(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi dor, still spotting, so still on bed rest. Quite worried now coz of the bleeding amniotic fluid getting low.. so trying to drink more and more water, and really minimize any walking.

Yah!!! if your boy like chili too then we call him chili padi!!

goodbabyb, that time I told him I pregnant liao and I asked him whether my body need any tonic or not. You can also ask him to take pulse for general well being.

dorothy, thanks.
pm you liao.

Hi bluewind,

Detailed test not the same as Oscar test leh. Oscar test is to check for DS and I think detailed test will check bb's heart and other parts whether got problems or not.

hi!

went for gynae checkup yesterday and i'm at 17week+ already. and doctor din ask me to do any test too, 4 weeks later will do the detailed scan to check bb's heart.

doc scanned till bb's leg and asked us to guess bb's gender and yes, doc said it's the penis and scrotum! we kept asking where? cant see leh! then doc typed it out and printed on the photos to let us "yan2jiu1" at home hahaha, the doc so cute

i feel sick, flu, sore throat... ;(

Hi Stephie, my hometown is Muar, have you heard of 'ma pok otak' thats the place. My hb is s'porean. Most of the time i m alone at home, cause he is in shipping line.

Hi tongtong,
So gald that you can see your bb gender in your 17 weeks. I m already in my 2nd trimester, 4thms but still cant see yet. Me & hb cant wait till my gynae check up on the 7th sept. hehe

morning ladies.

casa, i heard durian is good if baby is too small. but quite heaty. take care!!

wah tongtong so fast can see gender already! must be very exciting heee. till now i still dont have a feel if BB is boy or girl.Next check up is next tues.... still a long way.

tongtong
congrat on having boy... hehe. hope can see my bb gender next mon..

today i wear the maternity top. look so weird with a skirt... haiz

morning ladies

Hope everyone is fine and well..
As for me...i just had my nbr3 vomit in less than 3 hours...haii going to be one of those dayssss

Eileen/tongtong
Have just emailed you.

Went for check up last Sat (16th weeks). Hubby asked gynae if can see the sex. Gynae tried to scan for it but bb position not correct. So gynae said wait till the detailed scan on the 20th week, that'll be the most accurate :p

So, i gotta wait for another 4 weeks to know.

casa
take care and drink more water. need more rest too in order to recover fully and fast.

morning ladies...

hope u all had a good weekend

Went bra shopping over the weekend, was told by the truimph and wacoal sales ladies that wacoal don't have maternity bra and they only have 1 un-wired bra. as for truimph, they only have 1 maternity bra and 1 nursing bra. both are unwired and made with stretchable material for our growing boobs.

cos im quite flat by nature, the ladies advised that im better off with those 'regular' bras but just get larger sizes. was told the maternity/nursing bra size starts at 75C.

i also noticed stretch marks on my chest....! sob sob..so must also apply stretch mark cream on chest and boobs now too.

wah...everyone talking abt gender of baby..so exciting..my mouth is sooo itching to tell...but my hubby had me promise not to tell anyone...

Quite a few of you can see the gender already! Just had my appointment with gynae on Sat. Baby was doing acrobatic stunts and hiding behind the placenta, so cannot see the gender yet. Have to wait until 29th Sep for my detail scanning. (Can't wait).
And also to my horror, I gained nearly 4 kg within the last month! FaintZzzZ!

purple
why cannot tell anyone abt the sex?

for my bro-in-law and sis-in-law, when they were having their 2nd child, they chose not to know the sex until bb was borne. i'm sure my hubby wouldn't wait till then to know the sex of the baby.

piglettail
me too quite flat by nature, so didn't get new bras during pregnancy. only used extension cos the bra became tight but cup size didn't increase leh :p i bought my nursing bra when I was close to delivery (then size didn't increase either). But once started to breastfeed, the cup size increased by a lot, so i reckon must get nursing bra with bigger cup size then now.

stephie
he just wants it to a surprise for people.
actually he did not want to know also..but when my gynae asked, he went soft! hehe..
as for me..i don see the reason why ppl want to keep it a secret..sooo difficult...i feel like playing charades when my frens ask me...hehe

I haven't been in here for a while, a bit lost on wat topics you gals are talking about now.

