(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Garfield
Thanks for the welcome
I hope to share as much as I can. But certain things I also forgotten liao, must do revision :p

morning dorothy, am ok....maybe need a holiday or something. just very restless, and a little moody.

hi kellie, never heard of that but one never knows. have a few good HR friends across a number of firms. will definitely ask!!!

cheryl, good to know. ya heng no blister or else hard to heal and very painful

Garfield
If your gynae allows, good to go for a holiday to relax. My gynae encouraged me to go for holiday when I was expecting my first child.

morning ladies...

dr appt today and now got mini scare ;/
dr says i got low lying placenta, so ask me not to go gym,dun run,no sexual intercourse,dun do anything funny. just work and go home and rest.

haiz..was about to ask him if im fit to travel cos planned for a holiday in Oct. guess our plan has to be on hold now.

anyone knows anything about low lying placenta? what to do/not to do to improve the situation? didn't manage to speak to dr for long cos he had an unexpected delivery so there were lots of ppl waiting in line to see him this morning.

hb got really worried and ordered complete-no-activity for me. so i guess my exercise regimme has to stop for now too. (was still going gym once a week and use the stationery bike for 30min)im also worried now lor..

wanted very much to see bb's gender today, who knows, initially bb was lying face up and in 1 sec, turned over to show us his/her back... haha.

not sure if i should make another appt before my next scheduled just to try see bb's gender, feel like a bit wasting money but i really want to know lei...

i oso want....but hubby is very kan cheong and protective of bb. cos i'm first time MTB at 34, and had a miscarriage earlier in the year.

he said even if gynae say can go he is not comfortable. he feels we're very fortunate to be able to conceive naturally at this age so dun wan to take unnecessary risks.

so i'm trying to take trips that don't require flying or long journeys eg. cruises, bintan, etc.

piglettail,

oh, is your tummy which pops up at quite low below your waste, so that means yours is low lying placenta? i find that mine quite low wor, dunno wehther will have low lying too.. anyway my checkup is this saturday to check with the dc then. how many wks are you in now?

garfield, me also planning to go batam or bintan in oct...sigh... migrane again....

so when u seeing dr loh????

piglettail, i dun know the impact of low placenta but gynae say got to take care... then i think u rest well...

hi tongtong,

hmm..my tummy buldge for bb is below my belly button, which i think is normal? cos my torso is very short to begin with, my whole torso is about two palms' width. waist is about 1 finger width above belly button.

according to today's scan im 15w1d plus/minus 6 days today. cos i couldn't figure out my exact conception date, dr says his estimate is based on the size of bb's growth matched against the standard medical data base most dr use. last month's scan and today's scan EDD are both 19Feb08.

if i were to calculate from my previous scan dates, i should be already 16 weeks by this weekend. but i guess a 7-10days difference range is quite normal?

managed to ask dr about blocked milk ducts. he says the percentage of ladies wearing underwired bra is probably 80% while the percentage of ladies experiencing blocked milk ducts is much lower, about 5-10%. in his view there's no direct co-relation...

dear mtbs, sigh..
i guess i just need some consolation..my blood test was positive..ratio 1:150..need to go for amniotic fluid test..super sigh..can anyone tell me how the amniotic fluid test is like?

hi cheryl,

thanks for the info! did a quick read, doesn't sound so scary anymore *phew*

thanks dorothy, think now i must rest more and dun try to be 'funny' already. was still rushing for the traffic lights and chasing the bus/mrt...now must stop.

im also experiencing leg (calf) cramps now. dr says ok to go for foot massage. ;)

Hi piglettail,
Not to worry too much. When my mother have my sister, she oso have the same problem. Just have to be extra careful when you do things or workout. Definitely have a lot of constraint, but aqua-excerise should be alright for you. Sad to say, but nothing can be done. Travelling is definitely a no-no for you until the condition has improved.
Just be patient. Wait for next schedule loh... You need to save up for your baby future. Don't have to waste this kinda money.

Garfield,
You ought to be careful as well since you have miscarriage before. Try have more tonic to build up your body. I'm sure your husband won't want to save that kinda money. 34 still an alright age, you know Lin QingXia (the actress who become Espirit's boss wife), she gave birth to her 1st child at 40. So it is OK.

May I know when is your EDD? Since like you gals have alright did your scan and know you baby sex? Mine still very small and I'm wearing normal clothing leh???

dorothy,
I completed 2 baby hats and 1 booties all for friends. Have no idea my baby sex, so currently just do something i like. Going for a rabbit softtoy. I have a number of nice Ah gal clothing pattern, if I have a girl then I can do for her. otherwise nothing adorable for son leh!!! =P They teach crochet too, but dun like the pattern for crochet in their shop. If you want, have to buy their books or get pattern design outside.

piglettail,
No. No. no. You cannot rush for trafficlight liao lah! Cannot be too emotional, otherwise baby like that how? Foot cramp just use your fingers to grab your toes.

