take breakfast almost every morning. Due to the morning sickness.. Will only have my 1st meal of the day in the late morning (11:30am-1pm)

Is this habit ok? Didnt consult my gynae on this issue.

Winnie,
I am in my 16 weeks. Think eat too much junk food and supper.

Dorothy,

Company Name : Elsie Departmental Store
Product Category : Gift Shops
Address : HDB-Ang Mo Kio
709 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 8 #01-2607, 560709
Located @ Ang Mo Kio

Phone : 64523366
http://www.streetdirectory.com/businessfinder/company_detail.php?companyid=27345&branchid=109798

They sell the threads and stuff but do not teach for free. You will have to enrol for their classes. Why not call up and check it out first?

I'm also having a breakout. Mainly on my back. My whole back is full of it and I really mean full of pimples. So sad... anyone has any idea what i can do to it?

Casa, I don't take breakfast as well. Cos I usually wakes up at 11am. he he he... and will simply take lunch and dinner.

Hi to all MTBs.
I am new here. My husband introduce this forum to me. He told me the forum is informative and funny.

ETD : 9th Feb 2008
Baby Gender : Boy ("should be" added by husband)

Just discharged from hospital. Warded reason is excessive vomit with blood and dehydration....Sob sob....But the baby is ok...

Hope all MTBs are well and stay healthy...

welcome happy bee and ronroo!

happy bee,
i take blood pressure and urine test every visit. standard practice at KKH. not sure about your gynae though...maybe can ask him next time? regarding the baby movements, i think still early most pple feel it from 5th/6th month onwards so dun worry.

ronroo,
your hubby very new age leh =P actually know about this forum haha....my hubby likes it that i come here to chit chat cos i can share my experiences and learn from others. so i dun "bombard" him with questions he cannot answer =)

Hi blueginger & dorothy,

I've no strength to reply the posts at all... I've been having bad MS the past few days... thought it should subside soon but it seems like getting worst... sigh... hopefully it won't last till 9mths...

Sat afternoon or evening is fine with me. Let me know the place and time when confirm lah.

blueginger, I really like the threads you showed me that day (the one you used to make into a hat), I think I'll use that to knit the sweater pattern I bought. But I'm not sure whether my knitting teacher in CC will understand the pattern or not, coz she teaches japanese style one... guess will check with her first.

dorothy, there's a shop that sells knitting and crochet stuff one in AMK, not sure is it called elsie. It's next to the S11, near the old permenant bus interchange. Last time I checked, as long as you buy threads from them and every month pay $10 as course fee, you can attend their every Fri class. But you have to go there early to "chop" seat, usually it's quite crowded.

welcome, ronroo.
That's very serious. Vomit with blood. Hope you get well soon.

Dorothy,
you let me know if the place have nice threads and pattern, OK? But AMK is a bit too far for us. Peifu (Salute) you for making the trip. Last time I took a bus there from Tampine, sit until backside ached oso have not reached there.
Talking abt facial... I have not go to mine for month. Must make an appt. Too bad, not back massage for me this time. =(

casa & moi_dar,
I took breakfast where I woke up early in the morning. If I wake up at 10/11am (usu on sunday), will skip breakfast.

Stephie,
I use petroleum other from Vaseline, this uses during winter time. Quite effective, only apply for a few days. But very oily. It stay on your skin whole day. If you need some, I can pass a small amt to u, u dun have to buy lah. I have a big bottle since last Oct. Still finding way to consume it instead of throwing away.

hi cecilia, thanks for the link. the no. u gave is wrong.
new number =64515519
will call later.. if not i will pop by later cos i wan to amk hub to buy something n also to buy curry puff for hubby...

blueginger/snowbelle,
so far the three of us more or less onz!!! garfield, cecilia, wan to join us? i think i can fan xin to leave the house about 4plus....
snowbelle, fri class at elsie? crowded? then i dun wan cos i want to join mdm tan(yr cc teacher at tampines central cc)...

blueginger, cos i work in amk ma

snowbelle, u better?

cecilia, abt the outbreak on yr back... could be due to pregnancy leh...

hi ronroo, welcome!!! will update u in our list...rest well hor... scarely leh to vomit with blood....

hi dorothy,
sorry me can't follow which day/time you gals are meeting =P when and where hah?

you very loving leh...preggie still go all the way to AMK to buy curry puff for your lao gong. he's one lucky man!!! remember to tell him hor =)

snowbelle, ronroo....take care and hope your MS disappears soon!!

Garfield,
We are meeting this coming sat. Not sure abt the venue. Will be at Tampines. I wasn't very familiar with that area as well. TM is too crowded for a long sit-in. I wondered if there is any recommendation of places where you can sit there for hours without stares and chaseoff.
Is 6pm ok for you gals? Cos I need travelling time from JP.