Anyway to update a bit, I went to my much awaited appointment with gynae last saturday. I was controlling my tears when i can finally see my bb through the ultrasound. Everything is fine!! Phew! Somehow, at this stage (16.5weeks) i still cant feel my bb, so it's only through gynae visit that make this whole pregnancy more REAL. I dunno if u gals have the same feeling as me but i really do hope that bb can kick me a little so that i know bb is fine in there.
Gender is more or less confirm but i guess i shall reveal after the detail scan scheduled on 29th September. =)

Mummy: 28Yr old first time mummy
EDD: 12.02.08 (changed from 9th to 12th after sat's visit)
Current week : 16.5weeks
Gynae: Dr Henry Cheng
Hospital: Most prob Mt Alvernia (I havent book the package yet)
Next Visit: 29th Sept for Detail scan and results of triple blood test (Finger crossed)

hana
seems like quite a no. of us having detailed scan on 29 Sep.

i think you should be able to feel the movements of the baby in another couple of weeks. Some feel earlier, some feel later. for my first one, think i felt at 19th weeks. Agree with you that being able to feel baby's movements is a reassurance to us that baby is fine, especialy when we need to wait for 1 month before we visit gynae again.

Guess, saturday is more convenient for us working mtbs. Having to take MCs for these visits on top of the days which i am really sick, will send my boss jumping up and down. =)
Now, just hope that the blood tests turn out fine.

garfield/snowbelle,
just to let u know that im wearing a green top n black pant... see u tonight as i din rec yr pm...
can email [email protected] so that i can give u my hp no...

my detailed scan will be on 24th sept.

i am still compiling the excel file...
let me know if there is anything that u wan me to update. thanks

hey hana, i am also 28 years old first time mum and my EDD is on 12 Feb 2008.

I also not sure if i had felt baby's kick cos my stomach is always full of rumbling. If its like bubbles, i just might mistaken it for my normal stomach wind rumbling.
Detailed scanning is also on 29th Sept. haha. so coincidence!

apple79

i oso feel that leh. so duno is it movement haha. sometime when i touch tummy can feel light tap...
but i think too fast to feel movement??

hi dorothy,

just sent you an SMS. dun think i can make it today cos down with diarrhea for two days liao =( let me know how it goes...will try to join in (and catch up) during your 2nd session!

hope it's not stomach flu cos have crampy pain. going to see doctor later.

anyone knows if we can go to normal GP for normal illness? or better to go back to gynae or in my case KK women's clinic?

hi All,

want to ask if anyone noe the diffencece between those 3D/4D scan from our detailed scan.

I was wondering if our gynae is using those better machine, do we still need to waste another 100 plus to use the detailed scan result.
Actually, what does this detailed scan really tell us.

Just did my triple blood test and the government complusory test (hep B, HIV and etc....). Paid 200 plus for this 2 tests. started to feel all the heart pain for how fast is $$ going away.

thanks cheryl.

read your post over the weekend re carrano. make me feel guilty leh. i pay $95 for 2 pieces, maybe 3 pieces max. must go hunt for better buys =P

garfield, yea u can go see GP first and see whether need to go back to gynae or not.

apple, stephie, my detailed scan on 29th too!! you mean you gained 4kg in 1 month?

hana- yes i cant feel bb's movement too, that's why always very eager to see doc to see how's bb doing. i asked the gynae he said can feel at 6 months.. so long leh.. i hope i can feel earlier ! hehe.

casa,
Great to hear your apetite is back. DURIAN... MIL oso said it is good for baby complexion. Too bad I dun take it loh! Cannot imagine myself have to take that for baby's sake. but... I like durian smell leh! Smelling it can help???
Your baby just too shy to expose itself mah...

All,
What kinda of detailed scan is that? Nv heard of it.

kellie

i think detail scan have to go to hospital to do... basically it tell u whether ur bb is growing properly and the baby gender....and yes.. $$ out like nobody business.. eversince i preg, i think i spend almost 1k+ on gynae consultation, half of gynae package, FBI, oscar test, and not forgetting clothes... duh

Garfield. 95 for 2 pieces is not too bad. i see some 1 pc for 90+ can faint.. i m still looking for good buy.. speaking of diarrhoea. i oso having it for this 2 days...