I jz wen 4 check up yest. Had food allergy. Kena skin irritations on my poor face.. Sob.. sob..

I asked my gynae abt anti-stretch marks creams. He mentioned tat u can apply the most ex creams yet might still get the stretch marks. Whether will get it anot, depends very much on ur own self's skin texture & ur mother's genes...

Tongtong,
As 4 low placenta, there's a possiblity tat the placenta will move up when bb continues 2 grow. My SIL aso had low placenta in her 5 mths (i tink so), but as my little nephew is growing inside her, her placenta moved up. So might not be 2 much worries here. But of cos must get ur gynae 2 monitor..

Blueginger,
Hw many wks r u in now? I'm currently 15wks plus. My tummy aso din reali show as compared 2 my gf who is 16wks. So i guess tat's very individual ba.. But definitely i cant fix into my normal clothes liao, cos my whole body expands horizontally.. Keke...

starry

dun think too much. the ammnotic test is more accurate.. if i m not wrong, the will insert a long needle into ur tummy(provided bb is gd position, so that wont poke bb), den draw some fluid to test... it will take abt 10mins... but 1 bad thing is there is a risk of miscarriage abt 1-2% and it cost exp. abt 1k+

blueginger.

i shd be in my 15weeks. but most of my bottoms cant wear liao. and my whole bodynot only expands horizontally, even the tummy also come out liao... as in can see bump liao... wahaha.... i really have to fast fast buy bigger clothing...

Cheryl,

So fast ur tummy, i always see MTBs tummies showing, then i look @ mine.. & the funny part is i start wearing M tops liao. Keke..

I alreadi spend abt $500plus on M clothes.. But i still find my M tops not enuff leh..

esther

i also duno y my tummy so fast haha... could be a girl... lol... my mum tell me when she pregnant with girl, tummy will be very big n show fast...
my six sense tell me it a girl. lol....

blueginger, u meant knit into a rabbit soft toy? heehee, i wan!!! actually, i wanted to knit xmas for my friends(iknow i sounded veri ambitious)
when u gg again?do we have to buy a lot of things for a start cos i scare i 3-min interest only...

i am in my week 17... guess this is my no.2 so can see already... but as compare to my gal, my tummy this time round looks smaller....i can still wear my normal office wear... but veri tight... cant breathe...my edd is 1st feb....

piglettail, dun hor... run after traffic light... be careful leh...

star, **HUGZ***.. sorry, i dun know how test is conducted....

Cherly,

Is it.. Hee.. U still cant see bb's gender during the scan?

I cant see yesterday when my gynae did the scan.. Wanted very much 2 ask him but if can see, he sure will tell me 1 rite. Dun wan 2 be so kiasu in front of my gynae. Keke...

Alot of pple say if later ur tummy grows all round, shd be a gal, if more "pointed", then a boy. But i dunno hw true.. Cos my SIL 1st preggy, pointed, is a boy, 2nd preggy, rounded, a boy 2. Keke..

blueginger
i'm 16 weeks now. don't know sex of baby yet when i went to see gynae 2 sats ago. think gynae was trying to scan for the sex during last visit but he didn't tell me anything. gg for blood test this sat. shall see if can see the sex this time round.

me too still wearing my normal clothings. beginning of the day still ok but at end of day will become tight :p

i think it's fine for the tummy to be small at this stage. i've a colleague whose EDD is 1 Feb, her tummy is totally flat, can't see any bump at all whereas mine is showing liao. So it really depends on individuals.

My tummy showed much later when i was expecting my first kid. hmm... based on what the gals said earlier, tummy show faster means gal liao. let's see if it's accurate.

piglettail
oops, i also ran after bus these few mornings. :p

garfield
it's important that you are totally comfortable if you wish to travel. since hubby is so concerned about you and baby, then just go for a short trip which suits you and hubby.

aiyo...all of you so lucky!!! my tummy showed 3 weeks ago, when i was 12 weeks. hahahahhaah.....

i predicting girl, so let's see =P

dorothy, i seeing dr.loh on 10sep for 2nd tri detail screening.