Snowbelle,
Take care. =)
What did you learn in your knitting class? You need your own blouse? The teacher will give you the pattern? Same for the whole class or you can select your own?

wow, all of you are "xian qi liang mu", spending your weekend knitting .

I spent most of my weekend watching TV and playing Wii games hahah

blueginger
you mean the vaseline is good at relieving peeling of skin? this time i had some peeling at the beginning. now no more liao. if i need it next time, then i get from you k? tks.

ronroo
welcome. hope you are ok now. me too impressed with you hubby who recommended this thread to you. usually, it's the wife who tells hubby abt this thread. take care of yourself.

blueginger, 6pm??? can.... but tampines where part huh? do u think library is order?

snowbelle, u ok cos u staying in northeast?

cecilia/snowbelle, i called elsie(amk craft shop)... they do have knitting class on mon/fri 7-9pm.. according to the teacher, their class size is abt 12....month fee is $10...the first project is also scarf according to the teacher...

garfield, no lah... i not so wei da... cos i work in sinming aka amk...

i was reading my friend's blog who just gave birth on 1st sep.. wow, i think the labour pain sounded very jialat. she admitted to hospital at 1pm , delivered bb at 9pm. i think after 7pm she was in deep pain and kept screaming... erm.. i dunno whether i will also scream myhead off or not.. sounds scary!

Blueginger,

besides getting folic acid, you may want to check with your gynae any other supplements u need to take. Sharing how u feel with your gynae as well.

Garfield9,
ya, sure i will check with my gynae on my next visit, will do the 20th week scan as well on 28 Sept. I read some books do say some ppl only feel baby movement on 20th weeks onward. But i start to get worried when my friend told me my baby likely not active
She can see her baby do 360 degree turn, she is only 3 months pregnant.
However, i find the most important thing is my baby is healthy.

apple79,
cannot watch too much TV. See horrible stuff, scared and got nightmares at night. After pregnant, I become so timid. Last sunday, I took MRT to redhill, I jumped out of my nap when my husband tapped my hands. Those passengers around me got a shock. Some laughed too. So embarrassed.

Stephie,
Yap!! Vaseline Petroleum something. I had peeling skin on my elbow and tips of my mouth. They healed. Now my elbow peeling come again, have to apply again loh!!! Anytime. Just let me know.

Patsy,
No problem. Next time. Do take care. =)

Dorothy,
Are you referring to Opening Hours for Library? I think it open til 5pm only.

hi babes,

thanks so much to all of you
*hugs*

went to peoples park centre/peoples park complex hawker centre during lunch..u babes familar with the shops selling toiletries at discounted prices there? there's a shop on 3rd floor, Ocean, it's selling the clarins oil at 35% discount, so it's $51.60. worth checking out...

unfortunately the shop doesn't stock elancyl products, i will go to the bigger watsons/guardian this evening.

welcome ronroo

Dorothy,
Are you referring to Opening Hours for Library? I think it open til 5pm only.
Yalor, snowbelle. Just us know where is better?

Cheryl,
the C-section is so groused... Will let my baby see more. so baby can opt not to go for it. Kkekekeke... Crazy liao...

happybee,
My husband colleague told him that gynae will give iron, and other pills and some milk powder. He will help us to buy from Malaysia, claiming that it is cheaper there. I oso dun know what. He suggest we bring it to our Gynae. So just follow loh! As for folic acid, it is only useful for the first 3mth and before you conceived, other then that it is more or less useless.

dorothy, Garfield9 & blueginger, thanks. Getting slightly better... but keep burping and somemore super loud one... think my whole dept can hear my burp!

dorothy, the store in AMK is quite small and last time when I went to take a look, I saw a lot of ppl crowd around the teacher, like very cramp... maybe you can drop by on one of the Fri to see the class in progress lah...

blueginger, the teacher will teach the basic knitting in the first few lessons. If our progress are good, she will ask what we wanna knit. She will give us the patterns to choose or we can go find our own pattern. Each of us knit different stuff. Btw, what do you mean by "You need your own blouse?"

6pm at Tampines is fine with me.

happybee
maybe your bb was sleeping when you went for the scan, hence cannot see the active movements. i saw my baby waving his/her limbs actively when i went for my 2nd checkup. other times, bb was sleeping hence not much movements. don't worry and like you say most impt bb is healthy and growing steadily

blueginger
that means we can stop taking folic acid? but no harm taking right? i'm still taking cos i still have quite a lot of leftover after 1st trimester. feel like stopping cos i'm already popping 3 other pills everyday (fish oil, multivits and calcium) and don't know why this time round i find it hard to swallow all this pills. last time i was ok and just take the pills naturally everyday.

cheryl
hmm... can't view the video from office. very gross huh?

hi happybee, dun listen to yr friend that yr bb not active!!!! cos our bb still veri veri small leh... prob only 10plus cm. how active or movement can they make!!!!

apple, me too! a couchpotato!!!

tong, i was cut before
c-sec for my gal. so i think not that bad lah...

blueginger, i love horror show til now i still watching....

patsy, wait til u are better!!! then u join us for knitting ok?

snowbelle, luckily only yr department can hear... but i din hear leh ;0).. i hope the cc teacher is good too!!!