Yes tongtong, nearly 4 kg in one month! Scary!!!!
Must watch my diet liao.

I used to love durian. was the durian queen in my family. Eversince i was pregnant, I cannot stand the smell of durian. They smelled pungent to me!!

cheryl, detailed scan got to do at hospital meh? erm, well i'm not quite sure what scan that the doc said gonig to do 4 wks later for me but he said the scan is to check bb's heart. but never said that we are doing it in hospital... uhm..

Kellie,
4D scan is the most detail scan to-date compared to 3D. Doctor won't use that yet cos it is still expensive to invest on one equipment.
I hope my friend can get me a free demo on that machine.

garfield, rec yr sms already...

ya.. just go to gp will do... let the doc knows taht u are preggie will do...

cheryl, can share the address of carrano in tpy or amk....TIA

apple, wah 4kg really quite a lot leh. what did you eat? you got very good appetite i think!

oh, talking about durian , it's my favourite! going to buy durian liao tonigth haha.

tongtong

i tot detail scan have to be done at hospital??? can any1 enlighten me?? but i think i might have to go hospital to do it cos my gynae machine is kind of laoya kind. not really laoya but old kind

i ate lesser meals than in my first trimster leh. After much "analysis" i think its due to eating more rice. And last mth, I had cravings for Malay rice. Think the fattening curry and rice are the culprits.

Carrano is a shop selling maternity wear? I go to AMK hub pretty often but dun seems to have seen this shop before.

kellie
detailed scan is to scan the vital organs of the baby, can see the valves, flow of the blood, etc. also scan for gender, fingers ot baby, etc. And some other stuff. Can't remember the rest. Whereas 3D/4D scan is more to allow you to see features of the baby. Both scans serve different purpose, detailed scan is necessary while 3D/4D scan is optional imo.

cheryl/tongtong
Depends on which pass your gynae refers you too. Hmm...probably clinic that does detailed scan are usually located at Hospital? Previously, I did mine at a clinic located at Camden Medical Centre. This time, will be doing so at a clinic located at Mt A (my gynae's clinic is at Mt A so it's more convenient for me this time round).

tongtong
i gained 0.7kg so far. Have a feeling I will gain more wt this time. :p

Hi Bluegin,

I am hoping that my fren can do a free demo for me too. Do u think I should skip the detailed scan?

Dun want to sound cheapskate but if both machine is going to produce the same result. What is the point to go thru the paying one?

But in the same time also worried what if we fail to detect anything wrong with our BB?

for those first time mommies, just met up a fren who is the same mth as me (4 mths). She is telling me that during her first preganancy, she felt so guilty of buying expensive maternity clothes but now she heck care liao becos she felt she deserve it all.....haha....

Hi Blueginger,
Ya, i think i had too much durian thats why i m quite heaty now. Hopefully wont fall sick like fever. My gynae said its ok to hv caugh & flu, but not fever...cause fever will affect your bb.
I had applied ice on my forehead & neck last night, cause i m feeling very heaty inside my body. This morning feeling better.

Anyone has fever during the prenancy? Mind to share?

I gained 4kg. Currently 4mths (27 weeks)

re: detailed scan
some gynae's scan machines can do detailed scan. last time round, i did mine from TMC.

kellie,
You cannot loh! Like stephie had said that it is to view the internal organ as close as heart valves. But if you think that the baby is working fine, you can skip the detail scan. As for 4D/3D, it is not a must. Cos just look at the baby features mah! Still have to face your baby for the rest of your years. Don't see it now oso nvm. If have FOC, then take it loh! Otherwise, just miss it is OK I guess.

cheryl,
WOW... Is the maternity clothing nice? I might wanna drop by the place.

Hi Casa,
I asked my gynae about panadol before. he says safe for us to take 2tabs 3x a day.

Hi Cheryl,
Diarrhea 2 days better to go see doc. I'm going later oso cos scared food poisoning or something then affect baby.

And dun feel guilty about shopping leh. if dressing up makes you feel good = indirectly good for baby cos happy mummy makes a happy baby!!