Thanks to all of u

yes, i feel better already
yah must be more careful now and dun anyhow anyhow play play.

i still can fit into some of my regular clothes, cos my original clothes were not the skin hugging type. but yar lor, i noticed my bottom half have expanded as panties feel tight and can see the buttons stretching across my tummy for some of my shirt dresses. also some overall 'expansion' like when i put on weight in the past.

depending what what i wear,sometimes can see my tummy sometimes cant. still no one has given me a seat on the mrt lei, so i guess the general public thinks im just fat. haha.

will try out the rubber band method i mentioned earlier when i (try) to wear my jeans this weekend (now somewhere in the laundry basket/washing machine...hehe)

for my mum, she only had stretch marks on her bum, so i guess i will get some as well? hope it'll be restricted to my bum too cos already have hence no extra 'areas of damage'.

hi starry70, sorry, im not sure about the test...take good care and rest more okie?

So far, only the following interested in cord blood banking:
1. bkkgal
2. Xiao Yun
3. blueginger
4. babyhope

Btw - I have been eating foot-long subway melts for lunch.. i cannot believe it, my amt of food intake is uncontrollably huge these days... so many things to sacrifice (figure and looks) when preggy.

WOw... The thread sure go very fast.

Starry,
Think on the positive side. You got to confirm the sex of your baby from the fluid. Very Very accurate.

Cheryl & Dorothy,
Just at the end of my 14week only. Kekekek. 1st-time mother mah! I still on my normal jeans and tight-skirt and squab up and down. Sometime I can feel my tummy protesting. I wasn't really into the sex yet, but I have fun when all my friends began voting the sex of my baby. Heee... Hee... Let's if mine is a B or G?

Esther,
Not true. My colleague had a baby gal when having pointed tummy, while the other rounded have a baby boy. It is myth.

Piglettail & Stephie,
ya lah... I have to admit that I still chase after train & bus these days. But piglettail case, better be careful. I was playing tennis, badminton in my 1st trimenster and my doc said it is OK to do it. I'm kinda hard-core type I guess.

Dorothy,
You dun need much except for the pattern, thread and one/two needles size (depending on the pattern you wanna do). if you have the pattern, you just have buy the latter. Will be gng down next week after tonight. What kinda things you intend to work on? The booties are very sweet and it just need to use 1 roll of thread. Time to complete is about 2weeks if you are slowly. I like to do baby stuff nowadays cos it is faster to complete. oh ya... I forgot to tell u I stay in tampines nearby bedok reservoir too.

tks all, trying to be positive, though i din really take it very well when i heard the news from the nurse this morning..hmm..now more settled. Just praying hard the amniotic test will be fine - if not..sigh..its really a tough decision..my first baby..

Starry, u can search for thread abt this test in this forum... usually the result comes out to be ok one...

stay positive!!!! btw, when u gg for this test?

blueginger, knitting got one thread one huh? wow!! so near to me... then after then we can go home together.... btw, do u have pattern for the softtoy(am i too ambitious??)next week when huh???? i wan to go leh... anyone wan to go together??? i can reach there by 6pm....btw, where is this golden dragon??

dor
if you cross the bridge from chinatown point to people's park centre (not sure if it's centre or complex, always mix up the 2), golden dragon is located just at the exit at level 2.

Hello dorothy

going for the test in 2 weeks time (now only 15 weeks), have to do it in 17 weeks.

Ya - trying to be positive, at least i get the know my baby gender ya..

Just started buying the avent milk bottles, steiliser, breast pump already during the Taka babyfair (kiasu hor..haha)..hopefully i get to use it..argg...

Starry,
Dun worry. Everything will turn out fine in the end.

Hi dorothy,
not 1 thread. It's one roll of thread. Also depend on the number of colour you want for the cloth. Ya... We can go home together. Not ambitious lah! Just follow strictly to the instruction will do. Next Monday. Can I PM you? Will PM you the booties and rabbit n my hp no. Golden Dragon is the pink bldg.

piglettail, i also have a low lying placenta, that's why been on bed rest for almost 3 weeks already... but it's because i had very bad bleeding. As long as you don't bleed, don't worry... but try not to run, carry heavy stuff, squat and no intercourse for a while!

stary: i had the amnio for my first pregnancy, nothing to be worried about. I didnt' find it painful though I do have a high tolerance for pain. Just remember no matter what the result the Lord is blessing you and will be with you at all times. I will keep you in my prayers...

blueginger, i'm so jealous you can still fit into your clothes... i think i had to wear maternity stuff at 4 weeks
a lot of people actually asked me if i was carrying twins!

I m already 4mths now, but still cant see the gender of the BB yet....Quite excited to know the gender so that i can start shopping for her/ him ;)

What is 'low lying placenta'?

patsy,
no need to be jealous. my colleague just spotted that I have water retention liao! I have big foots and hands. She said that it will be worst at the latter state. Which mean that I'll be very very bloat during 3rd trimester. I think I look like ET now. Just that I dun have big head. CRY!!! CRY!!! CRY!!!