Snowbelle,
Great to hear that you are better. I think resting/sleeping is the best. Hence, left office early today. OK??? =)
Paiseh... Din read wat I wrote. Actually refer to "knit your own blouse". I think of knitting a top for myself... Did you just begin with the course? What did you do for yourself? Where is Tampines Central CC? The one near St22?

Dorothy & Snowbelle,
I just check Tampines library opening hours. It closes at 9pm. If both are alright. We can go there.

bluegin, the tampines central cc is near tampines swimming pool one.... take sbs 291 or 69...

i ok with library but hor got place to sit?

ronroo, do take care!

we can really stop taking folic acid?? No wonder on my last visit, the nurse din give me the folic acid and I ask for you. She actually said " u want ah"?

Stephie,I am swallowing as many pills as you did everyday. Am quite sick of them also. But for baby sake no choice.

piglettail,
I bought the cocoa butter formula from Ocean too. Guardian sell it at $23.90, I got it at $19.60. I frequent the place for other thing as well since the knitting place is nearby.

Stephie,
No side-effect to take folic acid, just not as effective on baby as before. SO MANY pills to take??? is it prescribed from your GYnae or you are taking on your own?

Dorothy,
OIC. I know the swimming pool loc. but din notice there is a CC there?
Yaloh... Might not have seats. I din think of that. So where?

hahaaa... dorothy, if you can hear my burp, then I don't think I will step out of my door!

blueginger, I'm currently knitting a cardigan (those short one) ever since the class started 3 months ago. The class last for 2 months so this is the 2nd class I have joined. Btw, the class I joined is in Toa Payoh Central CC. The teacher also teach crochet too if we request.

Tampines library is fine with me.

blueginger
those pills, except for folic acid, are prescribed by my gynae. i think will have to double the dose at certain point. can't remember when. maybe in late 2nd trimester/early 3rd trimester.

aiyo, all these talks about knitting made me gian. but i know i sure can't squeeze time to knit, sure knit and knit and end up with no end product :p

apple
ya, i also swallowed the pills for bb's sake.

Which days area you gals meeting up huh? I'm lost here.

Blueginger, thanks for the infor. Will go down to Ocean and get the clarins oil!

In all honesty, I haven't been taking the pills (multi-vits and folic acids) for the longest time liao. Not very faithful in taking them. Believe as long as I take in a balanced meal, baby should be healthy.

not horror but gross
imagine they cut so many layer in order to reach the bb. and the way they stretch the skin to take the bb out is very scary... cfm after that very pain

aiyah... don't make it sound so scary. Later scare all the MTB.

Anyway, i suppose when laying on the table, it won't feel as scary as in the video.

moi_dar,
ya...ya... You probably just want to get your baby out ASAP.

Based on the latest info, we are meeting at Tampine Library, 6pm this sat.

Weight-gain
My colleague gained 20kg. She managed to slim down in 3kg. Now 56kg. Slim and beautiful. Not to worry too much, ok?

hehe, c-section, my sis was with me in teh oeprating room, the next day when she saw me she said my tummy like "sam cham ba" sell per kg sure make money! but to be honest, for me, after 30 hrs of labour, i was just relieved to be giving birth finally

dor: aiya i should be knitting now hor, all the time in bed doing nthing just watching tv. was telling hb i will take up cross stich, he said he don't want to waste the money to buy me the stuff coz he knows i won't ever finish it coz i have no patience.

stephie, if you're having problems taking the tablets, take them one at a time.. may be easier to swallow, or if the tablets are those compressed powdered type, you can get those pill breakers to make them smaller.

Hello ladies! Can I check anyone taking calcium tablets?

If you do, can you recommend a brand that is small and easy to swallow?

patsy,
It might be a myth, but I heard that cannot do things on bed such as sewing, stitch, cutting, knitting as well. So just avoid that. No harm mah!

bkkgal,
I din take calcium tablet... Can't help =(

bbkgal,
My calcium tablets are given by the doctor but didn't really take any. Can ask from your doc. Believe most calcium tablet should be the same.