Casa,
Just tell your baby that, so next time hopefully can see loh!.... Good luck.

low lying Placenta means baby is slighly near to the lower part of your body.

patsy,thanks for your advise
, yes since today i've started to be more careful. yeah, even before today's appt i also felt 'vunerable' whenever i had to squat. dunno y but just an instinct that i shouldn't be doing this action. will stop squatting from now.

casa, hb ask bb to show us his/her gender last night; i 'told' bb this morning to let mummy see before leaving house; the nurse also 'told' bb to let us see before dr scan... but bb still chose to show us back view. haha...this little fellow sure has a mind of his/her own.

hi dorothy, yup... much better today, except nausea is back with a vengeance!! can't keep anything down the whole day. but prefer this to the bleeding for sure!! I have to see gyne every week now so will go on friday again. hope my baby is doing well!!

blueginger: try not to take too much salty stuff and it will reduce your water retention. Also, at night, try to lie down with your legs raised for half an hour to let the blood flow out of the legs.

casa: low lying placenta means the placenta is growing near the cervix, where the baby will come out. Mine is 1 cm away from the cervix and because I had cervical cancer surgery, my cervix is much weaker that's why i'm bleeding. BTW, I'm also almost 4 mths but the baby refuses to show the sex, last time i went for a scan, the doctor was trying to find out the sex and the baby refuse to face upwards and thrust the butt to show us.

piglettail: take care yah... often low lying placenta's will go up during the course of the pregnancy.. don't worry too much.

any fernvale mtb...

anyone workin near town/bugis area?? n interested to get private transport de... i m now gatherin ppl in order to get quotation from the transport co.. anyone???

pls email me at [email protected]

Thks blueginger, piglettail & pasty.

The low lying placenta sounds alittle worried ya..well, mummies must take good care ok.

My next appointment will be on 7th. Hb so excited to see the gender, ask me whether we can go for early check up..haha.

I have a feeling that my BB is a girl cause i eat alot og vege & fruits & not interested in taking any meat like chicken, pork even fish!! I heard this eating habit most properly the mummy us expecting a BB girl...

starry,
dun worry too much. I hope the amnio test will turn out very well for u.

garfield,
i also started showing very early leh.. 7 wks and my regular bottoms already couldn't button up liao. I think probly becos I am on the skinny side to begin with lah.

do u all find that the tummy seems smaller when u first wake up, and gets bigger throughtout the day? I think mine does leh, esp since these few nights I always get bloating after dinner.

casa,
i can't wait to confirm bb gender too, but i'll have to wait till the detailed scan on 20th week to find out. Currently, I am ard 17w3d.

Hi fairfield,

Ya, really cant wait to see my son? daughter? ;)

my stomach is so flat in the morning when i first wake up...Was alittle worried sometimes, but since you are having the same symptom as me, i think it should be normal lor..

i cant fit into most of my bottom wear now, haha i m wearing my hb's boxer at home everyday..so comfy

ya, i think shd be normal to be flatter in the morning lah. Mine is not flat, but the bump is smaller.
i've been wearing hb's boxers for yrs liao... love it! hahah.

btw, do we need to take Triple Test, or is Oscar sufficient?

fairfield
yup, me too tummy smaller in the morning, then at nite will become bigger. i was telling my gynae that my tummy seems to grow faster this time round. but he said it's the wind in my stomach that cause the tummy to bulge.

I'm taking the triple test this sat. didn't do any Oscar test tho. but i think both tests serve about the same purpose but oscar probably more accurate since it's blood test + scan.

morning ladies,

my dr only told me to do the triple test during my next visit (week19 then). he didn't even mention about oscar test. i wonder if this is the usual practice?

Good morning, MTB.
I din notice my tummy in the morning. Usually, will sleep-walk to the bathroom when i wake up.

What is a triple test? I did OSCAR during my 12wk. Just a few scanning position and blood test. Everything was good. Just my Hep B too low, so have to take injection after baby borned. Sigh... I hate injection.

piglettail,
OSCAR is best to do it in Week 12-14 according to info. So if you are later then that mayb they dun recommend.

fairfield
mine, too. tummy smaller when wake up, the biggest is at night.

re: triple test
i opt out leh.

stephie
last round, my tummy only started showing at 5/6 mths. and i was having a gal.
this time round, the tummy showed slightly earlier, not sure if it's because of the 2nd pregnancy. but still can wear my normal wear, except the pants.

starry70
don't worry so much. i got few friends who did the blood test got unfavourable results. but all of their amniotic fluid test came out ok.
take care.