Blueginger,
I am working on Saturday leh... at least till after PSLE. I have P6 classes at a tuition centre every Sat. Can't make it then

wah...very difficult to follow this thread once i don't check within a day or two !

how are you ladies ? you know i've started wearing maternity bottoms plus bigger size shirt this week and already today 2 of my colleague comment that i look tired
and also ask me if i'm pregnant...sigh, i think i need to catch up on my sleep...didn't even realise that i look tired !

btw, am curious what kind of pills ur gynae prescribe for you...my gynae only gave me a multi-vit and that's it...wondering if i need additional calcium, or omega-3 tablets ? right now am drinking milk 2 glass a day so hoping that covers the calcium intake needed...

patsy,
welcome back and hope you're feeling better

cheryl,
never realise you're so young ! and i also tried that method to guess baby's gender...first one i got a girl and second a boy. you should try it on both you and your husband hands...see if it matches ! hehehe....just so happen most of couples i tried match ! :p

garfield,
can't remember if it was you who suggested elancyl but anyways i got one tub and i really like the smell. it's also not sticky so can wear clothes straightaway which is good for me coz am always in a rush during the morning

Hi bkkgal,

My prenatal vitamin given by doctor contains Calcium. I also tried to drink milk, soya milk, cheese. I think calcium is very important after 1st tri because the baby's bone is hardening now.

Check out this website for nutritional considerations for prenancy.

In my 1st tri, gynae only gave me folic acid. Now, i only take prenavit (Sunward brand) which consists on Vit A, D, B1, B2, B12, C Nicotinamide, folic acid, Ferrous Sulphate, Calcium carbonate. No mention of Omega 3. Thinking of asking my gynae for Omega 3.

patsy
thanks for the advice. yup, am taking the piils one at a time. sometimes will spread out over a few minutes.

bbkgal
so far those calcium pills i've heard of are all quite big. the one i'm taking now is about a 5 cents coin.

Video
Really very gross, i kept turning my head away and didn't dare finish the clip. i pei fu those hubbies who dare to watch the procedure live. i bet my hubby will find it gross too.

tute
since you are taking 2 glasses of milk a day, calcium intake should be fine. are you taking milk for pregnant women, eg. anmum? or those with high calcium are ok too.

for the fish oil that i'm taking, i think it's not compulsory. last time when my SIL was pregnant, her gynae didn't prescribe it for her. i recommended to her and she took after checking with her gynae. fish oil supposedly good for the brain development bah. also, my gynae said so far all his patients who took the fish oil, the babies will open their eyes soon after they are born. not sure if it's true but my gal did open her eyes not long after birth.

stephie,

My multivit is in the package. I purchase the package when i was 6 weeks. The package includes all the consultation and basic ultrasound, multivit, first visit after birth. The package cost 700+. The consultation is every 2 to 3 weeks.

hi knitting gang,
can't make it this sat but will try to join in next time!

hi tute,
wow you can tahan so long without maternity wear? i started wearing maternity bottoms couple of weeks ago cos really cannot squeeze into anything i used to have.

re supplements - my gynae prescribed fish oil (brand: neurogain) and folic acid. no calcium.

re elancyl...ya it's me who has been singing praises about it to anyone who is looking for a cream haha =P glad to hear that you like it!!

i didn't watch the clip cos i figured my appendicitis op was probably the same (similar location and length of incision but to the right). dun wan to scare myself =P

garfield no prob.... next time lah....

i went amk hub....i went spring again....bought another 2 pants, panties n also bras....heeheehee...din go elsie(craft shop) cos hubby was with me...

tong, cos my gal was overdue...so i was induced n after more than 24hrs in labour, i had c-section... sigh, angry with the hospital!!! n also my gynae... some of the mtb here ae seeing her(now in TMC) so dun wish to mention her name...

so i told myself that i will not induce this time round... if this boi boi like his jie jie also late.. i will just book epi c-section so that my hubby can witness the whole process...

weight-gain
to-date, i still have not gain any weight yet... but usually 3rd tri the weight will shoot up veri veri fast...
i hope to just gain 10kg for this pregnancy... also my appetite not veri good these few days...

blueginger, how abt starbuck@ tampines mall?or any void deck near yr place???

patsy, heehee... dun sew or cut lah... on these, i also a bit pantang... just to play safe...how abt read or playing games(like PSP)

supplements
i think i also taking vit b, calcium n also iron pill... but after taking, i feel like throwing up...then my headache will come...

stephie, blueginger, patsy,
thanks for the bday wishes!!

happybee,
dun worry abt what ur fren said abt baby not active lah. U probly are not as sensitive to bb's movements although bb is moving a lot too.

experienced mummies,
are babies usually more active at night than in the day? i got woken up by baby kicking at 6am! Think the sleeping position not comfortable for bb.

ooh, so far i noticed that MTBs with early feb due dates seem to be having boys, while later feb mummies are expecting girls hor?